DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 01/29/2025, 08/27/2025, 01/09/2026, 03/12/2026, and 08/10/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 05/13/2024 were reviewed and are acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 05/13/2024 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 10-12, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of provisional nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 7-8, 10, 12, and 16 of copending Application No. 18/651,904 (reference application) of Bunell et al. (hereinafter “Bunell”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they:
a. name the same inventive entity, and
b. are filed by a common applicant (35 U.S.C. 118).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference patent are compared in the table below.
Instant application
Reference Application
1. A coolant leak detection and mitigation system for a multi-cell rechargeable energy storage system (RESS) having a plurality of battery cells arranged in individual battery modules, the coolant leak detection and mitigation system comprising: a cooling system including: a main coolant loop configured to circulate coolant; a plurality of coolant branches arranged in parallel, wherein each coolant branch is configured to receive a portion of the coolant from the main coolant loop to adjust temperature of one of the respective battery modules; and at least one flow-valve configured to regulate and distribute across the plurality of coolant branches the coolant circulated through the main coolant loop; and an electronic controller in operative communication with the cooling system and configured to:
monitor the cooling system for an indication of coolant loss; assess each of the plurality of coolant branches for a coolant leak in response to the indication of coolant loss;
identify a coolant branch, from among the plurality of coolant branches,
having a coolant leak; and shut off, via the at least one flow-valve, a flow of the coolant into the coolant branch having the coolant leak.
1. A coolant leak detection and mitigation system for a multi-cell rechargeable energy storage system (RESS) having a plurality of battery cells arranged in individual battery modules, the coolant leak detection and mitigation system comprising: a cooling system including: a main coolant loop configured to circulate coolant; a plurality of coolant branches arranged in parallel, wherein each coolant branch is configured to receive a portion of the coolant from the main coolant loop to adjust temperature of one of the respective battery modules; and at least one flow-valve configured to regulate and distribute across the plurality of coolant branches the coolant circulated through the main coolant loop; and an electronic controller in operative communication with the cooling system and configured to:
monitor, via at least one coolant leak detection technique, the plurality of coolant branches for coolant leaks;
identify a coolant branch, from among the plurality of coolant branches,
having a coolant leak; and shut off, via the at least one flow-valve, a flow of the coolant into the coolant branch having the coolant leak.
2. The coolant leak detection and mitigation system of claim 1, wherein the electronic controller is additionally configured to set an alert indicative of the coolant branch having the coolant leak and the flow of the coolant having been shut off.
2. The coolant leak detection and mitigation system of claim 1, wherein the electronic controller is additionally configured to set an alert indicative of the coolant branch having the coolant leak and the flow of the coolant having been shut off.
10. The coolant leak detection and mitigation system of claim 1, wherein the at least one flow-valve is one of:
a multi-way valve assembly arranged in a junction between the main coolant loop and the plurality of coolant branches and configured to control a flow of the coolant into each of the coolant branches; and
a plurality of throttle valves, each throttle valve arranged in one of the plurality of coolant branches upstream of the corresponding battery module and configured to control a flow of the coolant into the subject coolant branch.
7. The coolant leak detection and mitigation system of claim 1, wherein the at least one flow-valve is
a multi-way valve assembly arranged in a junction between the main coolant loop and the plurality of coolant branches and configured to control a flow of the coolant into each of the coolant branches.
8. The coolant leak detection and mitigation system of claim 1, wherein the at least one flow-valve is
a plurality of throttle valves, each throttle valve arranged in one of the plurality of coolant branches upstream of the corresponding battery module and configured to control a flow of the coolant into the subject coolant branch.
11. A method of detecting and mitigating a coolant leak in a multi-cell rechargeable energy storage system (RESS) having a plurality of battery cells arranged in individual battery modules, the method comprising:
regulating, via an electronic controller, a flow of coolant in a cooling system,
wherein the cooling system includes: a main coolant loop configured to circulate the coolant; a plurality of coolant branches arranged in parallel, wherein each coolant branch is configured to receive a portion of the coolant from the main coolant loop to adjust temperature of one of the respective battery modules; and at least one flow-valve configured to regulate and distribute across the plurality of coolant branches the coolant circulated through the main coolant loop;
and monitoring, via the electronic controller, the cooling system for an indication of coolant loss; assessing, via the electronic controller, each of the plurality of coolant branches for a coolant leak in response to the indication of coolant loss in the cooling system;
identifying, via the electronic controller, a coolant branch, from among the plurality of coolant branches, having a coolant leak; and shutting off, via the electronic controller using
the at least one flow-valve, a flow of the coolant into the coolant branch having the coolant leak.
10. A method of detecting and mitigating a coolant leak in a multi-cell rechargeable energy storage system (RESS) having a plurality of battery cells arranged in individual battery modules, the method comprising:
monitoring a cooling system for coolant leaks, via an electronic controller using at least one coolant leak detection technique,
wherein the cooling system includes :a main coolant loop configured to circulate coolant; a plurality of coolant branches arranged in parallel, wherein each coolant branch is configured to receive a portion of the coolant from the main coolant loop to adjust temperature of one of the respective battery modules; and at least one flow-valve configured to regulate and distribute across the plurality of coolant branches the coolant circulated through the main coolant loop;
identifying, via the electronic controller, a coolant branch, from among the plurality of coolant branches, having a coolant leak; and shutting off, via
the at least one flow-valve, a flow of the coolant into the coolant branch having the coolant leak.
12. The method of claim 11, further comprising setting, via the electronic controller, an alert indicative of the coolant branch having the coolant leak and the flow of the coolant having been shut off.
11. The method of claim 10, further comprising setting, via the electronic controller, an alert indicative of the coolant branch having the coolant leak and the flow of the coolant having been shut off.
20. A motor vehicle comprising: an electric motor-generator configured to generate torque; a multi-cell rechargeable energy storage system (RESS) configured to supply electrical energy to the electric motor-generator, the RESS including: a plurality of battery cells arranged in individual battery modules; and a cooling system including: a main coolant loop configured to circulate coolant; a plurality of coolant branches arranged in parallel, wherein: each coolant branch is configured to receive a portion of the coolant from the main coolant loop to adjust temperature of one of the respective battery modules; and each coolant branch includes a one-way valve configured to control a flow of the coolant out of the subject coolant branch; and at least one flow-valve configured to regulate and distribute across the plurality of coolant branches the coolant circulated through the main coolant loop; and an electronic controller in operative communication with the cooling system
and configured to:
monitor the cooling system for an indication of coolant loss; assess each of
the plurality of coolant branches for a coolant leak in response to the indication of coolant loss;
identify a coolant branch, from among the plurality of coolant branches, having a coolant leak;
and shut off, via the at least one flow-valve, a flow of the coolant into the coolant branch having the coolant leak.
16. A motor vehicle comprising: an electric motor-generator configured to generate torque; a multi-cell rechargeable energy storage system (RESS) configured to supply electrical energy to the electric motor-generator, the RESS including: a plurality of battery cells arranged in individual battery modules; and a cooling system including: a main coolant loop configured to circulate coolant; a plurality of coolant branches arranged in parallel, wherein: each coolant branch is configured to receive a portion of the coolant from the main coolant loop to adjust temperature of one of the respective battery modules; and each coolant branch includes a one-way valve configured to control a flow of the coolant out of the subject coolant branch; and at least one flow-valve configured to regulate and distribute across the plurality of coolant branches the coolant circulated through the main coolant loop; and an electronic controller in operative communication with the at least one flow-valve and configured to: regulate operation of the at least one flow-valve;
monitor, via at least one coolant leak detection technique,
the plurality of coolant branches for coolant leaks;
identify a coolant branch, from among the plurality of coolant branches, having a coolant leak;
and shut off, via the at least one flow-valve, a flow of the coolant into the coolant branch having the coolant leak.
Claim 1
Claim 1 of the reference application recites all of the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application except “monitor the cooling system for an indication of coolant loss; assess each of the plurality of coolant branches for a coolant leak in response to the indication of coolant loss.” However,
the specification in the reference application discloses that “[t]he presence of a coolant leak in the RESS cooling system may be detected via assessment of fluid pressure or flow drop in the main coolant loop, or a coolant reservoir fluid level drop” [0040] and that “[t]he electronic controller is also configured to identify a coolant branch, from among the plurality of coolant branches, having a coolant leak” [0004].
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include monitor “the cooling system for an indication of coolant loss; assess each of the plurality of coolant branches for a coolant leak in response to the indication of coolant loss”; as disclosed in Bunell, within the method of claim 1 of the reference patent, to enable the electronic controller to regulate operation of the cooling systems (Bunell, [0031]). This would allow the system to detect and mitigate a coolant leak in a multi-cell rechargeable energy storage system (RESS); [0014].
Claim 2
Claim 2 of the reference application recites the same limitations as claim 2 of the instant application.
Claim 10
Claims 7 and 8 of the reference application recite the same limitations as claim 10 of the instant application, since claim 10 recites the at least one flow-valve is one of the claim limitations of claims 7 and 8.
Claim 11
Claim 12 of the reference application recites the same limitations as claim 11 of the instant application, except for the limitations “and monitoring, via the electronic controller, the cooling system for an indication of coolant loss; assessing, via the electronic controller, each of the plurality of coolant branches for a coolant leak in response to the indication of coolant loss in the cooling system;”
However, Bunell teaches that “[t]he presence of a coolant leak in the RESS cooling system may be detected via assessment of fluid pressure or flow drop in the main coolant loop, or a coolant reservoir fluid level drop” [0040]; and that “The electronic controller is also configured to identify a coolant branch, from among the plurality of coolant branches, having a coolant leak” [0004].
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include monitoring, via the electronic controller, the cooling system for an indication of coolant loss; assessing, via the electronic controller, each of the plurality of coolant branches for a coolant leak in response to the indication of coolant loss in the cooling system; as disclosed in Bunell, within the method of claim 12 of the reference patent, to enable the electronic controller to regulate operation of the cooling systems (Bunell, [0031]). This would allow the system to detect and mitigate a coolant leak in a multi-cell rechargeable energy storage system (RESS); [0014].
Claim 12
Claim 11 of the reference application recites the same limitations as claim 12 of the instant application.
Claim 20
As shown in the mapping above, claim 16 of the reference application includes all the limitations of claim 20 of the instant application, while also reciting further limitations. Claim 20 of the instant application differs from claim 2 of the reference patent in that it recites “in operative communication with the cooling system” rather than a “in operative communication with at least one flow-valve.” However, the reference application discloses in paragraph [0004] that a “at least one flow-valve” falls within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the category encompassed by “the cooling system” (The cooling system additionally has at least one flow-valve, [0004]).
Further, claim 16 of the reference application recites the same limitations as claim 20 of the instant application, except “monitor the cooling system for an indication of coolant loss; assess each of the plurality of coolant branches” However, Bunell discloses “monitor, via at least one coolant leak detection technique, the plurality of coolant branches.” Bunell further discloses that [e]ach battery module may include a first sensor in communication with the electronic controller and configured to detect a coolant leak, [0006] wherein this “provides a first embodiment of the coolant leak detection technique”; therefore, a “coolant leak detection technique” is equivalent to “assessing each of the plurality of branches.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation " the coolant system" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of this office action, it will be assumed that the coolant system refers to the cooling system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 1-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fees et al. (US 2018/0123195 A1; hereinafter “Fees”), in view of Sagar et al. (DE 102023001636 A1; hereinafter “Sagar;” see attached machine translation for reference).
Regarding claim 1, Fees discloses a coolant leak detection and mitigation system (a control mechanism configured to control cooling of a battery module; [0005]; generally relate to mechanisms for controlling liquid coolant leaks; [0064]) for a multi-cell rechargeable energy storage system (RESS) [0004] having a plurality of battery cells arranged in individual battery modules (plurality of battery modules arranged in a plurality of battery module compartments of a battery housing for an energy storage system of an electric vehicle; [0004]), the coolant leak detection and mitigation system comprising: a cooling system including (cooling manifold arrangement; [0004]): a main coolant loop (cooling manifold; [0004]) configured to circulate coolant (for cooling a plurality of battery modules; [0004]; see 1.1. Modified figure 4B of Fees ‘195 below); a plurality of coolant branches arranged in parallel (a cooling manifold configured to carry liquid coolant to and from cooling tubes arranged inside the plurality of battery modules, [0004], see 1.1. Modified figure 4B of Fees ‘195 below), wherein each coolant branch is configured to receive a portion of the coolant from the main coolant loop to adjust temperature of one of the respective battery modules (to control cooling of a battery module; [0016]); and an electronic controller in operative communication with the cooling system (a control mechanism configured to control cooling of a battery module; [0004]) and configured to: monitor the cooling system for an indication of coolant loss (the threshold evaluated by the controller may be configured to be high enough so that a leak in the cooling tube is indicated; [0062]); assess each of the plurality of coolant branches for a coolant leak in response to the indication of coolant loss (a control mechanism configured to control cooling of a battery module; [0004]); identify a coolant branch, from among the plurality of coolant branches, having a coolant leak (this drop in pressure across the inlet and outlet sides of the cooling tube is increased when there is a leak in the cooling tube; [0062]); and shut off, via the at least one flow-valve, a flow of the coolant into the coolant branch having the coolant leak (the valve is an electrical valve, and the controller 630 directs the automatic valve to shut off (i.e., close) in response to a determination that the differential between the first and second liquid pressures exceeds the threshold; [0063]).
<1.1. Modified figure 4B of Fees ‘195>
Fees fails to disclose the at least one flow-valve configured to regulate and distribute across the plurality of coolant branches the coolant circulated through the main coolant loop.
Sagar teaches, directed to a battery pack, a second connecting circuit [that] includes a second flow control valve configured to regulate the flow of coolant between the refrigeration circuit and the battery cooling circuit through the second connecting circuit; [0023].
Fees and Sagar are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery cooling systems.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include at least one flow-valve in the disclosure of Fees, with the reasonable expectation that doing so would allow the flow of coolant from the refrigeration circuit to the battery cooling circuit through the second connecting circuit for cooling the battery pack [0023], as suggested by Sagar.
Regarding claim 2, Fees discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Fees further discloses that the electronic controller is additionally configured to set an alert (the controller 630 sends an alert to a user; [0063]) indicative of the coolant branch having the coolant leak (in response to a determination that the differential between the first and second liquid pressures exceeds the threshold; [0063]) and the flow of the coolant having been shut off (the valve 635 is an electrical valve, and the controller 630 directs the automatic valve to shut off (i.e., close) in response to a determination that the differential between the first and second liquid pressures exceeds the threshold; [0063]).
Regarding claim 3, Fees discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Fees fails to disclose that the main coolant loop includes a reservoir configured to supply the coolant and having a coolant level sensor in communication with the electronic controller, and wherein the indication of coolant loss in the coolant system is a reduction of coolant in the reservoir.
Sagar teaches, directed to a battery cooling circuit, that it may include a reservoir for storing the coolant for the battery, wherein there is at least one sensor configured to detect the coolant in the reservoir, [0015]. Sagar further teaches that If at least one sensor detects a coolant level below a threshold level, i.e., if a coolant leak in the battery cooling circuit is detected, the flow control valve can be opened to allow the flow of coolant from the engine cooling circuit to the battery cooling circuit through the connecting circuit for cooling the battery pack. Further, the control unit can be configured to determine the level of coolant in the reservoir based on the signals received from the at least one sensor [0018].
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to that include a reservoir in the main loop configured to supply the coolant and having a coolant level sensor in communication with the electronic controller, and wherein the indication of coolant loss in the coolant system is a reduction of coolant in the reservoir in the disclosure of Fees, with the reasonable expectation that doing so would provide a sufficient amount of liquid coolant for cooling the battery pack in order to avoid overheating of the battery pack when coolant leaks into the battery cooling circuit [0042], as suggested by Sagar.
Regarding claim 4, Fees discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Fees further discloses that the electronic controller is configured to assess each of the plurality of coolant branches for a coolant leak via detection of loss of coolant pressure in each corresponding coolant branch (a controller configured to determine whether a differential between the first and second liquid pressures exceeds a threshold; [0061]; wherein the threshold evaluated by the controller 630 may be configured to be high enough so that a leak in the cooling tube is indicated when the differential between the first and second liquid pressures exceeds the threshold; [0062]).
Regarding claim 5, Fees discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Fees further discloses that the detection of loss of coolant pressure in each coolant branch is accomplished via (the threshold evaluated by the controller may be configured to be high enough so that a leak in the cooling tube is indicated when the differential between the first and second liquid pressures exceeds the threshold; [0062]): detection of coolant pressure in an individual coolant branch upstream of the respective battery module (The control mechanism includes a first pressure sensor 620 configured to measure a first liquid pressure of the liquid coolant in the coolant manifold section 605 on an inlet side of the cooling tube of the battery module; [0061]); and determination of coolant pressure in the subject coolant branch downstream of the subject battery module (a first pressure sensor 625 configured to measure a second liquid pressure of the liquid coolant in the coolant manifold section 615 on an outlet side of the cooling tube of the battery module; [0061]).
Regarding claim 6, Fees discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Fees further discloses that each coolant branch includes a one-way valve configured to control a flow of the coolant out of the subject coolant branch and in communication with the electronic controller (the valve 635 is an electrical valve, and the controller 630 directs the automatic valve to shut off; [0063]), and wherein the detection of loss of coolant pressure in each coolant branch (a controller 630 configured to determine whether a differential between the first and second liquid pressures exceeds a threshold; [0061]) is accomplished via: detection of coolant pressure in an individual coolant branch upstream of the respective battery module (The control mechanism includes a first pressure sensor 620 configured to measure a first liquid pressure of the liquid coolant in the coolant manifold section 605 on an inlet side of the cooling tube of the battery module; [0061]); and determination of response of a corresponding one-way valve to the detected coolant pressure upstream of the subject battery module (a first pressure sensor 625 configured to measure a second liquid pressure of the liquid coolant in the coolant manifold section 615 on an outlet side of the cooling tube of the battery module; [0061]).
Fees fails to disclose that the valve is a one-way valve.
Sagar teaches a control valve that can be a one-way valve; [0042].
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the valve in each coolant branch be a one-way valve with the reasonable expectation that doing so would regulate the flow of coolant from the engine cooling circuit to the battery cooling circuit through the connecting circuit [0042], as suggested by Sagar.
Regarding claim 10, Fees discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Fees fails to disclose that the at least one flow-valve is one of: a multi-way valve assembly arranged in a junction between the main coolant loop and the plurality of coolant branches and configured to control a flow of the coolant into each of the coolant branches;
Sagar teaches a flow control valve configured to regulate the flow of coolant from the engine cooling circuit to the battery cooling circuit through the connection circuit [0015]. Further, [e]ach of the valves . . . can be a four-way valve whose body has four ports, including inlet and outlet ports [0038].
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the one flow-valve be a multi-way valve assembly arranged in a junction between the main coolant loop and the plurality of coolant branches with the reasonable expectation that doing so would control the flow of coolant through the battery cooling circuit and modules inside [0026], as suggested by Sagar.
Regarding the limitation one-flow valve is a plurality of throttle valves, each throttle valve arranged in one of the plurality of coolant branches upstream of the corresponding battery module and configured to control a flow of the coolant into the subject coolant branch, it is noted that the limitation is a non-elected option.
Regarding claim 11, Fees discloses a method of detecting and mitigating a coolant leak system (a control mechanism configured to control cooling of a battery module; [0005]; generally relate to mechanisms for controlling liquid coolant leaks; [0064]) in a multi-cell rechargeable energy storage system (RESS) [0004] having a plurality of battery cells arranged in individual battery modules (plurality of battery modules arranged in a plurality of battery module compartments of a battery housing for an energy storage system of an electric vehicle; [0004]), the method comprising: regulating, via an electronic controller, a flow of coolant in a cooling system (a valve configured to selectively shut off a flow of the liquid coolant through the cooling tube based at least in part on whether the determined differential between the first and second liquid pressures exceeds the threshold; [0061]), wherein the cooling system includes: (cooling manifold arrangement; [0004]): a main coolant loop (cooling manifold; [0004]) configured to circulate the coolant (for cooling a plurality of battery modules; [0004]; see 1.1. Modified figure 4B of Fees ‘195 above); a plurality of coolant branches arranged in parallel (a cooling manifold configured to carry liquid coolant to and from cooling tubes arranged inside the plurality of battery modules, [0004], see 1.1. Modified figure 4B of Fees ‘195 below), wherein each coolant branch is configured to receive a portion of the coolant from the main coolant loop to adjust temperature of one of the respective battery modules (to control cooling of a battery module; [0016]); and monitoring, via the electronic controller, the cooling system for an indication of coolant loss; assessing, via the electronic controller, each of the plurality of coolant branches (a control mechanism configured to control cooling of a battery module; [0004]) for a coolant leak in response to the indication of coolant loss in the cooling system loss (the threshold evaluated by the controller may be configured to be high enough so that a leak in the cooling tube is indicated; [0062]); identifying, via the electronic controller, a coolant branch, from among the plurality of coolant branches, having a coolant leak (this drop in pressure across the inlet and outlet sides of the cooling tube is increased when there is a leak in the cooling tube; [0062]); and shutting off, via the electronic controller using the at least one flow-valve, a flow of the coolant into the coolant branch having the coolant leak (the valve is an electrical valve, and the controller 630 directs the automatic valve to shut off (i.e., close) in response to a determination that the differential between the first and second liquid pressures exceeds the threshold; [0063]).
Regarding process or method claims, a prior art device anticipates a claimed process, if the device carries out the process during normal operation (see MPEP § 2112.02).
Fees fails to disclose the at least one flow-valve configured to regulate and distribute across the plurality of coolant branches the coolant circulated through the main coolant loop.
Sagar teaches, directed to a battery pack, a second connecting circuit [that] includes a second flow control valve configured to regulate the flow of coolant between the refrigeration circuit and the battery cooling circuit through the second connecting circuit; [0023].
Fees and Sagar are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery cooling systems.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include at least one flow-valve in the disclosure of Fees, with the reasonable expectation that doing so would allow the flow of coolant from the refrigeration circuit to the battery cooling circuit through the second connecting circuit for cooling the battery pack [0023], as suggested by Sagar.
Regarding claim 12, Fees discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Fees further discloses that the method of claim 11, further comprising setting, via the electronic controller, an alert (the controller 630 sends an alert to a user; [0063]) indicative of the coolant branch having the coolant leak (in response to a determination that the differential between the first and second liquid pressures exceeds the threshold; [0063]) and the flow of the coolant having been shut off (the valve 635 is an electrical valve, and the controller 630 directs the automatic valve to shut off (i.e., close) in response to a determination that the differential between the first and second liquid pressures exceeds the threshold; [0063]).
Regarding claim 13, Fees discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Fees fails to disclose that the main coolant loop includes a reservoir configured to supply the coolant and having a coolant level sensor in communication with the electronic controller, and wherein the indication of coolant loss in the coolant system is a reduction of coolant in the reservoir.
Sagar teaches, directed to a battery cooling circuit, that it may include a reservoir for storing the coolant for the battery, wherein there is at least one sensor configured to detect the coolant in the reservoir, [0015]. Sagar further teaches that If at least one sensor detects a coolant level below a threshold level, i.e., if a coolant leak in the battery cooling circuit is detected, the flow control valve can be opened to allow the flow of coolant from the engine cooling circuit to the battery cooling circuit through the connecting circuit for cooling the battery pack. Further, the control unit can be configured to determine the level of coolant in the reservoir based on the signals received from the at least one sensor [0018].
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to that include a reservoir in the main loop configured to supply the coolant and having a coolant level sensor in communication with the electronic controller, and wherein the indication of coolant loss in the coolant system is a reduction of coolant in the reservoir, with the reasonable expectation that doing so would provide a sufficient amount of liquid coolant for cooling the battery pack in order to avoid overheating of the battery pack when coolant leaks into the battery cooling circuit [0042], as suggested by Sagar
Regarding claim 14, Fees discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Fees further discloses assessing each of the plurality of coolant branches for a coolant leak includes detecting a loss of coolant pressure in each corresponding coolant branch (a controller configured to determine whether a differential between the first and second liquid pressures exceeds a threshold; [0061]; wherein the threshold evaluated by the controller 630 may be configured to be high enough so that a leak in the cooling tube is indicated when the differential between the first and second liquid pressures exceeds the threshold; [0062]).
Fees further discloses that the electronic controller is configured to assess each of the plurality of coolant branches for a coolant leak via detection of loss of coolant pressure in each corresponding coolant branch (a controller configured to determine whether a differential between the first and second liquid pressures exceeds a threshold; [0061]; wherein the threshold evaluated by the controller 630 may be configured to be high enough so that a leak in the cooling tube is indicated when the differential between the first and second liquid pressures exceeds the threshold; [0062]).
Regarding claim 15, Fees discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Fees further discloses detecting the loss of coolant pressure in each coolant branch (the threshold evaluated by the controller 630 may be configured to be high enough so that a leak in the cooling tube is indicated when the differential between the first and second liquid pressures exceeds the threshold; [0062]) includes: detecting coolant pressure in an individual coolant branch upstream of the respective battery module (The control mechanism includes a first pressure sensor 620 configured to measure a first liquid pressure of the liquid coolant in the coolant manifold section 605 on an inlet side of the cooling tube of the battery module; [0061]); and determining coolant pressure in the subject coolant branch downstream of the subject battery module (a first pressure sensor 625 configured to measure a second liquid pressure of the liquid coolant in the coolant manifold section 615 on an outlet side of the cooling tube of the battery module; [0061]).
Regarding claim 16, Fees discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Fees further discloses that each coolant branch includes a one-way valve configured to control a flow of the coolant out of the subject coolant branch and in communication with the electronic controller (the valve 635 is an electrical valve, and the controller 630 directs the automatic valve to shut off; [0063]), and wherein the detecting the loss of coolant pressure in each coolant branch includes (a controller 630 configured to determine whether a differential between the first and second liquid pressures exceeds a threshold; [0061]): detecting coolant pressure in an individual coolant branch (a controller 630 configured to determine whether a differential between the first and second liquid pressures exceeds a threshold; [0061]) upstream (first pressure sensor) of the respective battery module; and determining a response of a corresponding one-way valve to the detected coolant pressure upstream of the subject battery module (a first pressure sensor 625 configured to measure a second liquid pressure of the liquid coolant in the coolant manifold section 615 on an outlet side of the cooling tube of the battery module; [0061]).
Fees fails to explicitly disclose that the valve is a one-way valve.
Sagar teaches a control valve that can be a one-way valve; [0042].
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make the valve in each coolant branch to be a one-way valve with the reasonable expectation that doing so would regulate the flow of coolant from the engine cooling circuit to the battery cooling circuit through the connecting circuit [0042], as suggested by Sagar.
Regarding claim 20, Fees discloses a motor vehicle (electric motor that drives the electric vehicle; [0003]) comprising: an electric motor-generator configured to generate torque (suitable for powering a drive motor of an electric vehicle; [0033]); a multi-cell rechargeable energy storage system (RESS) configured to supply electrical energy to the electric motor-generator ([t]he battery modules in the battery housing are connected in series via busbars to a battery junction box (BJB), and the BJB distributes electric power provided from the busbars to an electric motor that drives the electric vehicle; [0024]), the RESS including: a plurality of battery cells arranged in individual battery modules (plurality of battery modules arranged in a plurality of battery module compartments of a battery housing for an energy storage system of an electric vehicle; [0004]); and a cooling system including(cooling manifold arrangement; [0004]): a main coolant loop (cooling manifold; [0004]) configured to circulate coolant (for cooling a plurality of battery modules; [0004]; see 1.1. Modified figure 4B of Fees ‘195 above); a plurality of coolant branches arranged in parallel (a cooling manifold configured to carry liquid coolant to and from cooling tubes arranged inside the plurality of battery modules, [0004], see 1.1. Modified figure 4B of Fees ‘195 below), wherein: each coolant branch is configured to receive a portion of the coolant from the main coolant loop to adjust temperature of one of the respective battery modules (to control cooling of a battery module; [0016]);; and an electronic controller in operative communication with the cooling system (a control mechanism configured to control cooling of a battery module; [0004]) and configured to: monitor the cooling system for an indication of coolant loss (the threshold evaluated by the controller may be configured to be high enough so that a leak in the cooling tube is indicated; [0062]); assess each of the plurality of coolant branches for a coolant leak in response to the indication of coolant loss (a control mechanism configured to control cooling of a battery module; [0004]); identify a coolant branch, from among the plurality of coolant branches, having a coolant leak (this drop in pressure across the inlet and outlet sides of the cooling tube is increased when there is a leak in the cooling tube; [0062]); and shut off, via the at least one flow-valve, a flow of the coolant into the coolant branch having the coolant leak (the valve is an electrical valve, and the controller 630 directs the automatic valve to shut off (i.e., close) in response to a determination that the differential between the first and second liquid pressures exceeds the threshold; [0063]).
Fees fails to disclose that each coolant branch includes a one-way valve configured to control a flow of the coolant out of the subject coolant branch; and at least one flow-valve configured to regulate and distribute across the plurality of coolant branches the coolant circulated through the main coolant loop.
Sagar teaches, directed to a battery pack, a second connecting circuit [that] includes a second flow control valve configured to regulate the flow of coolant between the refrigeration circuit and the battery cooling circuit through the second connecting circuit; [0023].
Fees and Sagar are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery cooling systems.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include at least one flow-valve in the disclosure of Fees, with the reasonable expectation that doing so would allow the flow of coolant from the refrigeration circuit to the battery cooling circuit through the second connecting circuit for cooling the battery pack [0023], as suggested by Sagar.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fees et al. (US 2018/0123195 A1; hereinafter “Fees”), in view of Sagar et al. (DE 102023001636 A1; hereinafter “Sagar;” see attached machine translation for reference), as applied to claims 6 and 16 above, and further in view of Niang et al. (CN 213332710 U; hereinafter “Niang;” see attached machine translation for reference).
Regarding claim 7, Fees discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Fees further discloses that each coolant branch includes a sensor in communication with the electronic controller (a controller configured to determine whether a differential between the first and second liquid pressures exceeds a threshold, and a valve configured to selectively shut off a flow of the liquid coolant through the cooling tube; [0061]), and wherein the response of each one-way valve is determined via the sensor (the valve may be configured to open in response to a control signal from a controller . . . that is sent by the controller to the valve; [0056]).
Fees fails to disclose that the sensor is a valve displacement sensor.
Niang teaches a displacement sensor positioned on [a] valve and used for acquiring displacement data of the valve; a processor connected to the displacement sensor, the processor for processing the displacement data [page 5, par. 5].
Fees and Niang are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely control systems.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include a valve displacement sensor in the invention disclosed by Fees, with the reasonable expectation that doing so would allow the system to automatically inspect the leakage condition of the valve [page 2, par. 2] and transmit signals to a distributed control system [page 5, par. 3], as suggested by Niang.
Regarding claim 8, Fees discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Fees fails to disclose that the electronic controller is programmed with a look-up table of displacement of the corresponding one-way valve versus coolant pressure in an individual coolant branch upstream of the respective battery module.
Sagar teaches that [t]he control unit can be implemented using one or more processors, microcontrollers and at least one memory that stores instructions and/or algorithms. The memory can store a set of instructions, predefined threshold data and/or other required predetermined parameter data/instructions/algorithms; [0044].
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to program the electronic controller with a look-up table with the reasonable expectation that doing so would allow predetermined parameter data/instructions/algorithms to be used by the processors of the control unit [0044], as suggested by Sagar.
Regarding claim 17, Fees discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Fees further discloses that each coolant branch includes a sensor in communication with the electronic controller (a controller configured to determine whether a differential between the first and second liquid pressures exceeds a threshold, and a valve configured to selectively shut off a flow of the liquid coolant through the cooling tube; [0061]); and wherein determining the response of each one-way valve is achieved via the sensor (the valve may be configured to open in response to a control signal from a controller . . . that is sent by the controller to the valve; [0056]).
Fees fails to disclose that the sensor is a valve displacement sensor.
Niang teaches a displacement sensor positioned on [a] valve and used for acquiring displacement data of the valve; a processor connected to the displacement sensor, the processor for processing the displacement data [page 5, par. 5].
Fees and Niang are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely control systems.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include a valve displacement sensor in the invention disclosed by Fees with the reasonable expectation that doing so would allow the system to automatically inspect the leakage condition of the valve [page 2, par. 2] and transmit signals to a distributed control system [page 5, par. 3], as suggested by Niang.
Regarding claim 18, Fees discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Fees fails to disclose that the electronic controller is programmed with a look-up table of displacement of the corresponding one-way valve versus coolant pressure in an individual coolant branch upstream of the respective battery module.
Sagar teaches that [t]he control unit can be implemented using one or more processors, microcontrollers and at least one memory that stores instructions and/or algorithms. The memory can store a set of instructions, predefined threshold data and/or other required predetermined parameter data/instructions/algorithms; [0044].
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to program the electronic controller with a look-up table with the reasonable expectation that doing so would allow predetermined parameter data/instructions/algorithms to be used by the processors of the control unit [0044], as suggested by Sagar.
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fees et al. (US 2018/0123195 A1; hereinafter “Fees”), in view of Sagar et al. (DE 102023001636 A1; hereinafter “Sagar;” see attached machine translation for reference), as applied to claims 6 and 16 above, and further in view of Phlegm et al. (US 2014/0020763 A1; hereinafter “Phlegm”).
Regarding claim 9, Fees discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Fees further discloses that each coolant branch includes a coolant sensor downstream of the corresponding battery module and in communication with the electronic controller (a controller configured to determine whether a differential between the first and second liquid pressures exceeds a threshold, and a valve configured to selectively shut off a flow of the liquid coolant through the cooling tube; [0061]); and wherein the electronic controller is configured to assess each of the plurality of coolant branches for a coolant leak via determination of an amount of coolant therethrough using the corresponding coolant sensor (the valve may be configured to open in response to a control signal from a controller . . . that is sent by the controller to the valve; [0056]).
Fees fails to disclose that the sensor downstream is a flow sensor that determines an amount of coolant flow.
Phlegm teaches , directed to a battery system [0019], that may include battery electronics, that they may be configured to monitor and control certain operations of the battery system [0019], and, the battery electronics may be communicatively coupled with a coolant leak detection system [0019].
Phlegm further teaches that the liquid cooling system may comprise any suitable number of pumps, valves coolant circulation paths (e.g., piping), coolant reservoirs, heat exchangers (e.g., liquid/liquid, liquid/air, liquid/AC unit, and the like), cooling system electronics (e.g., feedback mechanisms, temperature sensors, thermostats, coolant flow sensors, pump and heat exchanger control electronics, and the like), and/or any other cooling system component and/or system in any suitable configuration for circulating the liquid coolant to various components and systems included in the battery system; [0023].
Fees and Phlegm are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely liquid cooled battery systems.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include a coolant flow sensor in the invention disclosed by Fees with the reasonable expectation that doing so would allow the coolant leak sensor . . . to detect and/or provide information to the coolant leak detection system [0027] and substantially preventing any liquid coolant and/or other materials from passing through the one or more valve(s) causing coolant to flow throughout the system [0027], as suggested by Phlegm.
Regarding claim 19, Fees discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Fees further discloses that each coolant branch includes a coolant sensor downstream of the corresponding battery module and in communication with the electronic controller (a controller configured to determine whether a differential between the first and second liquid pressures exceeds a threshold, and a valve configured to selectively shut off a flow of the liquid coolant through the cooling tube; [0061]); and wherein assessing each of the plurality of coolant branches for a coolant leak includes determining an amount of coolant therethrough using the corresponding coolant sensor (the valve may be configured to open in response to a control signal from a controller . . . that is sent by the controller to the valve; [0056]).
Fees fails to disclose that the sensor downstream is a flow sensor that determines an amount of coolant flow.
Phlegm teaches , directed to a battery system [0019], that may include battery electronics, that they may be configured to monitor and control certain operations of the battery system [0019], and, the battery electronics may be communicatively coupled with a coolant leak detection system [0019].
Phlegm further teaches that the liquid cooling system may comprise any suitable number of pumps, valves coolant circulation paths (e.g., piping), coolant reservoirs, heat exchangers (e.g., liquid/liquid, liquid/air, liquid/AC unit, and the like), cooling system electronics (e.g., feedback mechanisms, temperature sensors, thermostats, coolant flow sensors, pump and heat exchanger control electronics, and the like), and/or any other cooling system component and/or system in any suitable configuration for circulating the liquid coolant to various components and systems included in the battery system; [0023].
Fees and Phlegm are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely liquid cooled battery systems.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include a coolant flow sensor in the invention disclosed by Fees with the reasonable expectation that doing so would allow the coolant leak sensor . . . to detect and/or provide information to the coolant leak detection system [0027] and substantially preventing any liquid coolant and/or other materials from passing through the one or more valve(s) causing coolant to flow throughout the system [0027], as suggested by Phlegm.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Janarthanam et al. (US 20150333379 A1) discloses a thermal management system for an electrified vehicle.
/J.N.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 09/26/2026