DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the filing of 1/23/26. Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, 16-23 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, 16-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furtwangler (20160070682) in view of Beechuk (20140013247) and in further view of Lawson (2013/0211559.)
Claim 1, 4, 14: Furtwangler discloses a computer-implemented method of user interface customization, the computer-implemented method comprising:
modifying guest instructions of an application (Fig. 3: 332, Application Code, par. 22-23; Fig. 4: Platform Independent View Tree) using a first user interface style (par. 25, The various operations (tree parenting, stylistic properties, positioning) are performed against a PAL interface) to generate first customized guest instructions that are customized for use by a first client device (modifying for an Android platform: par. 56-58; par. 37, depending on the underlying platform, the abstraction layer 204 via its chosen implementation 218 selects appropriate platform-dependent code (e.g., an object) to convert as needed the button request into a platform object),
wherein the guest instructions are platform-agnostic (par. 22-23; Fig. 4: Platform Independent View Tree) configures a user interface element of a user interface to initiate a function in response to interaction with the user interface element (the function of changing how it looks when focused; par. 64, restyle a view/display node/object element without changing its data, e.g., a view in the focused state may have different style property values than when not in the focused state. Furtwangler further discloses handling input / output (par. 30-32), data binding (par. 32), and calling methods (par. 36)),
wherein the first customized guest instructions include a first customized variant of the user interface element to which the first user interface style is applied (par. 31; par. 67, a button DOM element is created at step 1118, with its data (e.g., button text) written at step 1122 and styling data),
wherein the first customized guest instructions configure the first customized variant of the user interface element to initiate the function in response to interaction with the first customized variant of the user interface element (the function of changing how it looks when focused; par. 64, restyle a view/display node/object element without changing its data, e.g., a view in the focused state may have different style property values than when not in the focused state. Furtwangler further discloses handling input / output (par. 30-32), data binding (par. 32), and calling methods (par. 36)),
modifying the guest instructions of the application using a second user interface style to generate second customized guest instructions that are customized for use by a second client device (par. 30-31; modifying for an iOS platform: par. 58, iOS® similarly provides a view object for rendering content. In iOS, the UI kit's well-documented classes (e.g., UIView) have methods that allow for drawing. The setNeedsDisplay or setNeedsDisplayInRect method of an iOS view object instructs that view to redraw),
wherein the second customized guest instructions include a second customized variant of the user interface element to which the second user interface style is applied (par. 30-31; modifying for an iOS platform: par. 58, iOS® similarly provides a view object for rendering content. In iOS, the UI kit's well-documented classes (e.g., UIView) have methods that allow for drawing. The setNeedsDisplay or setNeedsDisplayInRect method of an iOS view object instructs that view to redraw),
wherein the second customized guest instructions configure the second customized variant of the user interface element to initiate the function in response to interaction with the second customized variant of the user interface element (the function of changing how it looks when focused; par. 64, restyle a view/display node/object element without changing its data, e.g., a view in the focused state may have different style property values than when not in the focused state. Furtwangler further discloses handling input / output (par. 30-32), data binding (par. 32), and calling methods (par. 36));
providing the first customized guest instructions to the first client device (Fig. 1: 118, outputting the Platform UI; par. 30); and
providing the second customized guest instructions to the second client device (Fig. 1: 118, outputting the Platform UI; par. 30.)
However, Furtwangler does not explicitly disclose: wherein the function transitions from the user interface to a second user interface.
storing a first profile and a second profile in a data structure;
based on at least a first set of user-specific preferences retrieved from the first profile associated with a first user of the first client device
based on at least a second set of user-specific preferences retrieved from the second profile associated with a second user of the second client device.
and wherein modifying the guest instructions is performed while a first instance of the application is running on the first client device;
and wherein modifying the guest instructions is performed while a second instance of the application is running on the second client device;
Beechuk discloses a similar method for a customized GUI, including:
wherein the function transitions from the user interface to a second user interface (Fig. 19-20, transitioning from the UI of case #00001053 to case #00001004; par. 308, the Send Email button 1914 can be a Send Email and Next button, configured to send an email and also cause to display the next case in the user interface page 1900. This can be a way for support agents to streamline the cases they are handling.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Furtwangler and Beechuk so as to allow support agents to streamline the cases they are handling, i.e. save time (Beechuk par. 308.)
Lawson discloses a similar method for customizing user interfaces, including:
storing a first profile and a second profile in a data structure (par. 58, cloud-based operator interface system 502 can maintain a set of user profiles 510 corresponding to respective users of the system. An exemplary user profile can include such information as a user identifier, one or more user roles to which the user belongs, and any user-defined preferences configured by the user);
based on at least a first set of user-specific preferences retrieved from the first profile associated with a first user of the first client device (par. 58, the client interface component 512 will access the user's profile and apply the previously defined customization settings to the display screen prior to serving the display screen to the client device 520);
based on at least a second set of user-specific preferences retrieved from the second profile associated with a second user of the second client device (par. 58, the client interface component 512 will access the user's profile and apply the previously defined customization settings to the display screen prior to serving the display screen to the client device 520.)
and wherein modifying the guest instructions is performed while a first instance of the application is running on the first client device (par. 55, Alternatively, some embodiments of the cloud-based operator interface system 502 can allow display screens developed by external display development applications to be uploaded to the cloud platform and executed by the operator interface system 502 during runtime);
and wherein modifying the guest instructions is performed while a second instance of the application is running on the second client device (par. 55, Alternatively, some embodiments of the cloud-based operator interface system 502 can allow display screens developed by external display development applications to be uploaded to the cloud platform and executed by the operator interface system 502 during runtime);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Furtwangler and Lawson so as to provide support for user-specific customization in a cloud-based operator interface system (Lawson, par. 58.)
Claim 2, 6, 16: Furtwangler Beechuk and Lawson disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first user interface style is native to a first platform of the first client device, and wherein the second user interface style is native to a second platform of the second client device (Furtwangler par. 56-58; par. 37, depending on the underlying platform, the abstraction layer 204 via its chosen implementation 218 selects appropriate platform-dependent code (e.g., an object) to convert as needed the button request into a platform object.)
Claim 3, 7, 17: Furtwangler Beechuk and Lawson disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first customized guest instructions are configured to run within a first guest environment of the first application on the first client device, wherein the first instance of the application includes first host instructions separate from the first customized guest instructions, wherein the second customized guest instructions are configured to run within a second guest environment of the second instance of the application on the second client device, and wherein the second instance of the application includes second host instructions separate from the second customized guest instructions (Furtwangler Fig. 3, par. 44-46, Further the runtime operating conditions 334 may be used to adjust for various well-known (and publicly documented) browser quirks and vendor-specific handling details, as represented by block 346. For example, certain vendor's browser versions return errors with certain method calls even though they should support those methods in order to be compliant with World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) standards.)
Claim 8: Furtwangler Beechuk and Lawson disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 7, wherein the first customized guest instructions are customized to interact with the first host instructions of the first instance of the application, and wherein the first customized guest instructions are customized to interact with the first host instructions of the first instance of the application (Furtwangler Fig. 3, par. 44-46, Further the runtime operating conditions 334 may be used to adjust for various well-known (and publicly documented) browser quirks and vendor-specific handling details, as represented by block 346. For example, certain vendor's browser versions return errors with certain method calls even though they should support those methods in order to be compliant with World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) standards.)
Claim 9: Furtwangler Beechuk and Lawson disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 7, wherein the first host instructions are configured to interact with the first customized guest instructions without sharing memory within the first client device, and wherein the second host instructions are configured to interact with the second customized guest instructions without sharing memory within the second client device Furtwangler (par. 91, The computer 1310 may operate in a networked or distributed environment using logical connections to one or more other remote computers, such as remote computer 1370. The remote computer 1370 may be a personal computer, a server, a router, a network PC, a peer device or other common network node, or any other remote media consumption or transmission device, and may include any or all of the elements described above relative to the computer 1310.)
Claim 11, 18: Furtwangler Beechuk and Lawson disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein the first user interface style and the second user interface style differ in at least one of font, pattern, logo, or a shape (Furtwangler par. 31, primarily visual properties such as color, size, animation and so on; Beechuk par. 132, a user can specify a font for the text, a location of where the feed can be selected and displayed, amount of text to be displayed, and other text or symbols to be displayed.)
Claim 12, 19: Furtwangler Beechuk and Lawson disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein the first customized variant of the user interface element and the second customized variant of the user interface element differ in at least one of font, pattern, logo, or a shape (Furtwangler par. 31, primarily visual properties such as color, size, animation and so on; Beechuk par. 132, a user can specify a font for the text, a location of where the feed can be selected and displayed, amount of text to be displayed, and other text or symbols to be displayed.)
Claim 13, 20: Furtwangler Beechuk and Lawson disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein the first customized variant of the user interface element is customized based on a first attribute of a first display of the first client device, and wherein the second customized variant of the user interface element is customized based on a second attribute of a second display of the second client device (Furtwangler par. 31, styled differently when presenting the UI on the device's relatively small screen versus when the tablet is plugged into and displaying the UI on a relatively large monitor (ten foot design.))
Claim 21: Furtwangler Beechuk and Lawson disclose computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein the first customized guest instructions are further customized for use by the first client device based on at least a first set of device-specific limitations retrieved from the first profile associated with the first client device, and wherein the second customized guest instructions are further customized for use by the second client device based on at least a second set of device-specific limitations retrieved from the second profile associated with the second client device (Lawson par. 60, Since the operator interface displays can be served to diverse types of client devices (e.g., desktop computers, mobile phones, tablet computers, laptop computers, HMI terminals, television monitors, etc.), the cloud-based operator interface system 502 can render a given display screen in a format suitable for display on the device invoking the screen, and in a manner that makes efficient use of the device's resources. For example, if the operator interface system 505 receives a request for a display screen from a cellular phone, the client interface component 512 can deliver the requested display screen to the cellular phone in a format adapted to the display capabilities of the phone (e.g., at a display ratio and resolution suitable for display on the phone's screen).)
Claim 22: Furtwangler Beechuk and Lawson disclose computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein the first set of user-specific preferences includes first device-specific limitations associated with the first client device, and wherein the second set of user-specific preferences includes second device- specific limitations associated with the second client device (Lawson par. 60, Since the operator interface displays can be served to diverse types of client devices (e.g., desktop computers, mobile phones, tablet computers, laptop computers, HMI terminals, television monitors, etc.), the cloud-based operator interface system 502 can render a given display screen in a format suitable for display on the device invoking the screen, and in a manner that makes efficient use of the device's resources. For example, if the operator interface system 505 receives a request for a display screen from a cellular phone, the client interface component 512 can deliver the requested display screen to the cellular phone in a format adapted to the display capabilities of the phone (e.g., at a display ratio and resolution suitable for display on the phone's screen).)
Claim 23: Furtwangler Beechuk and Lawson disclose computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein the guest instructions are associated with a first programming language, wherein at least one of the first customized guest instructions and the second customized guest instructions are associated with a second programming language, and wherein the first programming language and the second programming language are distinct (Furtwangler modifying for an Android platform: par. 56-58; par. 37, depending on the underlying platform, the abstraction layer 204 via its chosen implementation 218 selects appropriate platform-dependent code (e.g., an object) to convert as needed the button request into a platform object; iOS® similarly provides a view object for rendering content. In iOS, the UI kit's well-documented classes (e.g., UIView) have methods that allow for drawing. The setNeedsDisplay or setNeedsDisplayInRect method of an iOS view object instructs that view to redraw.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, 16-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Bluhm (11,392,284) dynamically stylable open graphics library.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Andrey Belousov/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2145
5/22/26