Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 has overcome the previous 112(b) rejection. However, the amendments to claim 1 has introduced a new 112(b) issue presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, line 5, recites the limitation "for the IED configurator tool”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as the IED configurator tool is not introduced in the claim until line 14, “using an IED configurator tool”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2016/0036633 in view of Bosold et al. U.S. Patent No. 8,739,178, in further view of Meyer, U.S. PGPUB No. 2013/0096695 (previously cited on 9/3/2025).
Per Claim 1, Lee discloses a method for platform capability description (PCD) file-based configuring of intelligent electronic devices (IEDs), the method comprising:
generating, by at least one processor (Paragraph 69), first PCD files for a first IED, the first PCD files stating capabilities of the first IED (Paragraph 36; The market position filter may define the basic function of a configurable device.),
an International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) 61850 data model (Paragraph 40; A naming convention filter 305 may use the naming conventions provided in IEC 61850 7-4 for protection logical node settings in some embodiments.),
a first license of functions of the first IED for a first user (Paragraph 42; A user-defined template filter 307 may permit users to develop and modify custom templates.),
and first rules applying to settings of the IED (Paragraph 39; A localization filter 304 may provide configuration of a device relating to visible attributes of settings.);
generating, by the at least one processor, second PCD files for a second IED, the second PCD files stating capabilities of the second IED, the IED 61850 data model, a second license of functions of the second IED for a second user, and second rules applying to settings of the second IED (Please see the above mapping of limitations to the claimed “first IED” and the configuration of it as the steps performed for one IED can be performed for a second IED, and Lee discloses a plurality of IEDs (104, 106, 108, 115, 170). Further, as seen in Fig. 3; The configuration tool provides a plurality of different filters which provides the flexibility to configure IED’s similarly or differently, thereby creating different IED families of either a common or different configuration.);
generating, using an IED configurator tool (configuration tool 204) from which IED rules are absent (Paragraph 32; feature-selecting filters and configuration filters, Fig. 2), based on the first PCD files, a bundle of files for the first IED, the first bundle comprising a first manifest and first configuration files for the first IED (Paragraphs 32-34; device configuration files, Fig. 2; The manifest is an implementation detail that is considered implicit to any configuration file.);
and providing, by the IED configurator tool, to the IED, the bundles, the licenses of functions, and the rules, wherein the first IED is configured based on the first bundle, the first license of functions, and the first rules; and wherein the second IED is configured based on the second bundle, the second license of functions, and the second rules (Paragraph 33; The device 206 may be configured to receive the device configuration filters and feature-selecting filter 202 and map the settings or parameters from the feature-selecting filters and configuration filters 202 to the settings of the device 206. As mentioned above, Lee discloses a plurality of IEDs and the steps performed with respect to a first IED can be performed with respect to a second, different, IED.).
Lee does not specifically disclose that two of the IED’s are from different manufacturers.
However, Bosold, of a common assignee and field of endeavor, discloses configuring a plurality of IED’s to facilitate standardized communication messaging among a plurality of IEDs within a network (Col. 1 lines 21-26). Bosold teaches that power systems generally include a plurality of IED’s which perform various functions, and of which are typically manufactured by different companies, leading to varying communication protocols and/or messaging structures (Col. 1 lines 27-40; “Power systems generally include a plurality of intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) which perform various functions including, but not limited to, protection, monitoring, control, and automation of an associated portion of the power system. For example, IEDs may be associated with supervisory control and data acquisition (SCADA) systems, energy management systems (EMS), distribution management systems (DMS), distribution automation (DA) systems, and teleprotection systems for power systems to name a few. Each IED generally performs different functions and is typically manufactured by different companies. Likewise, the communication protocols, messaging structures and messaging sequences used often varies from IED to IED.”).
Bosold further teaches an IED configuration process for configuring the IED’s from different manufacturers (Col. 2 lines 32-38; Col. 6 lines 1-21; Col. 6 lines 57-64, An IED repository of standard files may include template files, and information such as manufacturer, model number, etc.; Col. 13 lines 25-34; Col. 14 lines 22-32, “wherein the first intelligent electronic device and at least some of the other intelligent electronic devices are manufactured by different manufacturers,”; Col. 14 lines 32-41).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Lee’s IED configuration teachings with Bosold’s ability of configuring IED’s from different manufacturers because IED’s from different manufacturers are commonly implemented within an industrial system/environment and configuration and interoperability is paramount for successful operation of the IED devices within said system (Bosold; Col. 2 lines 32-38 and Col. 3 lines 39-44).
Lee and Bosold do not specifically teach generating files that include “domain-specific language (DSL) files” as inputs for the IED configuration tool to understand what a type/stack/family of IED’s supports.
However, Meyer teaches an arrangement for performing a method for configuring a user-programmable control device for the integration of intelligent field devices into a control or automation system, and the integration of devices from different manufacturers into the control or automation system with acceptable outlay (Paragraph 21). Meyer further teaches IED’s connected to a user-programmable control device, wherein a flexibly expandable hardware structure is assumed and, in addition, newly produced device descriptions are adapted to the respective application of the control or automation system are provided (Paragraph 24), allowing new devices from a wide variety of device manufacturers to be incorporated into the control/automation system (Paragraph 25). Meyer teaches producing device-specific configuration descriptions ICD’s for a user-programmable control device having a flexible field device structure to incorporate a flexible device into an existing configuration tool landscape (Paragraphs 28-37 and Figure 3; Device specific configuration description ICD is generated by the flexible IED tool 62 and provided to a system configuration tool 10 where SCD and CID files are then provided to an IED configuration tool 30 to generate device configuration data for the IED.)
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Meyer’s flexible IED configuration tool teachings with Bosold/Lee’s ability of configuring IED’s from different manufacturers because it allows new devices from a wide variety of device manufacturers to be incorporated into the control or automation system with comparably low outlay/cost in terms of configuration (Meyer; Paragraph 25).
because IED’s from different manufacturers are commonly implemented within an industrial system/environment and configuration and interoperability is paramount for successful operation of the IED devices within said system (Bosold; Col. 2 lines 32-38 and Col. 3 lines 39-44).
Per Claim 2, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein first IED is of a first IED family (The configuration tool provides a plurality of different filters which provides the flexibility to configure IED’s similarly or differently, thereby creating different IED families of either a common or different configuration.).
Per Claim 3, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first license of functions restricts the first user to use of a subset of functions of the first IED (Paragraph 42; A user defined template filter 307 may permit users to develop and modify custom templates. In some embodiments, the user defined template may be constrained by the preconfigured template filter 306 or other filters.).
Per Claim 4, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first configuration files comprise a security configuration file, an applicative configuration file, and an IEC 61850 configuration file (Paragraphs 35-42 and 52; The configuration tool may translate the design choices (filters) into a plurality of device configuration files.).
Per Claim 5, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first configuration for the first IED comprises a file-based fully flexible IED data model with which the IED configurator tool configures the first IED (Paragraph 40; naming convention filter 305).
Per Claim 6, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first rules define which of the settings of the first IED are to be available, hidden, or changed (Paragraph 39; A localization filter 304 may provide configuration of a device relating to visible attributes of settings. By definition, a “configuration” related to settings of the device will determine/define which settings will be available, hidden, or changed.).
Per Claim 7, Lee discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the IED configurator tool is IED family-agnostic based on the first PCD files (Please see the rejection of claim 1. Additionally, Lee discloses a plurality of IEDs (104, 106, 108, 115, 170). Further, as seen in Fig. 3; The configuration tool provides a plurality of different filters 202 which provides the flexibility to configure IED’s similarly or differently, thereby creating different IED families of either a common or different configuration. The families are considered agnostic as the configuration of one IED is not dependent upon knowledge or another IED configuration.).
Per Claims 8-14, please refer to the above rejection of claims 1-7 as they are substantially similar and the mapping of the references to the limitations is equally applicable. Additionally, Lee discloses IED 600 comprises a memory and processor for performing the steps disclosed in claims 1-7 (Paragraph 65, Figure 6).
Per Claims 15-20, please refer to the above rejection of claims 1-6 as they are substantially similar and the mapping of the references to the limitations is equally applicable. Additionally, Lee discloses a computer-readable medium embodiment (Paragraphs 57, 58, and 69).
Conclusion
/Brian T Misiura/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175