DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “67” has been used to designate both first electrical wire core and first electrical wire sheath. In FIG. 9, the reference number 67 points to two separate parts of the end of the first electrical wire 65 in contact with the fork 153 at the connection terminal 150. It appears the 67 on the left correctly refers to the core of the wire and the 67 on the right should be relabeled as 68 as it appears to point to the sheath of the wire.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0021] is an exact repeat of Paragraph [0012].
Paragraph [0022] is an exact repeat of Paragraph [0015].
Paragraph [0023] is an exact repeat of Paragraph [0016].
Paragraph [0020] is a substantive repeat of Paragraph [0011].
Paragraph [0024 is a substantive repeat of Paragraph [0017].
In Paragraph [00110], the plurality of second wires is referred to by the part number 63 instead of the correct part number 73.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 5 of Claim 11, "the case having has a plurality of electrical wire entry holes" should be rewritten as "the case having .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the other side surface of the circuit board" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, and the limitation is indefinite as there is more than one “other surface” of the circuit board. For example, if the electronic element is mounted on the positive z-axis of the circuit board, the fork may protrude from the negative z-axis, the positive or negative x-axis, or the positive or negative y-axis surfaces of the circuit board.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the other side surface of the circuit board" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, and the limitation is indefinite as there is more than one “other surface” of the circuit board. For example, if the electronic element is mounted on the positive z-axis of the circuit board, the fork may protrude from the negative z-axis, the positive or negative x-axis, or the positive or negative y-axis surfaces of the circuit board.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the cell connection busbar" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 19 is dependent on Claim 10, which does not introduce a cell connection busbar. A cell connection busbar is introduced in Claim 17 and mentioned further in Claim 18. Adding a limitation for “a cell connection busbar” to Claim 10 or changing the dependency of Claim 19 to be dependent on Claim 17 or Claim 18 would overcome this rejection
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the busbar holder" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 20 is dependent on Claim 10, which does not introduce a busbar holder. A busbar holder is introduced in Claim 17 and mentioned further in Claim 18. Adding a limitation for “a busbar holder” to Claim 10 or changing the dependency of Claim 20 to be dependent on Claim 17 or Claim 18 would overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 10-12, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Mukasa et al (US 9929446 B2).
Regarding Claim 1,Mukasa teaches an electronic element assembly (control unit 16) comprising a circuit board and an electronic element (microcomputer) mounted on the circuit board (Column 5, Lines 22-28). The electronic element assembly 16 further comprises a plurality of first electrical wires (voltage detection lines 5) electrically connected to a plurality of first connection terminals (electric wire connection part 161) which are configured to be electrically connected to the electronic element. There are also present a plurality of second electrical wires 5 electrically connected to a plurality of second connection terminals 161 which are configured to be electrically connected to the electronic element. The first electrical wires 5 and second electrical wires 5 are differentiated by their placement on the left or right side of the control unit 16 in the y-axis direction, according to FIG. 1. The first connection terminals 161 and second connection terminals 161 are differentiated by their respective connection to the first
electrical wires and the second electrical wires.
Regarding Claim 2,Mukasa teaches the electronic element assembly of Claim 1. Mukasa further teaches the electronic element assembly 16 comprising a case configured to accommodate the circuit board, the electronic element, and the plurality of first and second connection terminals 161 (Column 5, Lines 25-30). The case also has a plurality of electrical wire entry holes configured for the plurality of first and second wires to be inserted (as seen in Annotated FIG. 2) and then connected to the electronic element assembly 16 (Column 7, Lines 22-29).
Regarding Claim 3,Mukasa teaches the electronic element assembly of Claim 2, wherein the case comprises a base having a plurality of electrical wire entry holes as seen in the dashed box regions of Annotated FIG. 2. The case also comprises a detachable cover (as evidenced by the latch inside the dotted region of Annotated FIG. 2) configured to cover the circuit board, electronic element, and the first and second connection terminals
161.
Regarding Claim 6,Mukasa teaches the electronic element assembly of Claim 3, wherein one of the base and the cover comprises a hook receiver, and the other of the base and cover comprises a hook detachably coupled to the hook receiver. As seen in Annotated FIG. 2, the cover appears to have a hook which would latch to a corresponding receiver on the base to couple the cover to the base.
Regarding Claim 10,Mukasa teaches a battery module (100 battery assembly) comprising a plurality of battery cells (batteries 10) (Column 4, Lines 29-34), a plurality of sensors (voltage detection terminals) configured to detect a state of the battery cells 10, a plurality of wires 5 connected to the plurality of sensors (Column 6, Lines 12-19), a plurality of second wires spaced apart from the plurality of first electrical wires (separated by control unit 16 in y-axis direction, FIG. 1) and electrically connected to a connector. As described in the rejection of Claim 1, Mukasa teaches an electronic element assembly (control unit 16) comprising a circuit board and an electronic element (microcomputer) mounted on the circuit board (Column 5, Lines 22-28). The electronic element assembly 16 further comprises a plurality of first electrical wires (voltage detection lines 5) electrically connected to a plurality of first connection terminals (electric wire connection part 161) which are configured to be electrically connected to the electronic element. There are also present a plurality of second electrical wires 5 electrically connected to a plurality of second connection terminals 161 which are configured to be electrically connected to the electronic element. The first electrical wires 5 and second electrical wires 5 are differentiated by their placement on the left or right side of the control unit 16 in the y-axis direction, according to FIG. 1. The first connection terminals 161 and second connection terminals 161 are differentiated by their respective connection to the first electrical wires and the second electrical wires.
Regarding Claim 11,Mukasa teaches the battery module of Claim 10. Mukasa further teaches the electronic element assembly 16 comprising a case configured to accommodate the circuit board, the electronic element, and the plurality of first and second connection terminals 161 (Column 5, Lines 25-30). The case also has a plurality of electrical wire entry holes configured for the plurality of first and second wires to be inserted (as seen in Annotated FIG. 2) and then connected to the electronic element assembly 16 (Column 7, Lines 22-29).
Regarding Claim 12,Mukasa teaches the battery module of Claim 11, wherein the case comprises a base having a plurality of electrical wire entry holes as seen in the dashed box regions of Annotated FIG. 2. The case also comprises a detachable cover (as evidenced by the latch inside the dotted region of Annotated FIG. 2) configured to cover the circuit board, electronic element, and the first and second connection terminals
Regarding Claim 19,Mukasa teaches the battery module of Claim 10, wherein the sensor (voltage detection terminal) comprises a voltage sensor electrically connected to the cell connection busbar (busbar 3) and configured to measure a voltage (Column 6, Lines 12-31).
Regarding Claim 20,Mukasa teaches the battery module of Claim 10. Mukasa further teaches a wire holder comprising an electric wire arrangement part 64 (Col 6, L53-55) which forms a U-shaped arrangement space between the peripheral wall 62 and the arrangement wall 65 of the busbar holder 6 (Column 7, Lines 1-8). The wires 5 pass through the electric wire outlet 66 which can be formed by cutting a groove into the arrangement wall 65 at a plurality of locations (Col 8, L27-35).
Claims 10 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Dutka et al (US 20230223605 A1).
Regarding Claim 10,Dutka teaches a battery module (10; Paragraph [0031]) with a plurality of battery cells (12; Paragraph [0031]), and a battery cell contact device 20 comprising a plurality of sensors (sensor element 34; Paragraph [0034]) connected to a plurality of first electrical wires (32; Paragraph [0035]), a plurality of second electrical wires 32 spaced apart from the first electrical wires (first electrical wires and second electrical wires are separated over a distance spanning opposing sides of the printed circuit board 21) and electrically connected to a connector (first end section 31a; Paragraph [0035]), an electronic element assembly (battery cell contacting device 20; Paragraph [0038]) comprising a circuit board (printed circuit board 21; Paragraph [0038]), an electronic element (electronic signal management circuit 22) mounted on the circuit board 21, a plurality of first connection terminals 31a and second connection terminals 31a coupled to the circuit board 21 and electrically connected to a plurality of first electrical wires 32 and second electrical wires 32, respectively (Paragraph [0035]).
Regarding Claim 17,Dutka teaches the battery module of Claim 10. Additionally, Dutka teaches a cell connection busbar (cell connectors 16; Paragraph [0032]) configured to electrically connect neighboring pairs of battery cells 12. The cell connection busbar 16 is further supported by a busbar holder (battery cell contacting device 20; Paragraph [0034]) connected to the cell connection busbar 16 via contact elements 30. In the invention of Dutka, the busbar holder 20 may be comprised of a multi-layered printed circuit board (Paragraph [0033]), upon which an electronic element assembly 20 is installed as the top layer.
Regarding Claim 18,Dutka teaches the battery module of Claim 17 and further teaches the busbar holder 20 has a plurality of vent through-holes (ventilation openings 26; Paragraph [0040]) corresponding to the vent through-holes of each battery cell 12 in the battery module 10. Additionally, Dutka teaches an electronic element assembly 22 positioned between a pair of neighboring vent through-holes (enclosed by dashed lines in Annotated FIG. 1A). From the comparison of Fig. 1A and Fig. 1B in Dutka, which depict a battery cell contact device with and without a signal management circuit 22 (Paragraph [0039]), it is believed the arrow identifying the signal measurement circuit 22 in Fig. 1A should be pointing to the dashed region of the annotated Fig. 1A or possibly the structures in the lower left of the printed circuit board 21, instead of appearing to point to the ventilation openings 26. Any of these options would meet the limitation of being positioned between a neighboring pair of vent through-holes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukasa in view of Takase et al (JP 2013105522 A; machine translated).
Regarding Claim 4,Mukasa teaches the electronic element assembly of Claim 3, but is silent on the presence of a circuit board pusher.However, Takase teaches a cover 35 with a circuit board pusher (pressing rib 35B) configured to press a circuit board (FPC 40) in such a manner that a plurality of connection terminals are connected to a plurality of electrical wires (Paragraph [0029]). The pressure from the pressing ribs can provide additional stability to the connection between the plurality of terminals and the plurality of wires. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cover taught by Mukasa to include pressing ribs for increased electrical connection stability.
Regarding Claim 13,Mukasa teaches the battery module of Claim 12, but is silent on the presence of a circuit board pusher.However, Takase teaches a cover 35 with a circuit board pusher (pressing rib 35B) configured to press a circuit board (FPC 40) in such a manner that a plurality of connection terminals are connected to a plurality of electrical wires (Paragraph [0029]). The pressure from the pressing ribs can provide additional stability to the connection between the plurality of terminals and the plurality of wires. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cover taught by Mukasa to include pressing ribs for increased electrical connection stability.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukasa in view of Huff et al (US 20180090735 A1).
Regarding Claim 5,Mukasa teaches the electronic element assembly of Claim 3, but does not teach a protrusion in the cover configured to support the circuit board.However, Huff teaches a printed circuit board 200 which may be connected to a flexible connector 104 via a spaced pad 130 (Paragraph [0049]). A cover 102 comprises a plurality of extensions 210 which may extend through apertures in the flexible connector 104, securing the flexible connector 104, and the attached printed circuit board 200, to the cover 102 (Paragraph [0054]). In doing so, the flexible connector 104 is held in alignment and restricted from moving longitudinally and laterally, reducing the chance of breaking a connection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the control unit of Mukasa to include the cover assembly of Huff for the purpose of increasing stability and reducing unintended disconnections.
Claims 7-8 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukasa in view of Gerke et al (US 4973262 A).
Regarding Claim 7,Mukasa teaches the electronic element assembly of Claim 1. Mukasa further teaches a wire comprising a sheath formed of an insulating cover and a conductive core contained within the sheath (Column 6, Lines 8-11), but does not teach a connection terminal comprising a fork configured to cut the sheath and come into electrical contact with the core.However, Gerke teaches a fork-shaped connection terminal (contact member 1; Column 3, Lines 18-19; FIG. 1) configured to cut the sheath (cutting edges 13; Column 4, Lines 37-40) of a held wire and create contact between the wire core and electrically conductive surface (Column 3, Lines 35-39). According to Gerke, the contact member 1 is simple to manufacture and cost-efficient. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the connection terminals of Mukasa with the contact members of Gerke to reduce the complexity of assembly, and the cost of materials.
Regarding Claim 8,In view of Gerke, Mukasa teaches the electronic element assembly of Claim 7. Gerke teaches the fork 1 may be integrated into the printed circuit board itself, reducing the number of separate parts required for assembly, and illustrates an embodiment wherein the electronic element is mounted on one side surface of the circuit board, and the fork protrudes from the other side of the circuit board (Column 5, Lines 1-5; FIG. 13). Integrating the fork into the circuit board itself reduces the number of parts and can reduce complexity of assembly and cost. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the connection terminals of Mukasa with the contact members of Gerke to reduce the complexity of assembly, and the cost of materials.
Regarding Claim 14,Mukasa teaches the battery module of Claim 10. Mukasa further teaches a wire comprising a sheath formed of an insulating cover and a conductive core contained within the sheath (Column 6, Lines 8-11), but does not teach a connection terminal comprising a fork configured to cut the sheath and come into electrical contact with the core.However, Gerke teaches a fork-shaped connection terminal (contact member 1; Column 3, Lines 18-19; FIG. 1) configured to cut the sheath (cutting edges 13; Column 4, Lines 37-40) of a held wire and create contact between the wire core and electrically conductive surface (Column 3, Lines 35-39). According to Gerke, the contact member 1 is simple to manufacture and cost-efficient. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the connection terminals of Mukasa with the contact members of Gerke to reduce the complexity of assembly, and the cost of materials.
Regarding Claim 15,In view of Gerke, Mukasa teaches the battery module of Claim 14. Gerke teaches the fork 1 may be integrated into the printed circuit board itself, reducing the number of separate parts required for assembly, and illustrates an embodiment wherein the electronic element is mounted on one side surface of the circuit board, and the fork protrudes from the other side of the circuit board (Column 5, Lines 1-5; FIG. 13). Integrating the fork into the circuit board itself reduces the number of parts and can reduce complexity of assembly and cost. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the connection terminals of Mukasa with the contact members of Gerke to reduce the complexity of assembly, and the cost of materials.
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukasa in view of Choi et al (EP 2725650 B1).
Regarding Claim 9,Mukasa teaches the electronic element assembly of Claim 1, but does not teach a plurality of fuses configured to be connected to the plurality of connection terminals.However, Choi teaches a fuse box in which a plurality of fuses are mounted on the circuit board by soldering in the shape of a receptacle terminal (Paragraph [0027-0028]) for the purpose of signal cutoff. Choi further teaches an advantage of mounting fuses on the circuit board terminal as requiring only replacement of the fuse box itself, improving ease of maintenance. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include fuses as taught by Choi in the control unit disclosed by Mukasa for the purpose of including a signal cutoff route with an improved ease of maintenance.
Regarding Claim 16,Mukasa teaches the battery module of Claim 10, but does not teach a plurality of fuses configured to be connected to the plurality of connection terminals.However, Choi teaches a fuse box in which a plurality of fuses are mounted on the circuit board by soldering in the shape of a receptacle terminal (Paragraph [0027-0028]) for the purpose of signal cutoff. Choi further teaches an advantage of mounting fuses on the circuit board terminal as requiring only replacement of the fuse box itself, improving ease of maintenance. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include fuses as taught by Choi in the control unit disclosed by Mukasa for the purpose of including a signal cutoff route with an improved ease of maintenance.
Conclusion
/KEVIN M KNOWLAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783