DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The amendment to the specification filed 10/22/26 is approved and has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-13, 15, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2011247739A to Takada (see the translation in the Office action dated 7/22/26).
Referring to claim 11, Takada discloses (figures 1-5, 8; paragraphs 22, 23, 25, 27, 31, 35, 36, 41-43, 45, 46) a method for preparing a sample (S) for a thermal analysis instrument (150), the method comprising:
loading the sample (S) into an internal volume (125) of a sample pan (100) (figure 3; paragraphs 22, 23, 25);
sealing the internal volume (125) of the sample pan (100) from an external environment (paragraphs 25, 27, 31);
loading the sealed sample pan (100) into the thermal analysis instrument (150) (paragraph 36), wherein the external environment is defined inside of the thermal analysis instrument (150) (the sample pan remains sealed after being loaded into the thermal analysis instrument) (paragraphs 35, 36, 38, 39, 41-43);
operating the thermal analysis instrument (150) to change a temperature of the external environment to reach a transition temperature of an element (120) formed of a shape memory material, wherein a change in a shape (by melting) of the element (120) at the transition temperature unseals the sample pan (100) so that the internal volume (125) communicates with the external environment (in 150) (paragraphs 39, 41-43); and
after the sample pan (100) is unsealed, operating the thermal analysis instrument (150) to acquire measurement data for the sample across a range of temperatures (temperature range) (paragraphs 41-43).
Referring to claim 12, Takada discloses the method further comprising purging the external environment with a user-selected gas (inert gas) after the loading of the sealed sample pan (100) into the thermal analysis instrument (150) and before the operating of the thermal analysis instrument (150) to change the temperature of the external environment to reach the transition temperature (paragraphs 38, 3941-43).
Referring to claim 13, Takada discloses that the operating of the thermal analysis instrument (150) to change the temperature of the external environment to reach the transition temperature comprises increasing the temperature of the external environment (paragraphs 38, 39, 41-43).
Referring to claim 15, Takada discloses (paragraph 28) the range of temperatures across which the temperature data are acquired (a measurement temperature range (200-300ºC)) does not include the transition temperature (156.6ºC).
Referring to claim 24, Takada discloses that the sealing comprises obstructing a gas path (118) extending from the internal volume (125) through the sample pan (100) with a sealing element (120) that comprises the element formed of the shape memory material, and wherein the change in the shape of the sealing element (120) removes the obstruction from the gas path (118) (paragraphs 41-43).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada in view of JP2003075382A to Kaneko et al [hereinafter Kaneko] (see the translation in the Office action dated 7/22/26)
Referring to claim 14, Takada discloses a method having all of the limitations of claim 14, as stated above with respect to claim 11, except for the operating of the thermal analysis instrument to change the temperature of the external environment to reach the transition temperature comprising decreasing the temperature of the external environment.
However, Kaneko discloses (figures 1, 5; paragraphs 15, 16, 18, 22, 23, 25-28) a sample pan for a thermal analysis instrument (100), comprising a pan body (20) having an internal volume (20a) to receive a sample and a gas path (30a) extending from the internal volume (20a) to an external surface of the pan body (20) (paragraphs 18, 22); and a sealing element (31/40) disposed in the gas path (30a) to obstruct the gas path (30a) and thereby seal the internal volume (20a) from an external environment, the sealing element (31/40); wherein the sealing element comprises a shape memory material, which is at a certain length at room temperature and returns to its original shape (reduced length) when it reaches the measurement temperature in order to open the gas path (paragraphs 22, 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operate the thermal analysis instrument of Takada to change the temperature of the external environment to reach the transition temperature so that it decreases the temperature of the external environment in order to return to room temperature in order to close the gas path after the analysis, which Kaneko suggests is desirable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, and 10 are allowed.
Claims 25 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the following in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims:
A sample pan for a thermal analysis instrument, wherein the sealing element is a seal ring disposed between internal surfaces of the pan body (claim 4); and wherein the pan body has a circumferential wall with a channel therein and wherein the sealing element is a seal ring disposed on the external surface of the circumferential wall (claim 5).
A method for preparing a sample for a thermal analysis instrument, wherein the sealing element comprises a plug disposed in the gas path and an actuator element coupled to the plug, the actuator element being the element formed of the shape memory material, and wherein the change in the shape of the actuator element removes the plug from the gas path (claim 25); and wherein the sample pan comprises a circumferential wall having a channel defining the gas path, and the sealing element is a seal ring disposed on an external surface of the circumferential wall over the channel at an end of the gas path (claim 26).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection stated above.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MIRELLYS JAGAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
10/26/26