DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/662115 filed on 05/13/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 5, 9, 13, 17, and 20 were amended.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments (see the Applicant's Remarks), filed on 04/29/2026, with respect
to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Examiner provide a new ground of rejections to address Applicant’s amendment and argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In this case, the amended limitation “determining a size of a first field in the first DCI based on a number of first SRS resources configured in the first SRS resource set, the size of the second field being independent of the number of the first SRS resources configured in the first SRS resource set; determining a size of a second field in the second DCI based on the number of second SRS resources configured in the second SRS resource set, the size of the second field being independent of the number of the first SRS resources configured in the first SRS resource set” as in claim 1 and 9 have received no support from the corresponding disclosure from the Applicant’s specification (see par. 0368 od US 2024/0381349 A1).
In the Applicant’s specification, Applicant merely disclose that “In action 110, the process 100 may determine a size of a first field in the first DCI based on the number of first SRS resources configured in the first SRS resource set. The size of the first field may be necessary for the UE to decode the first DCI correctly and to determine the meaning of the first field properly. In action 112, the process 100 may determine a size of a second field in the second DCI based on the number of second SRS resources configured in the second SRS resource set. Similarly, the size of the second field may be necessary for the UE to decode the second DCI correctly and to determine the meaning of the second field properly. The size of the first field and the size of the second field may be determined independently. The size of the first field may be different from the size of the second field”.
However, Applicant’s specification does not explicitly disclose or provide support for the amendment covering the scope of the limitation for “the size of the first/second field is determined independent of the number of the second/first SRS resources configured in the second/first SRS resource set”.
Claims 2-8, 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph for at least the reason stated above. Claims 2-8, 10-16 depend on claims 1 and 9 respectively; however, they do not add any feature or subject matter that would solve any of the deficiencies of claim 1 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In this case, the amended limitation “…... determine a size of a first field in the first DCI based on a number of first SRS resources configured in the first SRS resource set, the size of the first field is independent of a number of second SRS resources configured in the second SRS resource set, ……. determine a size of a second field in the second DCI based on the number of the second SRS resources configured in the second SRS resource set, the size of the second field is independent of the number of the first SRS resources configured in the first SRS resource set,” as in claim 17 have received no support from the corresponding disclosure from the Applicant’s specification (see par. 0368 od US 2024/0381349 A1).
In the Applicant’s specification, Applicant merely disclose that “In action 110, the process 100 may determine a size of a first field in the first DCI based on the number of first SRS resources configured in the first SRS resource set. The size of the first field may be necessary for the UE to decode the first DCI correctly and to determine the meaning of the first field properly. In action 112, the process 100 may determine a size of a second field in the second DCI based on the number of second SRS resources configured in the second SRS resource set. Similarly, the size of the second field may be necessary for the UE to decode the second DCI correctly and to determine the meaning of the second field properly. The size of the first field and the size of the second field may be determined independently. The size of the first field may be different from the size of the second field”.
However, Applicant’s specification does not explicitly disclose or provide support for the amendment covering the scope of the limitation for “the size of the first/second field is determined independent of the number of the second/first SRS resources configured in the second/first SRS resource set”.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph for at least the reason stated above. Claims 18-20 depend on claim 17; however, they do not add any feature or subject matter that would solve any of the deficiencies of claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-12, 14-15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIM et al. (US 2025/0274961 A1) in view of KHOSHNEVISAN et al. (US 2023/0171783 A1).
As per claim 1, LIM discloses “A method performed by a User Equipment (UE) for a Simultaneous Transmission with Multi-Panel (STxMP) operation, the method comprising:” [(par. 0009), receiving a higher layer signal from the base station, identifying whether the higher layer signal includes a parameter for supporting the STxMP, in case that the higher layer signal includes the parameter for supporting the STxMP, identifying support of the STxMP based on multi-downlink control information (DCI), performing a first PUSCH transmission and a second PUSCH transmission overlapping at least in a time domain, based on the STxMP.]receiving, from a Base Station (BS), a configuration for multi-Downlink Control Information (DCI) based STxMP Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH);” [(par. 0009), receiving a higher layer signal from the base station, identifying whether the higher layer signal includes a parameter for supporting the STxMP, in case that the higher layer signal includes the parameter for supporting the STxMP, identifying support of the STxMP based on multi-downlink control information (DCI), performing a first PUSCH transmission and a second PUSCH transmission overlapping at least in a time domain, based on the STxMP.] “receiving, from the BS, a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource set configuration including a first SRS resource set and a second SRS resource set;” [(par. 0285), The base station may configure at least one SRS configuration with regard to each uplink BWP in order to transfer configuration information for SRS transmission to the UE, and may also configure at least one SRS resource set with regard to each SRS configuration. As an example, the base station and the UE may exchange upper signaling information as follows, in order to transfer information regarding the SRS resource set. (par. 0287), srs-ResourceIdList: a set of SRS resource indices referred to by SRS resource sets.] “receiving, from the BS, first DCI in a first Control Resource Set (CORESET) associated with a first CORESET pool index;” [(par. 0010), transmitting, to the terminal, first downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) from a first control resource set (CORESET) having a CORESET pool index configured to be 0, and second DCI for scheduling a second PUSCH from a second CORESET having a CORESET pool index configured to be 1, and performing a first PUSCH transmission and a second PUSCH reception overlapping at least in a time domain, based on the STxMP.] “receiving, from the BS, second DCI in a second CORESET associated with a second CORESET pool index different from the first CORESET pool index;” [(par. 0010), transmitting, to the terminal, first downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) from a first control resource set (CORESET) having a CORESET pool index configured to be 0, and second DCI for scheduling a second PUSCH from a second CORESET having a CORESET pool index configured to be 1, and performing a first PUSCH transmission and a second PUSCH reception overlapping at least in a time domain, based on the STxMP.]
LIM does not explicitly disclose “determining a size of a first field in the first DCI based on a number of first SRS resources configured in the first SRS resource set, the size of the second field being independent of the number of the first SRS resources configured in the first SRS resource set; determining a size of a second field in the second DCI based on the number of second SRS resources configured in the second SRS resource set, the size of the second field being independent of the number of the first SRS resources configured in the first SRS resource set; transmitting, to the BS, a first PUSCH scheduled by the first DCI based on the first field; and transmitting, to the BS, a second PUSCH scheduled by the second DCI based on the second field”.
KHOSHNEVISAN discloses “determining a size of a first field in the first DCI based on a number of first SRS resources configured in the first SRS resource set, the size of the second field being independent of the number of the first SRS resources configured in the first SRS resource set;” [(par. 0087), the first number of SRS resources is equal to the second number of SRS resources. In such cases, a size of a first SRI field in the first DCI is based on the first number of SRS resources and a second SRI field in the second DCI is based on the second number of SRS resources. For example, when two SRS resource sets associated with two CORESET pool index values may have a same number of SRS resources (e.g., N.sub.SRS.sup.0=N.sub.SRS.sup.1), the number of bits for the SRI field in each DCI is determined based on this number.] “determining a size of a second field in the second DCI based on the number of second SRS resources configured in the second SRS resource set, the size of the second field being independent of the number of the first SRS resources configured in the first SRS resource set;” [(par. 0087), the first number of SRS resources is equal to the second number of SRS resources. In such cases, a size of a first SRI field in the first DCI is based on the first number of SRS resources and a second SRI field in the second DCI is based on the second number of SRS resources. For example, when two SRS resource sets associated with two CORESET pool index values may have a same number of SRS resources (e.g., N.sub.SRS.sup.0=N.sub.SRS.sup.1), the number of bits for the SRI field in each DCI is determined based on this number.] “transmitting, to the BS, a first PUSCH scheduled by the first DCI based on the first field;” [(par. 0005), transmitting, to the UE, a first DCI that schedules a first PUSCH and indicates a first SRI value; transmitting, to the UE, a second DCI that schedules a second PUSCH and indicates a second SRI value; receiving the first PUSCH with a first set of transmission parameters used for transmitting SRS resources indicated by the first SRI value, the SRS resources indicated by the first and second SRI values are based on an association between CORESET pool index values and the first and second SRS resource sets; and receiving the second PUSCH with a second set of transmission parameters used for transmitting the SRS resources indicated by the second SRI value.] “and transmitting, to the BS, a second PUSCH scheduled by the second DCI based on the second field” [(par. 0005), transmitting, to the UE, a first DCI that schedules a first PUSCH and indicates a first SRI value; transmitting, to the UE, a second DCI that schedules a second PUSCH and indicates a second SRI value; receiving the first PUSCH with a first set of transmission parameters used for transmitting SRS resources indicated by the first SRI value, the SRS resources indicated by the first and second SRI values are based on an association between CORESET pool index values and the first and second SRS resource sets; and receiving the second PUSCH with a second set of transmission parameters used for transmitting the SRS resources indicated by the second SRI value.]
LIM et al. (US 2025/0274961 A1) and KHOSHNEVISAN et al. (US 2023/0171783 A1) are analogous art because they are the same field of endeavor of network communication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate KHOSHNEVISAN’s teaching into LIM’s teaching. The motivation for making the above modification would be to allow a base station to indicate a specific uplink resource for uplink transmission.
As per claim 2, LIM in view of KHOSHNEVISAN discloses “The method of claim 1” as [see rejection of claim 1.]
KHOSHNEVISAN discloses “wherein: the first DCI comprises a DCI format 0_1, and the second DCI comprises the DCI format 0_1” as [(par. 0081), the first DCI and the second DCI have a first format or a second format. In one example, the first format may correspond to DCI format 0_1.]
LIM et al. (US 2025/0274961 A1) and KHOSHNEVISAN et al. (US 2023/0171783 A1) are analogous art because they are the same field of endeavor of network communication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate KHOSHNEVISAN’s teaching into LIM’s teaching. The motivation for making the above modification would be to allow a base station to indicate a specific uplink resource for uplink transmission.
As per claim 3, LIM in view of KHOSHNEVISAN discloses “The method of claim 1” as [see rejection of claim 1.]
KHOSHNEVISAN discloses “wherein: the first field in the first DCI comprises a first SRS resource indicator (SRI) field,” [(par. 0087), the first number of SRS resources is equal to the second number of SRS resources. In such cases, a size of a first SRI field in the first DCI is based on the first number of SRS resources and a second SRI field in the second DCI is based on the second number of SRS resources. For example, when two SRS resource sets associated with two CORESET pool index values may have a same number of SRS resources (e.g., N.sub.SRS.sup.0=N.sub.SRS.sup.1), the number of bits for the SRI field in each DCI is determined based on this number.] “the second field in the second DCI comprises a second SRI field” [(par. 0087), the first number of SRS resources is equal to the second number of SRS resources. In such cases, a size of a first SRI field in the first DCI is based on the first number of SRS resources and a second SRI field in the second DCI is based on the second number of SRS resources. For example, when two SRS resource sets associated with two CORESET pool index values may have a same number of SRS resources (e.g., N.sub.SRS.sup.0=N.sub.SRS.sup.1), the number of bits for the SRI field in each DCI is determined based on this number.]
LIM et al. (US 2025/0274961 A1) and KHOSHNEVISAN et al. (US 2023/0171783 A1) are analogous art because they are the same field of endeavor of network communication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate KHOSHNEVISAN’s teaching into LIM’s teaching. The motivation for making the above modification would be to allow a base station to indicate a specific uplink resource for uplink transmission.
As per claim 4, LIM in view of KHOSHNEVISAN discloses “The method of claim 1” as [see rejection of claim 1.]
KHOSHNEVISAN discloses “wherein: both the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set are used for non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission,” [(par. 0063), In this case, to determine whether an SRS resource indicator (SRI) indicates SRS resource or SRS resources (e.g., for non-code book (NCB)) from a first SRS resource set or from a second SRS resource set, an SRI field in an uplink (UL) DCI may be interpreted differently depending on whether the DCI is detected in a CORESET (e.g., with CORESET pool index value of 0 or 1).]
“the first field indicates a first precoder applied to the first PUSCH, and the second field indicates a second precoder applied to the second PUSCH” [(par. 0052), [0052] FIG. 6 is a call flow diagram illustrating an example of NCB-based UL transmission. As illustrated, a UE transmits (precoded) SRS to a BS. While the example shows two SRS resources, the UE may transmit with up to four SRS resources (with each resource having one port). The BS measures the SRS and, based on the measurement, selects one or more SRS resource. In this case, since the UE sent the SRS precoded, by selecting the SRS resource, the BS is effectively also selecting precoding. For NCB-based UL transmission, each SRS resource corresponds to a layer. The precoder of the layer is actually the precoder of the SRS, which is emulated by the UE. Selecting N SRS resources means the rank is N. The UE then transmits a PUSCH using the same precoder as the SRS. As further illustrated, the BS configures the UE with the selected SRS resource via an SRI. For a dynamic grant, the SRI may be configured via DCI format 0_1. For a configured grant, the SRI may be configured via RRC or DCI. Example SRI for NCB-based PUSCH transmission is illustrated in FIG. 7.]
LIM et al. (US 2025/0274961 A1) and KHOSHNEVISAN et al. (US 2023/0171783 A1) are analogous art because they are the same field of endeavor of network communication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate KHOSHNEVISAN’s teaching into LIM’s teaching. The motivation for making the above modification would be to allow a base station to indicate a specific uplink resource for uplink transmission.
As per claim 6, LIM in view of KHOSHNEVISAN discloses “The method of claim 1” as [see rejection of claim 1.]
KHOSHNEVISAN discloses “wherein: the number of the second SRS resources configured in the second SRS resource set is one, and the size of the second field in the second DCI is zero” as [(par. 0059), In such cases, TRP differentiation at the UE is based on a control resource set (CORESET) pool index. Each CORESET (e.g., a maximum number of five CORESETs) may be configured with a value of the CORESET pool index. As illustrated in FIG. 10, the value of the CORESET pool index may be zero or one. Based on the CORESET pool index value, CORESETs may be grouped into two groups.]
LIM et al. (US 2025/0274961 A1) and KHOSHNEVISAN et al. (US 2023/0171783 A1) are analogous art because they are the same field of endeavor of network communication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate KHOSHNEVISAN’s teaching into LIM’s teaching. The motivation for making the above modification would be to allow a base station to indicate a specific uplink resource for uplink transmission.
As per claim 7, LIM in view of KHOSHNEVISAN discloses “The method of claim 1” as [see rejection of claim 1.]
KHOSHNEVISAN discloses “further comprising determining a size of the first DCI and a size of the second DCI, wherein: the size of the first DCI is the same as the size of the second DCI, and the size of the first field in the first DCI is different from the size of the second field in the second DCI” as [(par. 0087), a size of a first SRI field in the first DCI is based on the first number of SRS resources and a second SRI field in the second DCI is based on the second number of SRS resources. For example, when two SRS resource sets associated with two CORESET pool index values may have a same number of SRS resources (e.g., N SRS0=NSRS1), the number of bits for the SRI field in each DCI is determined based on this number.]
LIM et al. (US 2025/0274961 A1) and KHOSHNEVISAN et al. (US 2023/0171783 A1) are analogous art because they are the same field of endeavor of network communication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate KHOSHNEVISAN’s teaching into LIM’s teaching. The motivation for making the above modification would be to allow a base station to indicate a specific uplink resource for uplink transmission.
As per claims 9-12, 14-15, as [see rejections of claims 1-4, 6-7.]
As per claims 17, 19, 20, as [see rejections of claims 1, 6, 7.]
As per claim 18, as [see rejections of claims 2 and 3.]
Claims 5, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIM et al. (US 2025/0274961 A1) in view of KHOSHNEVISAN et al. (US 2023/0171783 A1) in view of Cheng et al. (US 2019/0261195 A1).
As per claim 5, LIM in view of Chen in view of KHOSHNEVISAN discloses “The method of claim 1” as [see rejection of claim 1.]
LIM discloses “wherein: both the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set are used for codebook-based PUSCH transmission,” as [(par. 0297), In addition, if the place of use of the SRS resource set is configured as “codebook” or “antennaSwitching” in view of the place of use of the SRS resource set including the transmitted SRS resource, the minimum time interval may be determined as N2 symbols.]
LIM in view of KHOSHNEVISAN does not explicitly disclose “in response to determining that the size of the first field is not zero, the first field indicates a first beam applied to the first PUSCH, and in response to determining that the size of the second field is not zero, the second field indicates a second beam applied to the second PUSCH”.
However, Cheng disclose “in response to determining that the size of the first field is not zero, the first field indicates a first beam applied to the first PUSCH, and in response to determining that the size of the second field is not zero, the second field indicates a second beam applied to the second PUSCH” as [(par. 0089), As shown in FIG. 9, different from the beam indication for the PUCCH, the UL beam for the PUSCH may be indicated by the SRI bit field in the DCI 900 in some of the present implementations.]
LIM et al. (US 2025/0274961 A1) and Cheng et al. (US 2019/0261195 A1) are analogous art because they are the same field of endeavor of network communication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Cheng’s teaching into LIM’s teaching. The motivation for making the above modification would be to allow a base station to control a specific beam resource for uplink transmission.
As per claim 13, as [see rejections of claim 5.]
Claims 8, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIM et al. (US 2025/0274961 A1) in view of KHOSHNEVISAN et al. (US 2023/0171783 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 2024/0260029 A1).
As per claim 8, LIM in view of KHOSHNEVISAN discloses “The method of claim 1” as [see rejection of claim 1.]
LIM in view of KHOSHNEVISAN does not explicitly disclose ““wherein the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH overlap in time domain and frequency domain”.
However, Chen discloses “wherein the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH overlap in time domain and frequency domain” [(par. 0093), In another example, the UE 115 may communicate with the network entity 105-b with overlapping PUSCH transmissions (e.g., multi-DCI based communications with multiple TRPs (mTRP)). That is, the network entity 105-b may transmit multiple DCIs indicating for the UE 115 to transmit at least two different PUSCH transmissions (e.g., a first PUSCH transmission and a second PUSCH transmission) in the same serving cell. The PUSCH transmissions may be overlapping (e.g., partially or fully) in the time domain (e.g., and in the frequency domain). The PUSCH transmissions may be associated with different coresetPoolIndex values (e.g., coresetPoolIndex value 0 and coresetPoolIndex value 1), rather than a same coresetPoolIndex value (e.g., as in single-DCI based SDM). The two PUSCH transmissions may additionally be associated with the first set of layers 505-a and the second set of layers 505-b, respectively (e.g., and different TCI states, power control parameters, precoders, etc.).]
LIM et al. (US 2025/0274961 A1) and Chen et al. (US 2024/0260029 A1) are analogous art because they are the same field of endeavor of network communication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Chen’s teaching into LIM’s teaching. The motivation for making the above modification would be to allow a base station to indicate a specific uplink resource for uplink transmission.
As per claim 16, as [see rejections of claim 8.]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG HANG YEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2417