DETAILED ACTION
The instant first office action is in response to communication filed on 07/06/2026.
Claims 1, 3-16 and 18-22 are pending of which claims 1, 16 and 18 are the base independent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-16 and 18-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
For a detailed explanation on how the previous and newly prior art reads on the claims as amended, please see the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-12 and 16-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al (US 2016/0227580) and in view of John Wilson et al (US 2019/0029036).
Regarding claim 1, 16, Xiong’580 discloses a random access method, comprising: performing, by a terminal, random access by repeatedly transmitting a first message (Msg1)(see fig.5, 510, see fig.8, which shows transmitting PRACH preamble as first message according to an uplink access repetition number, see para.0053, which discusses uplink access repetition number, which may refer to a number of repetitions of the PRACH preamble transmitted by the UE 102); and
determining, by the terminal, transmitting parameters of a third message (Msg3) (see fig.8, which shows determine uplink control repetition number 820, see para.0047, which discusses the uplink control repetition number may refer to a number of repetitions of the uplink control message to be transmitted by the UE 10).
As discussed above, although Xiong’580 discloses determining, by the terminal, transmitting parameters of a third message (Msg3) (see fig.8, which shows determine uplink control repetition number 820, see para.0047, which discusses the uplink control repetition number may refer to a number of repetitions of the uplink control message to be transmitted by the UE 10), Xiong’580 does not explicitly show the use of “wherein the transmitting parameters comprise transmitting beams” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “wherein the transmitting parameters comprise transmitting beams” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by John Wilson’036.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, John Wilson’036 teaches the use of wherein the transmitting parameters comprise transmitting beams (see fig.4 & at least see para.0103, which discusses UE 115-b may determine the two or more transmit beams for a third RACH transmission (e.g., including RACH message 3), see para.0104, which discusses UE 115-b may transmit the third RACH transmission to base station 105-b using the indicated two or more transmit beams, see para.0045, which discusses the UE may then transmit a third RACH message (e.g., RACH message 3), thus comprising transmitting beams).
In view of the above, having the system of Xiong’580 and then given the well-established teaching of John Wilson’036, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Xiong’580 to include “wherein the transmitting parameters comprise transmitting beams” as taught by John Wilson’036, since John Wilson’036 stated in para.0005+ that such a modification would provide techniques relate to improved methods, systems, devices, or apparatuses that support multiple-beam uplink random access channel (RACH) messages.
Regarding claim 3, Xiong’580 disclose discloses wherein the transmitting parameters further comprise a number of transmitting times, the step of the determining, by the terminal, the number of transmitting times of the Msg3(see fig.8, message 3 according to an uplink control repetition number 820, see para.0047, which discusses the uplink control repetition number may refer to a number of repetitions of the uplink control message to be transmitted by the UE 102), comprises: determining, by the terminal, the number of transmitting times of the Msg3 according to an unscrambling result of an uplink (UL) grant comprised in a monitored second message (Msg2); defaulting, by the terminal, the number of transmitting times of the Msg3 to be equal to a number of transmitting times of the Msg1; determining, by the terminal, the number of transmitting times of the Msg3 according to a value of a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI), the RA-RNTI being used to monitor the Msg2; or determining, by the terminal, the number of transmitting times of the Msg3 according to first downlink control information, the first downlink control information (DCI) comprising DCI 0-0 scrambled by a temporary cell RNTI (TC-RNTI)(see para.0047, which discusses the uplink control repetition number may be included in RAR content of the RAR message or may be included in an uplink grant included in the RAR message, fig.8, 810-820, see fig.5).
Regarding claim 4, It is not considered to due to one language in claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, 21, Xiong’580 discloses wherein the step of the determining, by the terminal, the transmitting beam of the Msg3 comprises at least one of the following: determining, by the terminal according to a first reference (beam)(see fig.8, which discusses UE to receive random access response (RAR) according to downlink repetition number, see fig.4, UE to receive in a coverage service area reference), a transmitting (beam) of the Msg3 during initial transmission, the first reference beam being determined by the terminal according to an unscrambling result of an uplink (UL) Grant comprised in a monitored Msg2 second message (Msg2), a value of the RA-RNTI a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI), or(due to or language, only one of them is being considered) a protocol default rule(see para.0047, which discusses the uplink control repetition number may be included in the RAR message as message 2 received at the UE 102 at operation 515. In some embodiments, the uplink control repetition number may be included in RAR content of the RAR message or may be included in an uplink grant included in the RAR message, as will be described in more detail regarding the method 600 and FIG.7, see fig.5, 520, see fig.4, which shows UE to transmit in coverage service area); or (due to or alternative language, only one of them is being considered) determining, by the terminal according to a second reference beam, the transmitting beam of the Msg3 during retransmission, the second reference beam being determined by the terminal according to first downlink control information or a protocol default rule, and the first downlink control information (DCI) comprising DCI 0-0 scrambled by a temporary cell RNTI (TC-RNTI).
As discussed above, although Xiong’580 discloses receiving and transmitting in coverage service area (see fig.4), Xiong’580 does not explicitly show the use of “beam” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “beam”” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by John Wilson’036.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, John Wilson’036 teaches the use of first reference beam and transmitting beam (UE 115-b may identify receive beams used to receive synchronization signals from base station 105-b and determine the two or more transmit beams based on the receive beams, see fig.4 & at least see para.0103, which discusses UE 115-b may determine the two or more transmit beams for a third RACH transmission (e.g., including RACH message 3), see para.0104, which discusses UE 115-b may transmit the third RACH transmission to base station 105-b using the indicated two or more transmit beams, see para.0045, which discusses the UE may then transmit a third RACH message (e.g., RACH message 3), , see fig.4, 410-430, see para.0004).
In view of the above, having the system of Xiong’580 and then given the well-established teaching of John Wilson’036, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Xiong’580 to include “beam” as taught by John Wilson’036, since John Wilson’036 stated in para.0005+ that such a modification would provide techniques relate to improved methods, systems, devices, or apparatuses that support multiple-beam uplink random access channel (RACH) messages.
Regarding claim 6, 22, As discussed above, although Xiong’580 discloses receiving and transmitting in coverage service area (see fig.4), Xiong’580 does not explicitly show the use of “the first reference beam comprises at least one of the following: a transmitting beam of the Msg1; a receiving beam of the Msg2; or a receiving beam of a synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB), the SSB being associated with the Msg1” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “the first reference beam comprises at least one of the following: a transmitting beam of the Msg1; a receiving beam of the Msg2; or a receiving beam of a synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB), the SSB being associated with the Msg1” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by John Wilson’036.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, John Wilson’036 teaches the use of the first reference beam comprises at least one of the following: a transmitting beam of the Msg1; a receiving beam of the Msg2; or a receiving beam of a synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB), the SSB being associated with the Msg1 ( see para.0102, which discusses UE 115-b may identify receive beams used to receive synchronization signals from base station 105-b and determine the two or more transmit beams based on the receive beams…At 420, base station 105-b may transmit, to UE 115-b and in response to the first RACH transmission at 405, a second RACH transmission (e.g., including RACH message 2) that includes an indication of the identified two or more transmit beam, see fig.4 & at least see para.0103, which discusses UE 115-b may determine the two or more transmit beams for a third RACH transmission (e.g., including RACH message 3), see para.0, see para.0104, which discusses UE 115-b may transmit the third RACH transmission to base station 105-b using the indicated two or more transmit beams, see para.0045, which discusses the UE may then transmit a third RACH message (e.g., RACH message 3), , see fig.4, 410-430, see para.0004.
In view of the above, having the system of Xiong’580 and then given the well-established teaching of John Wilson’036, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Xiong’580 to include “first reference beam comprises at least one of the following: a transmitting beam of the Msg1; a receiving beam of the Msg2; or a receiving beam of a synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB), the SSB being associated with the Msg1” as taught by John Wilson’036, since John Wilson’036 stated in para.0005+ that such a modification would provide techniques relate to improved methods, systems, devices, or apparatuses that support multiple-beam uplink random access channel (RACH) messages.
Regarding claim 7.-12., It is not considered to due to one language in claim 3.
Regarding claim 17, Xiong’580 discloses wherein after the step of the receiving, by a network-side device, a first message Msg1, the method further comprises: transmitting, by the network-side device, a second message Msg2 to the terminal(see fig.8, 810), wherein the Msg2 is related to the determination of transmitting parameters of a third message (Msg3), and the transmitting parameters comprise a number of transmitting times and/or (due to or language, only one of them is being considered) transmitting beams(see fig.8. 810 and 820, see para.0047, which discusses the uplink control repetition number may refer to a number of repetitions of the uplink control message to be transmitted by the UE 102, see para.0047, which discusses the uplink control repetition number may be included in RAR content of the RAR message or may be included in an uplink grant included in the RAR message).
Regarding claim 18, Xiong’580 discloses a terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and programs or instructions stored on the memory and executable on the processor, the programs or instructions, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform: random access by repeatedly transmitting a first message (Msg1) (see fig.8, 805, see fig.2, 206-208), and
determining, by the terminal, transmitting parameters of a third message (Msg3) (see fig.8, which shows determine uplink control repetition number 820, see para.0047, which discusses the uplink control repetition number may refer to a number of repetitions of the uplink control message to be transmitted by the UE 10).
As discussed above, although Xiong’580 discloses determining, by the terminal, transmitting parameters of a third message (Msg3) (see fig.8, which shows determine uplink control repetition number 820, see para.0047, which discusses the uplink control repetition number may refer to a number of repetitions of the uplink control message to be transmitted by the UE 10), Xiong’580 does not explicitly show the use of “wherein the transmitting parameters comprise transmitting beams” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “wherein the transmitting parameters comprise transmitting beams” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by John Wilson’036.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, John Wilson’036 teaches the use of wherein the transmitting parameters comprise transmitting beams (see fig.4 & at least see para.0103, which discusses UE 115-b may determine the two or more transmit beams for a third RACH transmission (e.g., including RACH message 3), see para.0104, which discusses UE 115-b may transmit the third RACH transmission to base station 105-b using the indicated two or more transmit beams, see para.0045, which discusses the UE may then transmit a third RACH message (e.g., RACH message 3), thus comprising transmitting beams).
In view of the above, having the system of Xiong’580 and then given the well-established teaching of John Wilson’036, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Xiong’580 to include “wherein the transmitting parameters comprise transmitting beams” as taught by John Wilson’036, since John Wilson’036 stated in para.0005+ that such a modification would provide techniques relate to improved methods, systems, devices, or apparatuses that support multiple-beam uplink random access channel (RACH) messages.
Regarding claim 19, Xiong’580 discloses a network-side device, comprising: a processor, a memory, and programs or instructions stored on the memory and executable on the processor, the programs or instructions, when executed by the processor, implementing steps of the random access method according to claim 16(see fig.8, see fig.2, 306-308).
Regarding claim 20, Xiong’580 discloses a readable storage medium, programs or instructions being stored on the readable storage medium, and the programs or instructions, when executed by a processor, implementing steps of the random access method according to claim 1(see fig.8, see fig.2, 306-308).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al (US 2016/0227580) in view of John Wilson et al (US 2019/0029036) in view of Jung et al (US 12120669) and further in view of Alfarhan et al (US 2025/0142624) claiming benefit to us-provisional-application US 63250017 20210929.
Regarding claim 13, the combined Xiong’580 discloses wherein in a case that random access is performed by repeatedly transmitting the Msg1(see fig.8, 805), before the step of the determining, by the terminal, transmitting parameters of the Msg3(see fig.8, 820).
As discussed above, although the combined system of Xiong’580 and John Wilson’036 discloses repeatedly transmitting the Msg1(see fig.8, 805), the combined system of Xiong’580 and John Wilson’036 does not explicitly show the use of receiving, by the terminal, second system information transmitted by a network-side device, the second system information comprising first configuration information and second configuration information, the first configuration information being used for repeatedly transmitting the Msg1, and the second configuration information being used for transmitting the Msg3” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “receiving, by the terminal, second system information transmitted by a network-side device, the second system information comprising first configuration information and second configuration information, the first configuration information being used for repeatedly transmitting the Msg1, and the second configuration information being used for transmitting the Msg3” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Jung’669.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Jung’669 teaches the use of receiving, by the terminal, second system information transmitted by a network-side device, the second system information comprising first configuration information and second configuration information, the first configuration information being used for repeatedly (transmitting the Msg1), and the second configuration information being used for transmitting the Msg3(see claim 1, which discusses receiving a system information block 1 (SIB1) comprising first information indicating a Msg3 transmission repetition and second information indicating a number of repetitions of a Msg3 transmission; selecting a physical random access channel (PRACH) resource based on the first information; transmitting a random access preamble based on the selected PRACH resource; receiving a random access response (RAR) in response to the transmission of the random access preamble; performing the repetitions of the Msg3 transmission, based on the second information); .
In view of the above, having the combined system of Xiong’580 and John Wilson’036 and then given the well-established teaching of Jung’669, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the combined system of Xiong’580 and John Wilson’036 to include “receiving, by the terminal, second system information transmitted by a network-side device, the second system information comprising first configuration information and second configuration information, the first configuration information being used for repeatedly transmitting the Msg1, and the second configuration information being used for transmitting the Msg3” as taught by Jung’669, since Jung’669 stated in col.2, lines 34+ that such a modification would provide a system that is capable of effectively providing services in mobile communication systems.
As discussed above, although the combined system of Xiong’580, John Wilson’036 and Jung’669 discloses first information indicating a Msg3 transmission repetition (see fig.8, 805), he combined system of Xiong’580, John Wilson’036 and Jung’669 does not explicitly show the use of “the first configuration information being used for repeatedly transmitting the Msg1” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “the first configuration information being used for repeatedly transmitting the Msg1” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Alfarhan’624.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Alfarhan’624 teaches the use of the first configuration information being used for repeatedly transmitting the Msg1(see para.0101, which discusses Upon receiving a system information block (SIB) indicating that repetition of Msg 1 202 should be performed, the WTRU may transmit Msg1 202 more than once (e.g., with repetition) ).
In view of the above, having he combined system of Xiong’580, John Wilson’036 and Jung’669 and then given the well-established teaching of Alfarhan’624, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify he combined system of Xiong’580, John Wilson’036 and Jung’669 to include “the first configuration information being used for repeatedly transmitting the Msg1” as taught by Alfarhan’624, since Alfarhan’624 stated in para.0002+ that such a modification would provide a system that is capable of correctly decoding the preamble.
Regarding claim 14, As discussed above, although the combined system of Xiong’580 and John Wilson’036 discloses repeatedly transmitting the Msg1(see fig.8, 805), the combined system of Xiong’580 and John Wilson’036 does not explicitly show the use of “wherein the first configuration information comprises at least one of the following: whether a transmitting beam corresponding to the Msg1 is a single beam or multiple beams; whether the Msg1 is associated with a single synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB) or associated with a plurality of SSBs; whether a first cell supports repeated transmission of the Msg3, wherein the first cell is a serving cell of the terminal; or the unscrambling manner of the UL Grant; and/or the second configuration information comprises at least one of the following: whether a transmitting beam corresponding to the Msg3 is a single beam or multiple beams; or a first transmitting beam pattern corresponding to the Msg3” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “wherein the first configuration information comprises at least one of the following: whether a transmitting beam corresponding to the Msg1 is a single beam or multiple beams; whether the Msg1 is associated with a single synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB) or associated with a plurality of SSBs; whether a first cell supports repeated transmission of the Msg3, wherein the first cell is a serving cell of the terminal; or the unscrambling manner of the UL Grant; and/or the second configuration information comprises at least one of the following: whether a transmitting beam corresponding to the Msg3 is a single beam or multiple beams; or a first transmitting beam pattern corresponding to the Msg3” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Jung’669.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Jung’669 teaches the use of wherein the first configuration information comprises at least one of the following: whether a transmitting beam corresponding to the Msg1 is a single beam or multiple beams; whether the Msg1 is associated with a single synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB) or associated with a plurality of SSBs; whether a first cell supports repeated transmission of the Msg3, wherein the first cell is a serving cell of the terminal; or the unscrambling manner of the UL Grant; and/or the second configuration information comprises at least one of the following: whether a transmitting beam corresponding to the Msg3 is a single beam or multiple beams; or a first transmitting beam pattern corresponding to the Msg3 (see claim 1, which discusses receiving a system information block 1 (SIB1) comprising first information indicating a Msg3 transmission repetition and second information indicating a number of repetitions of a Msg3 transmission; selecting a physical random access channel (PRACH) resource based on the first information; transmitting a random access preamble based on the selected PRACH resource; receiving a random access response (RAR) in response to the transmission of the random access preamble; performing the repetitions of the Msg3 transmission, based on the second information);
In view of the above, having the combined system of Xiong’580 and John Wilson’036 and then given the well-established teaching of Jung’669, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Xiong’580 and John Wilson’036 to include “wherein the first configuration information comprises at least one of the following: whether a transmitting beam corresponding to the Msg1 is a single beam or multiple beams; whether the Msg1 is associated with a single synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB) or associated with a plurality of SSBs; whether a first cell supports repeated transmission of the Msg3, wherein the first cell is a serving cell of the terminal; or the unscrambling manner of the UL Grant; and/or the second configuration information comprises at least one of the following: whether a transmitting beam corresponding to the Msg3 is a single beam or multiple beams; or a first transmitting beam pattern corresponding to the Msg3” as taught by Jung’669, since Jung’669 stated in col.2, lines 34+ that such a modification would provide a system that is capable of effectively providing services in mobile communication systems.
Regarding claim 15, As discussed above, although the combined system of Xiong’580 and John Wilson’036 discloses repeatedly transmitting the Msg1(see fig.8, 805), the combined system of Xiong’580 and John Wilson’036 does not explicitly show the use of “determining, by the terminal according to the first configuration information and/or the second configuration information, at least one of the following whether a first cell supports repeated transmission of the Msg1; whether a first cell supports repeated transmission of the Msg3; or relevant parameters used when the Msg3 is repeatedly transmitted, wherein the first cell is a serving cell of the terminal” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “determining, by the terminal according to the first configuration information and/or the second configuration information, at least one of the following whether a first cell supports repeated transmission of the Msg1; whether a first cell supports repeated transmission of the Msg3; or relevant parameters used when the Msg3 is repeatedly transmitted, wherein the first cell is a serving cell of the terminal” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Jung’669.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Jung’669 teaches the use of determining, by the terminal according to the first configuration information and/or the second configuration information, at least one of the following whether a first cell supports repeated transmission of the Msg1; whether a first cell supports repeated transmission of the Msg3; or relevant parameters used when the Msg3 is repeatedly transmitted, wherein the first cell is a serving cell of the terminal (see claim 1, which discusses receiving a system information block 1 (SIB1) comprising first information indicating a Msg3 transmission repetition and second information indicating a number of repetitions of a Msg3 transmission; selecting a physical random access channel (PRACH) resource based on the first information; transmitting a random access preamble based on the selected PRACH resource; receiving a random access response (RAR) in response to the transmission of the random access preamble; performing the repetitions of the Msg3 transmission, based on the second information).
In view of the above, having the combined system of Xiong’580 and John Wilson’036 and then given the well-established teaching of Jung’669, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Xiong’580 and John Wilson’036 to include “determining, by the terminal according to the first configuration information and/or the second configuration information, at least one of the following whether a first cell supports repeated transmission of the Msg1; whether a first cell supports repeated transmission of the Msg3; or relevant parameters used when the Msg3 is repeatedly transmitted, wherein the first cell is a serving cell of the terminal” as taught by Jung’669, since Jung’669 stated in col.2, lines 34+ that such a modification would provide a system that is capable of effectively providing services in mobile communication systems.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/VINNCELAS LOUIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474