DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, Species, claims 9-20 in the reply filed on 3/27/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims 9-20 overlap in subject matter with claim 1-8. This is not found persuasive because claim 1 recites an inlet housing partially surrounding the rotor; an outlet housing comprising a forward face and a bearing support element extending from the forward face and being receivable in the pocket via the open end; one or more first bearings disposed within the bearing support element to support rotation of the foil bearing shaft; a second bearing interposed between the forward face of the outlet housing and the rear face of the rotor; and a third bearing interposed between the forward face of the rotor and the inlet housing which does not overlap in scope with claim 9 which recites one or more first bearings disposed on the shaft to support shaft rotation; a second bearing disposed on the rear face of the first rotor; and a third bearing disposed on the forward face of the first rotor. The different inventions would impose a search burden for the reasons cited in the previous office action and above. .
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-8 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 3/27/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/19/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 5/13/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan et al (US 20100142697) in view of Bastani et al (US 20180003078) and Philippe (US 20060123783).
Regarding claim 9, Chan teaches an air cycle machine (ACM) (fig. 5), comprising: first (10) and second (20) rotors, each of the first and second rotors comprising rear and forward faces (annotated fig. below) and a central portion (annotate fig. below) interposed between the rear and forward faces with outwardly extending blades (112, 122); a shaft (30) connecting the first and second rotors but fails to explicitly teach one or more first bearings disposed on the shaft to support shaft rotation; a second bearing disposed on the rear face of the first rotor; and a third bearing disposed on the forward face of the first rotor.
However, Bastani teaches one or more first bearings (604) disposed on the shaft (912) to support shaft rotation; a second bearing (602) disposed on the rear face (928) of the first rotor to provide support to axial and/or radial loads.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ACM of Chan to include one or more first bearings disposed on the shaft to support shaft rotation; a second bearing disposed on the rear face of the first rotor in view of the teachings of Bastini to provide support to axial and/or radial loads.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach a third bearing disposed on the forward face of the first rotor.
However, Philippe teaches a third bearing (15) disposed on the forward face of the first rotor (15 is forward of 21) to provide axial support.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ACM of the combined teachings to include a third bearing disposed on the forward face of the first rotor in view of the teachings of Philippe to provide axial support.
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach the central portion of each of the first and second rotors has an exterior surface (fig. 5 of Chan) with a non-linear profile (fig. 5 of Chan) from which the corresponding blades extend radially outwardly (fig. 5 of Chan).
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach the first and second rotors define central bores (annotated fig. below of Chan) and the shaft comprises: a first end (annotated fig. below of Chan) receivable in the central bore of the first rotor (fig. 5 of Chan); a second end (annotated fig. below of Chan) receivable in the central bore of the second rotor (fig. 5 of Chan); and a central section (30 between annotated fig. of Chan below) interposed between the first and second ends, the central section comprising a first shoulder (906 of Bastini) that impinges against the rear face of the first rotor (fig. 9 of Bastini) and a second shoulder (906 of Bastini) that impinges against the forward face of the second rotor (906 of Bastini, 20 of Chan).
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings teach wherein the one or more first bearings are journal bearings (journal bearing, paragraph 0026 of Bastini).
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach the second bearing is a thrust bearing (thrust bearing, paragraph 0026 of Bastini) configured for primary axial load support (axial load, paragraph 0026 of Bastini).
Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings teach the third bearing is an axisymmetric thrust bearing (thrust bearing, paragraph 0037) for secondary axial load support (understood the bearing would provide support to the rotor in an axial direction, paragraph 0037).
Regarding claims 16, 18-20, it is noted that although the preamble of the claims is directed towards a method, the structure of the combined teachings disclose all the structure being provided in the method steps, thus the method is also anticipated by the combined teachings. If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently or obviously perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Claim(s) 12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan et al (US 20100142697) in view of Bastani et al (US 20180003078) and Philippe (US 20060123783) as applied to claim 1 and 16 and in further view of Army et al (US 20180010981).
Regarding claims 12 and 17, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach the one or more first bearings comprise: a forward first bearing disposed about the central section and proximate to the first end; and a rear first bearing disposed about the central section and proximate to the second end.
However, Army teaches the one or more first bearings comprise: a forward first bearing (20 closer to compressor) disposed about the central section and proximate to the first end (fig. 1); and a rear first bearing (20 closer to turbine) disposed about the central section and proximate to the second end (fig. 1) to support the shaft.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ACM of the combined teachings to include the one or more first bearings comprise: a forward first bearing disposed about the central section and proximate to the first end; and a rear first bearing disposed about the central section and proximate to the second end in view of the teachings of Army to provide axial support.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763