DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 113333956 A, hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a vehicle (Page 2, Para. 1, “so in the vehicle body manufacturing, there is a large amount of aluminium alloy and steel between the joint.”) comprising: a welded component having two or more layers (Page 5, Para. 1-2, “step 1, placing the mutually stacked clamping aluminium steel between the two welding electrodes of the resistance; In this step, the aluminum work piece 4 and the steel work piece 3”), the welded component comprising:
a first metal layer comprising a first conductivity (Page 4, Para. 2 from end, “4; aluminium work piece”); and
a second metal layer comprising a second conductivity different than the first conductivity (Page 4, Para. 2 from end, “3, steel workpiece”, where aluminum and steel have different conductivities);
wherein the first metal layer and the second metal layer are joined at a faying interface of a resistance spot-weld joint (Abstract, “step 1, placing the stacked and clamped aluminium steelwork piece between the two welding electrodes of the resistance ; step 2,starting the resistance system; the welding electrode of resistance applies pressure to the aluminium steel work piece; the aluminium steel work piece is tightly jointed; then connecting the welding current; obtaining the point welding seam of the aluminium steel connected with each other under the function of resistance heat; step 3, ending the resistance process, removing the electrode contact with the work piece;”, where the resistance spot weld occurs first between the steel and aluminum plates, where Fig. 1 shows that the two layers are joined at a faying interface of the resistance spot-weld joint),
the resistance spot-weld joint comprising: a continuous intermetallic layer at the faying interface directly between the first metal layer and the second metal layer (Page 2, Para. 2, “The resistance is high in efficiency, low in cost, reliable in connection, which is the connection technology of the mainstream in the automobile industry… Therefore, the aluminum and iron elements in the welding seam form a continuous brittle Fe-Al inter-compound layer at the aluminum/steel interface by mutual expansion, resulting in a low joint connection strength.”); and
a pair of laser welds positioned on opposite sides of the continuous intermetallic layer, the pair of laser welds penetrating through the second metal layer and terminating within the first metal layer, the pair of laser welds extending into the first metal layer beyond a topmost surface of the continuous intermetallic layer (Abstract, “step 4, starting the, emitting laser beam by the laser head, making the laser beam act on the surface of the steel workpiece, by controlling the movement of the laser beam, making the laser beam near the periphery of the seam to prepare the seam distributed around the seam.”, where laser welding occurs after the resistance spot weld, where the laser welds are shown in modified Fig. 2 to penetrate the second layer and continuous intermetallic layer, where the laser weld terminates within the first layer).
Modified Figure 2, Li
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein at least one of the laser welds of the pair of laser welds is perpendicular to a major surface of the welded component (Modified Fig. 2, where the laser welds are shown to be perpendicular to the major surface of the welded component, where the major surface is the horizontal plane as the horizontal plane extend further compared to the vertical plane extension for the welded component).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein at least one of the laser welds of the pair of laser welds is positioned at an angle towards the continuous intermetallic layer with respect to a major surface of the welded component (Modified Fig. 2, where the laser welds are shown to be perpendicular to the major surface of the welded component, where the major surface is the horizontal plane as the horizontal plane extend further compared to the vertical plane extension for the welded component; where the laser welds are perpendicular to the continuous intermetallic layer as well).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 5, as set forth above, discloses wherein the angle is between 30 and 90 degrees with respect to the major surface of the welded component (Modified Fig. 2, where the laser welds are shown to be perpendicular to the major surface of the welded component, where the major surface is the horizontal plane as the horizontal plane extend further compared to the vertical plane extension for the welded component; where the laser welds are perpendicular to the continuous intermetallic layer as well, where being perpendicular means that the angle is 90 degrees).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the pair of laser welds are positioned symmetrically about a centerline of the continuous intermetallic layer (Modified Fig. 2, where the centerline of the continuous intermetallic layer is a vertical line right down the middle of the welded structure as the intermetallic layer is the interface between the first and second layers and would be horizontal; where there are pairs of laser welds that are symmetric about the centerline of the intermetallic layer).
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses a welded component (Page 5, Para. 1-2, “step 1, placing the mutually stacked clamping aluminium steel between the two welding electrodes of the resistance; In this step, the aluminum work piece 4 and the steel work piece 3”) comprising:
a first metal layer comprising a first conductivity (Page 4, Para. 2 from end, “4; aluminium work piece”); and
a second metal layer comprising a second conductivity different than the first conductivity (Page 4, Para. 2 from end, “3, steel workpiece”, where aluminum and steel have different conductivities);
wherein the first metal layer and the second metal layer are joined at a faying interface of a resistance spot-weld joint (Abstract, “step 1, placing the stacked and clamped aluminium steelwork piece between the two welding electrodes of the resistance ; step 2,starting the resistance system; the welding electrode of resistance applies pressure to the aluminium steel work piece; the aluminium steel work piece is tightly jointed; then connecting the welding current; obtaining the point welding seam of the aluminium steel connected with each other under the function of resistance heat; step 3, ending the resistance process, removing the electrode contact with the work piece;”, where the resistance spot weld occurs first between the steel and aluminum plates, where Fig. 1 shows that the two layers are joined at a faying interface of the resistance spot-weld joint),
the resistance spot-weld joint comprising: a continuous intermetallic layer at the faying interface directly between the first metal layer and the second metal layer (Page 2, Para. 2, “The resistance is high in efficiency, low in cost, reliable in connection, which is the connection technology of the mainstream in the automobile industry… Therefore, the aluminum and iron elements in the welding seam form a continuous brittle Fe-Al inter-compound layer at the aluminum/steel interface by mutual expansion, resulting in a low joint connection strength.”); and
a pair of laser welds positioned on opposite sides of the continuous intermetallic layer, the pair of laser welds penetrating through the second metal layer and terminating within the first metal layer, the pair of laser welds extending into the first metal layer beyond a topmost surface of the continuous intermetallic layer (Abstract, “step 4, starting the, emitting laser beam by the laser head, making the laser beam act on the surface of the steel workpiece, by controlling the movement of the laser beam, making the laser beam near the periphery of the seam to prepare the seam distributed around the seam.”, where laser welding occurs after the resistance spot weld, where the laser welds are shown in modified Fig. 2 to penetrate the second layer and continuous intermetallic layer, where the laser weld terminates within the first layer).
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, as set forth above, discloses wherein at least one of the laser welds of the pair of laser welds is perpendicular to a major surface of the welded component (Modified Fig. 2, where the laser welds are shown to be perpendicular to the major surface of the welded component, where the major surface is the horizontal plane as the horizontal plane extend further compared to the vertical plane extension for the welded component).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, as set forth above, discloses wherein at least one of the laser welds of the pair of laser welds is positioned at an angle towards the continuous intermetallic layer with respect to a major surface of the welded component (Modified Fig. 2, where the laser welds are shown to be perpendicular to the major surface of the welded component, where the major surface is the horizontal plane as the horizontal plane extend further compared to the vertical plane extension for the welded component; where the laser welds are perpendicular to the continuous intermetallic layer as well).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 12, as set forth above, discloses wherein the angle is between 30 and 90 degrees with respect to the major surface of the welded component (Modified Fig. 2, where the laser welds are shown to be perpendicular to the major surface of the welded component, where the major surface is the horizontal plane as the horizontal plane extend further compared to the vertical plane extension for the welded component; where the laser welds are perpendicular to the continuous intermetallic layer as well, where being perpendicular means that the angle is 90 degrees).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, as set forth above, discloses wherein the pair of laser welds are positioned symmetrically about a centerline of the continuous intermetallic layer (Modified Fig. 2, where the centerline of the continuous intermetallic layer is a vertical line right down the middle of the welded structure as the intermetallic layer is the interface between the first and second layers and would be horizontal; where there are pairs of laser welds that are symmetric about the centerline of the intermetallic layer).
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses a method (Abstract, “the method through composite resistance technology and technology to manufacture aluminium steel high quality head.”) comprising:
providing a first metal layer comprising a first conductivity (Page 4, Para. 2 from end, “4; aluminium work piece”);
providing a second metal layer comprising a second conductivity different than the first conductivity (Page 4, Para. 2 from end, “3, steel workpiece”, where aluminum and steel have different conductivities);
joining the first metal layer to the second metal layer at a faying interface using resistance spot welding, thereby forming a resistance spot-weld joint (Abstract, “step 1, placing the stacked and clamped aluminium steelwork piece between the two welding electrodes of the resistance ; step 2,starting the resistance system; the welding electrode of resistance applies pressure to the aluminium steel work piece; the aluminium steel work piece is tightly jointed; then connecting the welding current; obtaining the point welding seam of the aluminium steel connected with each other under the function of resistance heat; step 3, ending the resistance process, removing the electrode contact with the work piece;”, where the resistance spot weld occurs first between the steel and aluminum plates, where Fig. 1 shows that the two layers are joined at a faying interface of the resistance spot-weld joint),
the resistance spot-weld joint comprising a continuous intermetallic layer at the faying interface directly between the first metal layer and the second metal layer (Page 2, Para. 2, “The resistance is high in efficiency, low in cost, reliable in connection, which is the connection technology of the mainstream in the automobile industry… Therefore, the aluminum and iron elements in the welding seam form a continuous brittle Fe-Al inter-compound layer at the aluminum/steel interface by mutual expansion, resulting in a low joint connection strength.”); and
forming a pair of laser welds on opposite sides of the continuous intermetallic layer, the pair of laser welds penetrating through the second metal layer and terminating within the first metal layer, the pair of laser welds extending into the first metal layer beyond a topmost surface of the continuous intermetallic layer (Abstract, “step 4, starting the, emitting laser beam by the laser head, making the laser beam act on the surface of the steel workpiece, by controlling the movement of the laser beam, making the laser beam near the periphery of the seam to prepare the seam distributed around the seam.”, where laser welding occurs after the resistance spot weld, where the laser welds are shown in modified Fig. 2 to penetrate the second layer and continuous intermetallic layer, where the laser weld terminates within the first layer).
Regarding claim 18, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 15, as set forth above, discloses wherein at least one of the laser welds of the pair of laser welds is perpendicular to a major surface of a welded component (Modified Fig. 2, where the laser welds are shown to be perpendicular to the major surface of the welded component, where the major surface is the horizontal plane as the horizontal plane extend further compared to the vertical plane extension for the welded component).
Regarding claim 19, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 15, as set forth above, discloses wherein at least one of the laser welds of the pair of laser welds is positioned at an angle towards the continuous intermetallic layer with respect to a major surface of a welded component (Modified Fig. 2, where the laser welds are shown to be perpendicular to the major surface of the welded component, where the major surface is the horizontal plane as the horizontal plane extend further compared to the vertical plane extension for the welded component; where the laser welds are perpendicular to the continuous intermetallic layer as well).
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 15, as set forth above, discloses wherein the angle is between 30 and 90 degrees with respect to the major surface of the welded component (Modified Fig. 2, where the laser welds are shown to be perpendicular to the major surface of the welded component, where the major surface is the horizontal plane as the horizontal plane extend further compared to the vertical plane extension for the welded component; where the laser welds are perpendicular to the continuous intermetallic layer as well, where being perpendicular means that the angle is 90 degrees).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 9-10, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 113333956 A, hereinafter Li) in view of Matsuoka et al. (US 20230311233 A1, hereinafter Matsuoka).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Li does not disclose:
wherein the welded component further comprises a third metal layer, the third metal layer comprising a third conductivity different than the first conductivity.
However, Matsuoka discloses, in the similar field of welding dissimilar materials together (Para. 0057, “spot welding… between sheet materials of dissimilar metals”), where the welded component can include a third metal layer that has a conductivity different than the first conductivity (Modified Fig. 6, where the third metal layer is shown to be steel, where the steel’s conductivity is different from conductivity of aluminum or the first conductivity). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the weld in Li to further include another steel layer as taught by Matsuoka.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to merge different steel sheet types together, where a non-plated and galvanized steel sheet can be welded, where this allows a user to have more flexibility in the types of steel sheets being used, as stated by Matsuoka, Para. 0008, “a welding step are performed in this order to spot-weld a set of sheets in which three sheet materials comprising a non-plated steel sheet, a galvanized steel sheet, and an aluminum alloy sheet are stacked in order ([0036] to [0054], Table 1, FIG. 6, etc.).”.
Modified Figure 6, Matsuoka
Regarding claim 3, modified Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, as set forth above, discloses wherein the resistance spot-weld joint further comprises a weld nugget between the second metal layer and the third metal layer (Teaching from Matsuoka, modified Fig. 6, where the first nugget is a weld nugget that between the second and third metal layers; Para. 0051, “In this case, the first steel sheet and the second steel sheet are joined via the first nugget, and the second steel sheet and the aluminum alloy sheet are joined via the second nugget.”).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, as set forth above.
Li does not disclose:
wherein the welded component further comprises a third metal layer, the third metal layer comprising a third conductivity different than the first conductivity.
However, Matsuoka discloses where the welded component can include a third metal layer that has a conductivity different than the first conductivity (Modified Fig. 6, where the third metal layer is shown to be steel, where the steel’s conductivity is different from conductivity of aluminum or the first conductivity). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the weld in Li to further include another steel layer as taught by Matsuoka.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to merge different steel sheet types together, where a non-plated and galvanized steel sheet can be welded, where this allows a user to have more flexibility in the types of steel sheets being used, as stated by Matsuoka, Para. 0008, “a welding step are performed in this order to spot-weld a set of sheets in which three sheet materials comprising a non-plated steel sheet, a galvanized steel sheet, and an aluminum alloy sheet are stacked in order ([0036] to [0054], Table 1, FIG. 6, etc.).”.
Regarding claim 10, modified Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, as set forth above, discloses wherein the resistance spot-weld joint further comprises a weld nugget between the second metal layer and the third metal layer (Teaching from Matsuoka, modified Fig. 6, where the first nugget is a weld nugget that between the second and third metal layers; Para. 0051, “In this case, the first steel sheet and the second steel sheet are joined via the first nugget, and the second steel sheet and the aluminum alloy sheet are joined via the second nugget.”).
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 15, as set forth above.
Li does not disclose:
further comprising providing a third metal layer, the third metal layer comprising a third conductivity different than the first conductivity.
However, Matsuoka discloses where the welded component can include a third metal layer that has a conductivity different than the first conductivity (Modified Fig. 6, where the third metal layer is shown to be steel, where the steel’s conductivity is different from conductivity of aluminum or the first conductivity). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the weld in Li to further include another steel layer as taught by Matsuoka.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to merge different steel sheet types together, where a non-plated and galvanized steel sheet can be welded, where this allows a user to have more flexibility in the types of steel sheets being used, as stated by Matsuoka, Para. 0008, “a welding step are performed in this order to spot-weld a set of sheets in which three sheet materials comprising a non-plated steel sheet, a galvanized steel sheet, and an aluminum alloy sheet are stacked in order ([0036] to [0054], Table 1, FIG. 6, etc.).”.
Regarding claim 17, modified Li teaches the apparatus according to claim 16, as set forth above, discloses wherein the resistance spot-weld joint further comprises a weld nugget between the second metal layer and the third metal layer (Teaching from Matsuoka, modified Fig. 6, where the first nugget is a weld nugget that between the second and third metal layers; Para. 0051, “In this case, the first steel sheet and the second steel sheet are joined via the first nugget, and the second steel sheet and the aluminum alloy sheet are joined via the second nugget.”).
Conclusion
/KEVIN GUANHUA WEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
09/01/2026