DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In each of claims 3 and 18 (line 1) “rotably” should recite –rotatably--.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 10,631,639).
As to claim 1, Chen et al. disclose a latching mechanism comprising:
a handle 36 with a release button 70 integrated into the handle, wherein the release button is mechanically coupled to a latch 68 that disengages from a sidewall 34 of an enclosure 20 when the release button is pressed;
a sliding rail 32 mechanically coupled to the handle, the sliding rail ejects horizontally when the latch disengages from the sidewall of the enclosure; and
an ejector 52 mechanically coupled to the sliding rail via a sloped ramp 39, the ejector rotates and traverses the sloped ramp from a first end of the sloped ramp to a second end of the sloped ramp when the sliding rail ejects horizontally (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 2, Chen et al. disclose a latching mechanism wherein the sliding rail 32 ejects horizontally relative to the sidewall 34 (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 3, Chen et al. disclose a latching mechanism wherein the ejector 52 is rotatably coupled to the sidewall 34 (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 4, Chen et al. disclose a latching mechanism wherein the enclosure 20 holds an information handling system (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 5, Chen et al. disclose a latching mechanism wherein the latch 68 includes a cam bar that is configured to engage with a base on the sidewall 34 (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 6, Chen et al. disclose a latching mechanism wherein the sloped ramp 39 may be configured to move relative to a force applied by a user using the handle 36 (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 7, Chen et al. disclose a latching mechanism wherein the sloped ramp 39 is capable of providing a mechanical advantage when disengaging a connector from a backplane (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 8, Chen et al. disclose a latching mechanism wherein the sloped ramp 39 is capable of providing a mechanical advantage when engaging a connector to a backplane (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 9, Chen et al. disclose an information handling system, comprising:
an enclosure 20 including a sidewall 34, the enclosure movably coupled to a server rack 24 that houses the enclosure of the information handing system; and
a latching mechanism mechanically coupled to the sidewall of the enclosure movably coupled to the server rack, wherein the latching mechanism includes:
a handle 36 with a release button 70 integrated with the handle, wherein the release button is mechanically coupled to a latch 68 that disengages from the sidewall of the enclosure when the release button is pressed;
a sliding rail 32 mechanically coupled to the handle, the sliding rail ejects horizontally when the latch disengages from the sidewall; and
an ejector 52 mechanically coupled to the sliding rail via a sloped ramp 39, the ejector rotates and traverses the sloped ramp from a first end of the sloped ramp to a second end of the sloped ramp when the sliding rail ejects horizontally (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 10, Chen et al. disclose an information handling system wherein the latch 68 is configured to rotate and raise a cam bar from a base associated with the sidewall 34 (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 11, Chen et al. disclose an information handling system wherein the ejector 52 is mechanically coupled to the sliding rail 32 via a fastener (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 12, Chen et al. disclose an information handling system wherein the sliding rail 32 is mechanically coupled to the sloped ramp 39 (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 13, Chen et al. disclose an information handling system wherein the release button 70 is spring loaded 66 (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 14, Chen et al. disclose an information handling system wherein the sliding rail 32 is configured to move horizontally when a handle 36 of the latch mechanism is pulled by a user (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 15, Chen et al. disclose an information handling system wherein the sliding rail 32 is capable of unseating a connector from an internal backplane (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 16, Chen et al. disclose a latch assembly comprising:
a sidewall 34; and
a latch mechanism movably coupled to the sidewall, the latch mechanism including:
a handle 36 with a release button 70 integrated into the handle, wherein the release button is mechanically coupled to a latch 68 that disengages from the sidewall when the release button is pressed; and
a sliding rail 32 mechanically coupled to the handle, the sliding rail ejects horizontally when the latch disengages from the sidewall; and
an ejector 52 mechanically coupled to the sliding rail via a sloped ramp 39, the ejector rotates and traverses the sloped ramp from a first end of the sloped ramp to a second end of the sloped ramp when the sliding rail ejects horizontally (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 17, Chen et al. disclose a latch assembly wherein the sliding rail 32 is configured to move horizontally relative to the sidewall 34 (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 18, Chen et al. disclose a latch assembly wherein the ejector 52 is rotatably coupled to the sidewall 34 (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 19, Chen et al. disclose a latch assembly wherein the sloped ramp 39 is capable of disengaging a connector from a backplane (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 20, Chen et al. disclose a latch assembly wherein the sloped ramp 39 is capable of engaging a connector to a backplane (Figures 1-14).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 09, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to claims 1, 9 and 16, Examiner notes that Attorney failed to present any specific arguments regarding any specific claim limitations. Accordingly, claims 1, 9 and 16 are rejected as set forth above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
08/20/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619