DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
As directed by the amendment received on July 30, 2026, claims 1-3, 5, 7, and 16 have been amended, and claims 8-15 and 20 have been canceled. Claim 21 is new. Accordingly, claims 1-7, 16-19, and 21 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed with the written response received on July 30, 2026, have been considered and an action on the merits follows. Any objections and rejections previously put forth in the Office Action dated April 30, 2026, are hereby withdrawn unless specifically noted below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in Fig. 8, it is suggested that reference character “7” be placed at the middle apex of the bracket of the exploded view to refer to the overall structure of the retractable reel and wheel mechanism as a whole as discussed at least at [063].
Specification – Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because, at lines 1-2, “The present inventive concept provides […]” is implied phraseology. It is suggested that the language be removed or otherwise rewritten to overcome this objection.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Specification – Disclosure
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
“a control apparatus exclusively physical separate from the sole assembly” as recited in claim 1
The disclosure is also objected to because the written disclosure of the specification should be amended to properly refer to each of Figs. 4A and 4B instead of Fig. 4 alone. For example, it is suggested that reference to Figs. 4A and 4B be included at least at [053], [066], and [071] as well as in the brief description of the drawings.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
At line 4, “each forming” should read “each hose of the set of hoses forming”
At lines 4-5, “a respective fluid or air-retention compartment” should read “a respective one of the one or more fluid or air-retention compartments”
At line 7, “the fluid or air-retention compartments” should read “the one or more fluid or air-retention compartments”
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
At line 2, “adjusted” should read “adjustable”
At line 7, “of the fluid or air” should read “fluid or air”
At line 8, “the fluid or the air” should read “the fluid or air”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-7 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a control apparatus exclusively physically separate from the sole assembly” at line 5. It is unclear what is meant by “exclusively” physically separate and how it is different from being “physically separate”. Additionally, it is also unclear how the control apparatus could be considered physically separate from the sole assembly when the claim recites the set of hoses forming a fluid or air communication channel between the compartments and the seemingly connected control apparatus. It is further unclear to what extent of separation is intended to be claimed. For example, can the control apparatus be connected indirectly to the sole assembly via an intervening structure and still be considered physically separate? Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the limitation instead read “a control apparatus physically separable from the sole assembly”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the one or more external ports” at lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the limitation instead read “one or more external ports”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the I/O box” at line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the limitation instead read “an I/O box”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “the user” at line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the limitation instead read “a user”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claims 2-7 are also rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 16-19, and 21 (claims 1-7 and 21, as best can be understood), as best can be understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0368926 to Bailly et al. (hereinafter, “Bailly”).
Regarding claim 1, Bailly teaches a footwear adjustment system, comprising: a sole assembly comprising a plurality of fluid or air-retention compartments (See Bailly, Figs. 8A-9; footwear (100) having sole (104) having fluid bladders (200, 400); abstract); a set of hoses, each hose of the set of hoses forming a fluid or air communication channel between a respective one of the plurality of fluid or air-retention compartments and a control apparatus exclusively physical separate from the sole assembly (See Bailly, Figs. 4A-4B; 11A-12C; fluid lines (202, 402) each forming fluid communication channel between respective bladders (200, 400) and fluid distributor (500); fluid distributor (500) is physically separate from sole (104) by at least receptacle (510) and is further separable/removable from footwear (100); [0124]); and the control apparatus configured to dynamically adjust fluid or air-levels within the plurality of fluid or air-retention compartments to control a firmness of the sole assembly based on at least one of external commands or sensed conditions (See Bailly, Figs. 4A-4B and 11A-12C; fluid distributor (500) is capable of adjusting fluid levels in bladders (200, 400) to control a firmness based on sensed conditions and/or commands; [0102], [0137]).
Regarding claim 2, Bailly (as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein the one or more external ports are in fluid or air communication with one or more internal ports through connector hoses (See Bailly, Fig. 12A-12C; connector (700) of distributor (500) includes fluid ports on surface (704S) which are more internal to the fluid system of the bladders (200, 400) than more external ports on surface (704B) which act as outlets from the fluid system to the remainder to fluid distributor (500); ports are connected via flexible tubes as depicted in Fig. 10; [0123]-[0124]).
Regarding claim 3, Bailly (as discussed with respect to claims 1-2 above) further teaches wherein the sole assembly further comprises an Input/Output (I/O) box, wherein the I/O box comprises a plurality of I/O ports including the one or more external ports and the one or more internal ports, and wherein the I/O box is configured to exchange of the fluid or air between the plurality of fluid or air-retention compartments and an external supply through the plurality of I/O ports (See Bailly, Fig. 12A; connector (700) includes a plurality of input and output ports including those ports discussed with respect to claim 2 above and is further capable of exchanging fluid between bladders (200, 400) and an external fluid source via said ports; see rejection under 112(b) above for additional discussion).
Regarding claim 4, Bailly (as discussed with respect to claims 1-3 above) further teaches wherein the connector hoses are configured to receive the fluid or air from one or more external ports of the plurality of I/O ports, and supply the fluid or air to one or more internal ports of the plurality of I/O ports (See Bailly, Figs. 5A-5F and 12A-12C; tubes extending between ports of connector (700) are capable of receiving fluid from external ports and supply the fluid to the internal ports).
Regarding claim 5, Bailly (as discussed with respect to claims 1-4 above) further teaches wherein the I/O box further comprises a door positioned exterior to a rear end of the sole assembly, wherein the door is positionable in one of an opened state or a closed state, and wherein the door is configured to cover one or more of the plurality of I/O ports when the door is in the closed state (See Bailly, Figs. 8A-9; cap (506) is positionable to cover connector (700) of distributor (500) on rear end of footwear (100) between a closed and an opened state, wherein cap (506) covers the connector (700) of distributor (500) in the closed state; cap (506) is positionable in Figs. 8A-9 similar to as shown in embodiment of Figs. 15A-15B; [0119]).
Regarding claim 6, Bailly (as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein each of the plurality of fluid or air-retention compartments comprises a pressure valve (bladders (200, 400) can each include a pressure relief valve; [0182]).
Regarding claim 7, Bailly (as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 6 above) further teaches wherein each hose of the set of hoses connects the pressure valve of each of the plurality of fluid or air-retention compartments with one or more of a plurality of I/O ports of the I/O box (See Bailly, Figs. 5A-5F and 12A-12C; fluid lines (202, 402) connects relief valves of each bladder (200, 400) with the ports of connector (700) of distributor (500) at least indirectly, i.e., all components are connected in fluid communication).
Regarding claim 16, Bailly teaches a footwear article comprising a sole assembly, the sole assembly comprising: one or more fluid or air-retention compartments (See Bailly, Figs. 8A-9; footwear (100) having sole (104) having fluid bladders (200, 400); abstract); a set of hoses, each forming a fluid or air communication channel between a respective fluid or air-retention compartment and an Input/Output (I/O) box (See Bailly, Figs. 4A-4B; 11A-12C; fluid lines (202, 402) each forming fluid communication channel between respective bladders (200, 400) and connector (700) of fluid distributor (500); [0124]); and the I/O box comprising a plurality of I/O ports, wherein the I/O box is configured to exchange of the fluid or air between the fluid or air-retention compartments and a portable external supply of the fluid or the air through the plurality of I/O ports (See Bailly, Fig. 12A; connector (700) includes a plurality of input and output ports and is further capable of exchanging fluid between bladders (200, 400) and a hypothetical portable external fluid source via said ports in connection with portable fluid distributor (500)).
Regarding claim 17, Bailly (as discussed with respect to claim 16 above) further teaches wherein the footwear article is an athletic shoe (footwear (100 is capable of being used for athletic purposes absent additional structural limitations).
Regarding claim 18, Bailly (as discussed with respect to claim 16 above) further teaches wherein the footwear article is a casual shoe (footwear (100 is capable of being used for casual purposes absent additional structural limitations).
Regarding claim 19, Bailly (as discussed with respect to claim 16 above) further teaches wherein the footwear article is a work shoe (footwear (100 is capable of being used for work purposes absent additional structural limitations).
Regarding claim 21, Bailly (as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein the fluid or air-levels within the plurality of fluid or air-retention compartments is adjusted based on external commands provided by the user via a user device selected from a remote control, a smartphone, a smartwatch, a tablet, a laptop computing device, a desktop computing, or other computing device (fluid or air levels are adjustable based on external commands provided by a hypothetical user via a computing device such as a personal computer or a smart phone; See Bailly, [0089], [0157]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 30, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Bailly fails to show the following features of the invention: (1) Applicant’s invention removes essentially all active mechanical and electronic components from the footwear and relocates them into a completely separate housing that is not part of the footwear, (2) eliminates powered components from the footwear altogether, and (3) provides numerous technical advantages from removal of the active components form the footwear. In response, it is noted that the features upon which Applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claims as argued by Applicant. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). For example, although Applicant argues relocation of various components to a completely separate housing removed from the footwear, the claimed invention, as best can be understood, merely requires that a control apparatus be physically separate or separable from the sole assembly, not the footwear as a whole. As discussed in the current grounds of rejection above, Bailly meets this limitation.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Baily does not teach or suggest Applicant’s external hose architecture, Examiner again respectfully disagrees. Again, Applicant recites various structures and/or features (e.g., external retractable supply hoses extending from a separate housing to the footwear) that are not recited in the claims. As discussed in the current grounds of rejection above, Bailly teaches the various hoses and external and internal ports as claimed.
In response to Applicant argument that Bailly does not teach Applicant’s external interface adapter, Examiner again respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that Applicant’s arguments again refer to language and features that are not recited in the claims. For example, an “external interface adapter” is not recited in the claims. That said, if Applicant’s arguments are meant to refer to the various internal and external ports and I/O box and ports of the claimed invention, Bailly teaches these features as claimed as discussed in the current grounds of rejection above.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Bailly does not teach or suggest remote wireless control of an external housing, Examiner again respectfully disagrees. As an initial matter, Examiner notes that the claims do not recite an “external housing”. However, as discussed in the current grounds of rejection above, Bailly does teach that fluid or air levels are adjustable based on external commands provided by a hypothetical user via a computing device such as a personal computer or a smart phone (See Bailly, [0089], [0157]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW R MARCHEWKA/Examiner, Art Unit 3732