DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 (lines 4-5) recites “a release button that is configured to disengage a latch from the sidewall”; thus initially reciting the latch as only an intended use functional limitation.
Claim 10 (lines 1-2) recites “wherein the latch is configured to rotate and raise a cam bar from a base associated with the sidewall”; thus positively defining the invention relative to the latch. Accordingly, it is unclear as to whether the latch is positively claimed as an element of the claimed invention, or whether the latch is only recited as an intended functional limitations.
Examiner notes that claim 9 (lines 4-5) must recite --a release button that disengages a latch from the sidewall-- in order to avoid rejection under 35 USC 112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 10,631,639).
As to claim 1, Chen et al. disclose a latching mechanism comprising:
a handle 36;
a release button 70 integrated with the handle, wherein the release button is mechanically coupled to a latch 68 that is configured to rotate and disengage from a sidewall 26,34; and
a sliding rail 32 physically coupled to the handle, the sliding rail movably coupled to the sidewall via an ejector 52 and a ramp 39, the ramp configured to move subsequent to the latch being disengaged from the sidewall, and the ejector configured to rotate and traverse from a first end of the ramp to a second end of the ramp (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 2, Chen et al. disclose a latching mechanism wherein the sliding rail 32 is configured to move horizontally relative to the sidewall 26,34 (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 3, Chen et al. disclose a latching mechanism wherein the ejector 52 is rotably coupled to the sidewall 26,34 (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 4, Chen et al. disclose a latching mechanism wherein the sidewall 26,34 is associated with an enclosure 24 of an information handling system (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 5, Chen et al. disclose a latching mechanism wherein the latch 68 includes a cam bar that is configured to engage with a base 34 on the sidewall 26 (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 6, Chen et al. disclose a latching mechanism wherein the ramp 39 may be configured to move relative to a force applied by a user using the handle 36 (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 7, Chen et al. disclose a latching mechanism wherein the ramp 39 is capable of providing a mechanical advantage when disengaging a connector from a backplane (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 8, Chen et al. disclose a latching mechanism wherein the ramp 39 is capable of providing a mechanical advantage when engaging a connector to a backplane (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 9, Chen et al. disclose an information handling system, comprising:
an enclosure 24; and
a latching mechanism mechanically coupled to a sidewall 26,34 of the enclosure, wherein the latching mechanism includes a release button 70 that disengages a latch 68 from the sidewall when the release button is pressed, and wherein a sliding rail 32 of the latching mechanism is configured to eject when the latch is disengaged (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 10, Chen et al. disclose an information handling system wherein the latch 68 is configured to rotate and raise a cam bar from a base 34 associated with the sidewall 26 (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 11, Chen et al. disclose an information handling system wherein the sliding rail 32 is mechanically coupled to an ejector 52 (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 12, Chen et al. disclose an information handling system wherein the sliding rail 32 is mechanically coupled to a sloped ramp 39 (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 13, Chen et al. disclose an information handling system wherein the release button 70 is spring loaded 66 (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 14, Chen et al. disclose an information handling system wherein the sliding rail 32 is configured to move horizontally when a handle 36 of the latch mechanism is pulled by a user (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 15, Chen et al. disclose an information handling system wherein the sliding rail 32 is capable of unseating a connector from an internal backplane (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 16, Chen et al. disclose a latch assembly comprising:
a sidewall 26,34; and
a latch mechanism movably coupled to the sidewall, the latch mechanism including:
a handle 36 having a release button 70, wherein the release button is mechanically coupled to a latch 68 that is configured to rotate and disengage from the sidewall; and
a sliding rail 32 coupled to the handle, wherein the sliding rail is movably coupled to the sidewall via an ejector 52 and a ramp 39, wherein the ramp is configured to move subsequent to the latch being disengaged from the sidewall, and the ejector is configured to rotate and traverse from a first end of the ramp to a second end of the ramp (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 17, Chen et al. disclose a latch assembly wherein the sliding rail 32 is configured to move horizontally relative to the sidewall 26,34 (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 18, Chen et al. disclose a latch assembly wherein the ejector 52 is rotably coupled to the sidewall 26,34 (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 19, Chen et al. disclose a latch assembly wherein the ramp 39 is capable of disengaging a connector from a backplane (Figures 1-14).
As to claim 20, Chen et al. disclose a latch assembly wherein the ramp 39 is capable of engaging a connector to a backplane (Figures 1-14).
Conclusion
04/07/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619