9Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rau et al. (US 20120020004 A1).
Re claim 1: Rau discloses an information handling system (computer system 10 in fig 1) comprising:
a plurality of connectors (DIMM sockets 32a-32h in fig 2), wherein each connector is configured to (i.e., functional language) mechanically and electrically couple to a respective information handling resource (DIMMs 16a-16h in fig 2); and
a mount structure (frame 30 in fig 2 and paragraphs 30-31) configured to (i.e., functional language) mechanically couple to a first connector (32a) and a second connector (32h) of the plurality of connectors.
Re claim 2: Rau discloses the information handling system, wherein the mount structure (30) is further configured to (i.e., functional language) couple to one or more removable mechanical accessories (cold plate 42 in figs 3-5 and paragraphs 32-.33).
Re claim 3: Rau discloses the information handling system, wherein the mount structure (30) comprises:
a first support structure (see annotated fig 2) comprising a first attachment mechanism (mounting holes 38 in fig 2 and paragraph 30; herein, the frame 30 includes mounting holes 38, which align with mounting holes 40 of board 34) configured to (i.e., functional language) mechanically couple (i.e., indirectly couple via motherboard 34) to the first connector (32a in fig 2); and
a second support structure (see annotated fig 2) comprising a second attachment mechanism (mounting holes 38 in fig 2 and paragraph 30; herein, the frame 30 includes mounting holes 38, which align with mounting holes 40 of board 34) configured to (i.e., functional language) mechanically couple (i.e., indirectly couple via motherboard 34) to the second connector (32h in fig 2); and
a top support structure (frame blades 36a-36h in fig 2 and paragraph 30) connecting the first support structure and the second support structure, wherein the top support structure comprises a plurality of alignment features (i.e., sloped edges of blades 36a-36h in fig 5) configured to (i.e., functional language) mechanically couple one or more removable mechanical accessories (cold plate 42 in figs 3-5).
Re claim 5: Rau discloses the information handling system, wherein the mount structure is further configured to (i.e., functional language) couple to one or more removable mechanical accessories (cold plate 42 in figs 3-5) such that the one or more removable mechanical accessories are arranged in alternating order with the information handling resources (see fig 5 and paragraph 33; herein, cold plate 42 includes cold plate blades 46a-46i, which are in alternating order with DIMMs 16a-16h).
Re claim 6: Rau discloses the information handling system, wherein the one or more removable mechanical accessories (cold plate 42 in figs 3-5) comprises a thermal insert (see cold plate blades 46a-46i in figs 3-5).
Re claim 7: Rau discloses the information handling system, wherein the mount structure (30) is further configured to (i.e., functional language) couple to one or more removable mechanical accessories (cold plate 42 in figs 3-5) such that the one or more removable mechanical accessories (see cold plate blades 46a-46i of cold plate 42 in figs 3-5) are positioned outside of the plurality of connectors (see fig 5).
Re claim 8: Rau discloses the information handling system, wherein the one or more removable mechanical accessories (42) comprises a guard insert (46a and 46i in fig 5) configured to (i.e., functional language) protect the information handling resources.
Re claim 9: Rau discloses a mount structure (frame 30 in fig 2 and paragraphs 30-31) configured to (i.e., functional language) mechanically couple to a first connector (32a in fig 2) and a second connector (32h in fig 2) of a plurality of connectors (DIMM sockets 32a-32h in fig 2), wherein each connector is configured to (i.e., functional language) mechanically and electrically couple to a respective information handling resource (DIMMs 16a-16h in fig 2), and wherein the mount structure (30) comprises:
a first support structure (see annotated fig 2) comprising a first attachment mechanism (mounting holes 38 in fig 2 and paragraph 30; herein, the frame 30 includes mounting holes 38, which align with mounting holes 40 of board 34) configured to (i.e., functional language) mechanically couple (i.e., indirectly couple via motherboard 34) to the first connector (32a in fig 2); and
a second support structure (see annotated fig 2) comprising a second attachment mechanism (mounting holes 38 in fig 2 and paragraph 30; herein, the frame 30 includes mounting holes 38, which align with mounting holes 40 of board 34) configured to (i.e., functional language) mechanically couple (i.e., indirectly couple via motherboard 34) to the second connector (32h in fig 2); and
a top support structure (frame blades 36a-36h in fig 2 and paragraph 30) connecting the first support structure and the second support structure, wherein the top support structure comprises a plurality of alignment features (i.e., sloped edges of blades 36a-36h in fig 5) configured to (i.e., functional language) mechanically couple one or more removable mechanical accessories (cold plate 42 in figs 3-5).
Re claim 11: Rau discloses the mount structure, wherein the mount structure is further configured to (i.e., functional language) couple to one or more removable mechanical accessories (cold plate 42 in figs 3-5) such that the one or more removable mechanical accessories are arranged in alternating order with the information handling resources (see fig 5 and paragraph 33; herein, cold plate 42 includes cold plate blades 46a-46i, which are in alternating order with DIMMs 16a-16h).
Re claim 12: Rau discloses the mount structure, wherein the one or more removable mechanical accessories (cold plate 42 in figs 3-5) comprises a thermal insert (see cold plate blades 46a-46i in figs 3-5).
Re claim 13: Rau discloses the mount structure, wherein the mount structure (30) is further configured to (i.e., functional language) couple to the one or more removable mechanical accessories (cold plate 42 in figs 3-5) such that the one or more removable mechanical accessories (see cold plate blades 46a-46i of cold plate 42 in figs 3-5) are positioned outside of the plurality of connectors (see fig 5).
Re claim 14: Rau discloses the mount structure, wherein the one or more removable mechanical accessories (42) comprises a guard insert (46a and 46i in fig 5) configured to (i.e., functional language) protect the information handling resources.
Re method claims 15, 17-20: The method steps recited in the claims are obviously necessitated by the device structure as taught by Rau.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The best prior art of record, taken alone or in combination thereof, fails to teach an information handling system including, along with other limitations, the plurality of alignment features are further configured to prevent the one or more removable mechanical accessories from coming into contact with the information handling resources as set forth in the claim.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The best prior art of record, taken alone or in combination thereof, fails to teach a mount structure including, along with other limitations, the plurality of alignment features are further configured to prevent the one or more removable mechanical accessories from coming into contact with the information handling resources as set forth in the claim.
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The best prior art of record, taken alone or in combination thereof, fails to teach a mount structure including, along with other limitations, the plurality of alignment features are further configured to prevent the one or more removable mechanical accessories from coming into contact with the information handling resources as set forth in the claim.
Conclusion
/NIDHI THAKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841