DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4-6, 8-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the wall" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner suggests amending “the wall” to “a wall” in order to overcome the 112 indefiniteness rejection.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the first and second stops" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner suggests amending the claim to depend on claim 2 where “a first stop” is initialed recited in order to overcome the 112 indefiniteness rejection.
Claims 5 and 6 recite the limitation "the first stop" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner suggests amending the claim to depend on claim 2 where “a first stop” is initialed recited in order to overcome the 112 indefiniteness rejection.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the longitudinal side" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner suggests amending “the longitudinal side” to “a longitudinal side” in order to overcome the 112 indefiniteness rejection.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the respective bevels" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner suggests amending “the respective bevels” to “respective bevels” in order to overcome the 112 indefiniteness rejection.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the lens barrel" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner suggests amending “the lens barrel” to “the lens tube” consistent with the language recited in claim 1 in order to overcome the 112 indefiniteness rejection.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the corresponding formations" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner suggests amending “the corresponding formations” to “the corresponding shapes” consistent with the language recited in claim 11 in order to overcome the 112 indefiniteness rejection.
For purposes of examination, claims 2, 4-6, 8-10, and 12 are examined according to Examiner’s suggestions above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by SPOERL et al. (US PG Pub 2011/0075274 A1).
Regarding claim 1, SPOERL discloses a system (FIGS. 1-3) for inserting a lens tube (18, FIGS. 1-3, [0030]-[0031]) into an optical system (10, FIGS. 1-3, [0030]), comprising an optical system housing (FIG. 1) having an opening (FIG. 1) for inserting a lens tube transverse to the beam direction of the optical system into a space behind the opening (FIG. 1), the space having lateral guiding and positioning elements (64, FIG. 3, [0039] and [0044]); and the lens tube, having sliding and sealing elements (86, FIG. 3, [0041]) on its end faces.
Regarding claim 3, SPOERL discloses a cover (22, FIG. 1, [0031]) for closing the opening.
Regarding claim 10, SPOERL discloses optical elements selected from the group comprising lenses (90/92, FIG. 3, [0042]), lens groups, mirrors, beam shaping optical elements, refractive and diffractive optical elements, and protective glasses are arranged in the lens barrel.
Regarding claim 11, SPOERL discloses the cover and opening have corresponding shapes for correct alignment of the lens tube (FIG. 1).
Claims 1-4, 7, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by MEZAWA (US PG Pub 2022/0219264 A1).
Regarding claim 1, MEZAWA discloses a system (FIGS. 1-3) for inserting a lens tube (51, FIGS. 2-3, [0054]) into an optical system (100, FIG. 1, [0035]), comprising an optical system housing (FIG. 1) having an opening (31, FIG. 1, [0051]) for inserting a lens tube transverse to the beam direction of the optical system into a space behind the opening (FIGS. 2-3), the space having lateral guiding and positioning elements (71, FIG. 4, [0091]-[0095]); and the lens tube, having sliding and sealing elements (85, FIG. 5, [0085]) on its end faces.
Regarding claim 2, MEZAWA discloses the space behind the opening has a first stop (an inner wall of 31, FIG. 4) on the wall of the housing opposite the opening.
Regarding claim 3, MEZAWA discloses a cover (53, FIG. 4, [0081]) for closing the opening.
Regarding claim 4, MEZAWA discloses the cover has a second stop (the cover 51 itself is considered a stop since it’s wider than the opening, FIG. 4) for fixing and aligning the lens tube after insertion between the first and second stops.
Regarding claim 7, MEZAWA discloses the side of the housing of the optical system opposite to the opening comprises first additional positioning elements (71, FIG. 4, [0091]-[0095]).
Regarding claim 10, MEZAWA discloses optical elements selected from the group comprising lenses, lens groups, mirrors, beam shaping optical elements, refractive and diffractive optical elements, and protective glasses (28/29, FIG. 4, [0057]) are arranged in the lens barrel.
Regarding claim 11, MEZAWA discloses the cover and opening have corresponding shapes for correct alignment of the lens tube (FIG. 2-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MEZAWA.
Regarding claim 5, MEZAWA has disclosed the first stop outlined in the rejection to claim 2 above except the first stop has a concave shape corresponding to the outer shape of the lens tube. However, a concave shaped stop matching the outer shape of the lens tube represents a predictable geometric adaptation for increasing contact area and improving centering of the lens tube in the opening. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first stop of MEZAWA with a concave shape corresponding to the outer shape of the lens tube in order to increase contact area and improve centering of the lens tube in the opening.
Regarding claim 6, MEZAWA has disclosed the first stop outlined in the rejection to claim 2 above except the first stop is formed from two triangular elements. However, triangular shaped stops are known substitute to concave shaped stops for securing cylindrical components. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first stop of MEZAWA with triangular shape stops in order to obtain increase contact area and improve centering of the lens tube in the opening.
Regarding claim 12, MEZAWA has disclosed the corresponding shapes outlined in the rejection to claim 11 above except the corresponding formations are selected from the group comprising wedges, half shells, stops and balls. However, wedges, half shells, stops and balls are known alignment and locating features used interchangeably for achieving repeatable alignment of the removeable optical assembly. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the corresponding shapes of MEZAWA with wedges, half shells, stops and balls in order to achieve repeatable alignment of the removeable optical assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DE102015107556B3 (DE’556) and DE102011121697A1 (DE’697) disclose an insert holding an optical element that is inserted into a space of a housing of an optical system similar to the claimed invention (FIGS. 1-4 of DE’556 and FIGS. 1 and 2A-2B of DE’697).
/YUANDA ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828