DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “machine control device” used throughout the claims.
For the record:
No corresponding structure for the limitation “machine control device” as is required under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). See corresponding rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) & (b), below.
“Refrigeration system” is considered a generally understood term of art, and thus has not been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The limitation “machine control device” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as discussed above. However, since the disclosure fails to describe the corresponding structure of the limitation “machine control device” as required under that statute, Applicant has not demonstrated full possession of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention at the effective filing date of the application.
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “machine control device” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
In addition:
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the controller" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 5 and 15 recites the limitation "the regulated speed". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claims 5 and 15 recite setting the regulated speed at a minimum supplied voltage. First, independent claims 1 and 11 recite varying the speed of the motor, so it is unclear how it can be set at a particular value. Further, it is unclear how a speed is set at a voltage. Finally, it is unclear what constitutes the “minimum” voltage (i.e., minimum based on what?). Given the multiple indefinite aspects of the claim, examination on the merits of claims 5 and 15 is precluded at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-9, 11-12, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ross (US 2005/0081554 A1) in view of Dorman et al. (US 2012/0017634 A1).
As per claim 1, Ross discloses a frozen confection machine comprising: a refrigeration system 14; a machine control device (motor control circuit 48); a variable frequency drive communicatively coupled to the machine control device (para. 0032); a beater motor 46 connected to the variable frequency drive (para. 0032); and wherein the machine control device provides a command signal to the variable frequency drive to vary a speed of the beater motor regulating a size of ice crystals of a frozen confection product (para. 0038). Ross does not disclose the control device and variable speed drive being communicatively coupled to the refrigeration system; and wherein the variable frequency drive calculates the beater motor torque and the machine control device regulates the refrigeration system activation. Dorman et al. teach a control device 60 and variable speed drive 38 being communicatively coupled to the refrigeration system (Fig. 4; etc.), and wherein the control device regulates the refrigeration system activation (Abstract; paras. 0018, 0020, 0068; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly controlling the activation and speed on the refrigeration system of Ross via the control device for the same basic purpose of optimizing the cooling operation of the system. Further, Nystrom teaches the concept of calculating the torque at a variable speed drive (col. 2, lines 4-17, 62-66; etc.). Note further that claim simply calculates the torque does not apply that calculation into any actual controls. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly calculate the torque for the simple purpose of monitoring the functional operation of the system.
As per claim 2, Ross further discloses wherein the control device provides instructions to the variable frequency drive to vary a speed of the beater motor regulating the size of ice crystals of the frozen confection product (para. 0038). Further, since varying speed implicitly also varies torque, Ross is also deemed to also vary the torque of the beater motor.
As per claim 6-9, official notice is taken that, absent any unexpected results, speed, torque, and temperature values are simply result effective variables for obtaining desired consistencies for the respective confection products that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to arrive at via routine experimentation.
As per claim 11, As per claim 1, Ross discloses a frozen confection machine comprising: a refrigeration system 14; a machine control device (motor control circuit 48); a variable frequency drive communicatively coupled to the machine control device (para. 0032); a beater motor 46 connected to the variable frequency drive (para. 0032); and wherein the machine control device provides a command signal to the variable frequency drive to vary a speed of the beater motor regulating an overrun of a frozen confection product (para. 0038). Ross does not disclose the control device and variable speed drive being communicatively coupled to the refrigeration system; and wherein the variable frequency drive calculates the beater motor torque and the machine control device regulates the refrigeration system activation. Dorman et al. teach a control device 60 and variable speed drive 38 being communicatively coupled to the refrigeration system (Fig. 4; etc.), and wherein the control device regulates the refrigeration system activation (Abstract; paras. 0018, 0020, 0068; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly controlling the activation and speed on the refrigeration system of Ross via the control device for the same basic purpose of optimizing the cooling operation of the system. Further, Nystrom teaches the concept of calculating the torque at a variable speed drive (col. 2, lines 4-17, 62-66; etc.). Note further that claim simply calculates the torque does not apply that calculation into any actual controls. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly calculate the torque for the simple purpose of monitoring the functional operation of the system.
As per claim 12, Ross further discloses wherein the control device provides instructions to the variable frequency drive to vary a speed of the beater motor regulating the size of ice crystals of the frozen confection product (para. 0038).
As per claims 16-19, see similar claims 6-9, respectively, above.
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ross (US 2005/0081554 A1) in view of Dorman et al. (US 2012/0017634 A1), and further in view of Selvaraj et al. (US 2020/0321824 A1).
As per claims 3 and 13, Ross does not disclose wherein the variable frequency drive includes a frequency inverter that varies an incoming power supply to the beater motor controlling the speed of the beater motor. Selvaraj et al. teach the basic concept of a variable frequency drive includes a frequency inverter that varies an incoming power supply to a motor controlling the speed of the motor (para. 0004). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly provide such a control arrangement to the beater motor of Ross for the same basic purpose of effectively controlling the speed of the motor.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ross (US 2005/0081554 A1) in view of Dorman et al. (US 2012/0017634 A1), and further in view of McSweeney (US 2014/0033746 A1).
As per claim 10, Ross does not teach wherein the machine control device modifies a suction pressure of the refrigeration system to set an evaporator pressure, thereby controlling the size of the ice crystals. First, it is noted that since both the suction pressure and the evaporator pressure are both on the low pressure side of the refrigeration cycle, according to basic thermodynamics of the refrigeration Carnot cycle, the two pressures should be essentially equivalent. Further, also according to the Carnot cycle, controlling the low side pressure effectively controls the operating temperature of the evaporator. Further, within the context of the present invention, one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application would have readily understood that the evaporation temperature would have an effect on ice crystal formation. McSweeney teaches the concept of modifies a suction pressure of the refrigeration system to set an evaporator pressure (which is essentially the same as the suction pressure), and accordingly an evaporator temperature (see claims 5 and 15, etc., of McSweeney et al.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly control the suction pressure of Ross to thus control both the operating pressure and temperature of the evaporator for the purpose of optimizing the amount of cooling provided which, as a result, also controls the size of ice crystals being formed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12004532 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent teaches the claimed subject matter of the instant invention as follows:
Pending claim 1 is taught by the combined subject matter of patented claims 1 and 5. Patented claim 1 discloses a frozen confection machine comprising: a refrigeration system; a variable frequency drive connected to the refrigeration system; a beater motor connected to the variable frequency drive; wherein the variable frequency drive calculates the beater motor torque and regulates the refrigeration system activation and wherein the variable frequency drive varies a speed of the beater motor regulating a size of ice crystals of a frozen confection product. Patented claim 5 disclose the remaining features regarding a controller connected to the variable frequency drive, the controller activating and deactivating the refrigeration system. However, pending claim 1 recites a “machine control device” which is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), as set forth above (and is unsupported and indefinite as set forth in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 (a) & (b), above), and thus differs in scope from the “controller” of the patented claims, which is interpreted according to broadest reasonable interpretation. Nevertheless, for purposes of examination, it is deemed that one of ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the application, would have understood “controller” to have been one possible interpretation of “machine control device” such that the subject matter of pending claim 1 is considered close enough in scope to constitute an obvious-type non-statutory double patenting of patented claims 1 and 5.
Pending dependent claims 2-9 correspond directly to patented dependent claims 2-4 and 6-10, respectively.
Pending claim 11 is taught by the combined subject matter of patented claims 11 and 15. Patented claim 11 discloses a frozen confection machine comprising: a refrigeration system; a variable frequency drive connected to the refrigeration system; a beater motor connected to the variable frequency drive; wherein the variable frequency drive calculates the beater motor torque and regulates the refrigeration system activation and wherein the variable frequency drive varies a torque of the beater motor regulating an overrun of a frozen confection product. Patented claim 15 disclose the remaining features regarding a controller connected to the variable frequency drive, the controller activating and deactivating the refrigeration system. However, pending claim 11 recites a “machine control device” which is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), as set forth above (and is unsupported and indefinite as set forth in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 (a) & (b), above), and thus differs in scope from the “controller” of the patented claims, which is interpreted according to broadest reasonable interpretation. Nevertheless, for purposes of examination, it is deemed that one of ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the application, would have understood “controller” to have been one possible interpretation of “machine control device” such that the subject matter of pending claim 1 is considered close enough in scope to constitute an obvious-type non-statutory double patenting of patented claims 11 and 15.
Pending dependent claims 12-19 correspond directly to patented dependent claims 12-14 and 16-20, respectively.
Conclusion
/MARC E NORMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763