DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 are pending, and claims 1-16 are currently under review.
Claims 17-18 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-16, in the reply filed on 6/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/29/2026.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 12/16/2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the foreign application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakizaka et al. (JP2021165411, machine translation referred to herein).
Regarding claim 1, Wakizaka et al. discloses a non-oriented electrical steel sheet having a composition as seen in table 1 below [0011]. Wakizaka et al. further teaches an grain size of 20 micrometers or less, as well as an amount of <100> grains being at least 18% and an amount of <111> grains being less than 25% [0011, 0016]. Wakizaka et al. teaches that grain growth occurs perpendicular to the steel plate, which is therefore perpendicular to a rolling direction because rolling occurs parallel to the steel plate [0055]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the composition and structure of Wakizaka et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 1 (wt.%)
Wakizaka et al. (wt.%)
C
0 – 0.01
0 – 0.05
Si
1 – 5
2.5 – 4.5
Mn
0.05 – 5
0.15 – 2
P
0 – 0.1
0.005 – 0.2
S
0 – 0.01
0 – 0.01
Al
0 – 3
0.15 – 3
N
0 – 0.005
0 – 0.01
Fe & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Regarding claims 5, 9 and 13, Wakizaka et al. discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). Wakizaka et al. further teaches inclusions of Zn in an amount of 0.0005 to 0.02 weight percent, and W and Mo in amounts that satisfy formula 2 [0011, 0027]. The examiner notes that these ranges overlap with the claimed ranges, which is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim(s) 3, 7, 11, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakizaka et al. (JP2021165411, machine translation referred to herein) in view of Tanaka et al. (US 2009/0202383).
Regarding claim 3, Wakizaka et al. discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). Wakizaka et al. does not expressly teach an inclusion of Co as claimed. Tanaka et al. discloses an electrical non-oriented steel sheet [abstract]; wherein said steel can further include Co in an amount of up to 4 weight percent to increase strength [0084, 0088]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the steel of Wakizaka et al. by including Co for the aforementioned benefit as taught by Tanaka et al. The examiner notes that Co range of Tanaka et al. overlaps with the claimed range, which is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 7, 11, and 13, Wakizaka et al. discloses the steel of claim 3 (see previous). Wakizaka et al. further teaches inclusions of Zn in an amount of 0.0005 to 0.02 weight percent, and W and Mo in amounts that satisfy formula 2 [0011, 0027]. The examiner notes that these ranges overlap with the claimed ranges, which is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, and 16 are directed to the steel composition and structure of independent claim 1, wherein said steel further includes a structure of <100> and <111> grains oriented in a 45 degree and -45 degree orientation as claimed. There is no prior art of record that teaches these features together. There is further no prior art that teaches the particular processing steps detailed in [p.20-32 instant specification] which is disclosed to achieve the aforementioned structural features.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734