Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 2023/0125710 A1) (Gulati herein after) in view of Hong et al. (US 2023/0198708 A1) (Hong herein after).
Re Claim 1, Gulati discloses a positioning method, performed by a first terminal, comprising:
sending a capability request message to a second terminal (capability exchange may include the UE A 120 transmitting a capability request to the UE B 120, and the UE B 120 responding to the capability request by providing capability information associated with the UE B 120 [0091]), wherein the capability request message is configured to request at least one of sidelink-downlink time difference of arrival (SL-DL TDOA) capability information, sidelink angle of arrival (SL-AOA) capability information, sidelink round trip time (SL-RTT) capability information, or sidelink-uplink time difference of arrival (SL-UL TDOA) capability information (capability information associated with a UE 120 may indicate an identification of the UE as an anchor UE (e.g., a UE that does not move, that is not moving, that will not move during a particular period of time, that moves slowly, and/or the like), one or more positioning measurements that the UE is capable of performing, a velocity sensor error, a calibration error, and/or the like [0091]; positioning measurements may include time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurements associated with the PRS, angle of arrival (AoA) measurements associated with the PRS, and/or the like [0085]; positioning request may include a sidelink communication between an S-LMC of the UE A 120 and an S-LMC of the UE B 120 [0081]); and
receiving a capability message sent by the second terminal (capability exchange may include the UE A 120 transmitting a capability request to the UE B 120, and the UE B 120 responding to the capability request by providing capability information associated with the UE B 120 [0091]), wherein the capability message comprises at least one of SL-DL TDOA capability information per sidelink band, SL-AOA capability information per sidelink band, SL-RTT capability information per sidelink band, or SL-UL TDOA capability information per sidelink band (capability information associated with a UE 120 may indicate an identification of the UE as an anchor UE (e.g., a UE that does not move, that is not moving, that will not move during a particular period of time, that moves slowly, and/or the like), one or more positioning measurements that the UE is capable of performing, a velocity sensor error, a calibration error, and/or the like [0091]; positioning measurements may include time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurements associated with the PRS, angle of arrival (AoA) measurements associated with the PRS, and/or the like [0085]; positioning request may include a sidelink communication between an S-LMC of the UE A 120 and an S-LMC of the UE B 120 [0081]).
Gulati discloses the claimed invention except capability provision message.
However, Hong discloses method and apparatus for performing positioning on basis of signal from neighbor terminal in wireless communication system wherein PRS transmission capability request message to the device #1 2412, and the device #1 2412 transmits a PRS transmission capability provision message to the RSU 2420. That is, the RSU 2420 requests PRS transmission from the device #1 2412 by transmitting a PRS transmission capability request message. At this time, the device #1 2412 responds to the RSU 2420 that it is able to operate as a PRS source, and the RSU 2420 confirms that it is able to operate as a PRS source. The PRS transmission capability provision message is capability information related to the PRS transmission of the device #1 2412, and may include, for example, at least one of whether PRS transmission is possible or supportable configuration ([0300]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Gulati, by making use of the technique taught by Hong, in order to improve the positioning performance.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of positioning in wireless communication system, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Gulati, nor does Gulati teach away from the modification (Gulati merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the message exchange taught by Hong is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of utilizing capability provision message for responding request message during capability exchange between terminals for positioning.
Re Claim 2, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 1, Gulati discloses further comprising:
sending a positioning assistance information request message to the second terminal, wherein the positioning assistance information request message is configured to request the second terminal to provide first positioning assistance information (UE A 120 and the UE B 120 may engage in an assistance data exchange. In some aspects, the assistance data exchange may include the UE A 120 providing a first set of assistance data to the UE B 120. In some aspects, the assistance data exchange may include the UE B 120 providing a second set of assistance data to the UE A 120 [0092]);
receiving the first positioning assistance information (the assistance data exchange may include the UE A 120 providing a first set of assistance data to the UE B 120. In some aspects, the assistance data exchange may include the UE B 120 providing a second set of assistance data to the UE A 120. In some aspect [0092]);
sending a position information request message to the second terminal, wherein the position information request message is configured to request the second terminal to provide a measurement result for measuring positioning information of the second terminal (UE A 120 and the UE B 120 may engage in a PRS exchange. In some aspects, the PRS exchange may include the UE B 120 transmitting a first PRS to the UE A 120 [0093]);
receiving the measurement result (UE A 120 may transmit, and the UE B 120 may receive, positioning measurements associated with the UE A 120 and obtained by the UE A 120 [0096]); and
determining the position information of the second terminal based on the positioning assistance information and the measurement result (UE B 120 may determine a position of the UE A 120. In some aspects, the UE B 120 may determine the position of the UE A 120 based at least in part on one or more of the positioning measurements obtained and/or received by the UE B 120 [0096]).
Re Claim 3, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 1, Gulati discloses further comprising: sending second positioning assistance information to the second terminal, wherein the positioning assistance information is configured to assist the second terminal in determining the position information of the second terminal (UE A 120 and the UE B 120 may engage in an assistance data exchange. In some aspects, the assistance data exchange may include the UE A 120 providing a first set of assistance data to the UE B 120. In some aspects, the assistance data exchange may include the UE B 120 providing a second set of assistance data to the UE A 120 [0092]).
Re Claim 4, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 1, Gulati discloses wherein the capability provision message comprises at least one of: positioning signal capability information corresponding to the SL-DL TDOA capability information; positioning signal capability information corresponding to the SL-AOA capability information; positioning signal capability information corresponding to the SL-RTT capability information; positioning signal capability information corresponding to the SL-UL TDOA capability information; positioning measurement capability information corresponding to the SL-DL TDOA capability information; positioning measurement capability information corresponding to the SL-AOA capability information; positioning measurement capability information corresponding to the SL-RTT capability information; or positioning measurement capability information corresponding to the SL-UL TDOA capability information (capability exchange may include the UE A 120 transmitting a capability request to the UE B 120, and the UE B 120 responding to the capability request by providing capability information associated with the UE B 120 [0091]), wherein the capability provision message comprises at least one of SL-DL TDOA capability information per sidelink band, SL-AOA capability information per sidelink band, SL-RTT capability information per sidelink band, or SL-UL TDOA capability information per sidelink band (capability information associated with a UE 120 may indicate an identification of the UE as an anchor UE (e.g., a UE that does not move, that is not moving, that will not move during a particular period of time, that moves slowly, and/or the like), one or more positioning measurements that the UE is capable of performing, a velocity sensor error, a calibration error, and/or the like [0091]; positioning measurements may include time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurements associated with the PRS, angle of arrival (AoA) measurements associated with the PRS, and/or the like [0085]; positioning request may include a sidelink communication between an S-LMC of the UE A 120 and an S-LMC of the UE B 120 [0081]).
Re Claim 5, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 4, Gulati discloses wherein the positioning signal capability information corresponding to the SL-RTT capability information comprises: first RTT capability information corresponding to sending a positioning reference signal by the second terminal; and second RTT capability information corresponding to receiving a positioning reference signal by the second terminal; wherein the first RTT capability information comprises at least one of: first capability information of the second terminal in each sidelink frequency band, the fist capability information comprising a list of bandwidth supported by the second terminal in each sidelink frequency band; or second capability information of the second terminal in each sidelink carrier aggregation combination, the second capability information comprising a maximum number of configurable positioning reference signal resources supported by the second terminal on each bandwidth part (BWP); wherein the second RTT capability information comprises at least one of: sidelink frequency band information supported by the second terminal; or sidelink frequency band combination information supported by the second terminal (support UE positioning scenarios that do not rely on a central entity such as an LMF and, instead, rely on sidelink communications, measurements, computations, and/or the like [0074]; the positioning measurements may include round trip time (RTT) measurements may be made by one or more of the UEs 120 based on PRS transmissions via the sidelink communications 505. The UE A 120 may receive positioning measurements from the UE B 120, the UE C 120, and/or the like. In some aspects, the UE A 120 may obtain positioning measurements associated with the UE A 120 based on PRS transmissions, vehicle sensors (e.g., wheel sensors, and/or the like), and/or the like. The UE A 120 may determine its position based at least in part on one or more of these positioning measurements [0075]).
Re Claim 6, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 4, Gulati discloses wherein the positioning signal capability information corresponding to at least one of the SL-AOA capability information or the SL-UL TDOA capability information comprises at least one of: sidelink frequency band information supported by the second terminal; or sidelink frequency band combination information supported by the second terminal (first UE 120 (shown as “UE A”) and a second UE 120 (shown as “UE B”) may communicate with one another via sidelink communications [0080]; positioning measurements may include time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurements associated with the PRS, angle of arrival (AoA) measurements associated with the PRS, and/or the like [0085]).
Re Claim 7, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 5, Gulati discloses wherein the sidelink frequency band information supported by the second terminal comprises at least one of: a maximum number of reference signal resources supported by the second terminal on each resource set in each sidelink frequency band; or a list of bandwidth supported by the second terminal in each sidelink frequency band (two or more UEs 120 (e.g., shown as UE 120a and UE 120e) may communicate directly using one or more sidelink channels (e.g., without using a base station 110 as an intermediary to communicate with one another). For example, the UEs 120 may communicate using peer-to-peer (P2P) communications, device-to-device (D2D) communications, a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) protocol (e.g., which may include a vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) protocol or a vehicle-to-infrastructure (V2I) protocol), and/or a mesh network. In this case, the UE 120 may perform scheduling operations, resource selection operations, and/or other operations described elsewhere herein as being performed by the base station 110. [0037]).
Re Claim 8, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 6, Gulati discloses wherein the sidelink frequency band information supported by the second terminal comprises at least one of: a maximum number of reference signal resources supported by the second terminal on each resource set in each sidelink frequency band; or a list of bandwidth supported by the second terminal in each sidelink frequency band (two or more UEs 120 (e.g., shown as UE 120a and UE 120e) may communicate directly using one or more sidelink channels (e.g., without using a base station 110 as an intermediary to communicate with one another). For example, the UEs 120 may communicate using peer-to-peer (P2P) communications, device-to-device (D2D) communications, a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) protocol (e.g., which may include a vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) protocol or a vehicle-to-infrastructure (V2I) protocol), and/or a mesh network. In this case, the UE 120 may perform scheduling operations, resource selection operations, and/or other operations described elsewhere herein as being performed by the base station 110. [0037]).
Re Claim 9, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 4, Hong discloses wherein the positioning signal capability information corresponding to the SL-DL TDOA capability information comprises: third capability information of sidelink frequency bands supported by the second terminal, the third capability information comprising a list of bandwidth supported by the second terminal on each sidelink frequency band; and fourth capability information of sidelink carrier aggregation combinations supported by the second terminal, the fourth capability information comprising a maximum number of configurable positioning reference signal resources supported by the second terminal on each BWP (wireless communication/connection may be established through various radio access technologies (e.g., 5G NR) such as uplink/downlink communication 150a, sidelink communication 150b (or D2D communication) or communication 150c between base stations (e.g., relay, integrated access backhaul (IAB) [0368]; PRS transmission capability provision message includes, for example, at least one of whether PRS transmission is possible or supportable configurations (e.g., bandwidth, antenna port, power, etc.) as capability information related to PRS transmission of the device [0310]; the BWP may be defined for SL. The same SL BWP may be used in transmission and reception. For example, a transmitting UE may transmit an SL channel or an SL signal on a specific BWP, and a receiving UE may receive the SL channel or the SL signal on the specific BWP [0142]).
Re Claim 11, the combined teachings disclose method of claim 4, wherein the positioning measurement capability information corresponding to the SL-AOA capability information comprises: a maximum number of arrival angle measurement quantities supported by the second terminal in each sidelink frequency range; and a first frequency band list indicating arrival angle measurement capability, wherein the frequency band list indicates for each sidelink frequency band, whether the second terminal supports measuring both an arrival angle and at least one first measurement quantity, the first measurement quantity being different from the arrival angle (capability information associated with a UE 120 may indicate an identification of the UE as an anchor UE (e.g., a UE that does not move, that is not moving, that will not move during a particular period of time, that moves slowly, and/or the like), one or more positioning measurements that the UE is capable of performing, a velocity sensor error, a calibration error, and/or the like [0091]; positioning measurements may include time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurements associated with the PRS, angle of arrival (AoA) measurements associated with the PRS, and/or the like [0085]; positioning request may include a sidelink communication between an S-LMC of the UE A 120 and an S-LMC of the UE B 120 [0081]).
Re Claim 12, the combined teachings disclose method of claim 4, wherein the positioning measurement capability information corresponding to the SL-DL TDOA capability information comprises: a maximum number of relative duration measurement quantities supported by the second terminal in each sidelink frequency range, wherein the relative duration refers to a time difference between a start time point of receiving a positioning signal by the second terminal and a preconfigured reference time point; and whether the second terminal supports measuring a RSRP in each sidelink frequency range (capability information associated with a UE 120 may indicate an identification of the UE as an anchor UE (e.g., a UE that does not move, that is not moving, that will not move during a particular period of time, that moves slowly, and/or the like), one or more positioning measurements that the UE is capable of performing, a velocity sensor error, a calibration error, and/or the like [0091]; positioning measurements may include time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurements associated with the PRS, angle of arrival (AoA) measurements associated with the PRS, and/or the like [0085]; positioning request may include a sidelink communication between an S-LMC of the UE A 120 and an S-LMC of the UE B 120 [0081]).
Re Claim 13, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 4, wherein the positioning measurement capability information corresponding to the SL-UL TDOA capability information comprises: a maximum number of carrier phase measurement quantities supported by the second terminal in each sidelink frequency range; a third frequency band list indicating carrier phase measurement capability, wherein the frequency band list indicates for each sidelink frequency band, whether the second terminal supports measuring both a carrier phase and at least one third measurement quantity, the third measurement quantity being different from the carrier phase (capability information associated with a UE 120 may indicate an identification of the UE as an anchor UE (e.g., a UE that does not move, that is not moving, that will not move during a particular period of time, that moves slowly, and/or the like), one or more positioning measurements that the UE is capable of performing, a velocity sensor error, a calibration error, and/or the like [0091]; positioning measurements may include time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurements associated with the PRS, angle of arrival (AoA) measurements associated with the PRS, and/or the like [0085]; positioning request may include a sidelink communication between an S-LMC of the UE A 120 and an S-LMC of the UE B 120 [0081]).
Re Claim 14, Gulati discloses a positioning method, performed by a second terminal, and comprising:
receiving a capability request message sent by a first terminal (capability exchange may include the UE A 120 transmitting a capability request to the UE B 120, and the UE B 120 responding to the capability request by providing capability information associated with the UE B 120 [0091]), wherein the capability request message is configured to request at least one of sidelink-downlink time difference of arrival (SL-DL TDOA) capability information, sidelink angle of arrival (SL-AOA) capability information, sidelink round trip time (SL-RTT) capability information or sidelink-uplink time difference of arrival (SL-UL TDOA) capability information (capability information associated with a UE 120 may indicate an identification of the UE as an anchor UE (e.g., a UE that does not move, that is not moving, that will not move during a particular period of time, that moves slowly, and/or the like), one or more positioning measurements that the UE is capable of performing, a velocity sensor error, a calibration error, and/or the like [0091]; positioning measurements may include time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurements associated with the PRS, angle of arrival (AoA) measurements associated with the PRS, and/or the like [0085]; positioning request may include a sidelink communication between an S-LMC of the UE A 120 and an S-LMC of the UE B 120 [0081]); and
sending a capability message to the first terminal (capability exchange may include the UE A 120 transmitting a capability request to the UE B 120, and the UE B 120 responding to the capability request by providing capability information associated with the UE B 120 [0091]), wherein capability message comprises at least one of SL-DL TDOA capability information per sidelink band, SL-AOA capability information per sidelink band, SL-RTT capability information per sidelink band, or SL-UL TDOA capability information per sidelink band (capability information associated with a UE 120 may indicate an identification of the UE as an anchor UE (e.g., a UE that does not move, that is not moving, that will not move during a particular period of time, that moves slowly, and/or the like), one or more positioning measurements that the UE is capable of performing, a velocity sensor error, a calibration error, and/or the like [0091]; positioning measurements may include time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurements associated with the PRS, angle of arrival (AoA) measurements associated with the PRS, and/or the like [0085]; positioning request may include a sidelink communication between an S-LMC of the UE A 120 and an S-LMC of the UE B 120 [0081]).
Gulati discloses the claimed invention except capability provision message.
However, Hong discloses method and apparatus for performing positioning on basis of signal from neighbor terminal in wireless communication system wherein PRS transmission capability request message to the device #1 2412, and the device #1 2412 transmits a PRS transmission capability provision message to the RSU 2420. That is, the RSU 2420 requests PRS transmission from the device #1 2412 by transmitting a PRS transmission capability request message. At this time, the device #1 2412 responds to the RSU 2420 that it is able to operate as a PRS source, and the RSU 2420 confirms that it is able to operate as a PRS source. The PRS transmission capability provision message is capability information related to the PRS transmission of the device #1 2412, and may include, for example, at least one of whether PRS transmission is possible or supportable configuration ([0300]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Gulati, by making use of the technique taught by Hong, in order to improve the positioning performance.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of positioning in wireless communication system, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Gulati, nor does Gulati teach away from the modification (Gulati merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the message exchange taught by Hong is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of utilizing capability provision message for responding request message during capability exchange between terminals for positioning.
Re Claim 15, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 14, Gulati discloses further comprising:
receiving a positioning assistance information request message sent by the first terminal, wherein the positioning assistance information request message is configured to request the second terminal to provide first positioning assistance information (UE A 120 and the UE B 120 may engage in an assistance data exchange. In some aspects, the assistance data exchange may include the UE A 120 providing a first set of assistance data to the UE B 120. In some aspects, the assistance data exchange may include the UE B 120 providing a second set of assistance data to the UE A 120 [0092]);
sending the first positioning assistance information to the first terminal (the assistance data exchange may include the UE A 120 providing a first set of assistance data to the UE B 120. In some aspects, the assistance data exchange may include the UE B 120 providing a second set of assistance data to the UE A 120. In some aspect [0092]);
receiving a position information request message sent by the first terminal, wherein the position information request message is configured to request the second terminal to provide a measurement result for measuring position information of the second terminal (UE A 120 and the UE B 120 may engage in a PRS exchange. In some aspects, the PRS exchange may include the UE B 120 transmitting a first PRS to the UE A 120 [0093]); and
sending the measurement result to the first terminal (UE A 120 may transmit, and the UE B 120 may receive, positioning measurements associated with the UE A 120 and obtained by the UE A 120 [0096]).
Re Claim 16, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 14, Gulati discloses further comprising: receiving second positioning assistance information sent by the first terminal, wherein the second positioning assistance information is configured to assist the second terminal in determining the position information of the second terminal (UE A 120 and the UE B 120 may engage in an assistance data exchange. In some aspects, the assistance data exchange may include the UE A 120 providing a first set of assistance data to the UE B 120. In some aspects, the assistance data exchange may include the UE B 120 providing a second set of assistance data to the UE A 120 [0092]).
Re Claim 17, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 14, Gulati discloses wherein the capability provision message comprises at least one of: positioning signal capability information corresponding to the SL-DL TDOA capability information; positioning signal capability information corresponding to the SL-AOA capability information; positioning signal capability information corresponding to the SL-RTT capability information; positioning signal capability information corresponding to the SL-UL TDOA capability information; positioning measurement capability information corresponding to the SL-DL TDOA capability information; positioning measurement capability information corresponding to the SL-AOA capability information; positioning measurement capability information corresponding to the SL-RTT capability information; or positioning measurement capability information corresponding to the SL-UL TDOA capability information (capability exchange may include the UE A 120 transmitting a capability request to the UE B 120, and the UE B 120 responding to the capability request by providing capability information associated with the UE B 120 [0091]), wherein the capability provision message comprises at least one of SL-DL TDOA capability information per sidelink band, SL-AOA capability information per sidelink band, SL-RTT capability information per sidelink band, or SL-UL TDOA capability information per sidelink band (capability information associated with a UE 120 may indicate an identification of the UE as an anchor UE (e.g., a UE that does not move, that is not moving, that will not move during a particular period of time, that moves slowly, and/or the like), one or more positioning measurements that the UE is capable of performing, a velocity sensor error, a calibration error, and/or the like [0091]; positioning measurements may include time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurements associated with the PRS, angle of arrival (AoA) measurements associated with the PRS, and/or the like [0085]; positioning request may include a sidelink communication between an S-LMC of the UE A 120 and an S-LMC of the UE B 120 [0081]).
Re Claim 18, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 17, Gulati discloses wherein the positioning signal capability information corresponding to the SL-RTT capability information comprises: first RTT capability information corresponding to sending a positioning reference signal by the second terminal; and second RTT capability information corresponding to receiving a positioning reference signal by the second terminal; wherein the first RTT capability information comprises at least one of: first capability information of the second terminal in each sidelink frequency band, the fist capability information comprising a list of bandwidth supported by the second terminal in each sidelink frequency band; or second capability information of the second terminal in each sidelink carrier aggregation combination, the second capability information comprising a maximum number of configurable positioning reference signal resources supported by the second terminal on each bandwidth part (BWP); wherein the second RTT capability information comprises at least one of: sidelink frequency band information supported by the second terminal; or sidelink frequency band combination information supported by the second terminal (support UE positioning scenarios that do not rely on a central entity such as an LMF and, instead, rely on sidelink communications, measurements, computations, and/or the like [0074]; the positioning measurements may include round trip time (RTT) measurements may be made by one or more of the UEs 120 based on PRS transmissions via the sidelink communications 505. The UE A 120 may receive positioning measurements from the UE B 120, the UE C 120, and/or the like. In some aspects, the UE A 120 may obtain positioning measurements associated with the UE A 120 based on PRS transmissions, vehicle sensors (e.g., wheel sensors, and/or the like), and/or the like. The UE A 120 may determine its position based at least in part on one or more of these positioning measurements [0075]).
Re Claim 19, Gulati discloses a first terminal, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor (memory and processor [0011]), wherein the processor is configured to:
send a capability request message to a second terminal (capability exchange may include the UE A 120 transmitting a capability request to the UE B 120, and the UE B 120 responding to the capability request by providing capability information associated with the UE B 120 [0091]), wherein the capability request message is configured to request at least one of sidelink-downlink time difference of arrival (SL-DL TDOA) capability information, sidelink angle of arrival (SL-AOA) capability information, sidelink round trip time (SL-RTT) capability information or sidelink-uplink time difference of arrival (SL-UL TDOA) capability information (capability information associated with a UE 120 may indicate an identification of the UE as an anchor UE (e.g., a UE that does not move, that is not moving, that will not move during a particular period of time, that moves slowly, and/or the like), one or more positioning measurements that the UE is capable of performing, a velocity sensor error, a calibration error, and/or the like [0091]; positioning measurements may include time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurements associated with the PRS, angle of arrival (AoA) measurements associated with the PRS, and/or the like [0085]; positioning request may include a sidelink communication between an S-LMC of the UE A 120 and an S-LMC of the UE B 120 [0081]); and
receive a capability message sent by the second terminal (capability exchange may include the UE A 120 transmitting a capability request to the UE B 120, and the UE B 120 responding to the capability request by providing capability information associated with the UE B 120 [0091]), wherein the capability message comprises at least one of SL-DL TDOA capability information per sidelink band, SL-AOA capability information per sidelink band, SL-RTT capability information per sidelink band, or SL-UL TDOA capability information per sidelink band (capability information associated with a UE 120 may indicate an identification of the UE as an anchor UE (e.g., a UE that does not move, that is not moving, that will not move during a particular period of time, that moves slowly, and/or the like), one or more positioning measurements that the UE is capable of performing, a velocity sensor error, a calibration error, and/or the like [0091]; positioning measurements may include time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurements associated with the PRS, angle of arrival (AoA) measurements associated with the PRS, and/or the like [0085]; positioning request may include a sidelink communication between an S-LMC of the UE A 120 and an S-LMC of the UE B 120 [0081]).
Gulati discloses the claimed invention except capability provision message.
However, Hong discloses method and apparatus for performing positioning on basis of signal from neighbor terminal in wireless communication system wherein PRS transmission capability request message to the device #1 2412, and the device #1 2412 transmits a PRS transmission capability provision message to the RSU 2420. That is, the RSU 2420 requests PRS transmission from the device #1 2412 by transmitting a PRS transmission capability request message. At this time, the device #1 2412 responds to the RSU 2420 that it is able to operate as a PRS source, and the RSU 2420 confirms that it is able to operate as a PRS source. The PRS transmission capability provision message is capability information related to the PRS transmission of the device #1 2412, and may include, for example, at least one of whether PRS transmission is possible or supportable configuration ([0300]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Gulati, by making use of the technique taught by Hong, in order to improve the positioning performance.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of positioning in wireless communication system, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Gulati, nor does Gulati teach away from the modification (Gulati merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the message exchange taught by Hong is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of utilizing capability provision message for responding request message during capability exchange between terminals for positioning.
Re Claim 20, the combined teachings disclose a second terminal, Gulati discloses comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor (memory and processor [0011]); wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 14.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 2023/0125710 A1) (Gulati herein after) and Hong et al. (US 2023/0198708 A1) (Hong herein after), further in view of Duan et al. (US 2024/0305334 A1) (Duan herein after).
Re Claim 10, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 4, except wherein the positioning measurement capability information corresponding to the SL-RTT capability information comprises: a maximum number of reception and transmission time difference measurement quantities supported by the second terminal in each sidelink frequency range; and whether the second terminal supports measuring a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) in each sidelink frequency band.
However, Duan discloses a user equipment capability indication for positioning wherein the DL-PRS measurement report capability is configured to indicate: a maximum number of DL-PRS reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements supported by the target UE on different DL-PRS resources from the same respective RIS, or a maximum number of DL reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurements supported by the UE per pair of RISs, or a maximum number of DL RSTD measurements supported by the UE per pair of RISs per transmission reception point (TRP), or support for simultaneous processing of angle of departure (AoD) and time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurements for RIS-based positioning, or support for simultaneous processing of AoD and multi-round trip time (RTT) measurements for RIS-based positioning, or any combination thereof ([0206]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teaching taught by Duan with the method and system taught by the combined teachings to further improve the signaling efficiencies and to achieve the same expected result.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bao et al. (US 2022/0065979 A1) – assistance information for sidelink-assisted positioning
Cui et al. (US 11134464 B2) – UE capability indication to positioning server
Baek et al. (US 2023/0221397 A1) – method for performing positioning by user equipment in wireless communication system supporting sidelink
/KENNETH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631