DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2003/0188433).
Regarding claim 1, Yu teaches an assembly that can be transformed between a cigar cutter and a cigar rest, the assembly comprising:
a central body (20) housing an aperture (21), the aperture configured to receive a head of a cigar (Figures 1-2; Abstract);
a left blade unit (22,23,24) operably coupled to a left side of the central body; and
a right blade unit (22,23,24) operably coupled to a right side of the central body (Figure 1; See connections elements provided in Figure 1 showing coupling points with a connection means), wherein each of the left blade unit and the right blade unit comprises:
a frame (23); a cutting blade (22) mounted to the frame (Figure 2; Paragraph 0013); and
a handle (30) pivotally coupled to the frame through a hinge joint (32), wherein the hinge joint allows pivoting of the handle up to 90 degrees (Figure 2; Paragraph 0003, 0004; Examiner notes the specification does not appear to provide a special definition for the term “hinge joint”. The specification provides the hinge joint allows up to 90 degree rotation of the handles (Paragraph 0039). As such, the handle 30 has a hinge joint that allows for pivoting of the handle to at least 90 degrees as shown in Figure 2 of Yu).
Regarding claim 2, Yu teaches method of cutting cigars, the method comprising: making an aperture (21) in a central body (20), the aperture configured to receive a head of a cigar (Figures 1-2; Abstract);
operably coupling a left blade unit (22,23,24) to a left side of the central body; and operably coupling a right blade unit (22,23,24) to a right side of the central body (Figures 1-2 and Paragraph 0013), wherein each of the left blade unit and the right blade unit comprises:
a frame (23); a cutting blade (22) mounted to the frame (Figure 2; Paragraph 0013); and
a handle (30) pivotally coupled to the frame through a hinge joint (32), wherein the hinge joint allows pivoting the handle up to 90 degrees; inserting the head of the cigar into the aperture of the central body; and squeezing the two handles resulting in splicing of the head of the cigar (Paragraph 0015) by the two blades of the left blade unit and the right blade unit (Figure 2; Paragraph 0003-0004; Examiner notes the specification does not appear to provide a special definition for the term “hinge joint”. The specification provides the hinge joint allows up to 90-degree rotation of the handles (Paragraph 0039). As such, the handle 30 has a hinge joint that allows for pivoting of the handle to at least 90 degrees as shown in Figure 2 of Yu).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2003/0188433) in view of Mathis (U.S. Patent No. 5,759,120).
Regarding claim 3, Yu teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the method further comprises: pivoting the handles of the left blade unit and the right blade unit to be perpendicular to the central body (Figure 2); but does not provide placing the cigar on a top of the assembly.
Mathis teaches it is known in the art od cigar cutters to incorporate a cigar cutter (10) including placing a cigar (60) on a top of the cigar assembly (Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the method of Yu to incorporate the teachings of Mathis to allow for the cigar to the placed on a top of the cigar assembly. Doing so provides the cigar with a support.
Regarding claim 4, Yu teaches the method of claim 3, wherein top surfaces of the two frames and the central body forms the top of the assembly (Yu Figure 1; Noting the left 23, 20 and 23 as the “top” surfaces when viewed as shown in Figure 1).
Related Prior Art
Below is an analysis of the relevance of references cited but not used
- "892 cited references A-M on pages 1-2 and A-F on Page 3 establish the state of the art with a variety of cigar cutters with a variety of handles and pivot mechanisms.
Conclusion
/RICHARD D CROSBY JR/ 09/30/2025Examiner, Art Unit 3724