DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejection - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Independent claim 1
Applicant asserts that “Claim 1 has been amended based on the Examiner comments during the March 4, 2026 telephone interview and based on, for example, paragraph 79 of Applicant's published Application to clarify that the actuator is configured to move an actuated part of the HVAC system based on a control signal”. Emphasis added by the examiner.
The examiner, however, disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the actuator is configured to move an actuated part of the HVAC system based on a control signal”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant further asserts that “An actuator on the other hand receives a control signal (e.g. from a controller) and actually moves something, which affects the operation of the HVAC system. The dampers 24 of Bisson, may be considered to correspond to the actuators of the present patent application, but not the controller 18. Applicant has amended claim 1 to clarify this distinction.
Bisson fails to teach or suggest the claimed actuator that moves and actuated part and comprises a close-range radio communication interface, as required by the amended claim”.
The examiner, however, disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “An actuator on the other hand receives a control signal (e.g. from a controller) and actually moves something, which affects the operation of the HVAC system”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In this instance, Bisson discloses A Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning, and Cooling (HVAC) system (see at least figures 2, and 4) comprising an actuator 18 (see paragraph [0023] which discloses “The one or more HVAC controller(s) 18 may actuate dampers 24 to an open position, a closed position, and/or a partially open position to modulate the flow of air from the one or more HVAC components to an appropriate room and/or zone in the building or other structure”). Therefore, Bisson discloses an actuator 18 as claimed under a broadest reasonable interpretation.
Examiner’s Suggestions: in order to overcome the instant rejection under 103(a) as set forth below, claim 1 should be amended based on paragraph 52 of Applicant’s published Application to clarify that “the actuator includes an electric motor being configured to drive an actuated part in the HVAC system based on a control signal for controlling the flow of fluids in the HVAC system”.
Independent claims 10, 19, and 20
Regarding independent claims 10, 19, and 20, they are discussed for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above.
Remaining rejected claims
The remaining rejected claims are discussed for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above.
For the foregoing reasons, the examiner contends that the rejections to claims are proper.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
See claims 1-20, wherein the word “module” is recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-13, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bisson (US 2014/0045482) in view of Cricco (EP 2355368A1, submitted by applicant).
As to claim 1, Bisson discloses A Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning, and Cooling (HVAC) system (see at least figures 2, and 4) comprising an antenna extension system 66 and an actuator (see paragraph [0023] which discloses “The one or more HVAC controller(s) 18 may actuate dampers 24 to an open position, a closed position, and/or a partially open position to modulate the flow of air from the one or more HVAC components to an appropriate room and/or zone in the building or other structure”), the actuator comprising a close-range radio communication interface (see wireless interface included in controller 18 for communicating with the antenna extension system 66 via a close-range radio network 54; see also paragraph [0030] which discloses that the network 54 may be a dedicated short range communication), and being configured to drive an actuated part 24 in the HVAC system for controlling the flow of fluids in the HVAC system (see paragraph [0022]), the antenna extension system 66 comprising: a first radio communication module (in this instance, the claimed “a first radio communication module” reads on wireless communication interface for providing close-range wireless communication with the actuator inside HVAC controller 18), configured for close range communication with the actuator 18 over a direct wireless communication link (see paragraph [0044]); a second radio communication module (in this instance, the claimed “a second radio communication module” reads on wireless communication interface providing wireless communication with a mobile device 62) having a greater communication range than the first radio communication module (see paragraph [0028] which discloses the network 58 may be a wide area network or global network such as Internet, which are clearly have a greater communication range then the network 54), and a gateway module 66 configured to interconnect the first radio communication module and the second radio communication module, to receive data from the actuator over the direct wireless communication link via the first radio communication module and transmit the data received from the actuator via the second radio communication module to a mobile communication device 62 (see paragraphs [0044], [0045]), and to receive data from the mobile communication device 62 via the second radio communication module and transmit the data received from the mobile communication device via the first radio communication module over the direct wireless communication link to the actuator (see paragraphs [0044], [0045]), wherein the gateway module 66 is configured to receive data from the close range radio communication interface of the HVAC actuator 18 via the first close range radio communication module and to transmit the received data by way of the second radio communication module over an extended wireless communication link to the mobile or fixed communication device 62 (see paragraphs [0044], [0045]); wherein the gateway module 66 is configured to receive operation-related actuator data from the actuator over the direct wireless communication link via the first radio communication module and transmit the operation-related actuator data received from the actuator via the second radio communication module over the extended wireless communication link to the mobile or fixed communication device 62 (see paragraphs [0044], [0045]; in this instance, the claimed “operation-related actuator data” reads on data that “The one or more HVAC controller(s) 18 may actuate dampers 24 to an open position, a closed position, and/or a partially open position to modulate the flow of air from the one or more HVAC components to an appropriate room and/or zone in the building or other structure” as disclosed in paragraph [0023]).
Bisson fails to disclose the first radio communication module configured for near field communication (NFC). Cricco discloses an antenna extension system for NFC system 104 (see at least figure 1), the antenna extension system comprising: a first radio communication module 126, configured for near field communication (NFC) with a NFC terminal 104 over a direct wireless communication link (150, 154); a second radio communication module 124, having a greater communication range than the first radio communication module 126. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Cricco to Bisson, such that the actuator 18 in Bisson is in NFC communication with antenna extension system 66, in order to provide convenience, security, and low power.
As to claims 2, 11, Bisson discloses that the second radio communication module comprises at least one of: a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN) radio communication module (see paragraph [0028]), and a Bluetooth radio communication module (see paragraph [0044]).
As to claims 3, 12, Bisson fails to disclose that the gateway module 66 (see figure 4) comprises an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC). The examiner, however, takes Official Notice that such an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) is known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bisson, such that the gateway module 66 comprises an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), in order to yield predictable results such as reducing weight, size, and implementing cost of the gateway module 66.
As to claims 4, 13, the combination of Bisson and Cricco discloses that the first radio communication module 126 (see Cricco, figure 1) comprises an antenna (inherently included in order to provide NFC communication between first radio communication module 126 and NFC terminal 104) for electromagnetically coupling the antenna extension system to a close-range radio communication interface of the actuator.
As to claims 7, 16, Bisson discloses that the first radio communication module is configured to establish the direct wireless communication link with the actuator 18 as a one-to-one wireless communication link without any intermittent communication bus (there is no intermittent communication bus disclosed in Bisson; therefore, Bisson reads on the claimed limitations under a broadest reasonable interpretation).
As to claims 8, 17, Bisson discloses an antenna (inherently included in the antenna extension system 66 in figure 4, in order to provide wireless communication between second radio communication module and smart phone 62) connected to the second radio communication module and configured to establish an extended wireless communication link to the mobile communication device 62 located beyond the communication range of a close-range radio communication interface of the actuator 18.
As to claims 9, 18, Bisson discloses an antenna (inherently included in the antenna extension system 66 in figure 4, in order to provide wireless communication between second radio communication module and personal computer 62) connected to the second radio communication module and configured to establish an extended wireless communication link to a fixed communication device 62 located beyond the communication range of a close-range radio communication interface of the actuator 18. See Bisson, paragraph [0032] which discloses that wireless device 62 may be a personal computer which reads on a fixed communication device.
As to claim 10, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above.
As to claim 19, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above.
As to claim 20, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above. Bisson further discloses that the mobile device 62 (see at least figure 4) transmits operation-related actuator data to the actuator 18 (see paragraph [0045]).
Claims 5-6, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bisson (US 2014/0045482) in view of Cricco (EP 2355368A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2015/0038086).
As to claims 5, 14, the combination of Bisson and Cricco discloses that the antenna is fixed to a carrier 100 (see Cricco, figures 1, 3), which is attachable to any object (see Cricco, paragraphs [0012], [0013], [0037]), but fails to explicitly disclose that the antenna is attachable to the actuator. Kim discloses an antenna 30 (see at least figure 3B) is fixed to a carrier, which is attachable to an actuator 10 (see paragraph [0044]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Kim to the combination of Bisson and Cricco, in order to yield predictable results such as improving signal quality between the first radio communication module and the actuator.
As to claims 6, 15, the combination of Bisson, Cricco, and Kim discloses that the carrier 100 (see Cricco, figure 1) comprises an adhesive 160 (see Cricco, figure 3) for attaching to the actuator (see Cricco, paragraphs [0012], [0013], [0037]; Kim, paragraph [0044]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NGUYEN T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646