DETAILED ACTION
The instant first office action is in response to communication filed on 07/10/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending of which claims 1, 13 and 18 are the base independent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant alleged that the system of “Ying’817”fails to show or merely suggest “wherein the indication message comprises at least one of the following: sensing function enable or disable flag; identification of the second device; time when the sensing function is enabled or disabled; application scope of a sensing result; configuration information of a sensing reference node or sensing cooperative node to be enabled or disabled; or requirement information for a sensing signal” as recited by applicant on page “10-11 of 15 ”.
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees because in this case, the system of “Ying’817” explicitly teaches the above limitation.
Ying’817 teaches wherein the indication message comprises at least one(due at least one, only one of them is being considered along with dependent claim(s) if any)of the following:
sensing function enable or(due or alternative language, only one of them is being considered) disable flag;
identification of the second device;
time when the sensing function is enabled or disabled;
application scope of a sensing result;
configuration information of a sensing reference node or sensing cooperative node to be enabled or disabled; or
requirement information for a sensing signal (see para.0070, which discusses the second sensing control request message is used to control the first RAN network element to perform the sensing operation on the first sensing service, thus enable due to perform a sensing operation, see para.0309, which discusses the AMF network element further selects an appropriate RAN network element, and sends a sensing control request message 2 to the selected RAN network element. The sensing control request message 1 or the sensing control request message 2 is used to control the RAN network element to perform the sensing operation on the first sensing, see para. 0319-0320, the sensing network element selects the appropriate RAN network element (that is, the target second network element) based on the RAN ID or RAN IDs, thus including identification of the RAN as second device, see para.0356-0357).
The applicant further argued each of the following features, see page 11 of “sensing function enable or(due or alternative language, only one of them is being considered) disable flag; identification of the second device; time when the sensing function is enabled or disabled; application scope of a sensing result; configuration information of a sensing reference node or sensing cooperative node to be enabled or disabled; or requirement information for a sensing signal”.
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees because in this case, the system of “Ying’817” explicitly teaches the above limitation.
Due at least one alternative language, only one of them is being considered. In this case, identification of the second device as the following:
Ying’817 teaches wherein the indication message comprises at least one(due at least one, only one of them is being considered along with dependent claim(s) if any)of the following:
sensing function enable or(due or alternative language, only one of them is being considered) disable flag;
identification of the second device;
time when the sensing function is enabled or disabled;
application scope of a sensing result;
configuration information of a sensing reference node or sensing cooperative node to be enabled or disabled; or
requirement information for a sensing signal (see para.0070, which discusses the second sensing control request message is used to control the first RAN network element to perform the sensing operation on the first sensing service, see para.0309, which discusses the AMF network element further selects an appropriate RAN network element, and sends a sensing control request message 2 to the selected RAN network element. The sensing control request message 1 or the sensing control request message 2 is used to control the RAN network element to perform the sensing operation on the first sensing, see para. 0319-0320, the sensing network element selects the appropriate RAN network element (that is, the target second network element) based on the RAN ID or RAN IDs, thus enable due to perform a sensing operation, thus including identification of the RAN as second device, see para.0356-0357).
I would like to suggest that the applicant removes “at least one”, “or” and uses “and” instead If the Applicant wants the examiner to consider all of them.
In view of the above, it is clear the previously cited prior arts still disclose the applicant claim invention as set detailed in the rejection below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/22/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ying et al (US 2024/0205817).
Regarding claim 1, 13, 18, Ying’817 discloses a sensing method(see abs, see at least fig.8b-10), comprising:
receiving, by a first device (see fig.17, which shows processor 11 and memory 12, and at least see para.0757, which shows the memory 12 is configured to store a computer program. The processor 11 is configured to invoke the computer program from the memory 12 and run the computer program, so that the communication apparatus 10 performs processing performed by a corresponding network element (for example, the NEF network element, the sensing network element, the AMF network element, the RAN network element, the NRF network element, or the UDM network element) in the method embodiments of this application), a first request(see fig.8b, which shows AMF as first device receive first sensing control request message 45), wherein the first request is used for requesting to enable or(due to or alternative language, only one of them is being considered) disable a sensing function of a second device(see para.0028, which discusses the first sensing control request message is used to control a RAN network element as second device to perform a sensing operation on the first sensing service, thus enable due to perform a sensing operation); and
transmitting, by the first device, an indication message to the second device(see fig.8b, which shows AMF as first device transmits second sensing control request message to the RAN as second device 47) according to the first request (see fig.8b, which shows according to receive first sensing control request message 45), wherein the indication message is used to indicate the second device to enable or(due to or language, only one of them is being considered) disable the sensing function(see para.0070, which discusses the second sensing control request message is used to control the first RAN network element to perform the sensing operation on the first sensing service, thus enable due to perform a sensing operation),
wherein the indication message comprises at least one(due at least one, only one of them is being considered along with dependent claim(s) if any)of the following:
sensing function enable or(due or alternative language, only one of them is being considered) disable flag;
identification of the second device;
time when the sensing function is enabled or disabled;
application scope of a sensing result;
configuration information of a sensing reference node or sensing cooperative node to be enabled or disabled; or
requirement information for a sensing signal (see para.0070, which discusses the second sensing control request message is used to control the first RAN network element to perform the sensing operation on the first sensing service, see para.0309, which discusses the AMF network element further selects an appropriate RAN network element, and sends a sensing control request message 2 to the selected RAN network element. The sensing control request message 1 or the sensing control request message 2 is used to control the RAN network element to perform the sensing operation on the first sensing, see para.0319-0320, the sensing network element selects the appropriate RAN network element (that is, the target second network element) based on the RAN ID or RAN IDs, thus enable due to perform a sensing operation, thus including identification of the RAN as second device to perform the sensing operation, see para.0356-0357).
Regarding claim 2, Ying’817 discloses wherein the first request comprises at least one(due at least one, only one of them is being considered along with dependent claim(s) if any) of the following: sensing function enable or disable flag; identification of the second device; time when the sensing function is enabled or disabled; area in which the sensing function is enabled or disabled; type of the sensing function to be enabled or disabled; application scope of a sensing result; configuration information of a sensing reference node or sensing cooperative node to be enabled or disabled; requirement information for sensing performance; requirement information for a sensing mode; requirement information for a sensing signal; or requirement information for a sensing measurement result or sensing measurement quantity(see para.0028, which discuses the first sensing control request message is used to control a RAN network element to perform a sensing operation on the first sensing service, thus including identification of the RAN as second device, see also para.0322-0324, see para.0070).
Regarding claim 3, 14, Ying’817 discloses wherein the indication message further comprises at least one(due at least one, only one of them is being considered along with dependent claim(s) if any)of the following:
area in which the sensing function is enabled or(due at least one, only one of them is being considered) disabled;
type of the sensing function to be enabled or disabled;
requirement information for sensing performance;
requirement information for a sensing mode; or requirement information for a sensing measurement result or sensing measurement quantity(see para.0070, which discusses the second sensing control request message is used to control the first RAN network element to perform the sensing operation on the first sensing service, thus enable due to perform a sensing operation, thus including identification of the RAN as second device, see para.0356-0357,which discusses the second sensing control request message includes one or more of the following: the sensing distance, the sensing area, the sensing speed range, the sensing distance resolution, the sensing angle measurement precision, the sensing speed resolution, the QoS requirement, the sensing object identification accuracy, the false alarm rate of the sensing object identification, the sensing data precision, the sensing data update frequency, the sensing dimension, the sensing feedback manner, the service type, the sensing requester type, the sensing requester identifier, the sensing application type, and the sensing application identifier, thus at least one area in which the sensing function is enabled or disabled, type of the sensing function to be enabled or disabled).
4.-8. (claims 4-8 are not considered due to or alternative language in claim in claim 3 but are still rejected since they depend from a rejected claim)
Regarding claim 9, Ying’817 discloses determining a target device meeting at least one of the following as the second device: position of the target device is located in a preset area; the target device has a target sensing capability; an access device of the target device is located in a preset area; or an access device of the target device has a target sensing capability(see fig.8b, which shows RAN as access device of the target to perform sending operation, see fig.7, which shows Ran register a sensing capability of the RAN 26, thus target sensing capability).
Regarding claim 10, Ying’817 discloses wherein the second device comprises at least one device or(due to or alternative language, only of them is being considered) sensing network element with a sensing network function(see fig.8b, which shows RAN as one device), and the at least one device or sensing network element with a sensing network function is associated with the sensing function corresponding to the first request(see para.0028, which discusses the first sensing control request message is used to control a RAN network element to perform a sensing operation on the first sensing service, thus including identification of the RAN as second device, see also para.0322-0324, thus RAN network element to perform a sensing operation).
Regarding claim 11, Ying’817 discloses wherein the sensing function comprises a preset category of sensing functions(see para.0322-0324); wherein the preset category is classified based on at least one(due to at least one of them, only one of them is being considered) of the following: scale range of a sensing function; privacy requirement for a sensing function; power consumption information corresponding to a sensing function; resource occupation information corresponding to a sensing function; or(due to or alternative language, only of them is being considered) sensing measurement quantity corresponding to a sensing function(see para.0322-0324, which discusses the first sensing control request message may include one or more of the following: the sensing distance, the sensing area, the sensing speed range, the sensing distance resolution, the sensing angle measurement precision, the sensing speed resolution, the QoS requirement, the sensing object identification accuracy, the false alarm rate of the sensing object identification, the sensing data precision, the sensing data update frequency, the sensing dimension, the sensing feedback manner, a sensing service type, the sensing requester type, the sensing requester identifier, the sensing application type, and the sensing application identifier, thus at least scale range of a sensing function) .
Regarding claim 12, Ying’817 discloses wherein the first device is a device with a sensing network function, and the second device comprises at least one of a base station and a terminal; or(due to or alternative language, only of them is being considered) the first device is a base station, and the second device is a terminal; or (due to or alternative language, only of them is being considered)the first device is a device with an access and mobility management function(see fig.8b, which shows access and mobility management function (AMF)), and the second device comprises at least one of a base station, a terminal, and a device with a sensing network function(see fig.8b, which shows RAN as base station).
15.-17. (claims 15-17 are not considered due to or alternative language in claim in claim 14 but are still rejected since they depend from a rejected claim)
Regarding claim 19, Ying’817 discloses a second device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor, the steps of the sensing method according to claim 13 are implemented(see fig.17, which shows processor 11 and memory 12, and at least see para.0757, which shows the memory 12 is configured to store a computer program. The processor 11 is configured to invoke the computer program from the memory 12 and run the computer program, so that the communication apparatus 10 performs processing performed by a corresponding network element (for example, the NEF network element, the sensing network element, the AMF network element, the RAN network element, the NRF network element, or the UDM network element).
Regarding claim 20, Ying’817 discloses a non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium has a program or instructions stored thereon; and when the program or instructions are executed by a processor, the steps of the sensing method according to claim 1 are implemented(see fig.17, which shows processor 11 and memory 12, and at least see para.0757, which shows the memory 12 is configured to store a computer program. The processor 11 is configured to invoke the computer program from the memory 12 and run the computer program, so that the communication apparatus 10 performs processing performed by a corresponding network element (for example, the NEF network element, the sensing network element, the AMF network element, the RAN network element, the NRF network element, or the UDM network element).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Following prior arts are related to the present claimed invention:
Zhu et al (US 2024/0259765) teaches, see para.0121-0122, which discusses sensing network element, at least one RAN network element having the sensing capability, and/or at least one UE having the sensing capability, for example, a sensing network element 210, a RAN 220, and a RAN 230 shown in FIG. 2, and a UE 240 and a UE 250. The sensing network element 210 is responsible for enabling a sensing service in an end-to-end manner. For example, the sensing network element 210 may obtain a sensing requirement based on an internal network requirement, or the sensing network element 210 receives a subscription request from another network element (for example, an AMF network element) to obtain the sensing requirement. After obtaining the sensing requirement, the sensing network element 210 triggers the RAN 220 and/or the RAN 230, or the UE 240 and/or the UE 250 to detect and/or collect sensing data. After obtaining the sensing data through detection, the RAN 220 and/or the RAN 230 or the UE 240 and/or the UE 250 provide or provides the sensing data to the sensing network element 210, and the sensing network element 210 performs processing based on the sensing data and returns a processing result to another network element. Alternatively, the sensing network element 210 performs optimization inside the network based on the sensing data, or the like.
Guo et al (US 20230171799 A1) teaches , claim 15 and 25, a sensing result request and report function is enabled or disabled for the UE.
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/VINNCELAS LOUIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474