Detailed Action
This communication is in response to the Arguments and Amendments filed on 4/20/2026.
Claims 1, 4-7, 9, 10, and 13-25 are pending and have been examined.
Claims 2, 3, 8, 11, and 12 have been cancelled.
Claims 21-25 have been added
Independent Claims 1, 10, and 19 are Method, Storage, and System claims, respectively.
Apparent priority: 5/12/2023.
Any previous objection/rejection not mentioned in this Office Action has been withdrawn by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/20/2026, have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Applicant has amended the claims to include “by c) selecting, based on the comparison, one or more template commands, and d) editing, augmenting, or rewriting the selected one or more template commands using the portion of the situational data and/or the recognized state information;” “and updating a training of the first model and/or the second model by: compiling training instances of e) historic situational data and/or historic state information recognized by the first model, and f) historic recommended commands generated by the second model; and updating a training of the first model and/or the second model using at least the compiled training instances.”
Regarding the claim objections The applicant’s arguments and amendments overcome the Objections.
Regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101, The applicant’s arguments and amendments overcome the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejections.
Regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103(a)
Applicant notes Matus relates to security systems and methods. Matus, Title. "[T]he models utilized by the described system are trained, at least in part, based on trained event libraries (TELs). TELs may be general or may be specific to particular types of events, geographic areas, etc. To illustrate, a TEL used to train a security system for use in one part of the world may assign a high degree of suspicion to a person carrying an open flame torch, whereas a different TEL for a different part of the world may assign little meaning to such an event when analyzing the context and circumstances. Conversely, certain things may be universal from a security standpoint (e.g., a firearm being fired). TELs can be created that contain the training for specific events. These TELs may be exported, imported, combined, enhanced, added, deleted, exchangeable, etc." See Matus, [0026].
"Machine learning algorithms and models 122 perform holistic analysis of the input signals 102 to detect, identify, and respond to events. Video may be analyzed to identify events, behaviors, objects, faces, etc. using models (e.g., video analysis models 112) trained on TELs. ...New TELs 124 may also be created (or existing TELs may be augmented) based on some or all of the input signals 102. In some cases, other adjustments may be received from different instances of the system, TELs, etc." See Matus, [0026].
Examiner notes Teran Matus relates to environmental and contextual information gathering, training, and generating sets of training patterns as described in Applicant’s invention.
Applicant notes Matus does not disclose or suggest that "the second model generates the recommended commands by c) selecting, based on the comparison, one or more template commands, and d) editing, augmenting, or rewriting the selected one or more template commands using the portion of the situational data and/or the recognized state information," as recited in amended claim 1. While Matus describes trained event libraries (TELs), these TELs are not akin to the template commands within the context of amended claim 1. The TELs of Matus are training event libraries, not template commands that are edited, augmented, or rewritten to generate recommended commands. In particular, the second model of amended claim 1 generates the recommended commands by "selecting, based on the comparison, one or more template commands" and "editing, augmenting, or rewriting the one or more template commands using the portion of the situational data and/or the recognized state information." The cited portions of Matus do not disclose a similar selecting of TELs and editing, augmenting, or rewriting of such selected TELs to generate recommended commands.
Examiner notes the TELs of Teran Matus are used for events
[0026] “In a particular aspect, the models utilized by the described system are trained, at least in part, based on trained event libraries (TELs).”
Examiner notes the TELs can be edited, augmented, or rewritten
[0045] “New TELs 124 may also be created (or existing TELs may be augmented) based on some or all of the input signals 102. In some cases, other adjustments may be received from different instances of the system, TELs, etc.”
Examiner notes the TELs are used as templates for the system to use to generate recommended commands for the events
[0059] “In some implementations, the computing device(s) 306 generate output based on the event classification data. For example, one or more of the alarms 138 of FIG. 1 may be generated when the event classification data indicates that a particular type of event is detected in the datasets 304. In some implementations, the event classification data may be used to select a particular one of the event response models 328 to execute to generate a response recommendation (e.g., one of the recommendations 132 of FIGS. 1 and 2) or to select a response action. For example, each event response model 328 may be configured or trained to generate a response recommendation for a particular type of event or a particular set of types of events. To illustrate, a first event response model may be configured to generate response recommendations for structure fire events, and a second event response model may be configured to generate response recommendations for robberies.”
[0060] Other response actions can be determined using a machine learning model to predict an appropriate response action. For example, the machine learning model can include a neural network, a decision tree, or another machine learning model trained to select a response action that is most likely to achieve one or more results, such as minimizing or reducing causalities, minimizing or reducing property loss, optimal or acceptable use of resources, or combinations thereof. In some implementations, an event response model 328 performs a response simulation for a particular type of event (e.g., based on a time and location associated with the event, available resources, historical responses, etc.) to select the response action taken or recommended. For some event types, one or more response actions may be selected based on heuristic rules and one or more additional response action may be selected based on response simulation…”
Applicant notes While the above-noted portions of Matus disclose that new TELs can be created or existing TELs can be augmented based on model input signals,
this TEL creation or augmentation does not specifically disclose "editing, augmenting, or rewriting selected one or more template commands using the portion of the situational data and/or the recognized state information" to generate recommended commands, as recited in amended claim 1. Indeed, creating new TELs or editing existing TELs may be used to extend the functionality of the system of Matus, such as add different TELs that correspond to different event types. This is distinct from "editing, augmenting, or rewriting the selected one or more template commands" to generate recommended commands, as recited in amended claim 1. Matus simply fails to disclose or suggest the specificity of these above-noted recitations of amended claim 1. In fact, the Office Action, at pg. 12, admits that Matus does not disclose the claimed "template commands" within the context of claim 1. If Matus does not disclose the claimed "template commands," Matus cannot disclose "editing, augmenting, or rewriting the selected one or more template commands using the portion of the situational data and/or the recognized state information" to generate recommended commands, as recited in amended claim 1.
Examiner notes the TELs can be edited, augmented, or rewritten based on situational data from input signals which Teran Matus describes as
[0044] In FIG. 1, a system 100 receives input signals 102 such as video from one or more cameras 104 (which can include fixed and/or mobile cameras), input from subject matter experts (SMEs) or users 106, input from law enforcement/criminal activity databases 108, and input from other sources 120 (e.g., audio data, infrared sensors, thermal sensors, etc.).
[0045] “Machine learning algorithms and models 122 perform holistic analysis of the input signals 102 to detect, identify, and respond to events. Video may be analyzed to identify events, behaviors, objects, faces, etc. using models (e.g., video analysis models 112) trained on TELs. A face recognition model 114 can compare faces detected in the video with law enforcement databases (e.g., a criminals database 108) and, optionally, alternate databases 116 that supplement law enforcement databases (e.g., if law enforcement databases do not reveal a face match, images posted to various social media sites 118 may be searched for a face match)….New TELs 124 may also be created (or existing TELs may be augmented) based on some or all of the input signals 102. In some cases, other adjustments may be received from different instances of the system, TELs, etc.”
Applicant notes Roh relates to the synchronized placement of surgical implant hardware. Roh, Title. "A surgical workflow is generated for a surgical robot. The surgical workflow comprises workflow objects for the surgical procedure based on the surgical actions. The surgical workflow is adjusted based on a comparison of the surgical workflow to stored historical workflows. The surgical robot is configured with the adjusted workflow comprising the workflow objects and information describing the surgical actions. The surgical robot performs the surgical actions on the patient using the adjusted workflow." See Roh, [0034].
However, and similar to the deficiencies of Matus, Roh does not disclose or
suggest "editing, augmenting, or rewriting the selected one or more template commands using the portion of the situational data and/or the recognized state information" to generate recommended commands, as recited in amended claim 1. While Roh discloses adjusting a surgical workflow based on a comparison to stored historical workflows, this does not accomplish the specificity of "c) selecting, based on the comparison, one or more template commands, and d) editing, augmenting, or rewriting the selected one or more template commands using the portion of the situational data and/or the recognized state information," as recited in amended claim 1. This sequence of selecting template command(s) and editing, augmenting, or rewriting the selected template command(s) to generate recommended commands is absent from Roh.
Examiner notes Roh relates to design optimization, verification, and simulation, and computer aided planning. As applicant noted, Roh discloses historical workflows (a series of template commands) and adjusting (editing, augmenting, or rewriting) of the workflow based on the situational input data of the surgery.
[0034] A surgical workflow is generated for a surgical robot. The surgical workflow comprises workflow objects for the surgical procedure based on the surgical actions. The surgical workflow is adjusted based on a comparison of the surgical workflow to stored historical workflows. The surgical robot is configured with the adjusted workflow comprising the workflow objects and information describing the surgical actions. The surgical robot performs the surgical actions on the patient using the adjusted workflow.”
Applicant's arguments regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103(a) have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. Updated mappings to reflect the amended and newly added claims have been provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 9-10, 13-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teran Matus (U.S. Patent Number US 20210279603 A1), in view of Roh (U.S. Patent Number US 20230270562 A1).
Regarding independent Claim 1, Teran Matus teaches
1. A method for resolving commands for responding to an ongoing situation using machine learning, the method comprising: ingesting situational data from multiple data sources, wherein the situational data comprises image-based situational data and natural language data that relates to an ongoing situation, and wherein at least a portion of the situational data relates to response activities of a responder team for the ongoing situation; (see Teran Matus Figure 2 element 218, see [0017] “In an aspect, the described system is trained using labeled training data derived from previously saved data corresponding to special circumstances that have been identified and documented. To illustrate, the labeled training data may include video footage of a person carrying (or concealed carrying) a weapon, video/images of persons in a criminal database or in video footage captured near a scene of interest, sound of weapons being used, explosions, people reacting to weapon use or other events (e.g., screaming), a fire detected by infrared sensors, social media posts or news posts describing criminal activity, sensor data captured during a particular event, emergency call center (e.g., “911” in the U.S.) transcripts or audio, etc. In an aspect, the system uses cognitive algorithms to “learn” what makes a circumstance of interest, and the system's learning is reinforced by human feedback that confirms whether an identification output by the system was accurate (e.g., was an event that needed to be highlighted and analyzed further).”)
generating, by an ensemble machine learning model comprising at least first model and a second model, recommended commands by: (see Teran Matus Figure 2 element 220, see [0059] “In some implementations, the computing device(s) 306 generate output based on the event classification data. For example, one or more of the alarms 138 of FIG. 1 may be generated when the event classification data indicates that a particular type of event is detected in the datasets 304. In some implementations, the event classification data may be used to select a particular one of the event response models 328 to execute to generate a response recommendation (e.g., one of the recommendations 132 of FIGS. 1 and 2) or to select a response action. For example, each event response model 328 may be configured or trained to generate a response recommendation for a particular type of event or a particular set of types of events. To illustrate, a first event response model may be configured to generate response recommendations for structure fire events, and a second event response model may be configured to generate response recommendations for robberies.”) recognizing, via the first model using the ingested situational data, state information about the ongoing situation; generating, via the second model, the recommended commands, (see Teran Matus [0060] “During execution of an event response model, a portion of the digest data, a portion of the raw data from the datasets 304, or both, may be provided as input to the event response model. The event response models 328 can include heuristic rules, machine learning models, or both. For example, certain response actions can be generated based on rules that map particular event types to corresponding actions, such as a command 342 transmitted by the interface(s) 308 to dispatch one or more unmanned systems 340 (e.g., monitoring drones) to an area associated with a particular type of event. Other response actions can be determined using a machine learning model to predict an appropriate response action. For example, the machine learning model can include a neural network, a decision tree, or another machine learning model trained to select a response action that is most likely to achieve one or more results, such as minimizing or reducing causalities, minimizing or reducing property loss, optimal or acceptable use of resources, or combinations thereof. In some implementations, an event response model 328 performs a response simulation for a particular type of event (e.g., based on a time and location associated with the event, available resources, historical responses, etc.) to select the response action taken or recommended. For some event types, one or more response actions may be selected based on heuristic rules and one or more additional response action may be selected based on response simulation. To illustrate, when a structure fire event is detected, a nearest available fire response team may be automatically dispatched to the structure fire based on a heuristic rule. In this illustrative example, a machine learning-based event response model can be executed, using available data, to project whether one or more additional fire response teams or other resources (e.g., police) should also be dispatched.”) wherein the second model comprises a generative natural language model configured to compare (see Teran Matus [0053] The data reduction models 322 include machine learning models that are trained to generate digest data based on the datasets 304. In this context, digest data refers to information that summarizes or represents at least a portion of one of the datasets 304. For example, digest data can include keywords derived from natural language text or audio data; descriptors or identifiers of features detected in image data, video data, audio data, or sensor data; or other summarizing information.”) and d) editing, augmenting, or rewriting the selected one or more template commands using the portion of the situational data and/or the recognized state information; (see Teran Matus [0026] In a particular aspect, the models utilized by the described system are trained, at least in part, based on trained event libraries (TELs). TELs may be general or may be specific to particular types of events, geographic areas, etc. To illustrate, a TEL used to train a security system for use in one part of the world may assign a high degree of suspicion to a person carrying an open flame torch, whereas a different TEL for a different part of the world may assign little meaning to such an event when analyzing the context and circumstances. Conversely, certain things may be universal from a security standpoint (e.g., a firearm being fired). TELs can be created that contain the training for specific events. These TELs may be exported, imported, combined, enhanced, added, deleted, exchangeable, etc.”) (see Teran Matus [0045] Machine learning algorithms and models 122 perform holistic analysis of the input signals 102 to detect, identify, and respond to events. Video may be analyzed to identify events, behaviors, objects, faces, etc. using models (e.g., video analysis models 112) trained on TELs. A face recognition model 114 can compare faces detected in the video with law enforcement databases (e.g., a criminals database 108) and, optionally, alternate databases 116 that supplement law enforcement databases (e.g., if law enforcement databases do not reveal a face match, images posted to various social media sites 118 may be searched for a face match). The system 100 optionally may create the alternate database 116 where it will store the faces or other means of identification of people involved directly or indirectly in a crime or relevant event and that probably are or are not stored in the criminal databases 108 in order to identify and locate these people later. Other data sources 120, including sensors 110, ambient environment characteristics, social media posts, structured data, legacy system databases, and Internet data 118, etc. may be used as further inputs to refine event detection (e.g., influence a confidence value output by the model for the detected event). New TELs 124 may also be created (or existing TELs may be augmented) based on some or all of the input signals 102. In some cases, other adjustments may be received from different instances of the system, TELs, etc.”) and updating a training of the first model and/or the second model by: compiling training instances of e) historic situational data and/or historic state information recognized by the first model, (see Teran Matus [0038] “While several of the foregoing aspects are described with reference to security, it is to be understood that the techniques of the present disclose can also be used in other contexts. As a first example, the system can be used before, during and after a natural disaster, such as an earthquake. Prior to the occurrence of an earthquake, the system can evaluate zones that were more severely and/or commonly damaged by previous earthquakes, improvements (e.g., building code/structural improvements) made since the last earthquake and expected results from such improvements, available resources, resource distribution, etc. The system may suggest re-distribution of resources or suggest reinforcement in certain areas that the executed machine learning models predict as having a higher risk index for an earthquake. During an earthquake, the system can receive inputs from diverse sources including video, unmanned vehicles, sensors, emergency calls, rescue teams, and other sources and dynamically recommend resource allocation/distribution to assist with search and rescue operations. After the earthquake response is completed, the system can document the efficacy of its recommended actions and generate training data that can be used to train subsequent generation(s) of models so that future event detections/classifications, risk index predictions, and suggested actions are more accurate and effective.”) and f) historic recommended commands generated by the second model; and updating a training of the first model and/or the second model using at least the compiled training instances. (see Teran Matus [0014] According to particular aspects, public safety systems can be improved by using artificial intelligence (AI) to analyze various types and modes of input data in a holistic fashion. For example, video camera output can be analyzed using AI models to identify suspicious objects left unattended in places (e.g., airports), people or objects in a “wrong” or prohibited place or time, etc. Accomplishments in deep learning and improved computing capabilities enable some systems to go a step further. For example, in a particular aspect, a system can identify or predict very specific events based on multiple and distinct data sources that generate distinct types of data. As another example, events and event responses can be simulated using complex reasoning based on available evidence. Notifications regarding identified or predicted events can be issued to relevant personnel and automated systems. Furthermore, remedial actions can be recommended, or in some cases, automatically initiated using automated response system, such as unmanned vehicles.”) (see Teran Matus [0022] “The disclosed system may also analyze other types of data. For example, the system may search public and private sources, such as the internet (e.g., social media or other posts, real-time news, dark web, etc.), for information regarding events in a geographical region of interest, interpret the data in context and “give meaning” to the data, classify the data, and assign a credibility index as well as weight the data with multiple relevance parameters (e.g., dangerousness, alarm, importance, etc.). The system may also automatically send reports or notifications regarding such events to users configured to receive such notifications. The system may generate recommendations regarding response actions and resource allocations/deployments. In some examples, the system can provide post-event information that can assist an investigation, searching the internet for relevant data related to an event that occurred within the monitored geographical or virtual area, etc.”)
Teran Matus does not specifically teach a) at least a portion of the situational data and the recognized state information; and b) plan data for the ongoing situation that comprises template commands, and wherein the second model generates the recommended commands by c) selecting, based on the comparison, one or more template commands However, Roh does teach this limitation (see Roh [0034] “A surgical workflow is generated for a surgical robot. The surgical workflow comprises workflow objects for the surgical procedure based on the surgical actions. The surgical workflow is adjusted based on a comparison of the surgical workflow to stored historical workflows. The surgical robot is configured with the adjusted workflow comprising the workflow objects and information describing the surgical actions. The surgical robot performs the surgical actions on the patient using the adjusted workflow.”) (see Roh [0039] “In embodiments, a robotic surgical system uses machine learning (ML) to provide recommendations and methods for automated robotic ankle arthroscopic surgery. Historical patient data is filtered to match particular parameters of a patient. The parameters are correlated to the patient. A robotic surgical system or a surgeon reviews the historical patient data to select or adjust the historical patient data to generate a surgical workflow for a surgical robot for performing the robotic arthroscopic surgery.”) (see Roh [0042] In some embodiments, the disclosed systems can perform an arthroscopic surgical procedure on a joint of a patient. The system can acquire data (e.g., user input, patient data, etc.) from user interfaces and storage devices. An ML algorithm can analyze the patient data to determine one or more ligament-attachment joint stabilization steps for the joint. The system can generate a robotic-enabled surgical plan for the joint based on the user input and the one or more ligament-attachment joint stabilization steps. In some implementations, the robotic-enabled surgical plan includes a sequence of surgical steps with corresponding surgical tools for attaching one or more connectors to at least one ligament of the joint and another structure of the patient to promote stabilization of the joint. A graphical user interface (GUI) can display the robotic-enabled surgical plan for intraoperative viewing by a user (e.g., healthcare provider) while the robotic surgical system robotically operates on the patient. The system can receive, from the user, intraoperative user input associated with one or more of the surgical steps of the robotic-enabled surgical plan. The system determines information to be displayed, via the GUI, based on the received intraoperative user input while controlling one or more of the tools operated by the robotic surgical system according to a selection.”) and providing the recommended commands to a member of the responder team; (see Roh [0034] A surgical workflow is generated for a surgical robot. The surgical workflow comprises workflow objects for the surgical procedure based on the surgical actions. The surgical workflow is adjusted based on a comparison of the surgical workflow to stored historical workflows. The surgical robot is configured with the adjusted workflow comprising the workflow objects and information describing the surgical actions. The surgical robot performs the surgical actions on the patient using the adjusted workflow.”) (see Roh [0039] In embodiments, a robotic surgical system uses machine learning (ML) to provide recommendations and methods for automated robotic ankle arthroscopic surgery. Historical patient data is filtered to match particular parameters of a patient. The parameters are correlated to the patient. A robotic surgical system or a surgeon reviews the historical patient data to select or adjust the historical patient data to generate a surgical workflow for a surgical robot for performing the robotic arthroscopic surgery.”) (see Roh [0042] In some embodiments, the disclosed systems can perform an arthroscopic surgical procedure on a joint of a patient. The system can acquire data (e.g., user input, patient data, etc.) from user interfaces and storage devices. An ML algorithm can analyze the patient data to determine one or more ligament-attachment joint stabilization steps for the joint. The system can generate a robotic-enabled surgical plan for the joint based on the user input and the one or more ligament-attachment joint stabilization steps. In some implementations, the robotic-enabled surgical plan includes a sequence of surgical steps with corresponding surgical tools for attaching one or more connectors to at least one ligament of the joint and another structure of the patient to promote stabilization of the joint. A graphical user interface (GUI) can display the robotic-enabled surgical plan for intraoperative viewing by a user (e.g., healthcare provider) while the robotic surgical system robotically operates on the patient. The system can receive, from the user, intraoperative user input associated with one or more of the surgical steps of the robotic-enabled surgical plan. The system determines information to be displayed, via the GUI, based on the received intraoperative user input while controlling one or more of the tools operated by the robotic surgical system according to a selection.”)
Teran Matus and Roh are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Teran Matus to incorporate a) at least a portion of the situational data and the recognized state information; and b) plan data for the ongoing situation that comprises template commands, and wherein the second model generates the recommended commands by c) selecting, based on the comparison, one or more template commands and providing the recommended commands to a member of the responder team; of Roh. This allows for improved chances of success of detailed steps of an event procedure as recognized by Roh [0046].
Regarding Independent Claim 10, claim 10 is a computer storage medium claim with limitations similar to that of Claim 1 and is rejected under the same rational. Additionally, Teran Matus teaches 10. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for resolving commands for responding to an ongoing situation using machine learning, the computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a computing system, cause a computing system to: (see Teran Matus [0145] 27. “…A non-transitory computer-readable storage device”) (see Teran Matus [0140] “The systems and methods of the present disclosure may take the form of or include a computer program product on a computer-readable storage medium or device having computer-readable program code (e.g., instructions) embodied or stored in the storage medium or device. Any suitable computer-readable storage medium or device may be utilized, including hard disks, CD-ROM, optical storage devices, magnetic storage devices, and/or other storage media. As used herein, a “computer-readable storage medium” or “computer-readable storage device” is not a signal.”)
Regarding Independent Claim 19, claim 19 is a system claim with limitations similar to that of Claim 1 and is rejected under the same rational. Additionally, Teran Matus teaches 19. A computing system for resolving commands for responding to an ongoing situation using machine learning, the computing system comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to: (see Teran Matus [0142] “Computer program instructions may be loaded onto a computer or other programmable data processing apparatus to produce a machine, such that the instructions that execute on the computer or other programmable data processing apparatus create means for implementing the functions specified in the flowchart block or blocks. These computer program instructions may also be stored in a computer-readable memory or device that can direct a computer or other programmable data processing apparatus to function in a particular manner, such that the instructions stored in the computer-readable memory produce an article of manufacture including instruction means which implement the function specified in the flowchart block or blocks. The computer program instructions may also be loaded onto a computer or other programmable data processing apparatus to cause a series of operational steps to be performed on the computer or other programmable apparatus to produce a computer-implemented process such that the instructions which execute on the computer or other programmable apparatus provide steps for implementing the functions specified in the flowchart block or blocks.”)
As to Claim 4 Teran Matus in view of Roh teaches 4. The method of claim 1,
Furthermore, Teran Matus teaches wherein the plan data comprises the template commands and descriptive information that describes a context for the template commands, and the second model generates the recommended commands. (see Teran Matus [0026] In a particular aspect, the models utilized by the described system are trained, at least in part, based on trained event libraries (TELs). TELs may be general or may be specific to particular types of events, geographic areas, etc. To illustrate, a TEL used to train a security system for use in one part of the world may assign a high degree of suspicion to a person carrying an open flame torch, whereas a different TEL for a different part of the world may assign little meaning to such an event when analyzing the context and circumstances. Conversely, certain things may be universal from a security standpoint (e.g., a firearm being fired). TELs can be created that contain the training for specific events. These TELs may be exported, imported, combined, enhanced, added, deleted, exchangeable, etc.”) (see Teran Matus [0045] Machine learning algorithms and models 122 perform holistic analysis of the input signals 102 to detect, identify, and respond to events. Video may be analyzed to identify events, behaviors, objects, faces, etc. using models (e.g., video analysis models 112) trained on TELs. A face recognition model 114 can compare faces detected in the video with law enforcement databases (e.g., a criminals database 108) and, optionally, alternate databases 116 that supplement law enforcement databases (e.g., if law enforcement databases do not reveal a face match, images posted to various social media sites 118 may be searched for a face match). The system 100 optionally may create the alternate database 116 where it will store the faces or other means of identification of people involved directly or indirectly in a crime or relevant event and that probably are or are not stored in the criminal databases 108 in order to identify and locate these people later. Other data sources 120, including sensors 110, ambient environment characteristics, social media posts, structured data, legacy system databases, and Internet data 118, etc. may be used as further inputs to refine event detection (e.g., influence a confidence value output by the model for the detected event). New TELs 124 may also be created (or existing TELs may be augmented) based on some or all of the input signals 102. In some cases, other adjustments may be received from different instances of the system, TELs, etc.”) by comparing the portion of the situational data and the recognized state information, and the template commands and the descriptive information that describes the context for the template commands (see Teran Matus [0079] “The task assignment data 532 indicates a task assignment associated with the hub device 402 or with multiple hub devices 402. For example, a remote command device (e.g., one of the computing device(s) 306) can send a task assignment to the hub device 402 or to multiple hub devices 402. The task assignment can specify one or more tasks (e.g., move an item from point A to point B) or can specify a goal or objective. In some implementations, the task assignment can include a natural language statement (e.g., an unstructured command), in which case the processor(s) can use a natural language processing model to evaluate the task assignment to identify the goal, objective, and/or task specified. If a goal or objective is specified, the processor(s) 510 can be used to execute one or more of the decision models 520 to evaluate the goal or objective and determine one or more tasks (e.g., specific operations or activities) to be performed to accomplish the goal or objective. To illustrate, if the objective is to monitor a zone for dangerous conditions, the processor(s) 510, executing the decision model 520, may determine that the objective can be accomplished by using a risk model 526 to evaluate video data documenting conditions over a significant percentage (e.g., 70%) of the zone and that three of the available unmanned vehicles can be deployed to specific locations to gather the video data.”)
As to Claim 5 Teran Matus in view of Roh teaches 5. The method of claim 1,
Furthermore, Roh teaches wherein the plan data comprises a graph of template commands and links among the template commands, the graph stores context for each template command, and the second model generates the recommended commands by A) comparing the portion of the situational data and state information to the graph and B) selecting on or more of the template commands. (see Roh [0308] “In some embodiments, data used or updated by one or more operations described in this disclosure may be stored in a set of databases 1030. In some embodiments, the server 1002, the wearable device 1004, the set of external displays 1005, or other computer devices may access the set of databases to perform one or more operations described in this disclosure. For example, a prediction model used to determine ocular information may be obtained from a first database 1031, where the first database 1031 may be used to store prediction models or parameters of prediction models. Alternatively, or in addition, the set of databases 1030 may store feedback information collected by the wearable device 1004 or results determined from the feedback information. For example, a second database 1032 may be used to store a set of user profiles that include or link to feedback information corresponding with eye measurement data for the users identified by the set of user profiles. Alternatively, or in addition, the set of databases 1030 may store instructions indicating different types of testing procedures. For example, a third database 1033 may store a set of testing instructions that causes a first stimulus to be presented on the wearable device 1004, then causes a second stimulus to be presented on a first external display 1005a, and thereafter causes a third stimulus to be presented on a second external display 1005b.”)
Teran Matus in view of Roh are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of combination of Teran Matus and Roh to incorporate the plan data comprises a graph of template commands and links among the template commands, the graph stores context for each template command, and the second model generates the recommended commands by a) comparing the portion of the situational data and state information to the graph and b) selecting matching template commands of Roh This allows for improved chances of success of detailed steps of an event procedure as recognized by Roh [0046].
As to Claim 6 Teran Matus in view of Roh teaches 6. The method of claim 5,
Furthermore, Roh teaches wherein the context for a given template command comprises tags of: predefined situational data associated with the given template command; predefined state information associated with the given template command, or any combination thereof. (see Roh [0112] In some embodiments, the ML system 200 trains the ML model 216, based on the training data 220, to correlate the feature vector 212 to expected outputs in the training data 220. As part of the training of the ML model 216, the ML system 200 forms a training set of features and training labels by identifying a positive training set of features that have been determined to have a desired property in question, and, in some embodiments, forms a negative training set of features that lack the property in question.”) (see Roh [0308] “In some embodiments, data used or updated by one or more operations described in this disclosure may be stored in a set of databases 1030. In some embodiments, the server 1002, the wearable device 1004, the set of external displays 1005, or other computer devices may access the set of databases to perform one or more operations described in this disclosure. For example, a prediction model used to determine ocular information may be obtained from a first database 1031, where the first database 1031 may be used to store prediction models or parameters of prediction models. Alternatively, or in addition, the set of databases 1030 may store feedback information collected by the wearable device 1004 or results determined from the feedback information. For example, a second database 1032 may be used to store a set of user profiles that include or link to feedback information corresponding with eye measurement data for the users identified by the set of user profiles. Alternatively, or in addition, the set of databases 1030 may store instructions indicating different types of testing procedures. For example, a third database 1033 may store a set of testing instructions that causes a first stimulus to be presented on the wearable device 1004, then causes a second stimulus to be presented on a first external display 1005a, and thereafter causes a third stimulus to be presented on a second external display 1005b.”)
Teran Matus in view of Roh are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of combination of Teran Matus and Roh to incorporate the context for a given template command comprises tags of: predefined situational data associated with the given template command; predefined state information associated with the given template command, or any combination thereof of Roh. This allows for improved chances of success of detailed steps of an event procedure as recognized by Roh [0046].
As to Claim 7 Teran Matus in view of Roh teaches 7. The method of claim 1,
Furthermore, Teran Matus teaches wherein the ongoing situation comprise a wildfire, one or more violent individuals, a riot, a weather event, a global relief effort, a military or police event, or any combination thereof. (see Teran Matus [0036] In an example, the described zone-driven system (that may be receiving as an input the result of the event-driven system described above and/or additionally receiving input based on emergency calls, police reports, internet data and/or other sources) analyzes what is happening in a zone as well as in the zones around that zone. The zone-driven system may analyze the resources available and features of the available resources. Based on what resources are available, the zone-driven system may make a recommendation regarding how to use those resources, in consideration of what is happening in multiple zones and the predictions in those multiple zones. Hence, in such an example, the zone-driven system may not suggest an action based on just a single event, but rather based on numerous events happening in the zone and surrounding zones of interest and based on available resources. The zone-driven system can also make recommendations for resources needed in the long run and can provide support information based on what is happening (at a given time) to justify the acquisition of more assets, technologies, hiring of more personnel (e.g., police), or implementing certain training to personnel.”) (see Teran Matus [0034] “According to a particular aspect, the system evaluates a risk index against the resources in and around each zone within the monitored geographic or virtual area. When the available resources are predicted to be inadequate to respond to an event (e.g., resources are insufficient, underutilized, over utilized, etc.) in the short, medium, and/or long term, the system generates alerts. Such alerts may be classified by multiple parameters of relevance and urgency (as in the case for the above-described event-driven system). Different level alerts may be communicated to different individuals, systems or subsystems for follow-up action, such as need of resource relocation, resource deployment, resource acquisition, resource reassignment, etc. In some examples, the system considers distance and duration of travel with respect to resources from surrounding zones in determining whether sufficient resources are available to respond to a particular event under different environmental (e.g., weather) scenarios. Thus, the system may generally, in view of the determined risk indexes for various zones, analyze available resources capabilities and features of the resources, distances between zones, environmental conditions, risk index trends of zones, and per-zone resources need predictions. The system may propose one or more solutions to address the predictions for the short term and may optionally recommend other changes or acquisitions for the medium or long term. Depending on implementation, the system may utilize genetic algorithms, heuristic algorithms, and/or machine learning models during operation.”)
As to Claim 9 Teran Matus in view of Roh teaches 9. The method of claim 1,
Furthermore, Teran Matus teaches wherein the ingested image-based situational data comprises descriptions of images or video data related to the ongoing situation, and the ingested natural language data comprises transcripts of conversations among individuals related to the ongoing situation. (see Teran Matus [0051] The data sources 302 can include public sources (e.g., internet-based data sources), private sources (e.g., local sensor, proprietary databases/systems, legacy systems databases), government sources (e.g., emergency call center transcripts), or a combination thereof. Further, in some implementations, one or more of the data sources 302 may be integral to the computing device(s) 306. For example, the computing device(s) 306 include one or more memory devices 310, which may store a database that includes one of the datasets 304.”) (see Teran Matus [0054] “Generally, each data reduction model is configured to process a corresponding data type, structured or unstructured. For example, a first data reduction model may include a natural language processing model trained or configured to extract terms of interest (e.g., keywords) from text, such as social media posts, news articles, transcripts of audio data (which may be generated by the speech recognition instructions or another transcription source), etc. In this example, a second data reduction model may include a classifier or a machine learning model that is trained to generate a descriptor based on features extracted from a sensor data stream. Further, in this example, a third data reduction model may include an object detection model trained or configured to detect particular objects, such as weapons, in image data or video data and to generate an identifier or a descriptor of the detected object. In some implementations, a fourth data reduction model may include face recognition model trained or configured to distinguish human faces in image data or video data and to generate a descriptor (e.g., a name and/or other data, such as a prior criminal history) of a detected person. Other examples of data reduction models 322 include vehicle recognition models that generate descriptors of detected vehicles (e.g., color, make, model, and/or year of a vehicle), license plate reader models that generate license plate numbers based on license plates detected in images or video, sound recognition models that generate descriptors of recognized sounds (e.g., gunshots, shouts, alarm claxons, car horns), meteorological models that generate descriptors of weather conditions based on sensor data, etc. The digest data also includes or is associated with (e.g., as metadata) time information and location information associated with at least one dataset of the datasets 304.”)
As to dependent Claim 13, Claim 13 is a parallel storage medium claim with limitations similar to that of Claim 4 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to dependent Claim 14, Claim 14 is a parallel storage medium claim with limitations similar to that of Claim 5 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to dependent Claim 15, Claim 15 is a parallel storage medium claim with limitations similar to that of Claim 6 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to dependent Claim 16, Claim 16 is a parallel CRM storage medium claim with limitations similar to that of Claim 7 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to dependent Claim 17, Teran Matus in view of Roh teaches 17. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 10,
Furthermore, Teran Matus teaches wherein additional situational data is ingested from the multiple data sources at a point in time after the situational data is ingested, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the computing system, further cause the computing system to: (see Teran Matus [0014] According to particular aspects, public safety systems can be improved by using artificial intelligence (AI) to analyze various types and modes of input data in a holistic fashion. For example, video camera output can be analyzed using AI models to identify suspicious objects left unattended in places (e.g., airports), people or objects in a “wrong” or prohibited place or time, etc. Accomplishments in deep learning and improved computing capabilities enable some systems to go a step further. For example, in a particular aspect, a system can identify or predict very specific events based on multiple and distinct data sources that generate distinct types of data. As another example, events and event responses can be simulated using complex reasoning based on available evidence. Notifications regarding identified or predicted events can be issued to relevant personnel and automated systems. Furthermore, remedial actions can be recommended, or in some cases, automatically initiated using automated response system, such as unmanned vehicles.”) (see Teran Matus [0022] “The disclosed system may also analyze other types of data. For example, the system may search public and private sources, such as the internet (e.g., social media or other posts, real-time news, dark web, etc.), for information regarding events in a geographical region of interest, interpret the data in context and “give meaning” to the data, classify the data, and assign a credibility index as well as weight the data with multiple relevance parameters (e.g., dangerousness, alarm, importance, etc.). The system may also automatically send reports or notifications regarding such events to users configured to receive such notifications. The system may generate recommendations regarding response actions and resource allocations/deployments. In some examples, the system can provide post-event information that can assist an investigation, searching the internet for relevant data related to an event that occurred within the monitored geographical or virtual area, etc.”) compile, by a feedback manager, training instances of: state information recognized by the first model that is inaccurate; and/or recommended commands generated by the second model that are not performed by the responder team, wherein the feedback manager processes the additional situational data to compile the training instances; and update a training of the first model and/or the second model using at least the training instances. (see Teran Matus [0038] “While several of the foregoing aspects are described with reference to security, it is to be understood that the techniques of the present disclose can also be used in other contexts. As a first example, the system can be used before, during and after a natural disaster, such as an earthquake. Prior to the occurrence of an earthquake, the system can evaluate zones that were more severely and/or commonly damaged by previous earthquakes, improvements (e.g., building code/structural improvements) made since the last earthquake and expected results from such improvements, available resources, resource distribution, etc. The system may suggest re-distribution of resources or suggest reinforcement in certain areas that the executed machine learning models predict as having a higher risk index for an earthquake. During an earthquake, the system can receive inputs from diverse sources including video, unmanned vehicles, sensors, emergency calls, rescue teams, and other sources and dynamically recommend resource allocation/distribution to assist with search and rescue operations. After the earthquake response is completed, the system can document the efficacy of its recommended actions and generate training data that can be used to train subsequent generation(s) of models so that future event detections/classifications, risk index predictions, and suggested actions are more accurate and effective.”)
As to dependent Claim 18, Claim 18 is a parallel storage medium claim with limitations similar to that of Claim 9 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to dependent Claim 20, Teran Matus in view of Roh teaches 20. The system of claim 19, wherein the second model selects, based on the comparison, one or more template commands that match the portion of the situational data and the recognized state information, and the second model generates the recommended commands using the selected one or more template commands. (see Roh [0034] “A surgical workflow is generated for a surgical robot. The surgical workflow comprises workflow objects for the surgical procedure based on the surgical actions. The surgical workflow is adjusted based on a comparison of the surgical workflow to stored historical workflows. The surgical robot is configured with the adjusted workflow comprising the workflow objects and information describing the surgical actions. The surgical robot performs the surgical actions on the patient using the adjusted workflow.”) (see Roh [0039] “In embodiments, a robotic surgical system uses machine learning (ML) to provide recommendations and methods for automated robotic ankle arthroscopic surgery. Historical patient data is filtered to match particular parameters of a patient. The parameters are correlated to the patient. A robotic surgical system or a surgeon reviews the historical patient data to select or adjust the historical patient data to generate a surgical workflow for a surgical robot for performing the robotic arthroscopic surgery.”) (see Roh [0042] In some embodiments, the disclosed systems can perform an arthroscopic surgical procedure on a joint of a patient. The system can acquire data (e.g., user input, patient data, etc.) from user interfaces and storage devices. An ML algorithm can analyze the patient data to determine one or more ligament-attachment joint stabilization steps for the joint. The system can generate a robotic-enabled surgical plan for the joint based on the user input and the one or more ligament-attachment joint stabilization steps. In some implementations, the robotic-enabled surgical plan includes a sequence of surgical steps with corresponding surgical tools for attaching one or more connectors to at least one ligament of the joint and another structure of the patient to promote stabilization of the joint. A graphical user interface (GUI) can display the robotic-enabled surgical plan for intraoperative viewing by a user (e.g., healthcare provider) while the robotic surgical system robotically operates on the patient. The system can receive, from the user, intraoperative user input associated with one or more of the surgical steps of the robotic-enabled surgical plan. The system determines information to be displayed, via the GUI, based on the received intraoperative user input while controlling one or more of the tools operated by the robotic surgical system according to a selection.”)
Teran Matus in view of Roh are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of combination of Teran Matus and Roh to incorporate wherein the second model selects, based on the comparison, one or more template commands that match the portion of the situational data and the recognized state information, and the second model generates the recommended commands using the selected one or more template commands of Roh. This allows for improved chances of success of detailed steps of an event procedure as recognized by Roh [0046].
As to dependent Claim 21, Teran Matus in view of Roh teaches 21. (New) The method of Claim1,
Furthermore, Teran Matus teaches wherein the ingested situational data comprises audio from radio channels, (see Teran Matus [0049] “FIG. 3 illustrates additional details of an example of the system 100. In FIG. 3, the system 100 includes a plurality of data sources 302 each of which generates a respective dataset 304. The datasets 304 include a plurality of different data types. … radio…The datasets 304 can also, or in the alternative, include other data types, such as sensor data, still images, database records, etc. wherein the audio is ingested via a first ingest layer comprising one or more audio processing modules to generate a transcript of the audio, and (see Teran Matus[0054] Generally, each data reduction model is configured to process a corresponding data type, structured or unstructured… transcripts of audio data (which may be generated by the speech recognition instructions or another transcription source), wherein the image-based situational data is ingested via a second ingest layer comprising one or more computer vision processing modules. (see Teran Matus [0054] “a third data reduction model may include an object detection model trained or configured to detect particular objects, such as weapons, in image data or video data and to generate an identifier or a descriptor of the detected object.”)
As to dependent Claim 22, Teran Matus in view of Roh teaches 22. (New) The method of Claim 5,
Furthermore, Teran Matus teaches wherein the recommended commands generated by the second model comprise at least a first command and a second command, (see Teran Matus [0079] “The task assignment data 532 indicates a task assignment associated with the hub device 402 or with multiple hub devices 402. For example, a remote command device (e.g., one of the computing device(s) 306) can send a task assignment to the hub device 402 or to multiple hub devices 402. The task assignment can specify one or more tasks (e.g., move an item from point A to point B) or can specify a goal or objective. In some implementations, the task assignment can include a natural language statement (e.g., an unstructured command), in which case the processor(s) can use a natural language processing model to evaluate the task assignment to identify the goal, objective, and/or task specified. If a goal or objective is specified, the processor(s) 510 can be used to execute one or more of the decision models 520 to evaluate the goal or objective and determine one or more tasks (e.g., specific operations or activities) to be performed to accomplish the goal or objective. To illustrate, if the objective is to monitor a zone for dangerous conditions, the processor(s) 510, executing the decision model 520, may determine that the objective can be accomplished by using a risk model 526 to evaluate video data documenting conditions over a significant percentage (e.g., 70%) of the zone and that three of the available unmanned vehicles can be deployed to specific locations to gather the video data.”) wherein at least a first of the template commands that corresponds to the first command is selected by the second model based on the comparing the portion of the situational data and the state information to the graph, and (see Teran Matus Fig. 8(examiner interprets graph as “model builder” described in Fig. 8) ”)([0060] For example, certain response actions can be generated based on rules that map particular event types to corresponding actions, such as a command 342 transmitted by the interface(s) 308 to dispatch one or more unmanned systems 340 (e.g., monitoring drones) to an area associated with a particular type of event. Other response actions can be determined using a machine learning model to predict an appropriate response action.”) wherein at least a second of the template commands that corresponds to the second command is selected by the second model based on a link between the first template command and the second template command within the graph. (see Teran Matus[0061] In FIG. 3, the memory device(s) 310 also include the automated model builder instructions 330 which are executable by the processor(s) 312 to update one or more of the speech recognition instructions 320, the data reduction models 322, the clustering instructions 324, the event classifiers 326, or the event response models 328. FIG. 8 illustrates one particular example of an automated model building process that can be implemented by the automated model builder instructions 330. As an example, initially, the automated model builder instructions 330 can be provided with labeled training data (e.g., one or more of the TELs described above) and the automated model builder instructions 330 can generate the speech recognition instructions 320, the data reduction models 322, the clustering instructions 324, the event classifiers 326, the event response models 328, (examiner interprets second template command as “optimization trainer 860” in Figure 8.) or a combination thereof, based on the labeled training data. “)
As to dependent Claim 23, Claim 23 is a CRM claim with limitations similar to that of claim 22 and is rejected under the same rationale
As to dependent Claim 24 Claim 24 is a system claim with limitations similar to that of claim 5 and is rejected under the same rationale.
As to dependent Claim 25, claim 25 is a system claim with limitations similar to that of claim 22 and is rejected under the same rationale
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRISTEN MICHELLE MASTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2659
/PIERRE LOUIS DESIR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2659