DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-25, 31-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Campos et al (20210050906).
Regarding claim 21, Campos et al discloses, a method of providing a small cell wireless service via coaxial cable infrastructure (abstract, fig. 1-20), the method comprising:
receiving one or more radio frequency (RF) signals at a network node in data communication with the coaxial cable infrastructure, the one or more radio frequency (RF) signals received via the coaxial cable infrastructure (¶ 0028, fig.1);
converting the received one or more RF signals to one or more electrical domain signals (¶ 0028, 0045);
converting the one or more electrical domain signals into one or more cellular RF domain signals via a cellular chipset apparatus of the network node (¶ 0041, 0051, fig.1); and
transmitting the one or more cellular RF domain signals to a user apparatus within a wireless range of the network node via one or more antenna apparatus of the network node (¶ 0029).
Regarding claim 22 Campos et al discloses in claim 1, further, wherein the receiving the one or more radio frequency (RF) signals via the coaxial cable infrastructure comprises receiving the one or more RF signals transmitted from a premises apparatus within a prescribed frequency band, the one or more RF signals having been down-converted to the prescribed frequency band from a cellular frequency band prior to said transmitting (¶ 0041, 0051, fig.1-7).
Regarding claim 23, Campos et al discloses in claim 1, further, wherein the converting the received one or more RF signals to the one or more electrical domain signals comprises converting the received one or more RF signals to baseband data via a second chipset apparatus of the network node (¶ 0041, 0051, fig.1-7).
Regarding claim 24, Campos et al discloses in claim 1, further, wherein: the receiving of the one or more radio frequency (RF) signals via the coaxial cable infrastructure comprises receiving the one or more RF signals as IEEE Std. 802.1 lax-compliant waveforms; and the converting the received one or more RF signals via a second chipset apparatus of the network node comprises utilizing an IEEE Std. 802.11 ax-compliant chipset to convert the IEEE Std. 802.11 ax-compliant waveforms to baseband data (¶ 0028, fig.1-7, wi-fi).
Regarding claim 25, Campos et al discloses in claim 1, further, further comprising processing the baseband data utilizing at least a MAC (media access controller) process of the network node as part of providing said baseband data to said cellular chipset apparatus (¶ 0109, fig.1-20).
Regarding claim 31, Campos et al discloses in claim 1, further, computer readable apparatus comprising a non-transitory storage medium, the non-transitory storage medium comprising at least one computer program having a plurality of instructions configured to, when executed on a processing apparatus of a computerized node apparatus(¶ 0064, fig. 1-20), cause the computerized node apparatus to:
receive, at the computerized node apparatus, one or more radio frequency (RF) signals, the computerized node apparatus in data communication with an extant wireline infrastructure, the one or more radio frequency (RF) signals received via the extant wireline infrastructure (¶ 0028);
convert the one or more RF signals to one or more electrical domain signals (¶ 0028, 0045);
convert the one or more electrical domain signals into one or more cellular RF domain signals via a cellular chipset apparatus of the computerized node apparatus (¶ 0028, 0045); and
transmit the one or more cellular RF domain signals to a computerized user apparatus within a wireless range of the computerized node apparatus via one or more antenna apparatus of the computerized node apparatus (¶ 0029-0030, fig.1).
Regarding claim 32, Campos et al discloses in claim 30, further, wherein the plurality of instructions are further configured to, when executed on the processing apparatus of the computerized node apparatus, cause the computerized node apparatus to: determine, via use of a wireless local area network (WLAN) chipset of the computerized node apparatus, whether the computerized user apparatus is local to the computerized node apparatus or disposed at a premises (¶ 0028, fig.1).
Regarding claim 33 Campos et al discloses in claim 30, further, based on the determination indicating that the computerized user apparatus is geographically proximate to the computerized node apparatus, transmit the one or more cellular RF domain signals to the computerized user apparatus via local WLAN antennae of the computerized node apparatus (¶ 0028, fig.1).
Regarding claim 34 Campos et al discloses in claim 30, further, based on the determination indicating that the computerized user apparatus is disposed at the premises, down-convert the one or more cellular RF domain signals to an appropriate cable RF band and transmit the one or more down-converted RF domain signals to the computerized user apparatus disposed at the premises (¶ 0039-0041).
Regarding claim 35 Campos et al discloses in claim 30, further, wherein the conversion of the one or more RF signals to the one or more electrical domain signals comprises conversion, via use of an Ethernet MAC chipset within the computerized node apparatus, of the one or more RF signals to the one or more electrical domain signals (¶ 0028, 0109).
Regarding claim 36 Campos et al discloses in claim 30, further, wherein: the receipt of the one or more RE signals comprises: (i) receipt of first signals via a first RE band over a first path of the extant wireline infrastructure, and (ii) receipt of second signals via a second RF band over a second path of the extant wireline infrastructure, the second RE band not overlapping the first RF band in frequency; the plurality of instructions are further configured to, when executed on the processing apparatus of the computerized node apparatus, cause the computerized node apparatus to: select one of the first or second signals at the common node; and the transmission of the one or more cellular RF domain signals comprises transmission of the selected one of the first or second signals converted to cellular RF domain (¶ 0037-0039).
Regarding claim 37 Campos et al discloses in claim 30, further, detect a failure of a first distribution node in signal communication with and which supports the first path; and the transmission of the selected one of the first or second signals converted to cellular RE domain comprises transmission, based at least on the detection, of the second signals converted to the cellular RE domain (¶ 0037-0039).
Regarding claim 38 Campos et al discloses in claim 30, further, wherein: the receipt of the one or more RF signals comprises: (i) receipt of first signals via a first RF band over a first path of the extant wireline infrastructure, and (ii) receipt of second signals via a second RF band over a second path of the extant wireline infrastructure, the second RF band not overlapping the first RF band in frequency; the plurality of instructions are further configured to, when executed on the processing apparatus of the computerized node apparatus, cause the computerized node apparatus to: combine the first and second signals; and the transmission of the one or more cellular RF domain signals comprises transmission of the combined first and second signals (¶ 0037-0039).
Regarding claim 39 Campos et al discloses in claim 30, further, receive one or more second RF signals transmitted from a premises apparatus within a prescribed frequency band, the one or more second RF signals having been down-converted to the prescribed frequency band from a cellular frequency band prior to the transmission from the premises apparatus (¶ 0041).
Regarding claim 40 Campos et al discloses in claim 30, further, disaggregate the one or more second RF signals into first and second signals; transmit the first signals via a first RF band over a first path of the extant wireline infrastructure, and transmit the second signals via a second RF band over a second path of the extant wireline infrastructure, the second RF band not overlapping the first RF band in frequency (¶ 0060-0061) .
Regarding claim 41 Campos et al discloses in claim 30, further, a network node apparatus configured to provide a small cell wireless service via a coaxial cable infrastructure, the network node apparatus comprising:
a port configured to interface with the coaxial cable infrastructure and to receive one or more radio frequency (RF) signals via the coaxial cable infrastructure (¶ 0028);
first radio frequency integrated circuit (RF IC) apparatus in data communication with the port, the first RF IC apparatus configured to convert the received one or more RF signals to one or more electrical domain signals (¶ 0028, 0045);
cellular chipset apparatus configured to convert the one or more electrical domain signals into one or more cellular RF domain signals (¶ 0028-0029, 0045); and
one or more antenna apparatus configured to transmit the one or more cellular RF domain signals to a user apparatus within a wireless range of the network node apparatus (¶ 0028-0029, 0045).
Regarding claim 41 Campos et al discloses in claim 40, further, wherein the coaxial cable infrastructure comprises a coaxial cable portion of a hybrid fiber coaxial (¶ 0040) network topology operated by a multiple systems operator (¶ 0025).
Regarding claim 42 Campos et al discloses in claim 40, further, comprising frequency shifter apparatus configured to shift RF waveforms within a prescribed frequency band to a frequency lower than the prescribed frequency band, the frequency lower than the prescribed frequency band being suitable for transmission over the coaxial cable infrastructure (¶ 0054, 0116, 0119).
Regarding claim 44 Campos et al discloses in claim 40, further, wherein the first RF IC apparatus comprises: a first integrated circuit (IC) or chipset configured to generate at least part of the one or more RF signals within a first sub-band for output via four first ports or spatial diversity channels; and a second IC or chipset configured to generate at least part of the one or more RF signals within a second sub-band for output via four second ports or spatial diversity channels, the first and second sub-bands being non-overlapping in frequency (¶ 0052, 0131-00132).
Regarding claim 45 Campos et al discloses in claim 40, further, wherein the cellular chipset apparatus comprises an integrated circuit (IC) or chipset configured to support at least one of a 3GPP Long Term Evolution (LTE) protocol or a 3GPP 5G NR (New Radio) protocol, and the one or more cellular RF domain signals comprise a spectrum band selected from the group consisting of: (i) NR-U bands, (ii) CBRS bands, and (iii) C-Bands (¶ 0028, 0035, 0060).
Conclusion
/KHAWAR IQBAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643