Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s argument file June 17, 2026, regarding rejection of claims 1, 11, and 16 under 35 USC 112(b) have been withdrawn due to the amendments made addressing the rejection.
Applicant’s arguments filed June 17, 2026, regarding rejection of 1-8, 11-13, and 15-23 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered, but are unpersuasive.
3. Applicant argues that Westervelt (US 2018096608A1) only provides general disclosure where data received from an airborne system includes tail specific characteristics that are based on history of previous flights, but that history data is insufficient to evidence aircraft specific variable related to health or degradation of the aircraft, and that Gibbons (US 20210383706A1) discloses the concept of determining the rate at which variations in aircraft performance occur, but does not disclose determining a tail specific offset.
However, examiner reminds the applicant that the previous Office Action rejects claim 1 under 35 USC 103 over Westervelt in view of Gibbons not Westervelt nor Gibbons independently. As seen on previous Office Action, Westervelt teaches receiving downlink from an aircraft that includes tail specific airplane characteristics as well as tail specific offset, and set the tail specific offset as a target of optimized aircraft control information (see Fig. 3 and [0038]-[0041]). Then, Gibbons is relied upon for using machine learning and historical flight data to determine aircraft tail specific performance variation and relating that to aircraft health, aging, or degradation, i.e. using machine learned model based on past flight data and tail specific performance representing health or degradation (see [0066]-[0067], [0100] and [0102]). Thus, it would then have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify downlink and uplink message of aircraft parameters for optimization flight plan control of Westervelt by incorporating teaching of Gibbons such that machine learning model is used to predict fuel mileage and other characteristics based on past and other parameter information such as routes flown, miles flown, operating altitude, combined with tail specific performance model variance rate along with age and historical flight data of an aircraft, i.e. tail specific offset representing health or degradation, so that aircraft and machine learning model will consider tail specific offset regarding health or degradation to be used to update and optimize flight plan. As such, Gibbons modifies the manner in which Westervelt’s tail specific information is determined and characterized and the rejection is made with Westervelt in view of Gibbons, not Westervelt nor Gibbons alone.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments regarding rejection of amended independent claim 1 under 35 USC 103 are unpersuasive.
Applicant also argues that the proposed modification of Westervelt in view of Gibbons is based on impermissible hindsight reasoning.
However, examiner argues that the rationale and motivation to combine are derived from the Gibbons refence itself rather than Applicant’s disclosure. As stated in previous Office Action, the motivation to combine machine learning and tail specific performance variance rate to uplink and downlink message of an aircraft parameter for optimizing flight plan is that, as indicated by Gibbons, this would allow for decrease fuel consumption, reduce flight time, improve flight attribute desired by an operator of an aircraft, and schedule maintenance and repair more effectively so as to improve on time performance and durability (see [0008] and [0102]). Hence, there was an articulated reason to incorporate Gibbons’s aircraft specific performance and degradation information into Westervelt’s optimization.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments regarding rejection of amended independent claim 1 under 35 USC 103 are unpersuasive.
In addition, applicant argues that neither Westervelt nor Gibbons teaches or suggests automatically controlling the aircraft according to a target parameter value that is based on both the parameter values extracted from the downlink ACARS message and the tail specific offset.
However, claim 1 already requires in the determining step that the target parameter value to be based on the downlink ACARS parameter values and the tail specific offset and the amended control step recites controlling the aircraft according to the same target parameter value, in which Westervelt teaches, as shown in previous Office Action, receiving flight parameters from the airborne system via downlink and using tail specific airplane characteristics and a tail specific offset to perform a control optimization by predicting a trajectory and developing an optimized flight plan, with the optimized flight plan uplinked to the aircraft and guide the aircraft according to the optimal control (see [0030], [0036], [0038]-[0041], [0169] and Fig. 3). Thus, the amendment merely reiterates that the aircraft is controlled automatically through a system and a method according to the previously determined target parameter value and does not materially change the basis of the rejection, in which Westervelt in view of Gibbons teaches.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments regarding rejection of amended independent claim 1 under 35 USC 103 are unpersuasive.
4. Applicant argues that claims 2-8 and 22 depend on amended independent claim 1 and are non-obvious and allowable for at least this reason.
However, amended independent claim 1 is fully rejected under 35 USC 103. Thus, the dependent claims 2-8 and 22 are rejected through their dependence on amened independent claim 1 and applicant’s argument regarding rejection of claims 2-8 and 22 is unpersuasive.
5. In regards to amended independent claim 11, applicant argues similarly that Westervelt only provides general disclosure where data received from an airborne system includes tail specific characteristics that are based on history of previous flights, but that history data is insufficient to evidence aircraft specific variable related to health or degradation of the aircraft, and that Gibbons discloses the concept of determining the rate at which variations in aircraft performance occur, but does not disclose determining a tail specific offset. Applicant also again argues that the proposed modification of Westervelt and Gibbons is based on impermissible hindsight reasoning and that neither Westervelt nor Gibbons teaches or suggests automatically controlling the aircraft according to a target parameter value that is based on both the parameter values extracted from the downlink ACARS message and the tail specific offset. Still further, applicant argues that Hale (US 10121384B2) is not alleged to cure the deficiencies of Westervelt and Gibbons.
However, similar to the response above, examiner reminds the applicant that the previous Office Action rejects claim 11 under 35 USC 103 over Westervelt in view of Gibbons in further view of Hale, not Westervelt, Gibbons, or Hale independently. As seen on previous Office Action, Westervelt teaches receiving downlink from an aircraft that includes tail specific airplane characteristics as well as tail specific offset, and set the tail specific offset as a target of optimized aircraft control information (see Fig. 3 and [0038]-[0041]). Then, Gibbons is relied upon for using machine learning and historical flight data to determine aircraft tail specific performance variation and relating that to aircraft health, aging, or degradation, i.e. using machine learned model based on past flight data and tail specific performance representing health or degradation (see [0066]-[0067], [0100] and [0102]). Further, Hale is relied upon for teaching an updated flight plan/route message uplinked to an aircraft for flight crew review, including aircraft flight information parameters, i.e. generating an advisory message that presents the target parameter value to a flight crew (see [col 16 ln 49 thru col 17 ln 3]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify downlink and uplink message of aircraft parameters for optimization flight plan control of Westervelt by incorporating teaching of Gibbons and Hale such that machine learning model is used to predict fuel mileage and other characteristics based on past and other parameter information such as routes flown, miles flown, operating altitude, combined with tail specific performance model variance rate along with age and historical flight data of an aircraft, i.e. tail specific offset representing health or degradation, so that aircraft and machine learning model will consider tail specific offset regarding health or degradation to be used to update and optimize flight plan. Then, afterwards, updated flight plan message, which includes optimized flight plan and target parameter values of speed, altitude and position, based on downlinked information of tail specific airplane characteristics such as thrust and drag, air traffic information, and weather information, is uplinked to an aircraft so that it is reviewed and accepted by a flight crew. As such, Westervelt provides target parameter and optimization, Gibbons provides a machine learned tail specific health or degradation information, and Hale provides presenting the updated flight information parameters to the flight crew. Hence, claim 11 is rejected under 35 USC 103 over Westervelt in view of Gibbons in further view of Hale, not Westervelt, Gibbons, or Hale alone.
In addition, rationale and motivation to combine are derived from the Gibbons refence and Hale reference themselves rather than applicant’s disclosure. As stated in previous Office Action, the motivation to combine machine learning and tail specific performance variance rate to uplink and downlink message of an aircraft parameter for optimizing flight plan is that, as indicated by Gibbons, this would allow for decrease fuel consumption, reduce flight time, improve flight attribute desired by an operator of an aircraft, and schedule maintenance and repair more effectively so as to improve on time performance and durability (see [0008] and [0102]). The motivation to send a message to a flight crew is that, as indicated by Hale, this would allow improvement of safety through having an advisory service and accepting in real-time depending on various constraints such as crew cost, crew rest, flight schedule, connecting passenger, fuel loading, and time profiles. Also, an approved user can view and select the most efficient route based on the said constraints and other flight information and even configured accordingly (see Hale [col 17 lns 49-67 and col 18 lns 1-14] and [col 23 lns 62-67 and col 24 lns 1-10]). Hence, there was an articulated reason to incorporate Gibbons’s aircraft specific performance and degradation information and Hale’s uplinked message to an aircraft for flight crew review into Westervelt’s optimization.
Claim 11 also already requires in the determining step that the target parameter value to be based on the downlink ACARS parameter values and the tail specific offset and the amended generation step recites generating an advisory according to the same target parameter value, in which Westervelt teaches, as shown in previous Office Action, receiving flight parameters from the airborne system via downlink and using tail specific airplane characteristics and a tail specific offset to perform a control optimization by predicting a trajectory and developing an optimized flight plan, with the optimized flight plan uplinked to the aircraft (see [0030], [0036], [0038]-[0041], [0169] and Fig. 3). Then, Hale teaches an updated flight plan/route message uplinked to an aircraft for flight crew review i.e. generating an advisory message that presents the target parameter value to a flight crew (see [col 16 ln 49 thru col 17 ln 3]). Thus, the amendment merely reiterates that the aircraft receives an uplinked message according to the previously determined target parameter value and does not materially change the basis of the rejection, in which Westervelt in view of Gibbons in further view of Hale teaches.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments regarding rejection of amended independent claim 11 under 35 USC 103 are unpersuasive.
6. Applicant argues that claims 12-13, 15, and 21 depend on amended independent claim 11 and are non-obvious and allowable for at least this reason.
However, amended independent claim 11 is fully rejected under 35 USC 103. Thus, the dependent claims 12-13, 15, and 21 are rejected through their dependence on amened independent claim 11 and applicant’s argument regarding rejection of claims 12-13, 15, and 21 is unpersuasive.
7. Applicant argues that amended independent claim 16 includes similar recitation as amended independent claim 11 and are non-obvious and allowable for same reasons as claim 11.
However, amended independent claim 11 is fully rejected under 35 USC 103. Thus, the amended independent claim 16 is rejected due to its similarity to amended independent claim 11 and applicant’s argument regarding rejection of amended independent claim 16 is unpersuasive.
8. Applicant argues that claims 17-20 and 23 depend on amended independent claim 16 and are non-obvious and allowable for at least this reason.
However, amended independent claim 16 is fully rejected under 35 USC 103. Thus, the dependent claims 17-20 and 23 are rejected through their dependence on amened independent claim 16 and applicant’s argument regarding rejection of claims 17-20 and 23 is unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1, 3, and 5-8 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Westervelt et al. (US 20180096608 A1) in view of Gibbons, Il et al. (US 20210383706A1).
Regarding claim 1, Westervelt teaches a method, comprising:
receiving a downlink aircraft communications, addressing and reporting system (ACARS) message from an aircraft in flight (see [0030] where there is a communication link between an aircraft and a ground-based computational asset referred to as downlink; see also [0036] and Fig. 3 where there is a gathering information of flight parameters from airborne system via a downlink. This is an ACARS system);
determining a target parameter value for the aircraft based at least in part on parameter values extracted from the downlink ACARS message and a tail specific offset, the tail specific offset indicating a deviation of an actual aircraft performance of the aircraft from a baseline aircraft performance for the aircraft (see [0038]-[0041] and Fig. 3 where an off-aircraft system receive downlink from aircraft and other systems that includes tail specific airplane characteristics such as thrust and drag, air traffic information, and weather information, as well as a tail specific offset and set the tail specific offset as a target when optimization is performed; these are used to perform a control optimization by predicting a trajectory and develop an optimized flight plan, i.e. creating a baseline path and adjusting aircraft accordingly depending on how much aircraft has deviated. Note also that the optimization is dynamic where optimization happens over a period of time with gathering more information that is updated as it changes, which would indicate continuous offset determination and adjustment of the aircraft; see also [0023]-[0025] where ground-based system receives flight data from airborne system, which details parameters of a prescribed flight plan that is based on actual historical performance and based on history of previous flights conducted by a particular aircraft, i.e. baseline performance according to previous flights.); and
transmitting an uplink ACARS message containing the target parameter value to the aircraft in flight (see [0040] where an optimized flight plan mentioned above is communicated, i.e. uplinked, to an aircraft.); and
automatically controlling, by a computing device of the aircraft, the aircraft according to the target parameter value that is based on the parameter values extracted from the downlink ACARS message and the tail specific offset provided in the uplink ACARS message to the aircraft (see [0040] and Fig. 3 where framework, which involves ground-based system and airborne system on an aircraft, perform a control optimization to uplink an optimized flight plan to the aircraft and guide the aircraft according to the optimal control; see also in claim 16 where aircraft executes flight in accordance with the optimized flight plan. Note also in [00169] that there is a control unit, i.e. a computing device, that includes an auto pilot/throttle system, that operates the aircraft. In addition, note [0038]-[0041] and Fig. 3 as stated above, where an off-aircraft system receive downlink from aircraft and other systems that includes tail specific airplane characteristics such as thrust and drag, air traffic information, and weather information, as well as a tail specific offset and set the tail specific offset as a target when optimization is performed; these are used to perform a control optimization by predicting a trajectory and develop an optimized flight plan, which are uplinked to the aircraft.).
Westervelt also teaches: tail specific offset determined (see [0023]-[0025] where ground-based system receives flight data from airborne system, which details parameters of a prescribed flight pan that is based on actual historical performance and based on history of previous flights conducted by a particular aircraft; see also [0036] where framework support calculation of control histories that minimizes operating cost of the particular aircraft.).
Westervelt does not teach using a machine-learned model based at least in part on the past flight data of the aircraft.
Westervelt also does not teach: the tail specific offset representing a health or degradation of the aircraft.
However, Gibbons teaches a tail specific performance models used as predictive tool where rate of variations in performance along with age of an aircraft, maintenance history, and historical flight data indicates degradations, i.e. tail offset representing health and degradation of an aircraft (see [0100]). Note also in [0102], the aircraft specific information, which is the tail specific information, is used to schedule maintenance and repair through tracking of aging of the aircraft overtime, i.e. tracking of degradation of the aircraft overtime through aircraft specific information.
Further, Gibbons also teaches machine learning model that is trained to predict fuel mileage performance or other characteristics based on gathering information that includes routes flown, miles flown, weight, operating altitude, i.e. baseline aircraft performance model, which is used to find tail specific offset, based at least in part on past flight data (see [0066]-[0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify downlink and uplink message of aircraft parameters for optimization flight plan control of Westervelt by incorporating teaching of Gibbons such that machine learning model is used to predict fuel mileage and other characteristics based on past and other parameter information such as routes flown, miles flown, operating altitude, combined with tail specific performance model variance rate along with age and historical flight data of an aircraft, i.e. tail specific offset representing health or degradation, so that aircraft and machine learning model will consider tail specific offset regarding health or degradation to be used to update and optimize flight plan.
The motivation to combine machine learning and tail specific performance variance rate to uplink and downlink message of an aircraft parameter for optimizing flight plan is that, as indicated by Gibbons, this would allow for decrease fuel consumption, reduce flight time, improve flight attribute desired by an operator of an aircraft, and schedule maintenance and repair more effectively so as to improve on time performance and durability (see [0008] and [0102]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Westervelt in view of Gibbons teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the downlink ACARS message is generated and downlinked from the aircraft to a ground station automatically (see Westervelt [0041], [0047] and Fig. 3 where optimization of flight plan is dynamic which optimization happens over a period of time with gathering more information that is updated as it changes, i.e. continuous downlink from aircraft. Note also that in [0047], there is a continuous or periodic updates to develop an accurate model for performance; see further [0030] where ground-based system is used for greater computational capacity and functionality.).
Regarding claim 5, modified Westervelt in view of Gibbons teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the target parameter value is a target speed for the aircraft (see Westervelt [0044] and claim 9 where a listing of optimization flight plan commands includes speed commands.).
Regarding claim 6, modified Westervelt in view of Gibbons teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the target parameter value is a target altitude for the aircraft (see Westervelt [0044] where a listing of optimization flight plan commands includes altitude commands.).
Regarding claim 7, modified Westervelt in view of Gibbons teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the target parameter value is one of a plurality of target parameter values for the aircraft, and wherein the plurality of target parameter values include a target speed and a target altitude for the aircraft (see Westervelt [0044] and claim 9 where a listing of optimization flight plan commands includes speed commands and altitude commands.).
Regarding claim 8, modified Westervelt in view of Gibbons teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the receiving, the determining, and the providing are performed at a ground station (see Westervelt [0030] where ground-based system is used for greater computational capacity and functionality; see also in Fig. 3 and [0038]-[0040] where one or more systems other than airborne system, i.e. ground-based systems mentioned previously, gathers information from both aircraft and other external systems, determines a control optimization flight plan, and uplink the plan to the aircraft.).
10. Claims 2, 4, 11-13, and 15-21 are rejected under pre-35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westervelt in view of Gibbons in further view of Hale et al. (US 10121384 B2).
Regarding claim 2, modified Westervelt in view of Gibbons teaches the method of claim 1,
Modified Westervelt in view of Gibbons does not teach presenting an advisory suggesting the target parameter value to a flight crew of the aircraft.
However, Hale teaches an updated flight plan/route message uplinked to an aircraft where it is reviewed and accepted by a flight crew (see [col 16 lns 18-48]). Note also that the message uplinked to the aircraft also includes various flight information parameters such as current position, speed altitude, and weather information (see [col 16 ln 49 thru col 17 ln 3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify optimization flight plan control through machine learning of past flight data and tail specific performance with historical data and aging of an aircraft that represents health or degradation of Westervelt in view of Gibbons by incorporating teachings of Hale such that once trajectory predictor, updating waypoints to a flight plan, with a message constructor can send updated list of commands and flight plan/route to a flight crew to execute and follow the flight plan/route.
The motivation to send a message to a flight crew is that, as indicated by Hale, this would allow improvement of safety through having an advisory service and accepting in real-time depending on various constraints such as crew cost, crew rest, flight schedule, connecting passenger, fuel loading, and time profiles. Also, an approved user can view and select the most efficient route based on the said constraints and other flight information and even configured accordingly (see [col 17 lns 49-67 and col 18 lns 1-14] and [col 23 lns 62-67 and col 24 lns 1-10]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Westervelt in view of Gibbons teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the parameter values include (see Westervelt Fig. 3, [0016], [0034], [0038] and [0042] where weather information, including temperature, and tail specific airplane characteristic, which includes thrust, drag and other parameters, such as altitude, are updated for optimized path planning.).
Modified Westervelt in view of Gibbons does not teach a parameter value for a gross weight of the aircraft.
However, Hale teaches an efficiency and operational flight object system that accesses aircraft current state data that includes weight of aircraft, altitude, speed, center of gravity, weather, etc. (see [col 11 lns 42-63]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify optimization flight plan control through machine learning of past flight data and tail specific performance with historical data and aging of an aircraft that represents health or degradation of Westervelt in view of Gibbons by incorporating teachings of Hale such that once trajectory predictor, using weight of aircraft, altitude, speed, center of gravity, weather, etc., and updating waypoints to a flight plan, with a message constructor can send updated list of commands and flight plan/route to a flight crew to execute and follow the flight plan/route.
The motivation to send a message to a flight crew is that, as indicated by Hale, this would allow improvement of safety through having an advisory service and accepting in real-time depending on various constraints such as crew cost, crew rest, flight schedule, connecting passenger, fuel loading, and time profiles. Also, an approved user can view and select the most efficient route based on the said constraints and other flight information and even configured accordingly (see [col 17 lns 49-67 and col 18 lns 1-14] and [col 23 lns 62-67 and col 24 lns 1-10]).
Regarding claim 11, Westervelt teaches a ground station (see [0020] where ground-based computer system is used and is linked to an aircraft), comprising:
one or more processors (see [0020] where ground-based computer system has a processor that executes instructions); and
one or more memory devices that store a program executable by the one or more processors to perform an operation (see [0020] where the ground-based computer system has a processor that executes program instructions and also multiple ground-based systems act together as a data storage; see also [0052] where it refers to data storage device to hold data.), the operation comprising:
receiving a downlink aircraft communications from a datalink communication system, addressing and reporting system (ACARS) message from an aircraft in flight (see [0030] where there is a communication link between an aircraft and a ground-based computational asset referred to as downlink; see also [0036] and Fig. 3 where there is a gathering information of flight parameters from airborne system, i.e. datalink communication, via a downlink.);
determining a target parameter value for the aircraft based at least in part on parameter values extracted from the downlink ACARS message and a tail specific offset, the tail specific offset indicating a deviation of an actual aircraft performance of the aircraft from a baseline aircraft performance for the aircraft (see [0038]-[0041] and Fig. 3 where an off-aircraft system receive downlink from aircraft and other systems that includes tail specific airplane characteristics such as thrust and drag, air traffic information, and weather information. These are used to perform a control optimization by predicting a trajectory and develop an optimized flight plan, i.e. creating a baseline path and adjusting aircraft accordingly depending on how much aircraft has deviated. Note also that the optimization is dynamic where optimization happens over a period of time with gathering more information that is updated as it changes, which would indicate continuous offset determination and adjustment of the aircraft; see also [0023]-[0025] where ground-based system receives flight data from airborne system, which details parameters of a prescribed flight pan that is based on actual historical performance and based on history of previous flights conducted by a particular aircraft, i.e. baseline performance according to previous flights.); and
transmitting, with a ground transceiver of the ground station to a transceiver of the datalink communication system in the aircraft, an uplink ACARS message containing the target parameter value to the aircraft in flight in response to determining the target parameter (see [0040] where an optimized flight plan mentioned above is communicated, i.e. uplinked in response to determining target parameter, to an aircraft from ground-based system.).
Westervelt also teaches: tail specific offset determined (see [0023]-[0025] where ground-based system receives flight data from airborne system, which details parameters of a prescribed flight pan that is based on actual historical performance and based on history of previous flights conducted by a particular aircraft; see also [0036] where framework support calculation of control histories that minimizes operating cost of the particular aircraft.).
Westervelt does not teach using a machine-learned model based at least in part on the past flight data of the aircraft.
Westervelt also does not teach:
the tail specific offset representing a health or degradation of the aircraft; and
generation, during the flight, an advisory that presents the target parameter value that is based on the parameter values extracted from the downlink ACARS message and the tail specific offset to a flight crew of the aircraft.
However, Gibbons teaches a tail specific performance models used as predictive tool where rate of variations in performance along with age of an aircraft, maintenance history, and historical flight data indicates degradations, i.e. tail offset representing health and degradation of an aircraft (see [0100]). Note also in [0102], the aircraft specific information, which is the tail specific information, is used to schedule maintenance and repair through tracking of aging of the aircraft overtime, i.e. tracking of degradation of the aircraft overtime through aircraft specific information.
Further, Gibbons also teaches machine learning model that is trained to predict fuel mileage performance or other characteristics based on gathering information that includes routes flown, miles flown, weight, operating altitude, i.e. baseline aircraft performance model, which is used to find tail specific offset, based at least in part on past flight data (see [0066]-[0067]).
Still further, Hale teaches an updated flight plan/route message uplinked to an aircraft where it is reviewed and accepted by a flight crew (see [col 16 lns 18-48]). Note also that the message uplinked to the aircraft also includes various flight information parameters such as current position, speed, altitude, and weather information (see [col 16 ln 49 thru col 17 ln 3]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify downlink and uplink message of aircraft parameters for optimization flight plan control of Westervelt by incorporating teaching of Gibbons and Hale such that machine learning model is used to predict fuel mileage and other characteristics based on past and other parameter information such as routes flown, miles flown, operating altitude, combined with tail specific performance model variance rate along with age and historical flight data of an aircraft, i.e. tail specific offset representing health or degradation, so that aircraft and machine learning model will consider tail specific offset regarding health or degradation to be used to update and optimize flight plan. Then, afterwards, updated flight plan message, which includes Westervelt’s optimized flight plan and target parameter values of speed, altitude and position, based on downlinked information of tail specific airplane characteristics such as thrust and drag, air traffic information, and weather information, is uplinked to an aircraft so that it is reviewed and accepted by a flight crew.
The motivation to combine machine learning and tail specific performance variance rate to uplink and downlink message of an aircraft parameter for optimizing flight plan is that, as indicated by Gibbons, this would allow for decrease fuel consumption, reduce flight time, improve flight attribute desired by an operator of an aircraft, and schedule maintenance and repair more effectively so as to improve on time performance and durability (see [0008] and [0102]).
The motivation to send a message to a flight crew is that, as indicated by Hale, this would allow improvement of safety through having an advisory service and accepting in real-time depending on various constraints such as crew cost, crew rest, flight schedule, connecting passenger, fuel loading, and time profiles. Also, an approved user can view and select the most efficient route based on the said constraints and other flight information and even configured accordingly (see [col 17 lns 49-67 and col 18 lns 1-14] and [col 23 lns 62-67 and col 24 lns 1-10]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Westervelt in view of Gibbons and Hale teaches the ground station of claim 11,
wherein the parameter values include (see Westervelt Fig. 3, [0016], [0034], [0038] and [0042] where weather information, including temperature, and tail specific airplane characteristic, which includes thrust, drag and other parameters, such as altitude, are updated for optimized path planning.).
Modified Westervelt in view of Gibbons does not teach a parameter value for a gross weight of the aircraft.
However, Hale teaches an efficiency and operational flight object system that accesses aircraft current state data that includes weight of aircraft, altitude, speed, center of gravity, weather, etc. (see [col 11 lns 42-63]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify optimization flight plan control through machine learning of past flight data and tail specific performance with historical data and aging of an aircraft that represents health or degradation of Westervelt in view of Gibbons by incorporating teachings of Hale such that once trajectory predictor, using weight of aircraft, altitude, speed, center of gravity, weather, etc., and updating waypoints to a flight plan, with a message constructor can send updated list of commands and flight plan/route to a flight crew to execute and follow the flight plan/route.
The motivation to send a message to a flight crew is that, as indicated by Hale, this would allow improvement of safety through having an advisory service and accepting in real-time depending on various constraints such as crew cost, crew rest, flight schedule, connecting passenger, fuel loading, and time profiles. Also, an approved user can view and select the most efficient route based on the said constraints and other flight information and even configured accordingly (see [col 17 lns 49-67 and col 18 lns 1-14] and [col 23 lns 62-67 and col 24 lns 1-10]).
Regarding dependent claims 13, modified Westervelt in view of Gibbons and Hale teaches the ground station of claim 11, wherein the target parameter value is one of plurality of target parameter values include a target speed and a target altitude for the aircraft (see Westervelt [0044] and claim 9 where a listing of optimization flight plan commands includes speed commands and altitude commands.).
Regarding claim 15, modified Westervelt in view of Gibbons and Hale teaches the ground station of claim 11,
Modified Westervelt in view of Gibbons does not teach wherein the operation further comprises generating the uplink ACARS message, the uplink ACARS message has an advisory that contains the target parameter value.
However, Hale teaches an updated flight plan/route message uplinked to an aircraft where it is reviewed and accepted by a flight crew (see [col 16 lns 18-48]). Note also that the message uplinked to the aircraft also includes various flight information parameters such as current position, speed altitude, and weather information (see [col 16 ln 49 thru col 17 ln 3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify optimization flight plan control through machine learning of past flight data and tail specific performance with historical data and aging of an aircraft that represents health or degradation of Westervelt in view of Gibbons by incorporating teachings of Hale such that once trajectory predictor, updating waypoints to a flight plan, with a message constructor can send updated list of commands and flight plan/route to a flight crew to execute and follow the flight plan/route.
The motivation to send a message to a flight crew is that, as indicated by Hale, this would allow improvement of safety through having an advisory service and accepting in real-time depending on various constraints such as crew cost, crew rest, flight schedule, connecting passenger, fuel loading, and time profiles. Also, an approved user can view and select the most efficient route based on the said constraints and other flight information and even configured accordingly (see [col 17 lns 49-67 and col 18 lns 1-14] and [col 23 lns 62-67 and col 24 lns 1-10]).
Regarding claim 16, (AS PREVIOUSLY STATED) Westervelt teaches a computing system for an aircraft (see fig. 1 and [0017]-[0019] where it shows a system for guidance and navigation of an aircraft; see also Fig. 4 and [0050]-[0054] where it indicates an apparatus that communicates with external devices and the apparatus includes a processor and a memory.), comprising:
one or more processors (see Fig. 4 and [0050]-[0054] where it indicates an apparatus that communicates with external devices and the apparatus includes a processor and a memory; see also Fig. 1 and [0016]-[0019] where flight management system is part of an airborne system includes guidance module, control module, and navigation module. The flight management system is capable of calculation, i.e. a computer with a processor to perform calculation.); and
one or more memory devices that store a program executable by the one or more processors to perform an operation, the operation comprising (see [0052]-[0054] and Fig. 4 where apparatus has a data storage device and optimization engine, aircraft modeler, and application and data within the apparatus to perform one or more processes mentioned for operation of aircraft.):
instructing, during a flight of the aircraft, a transmission of a downlink aircraft communications, addressing and reporting system (ACARS) message to a ground station (see Fig. 4 and [0052]-[0054] as mentioned above. Also, note that in paragraph [0053] the apparatus performs one or more processes mentioned before that includes aspects of Figs 2 and 3; see further [0030] where there is a communication link between an aircraft and a ground-based computational asset referred to as downlink; see also [0036] and Fig. 3 where there is a gathering information of flight parameters from airborne system via a downlink.);
receiving, during the flight, an uplink ACARS message transmitted by the ground station, the uplink ACARS message contains a target parameter value based on parameter values extracted from the downlink ACARS message and a tail specific offset, the tail specific offset indicating a deviation of an actual aircraft performance of the aircraft from a baseline aircraft performance for the aircraft (see Fig. 4 and [0052]-[0054] as mentioned above; see further [0038]-[0041] and Fig. 3 where an off-aircraft system receive downlink from aircraft and other systems that includes tail specific airplane characteristics such as thrust and drag, air traffic information, and weather information. These are used to perform a control optimization by predicting a trajectory and develop an optimized flight plan, i.e. creating a baseline path and adjusting aircraft accordingly depending on how much aircraft has deviated. Note also that the optimization is dynamic where optimization happens over a period of time with gathering more information that is updated as it changes, which would indicate continuous offset determination and adjustment of the aircraft; see also [0023]-[0025] where ground-based system receives flight data from airborne system, which details parameters of a prescribed flight pan that is based on actual historical performance and based on history of previous flights conducted by a particular aircraft, i.e. baseline performance according to previous flights.).
Westervelt also teaches: tail specific offset determined (see [0023]-[0025] where ground-based system receives flight data from airborne system, which details parameters of a prescribed flight pan that is based on actual historical performance and based on history of previous flights conducted by a particular aircraft; see also [0036] where framework support calculation of control histories that minimizes operating cost of the particular aircraft.).
Westervelt does not teach using a machine-learned model based at least in part on the past flight data of the aircraft.
Westervelt also does not teach:
the tail specific offset representing a health or degradation of the aircraft; and
generation, during the flight, an advisory that presents the target parameter value that is based on the parameter values extracted from the downlink ACARS message and the tail specific offset to a flight crew of the aircraft.
However, Gibbons teaches a tail specific performance models used as predictive tool where rate of variations in performance along with age of an aircraft, maintenance history, and historical flight data indicates degradations, i.e. tail offset representing health and degradation of an aircraft (see [0100]). Note also in [0102], the aircraft specific information, which is the tail specific information, is used to schedule maintenance and repair through tracking of aging of the aircraft overtime, i.e. tracking of degradation of the aircraft overtime through aircraft specific information.
Further, Gibbons also teaches machine learning model that is trained to predict fuel mileage performance or other characteristics based on gathering information that includes routes flown, miles flown, weight, operating altitude, i.e. baseline aircraft performance model, which is used to find tail specific offset, based at least in part on past flight data (see [0066]-[0067]).
Still further, Hale teaches an updated flight plan/route message uplinked to an aircraft where it is reviewed and accepted by a flight crew (see [col 16 lns 18-48]). Note also that the message uplinked to the aircraft also includes various flight information parameters such as current position, speed, altitude, and weather information (see [col 16 ln 49 thru col 17 ln 3]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify downlink and uplink message of aircraft parameters for optimization flight plan control of Westervelt by incorporating teaching of Gibbons and Hale such that machine learning model is used to predict fuel mileage and other characteristics based on past and other parameter information such as routes flown, miles flown, operating altitude, combined with tail specific performance model variance rate along with age and historical flight data of an aircraft, i.e. tail specific offset representing health or degradation, so that aircraft and machine learning model will consider tail specific offset regarding health or degradation to be used to update and optimize flight plan. Then, afterwards, updated flight plan message, which includes Westervelt’s optimized flight plan and target parameter values of speed, altitude and position, based on downlinked information of tail specific airplane characteristics such as thrust and drag, air traffic information, and weather information, is uplinked to an aircraft so that it is reviewed and accepted by a flight crew.
The motivation to combine machine learning and tail specific performance variance rate to uplink and downlink message of an aircraft parameter for optimizing flight plan is that, as indicated by Gibbons, this would allow for decrease fuel consumption, reduce flight time, improve flight attribute desired by an operator of an aircraft, and schedule maintenance and repair more effectively so as to improve on time performance and durability (see [0008] and [0102]).
The motivation to send a message to a flight crew is that, as indicated by Hale, this would allow improvement of safety through having an advisory service and accepting in real-time depending on various constraints such as crew cost, crew rest, flight schedule, connecting passenger, fuel loading, and time profiles. Also, an approved user can view and select the most efficient route based on the said constraints and other flight information and even configured accordingly (see [col 17 lns 49-67 and col 18 lns 1-14] and [col 23 lns 62-67 and col 24 lns 1-10]).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Westervelt in view of Gibbons and Hale teaches the computing system of claim 16,
wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors and at least one memory device of the one or more memory devices are embodied in a flight management computer, and wherein the at least one processor of the flight management computer receives the uplink ACARS message and causes the advisory to be presented to the flight crew (see Westervelt [0050]-[0052] as shown above where an apparatus has processors and memory devices that performs, but not limited to, operations mentioned in Figs 2 and 3, which includes updated optimized path specific controls being uplinked to a particular aircraft; see further Hale [col 16 lns 18-48] where an updated flight plan/route message uplinked to an aircraft where it is reviewed and accepted by a flight crew.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify an apparatus with processors and memory devices that performs optimization flight plan control through machine learning of past flight data and tail specific performance with historical data and aging of an aircraft that represents health or degradation of Westervelt in view of Gibbons by incorporating teachings of Hale such that ground-based system receives flight message downlinked from an aircraft and once trajectory predictor, updating waypoints to a flight plan, with a message constructor can send updated list of commands and flight plan/route to a flight crew to execute and follow the flight plan/route.
The motivation to send a message to a flight crew is that, as indicated by Hale, this would allow improvement of safety through having an advisory service and accepting in real-time depending on various constraints such as crew cost, crew rest, flight schedule, connecting passenger, fuel loading, and time profiles. Also, an approved user can view and select the most efficient route based on the said constraints and other flight information and even configured accordingly (see [col 17 lns 49-67 and col 18 lns 1-14] and [col 23 lns 62-67 and col 24 lns 1-10]).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Westervelt in view of Gibbons and Hale teaches the computing system of claim 16,
wherein the target parameter value is one of a plurality of target parameter values for the aircraft, and wherein the plurality of target parameter values include a target speed and a target altitude for the aircraft (see Westervelt [0044] and claim 9 where a listing of optimization flight plan commands includes speed commands and altitude commands.).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Westervelt in view of Gibbons and Hale teaches the computing system of claim 16,
wherein the parameter values include a parameter value for a gross weight of the aircraft, a parameter value for a static air temperature, and parameter value for an altitude of the aircraft in flight (see also Hale [col 11 lns 42-63] where an efficiency and operational flight object system that accesses aircraft current state data that includes weight of an aircraft, altitude, speed, center of gravity, weather, etc.; see further [col 8 lns 32-54] where environmental information pertains to information that includes temperature and humidity and pressure.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify optimization flight plan control through machine learning of past flight data and tail specific performance with historical data and aging of an aircraft that represents health or degradation of Westervelt in view of Gibbons by incorporating teachings of Hale such that once trajectory predictor, using weight of aircraft, altitude, speed, center of gravity, weather, etc., and updating waypoints to a flight plan, with a message constructor can send updated list of commands and flight plan/route to a flight crew to execute and follow the flight plan/route.
The motivation to send a message to a flight crew is that, as indicated by Hale, this would allow improvement of safety through having an advisory service and accepting in real-time depending on various constraints such as crew cost, crew rest, flight schedule, connecting passenger, fuel loading, and time profiles. Also, an approved user can view and select the most efficient route based on the said constraints and other flight information and even configured accordingly (see [col 17 lns 49-67 and col 18 lns 1-14] and [col 23 lns 62-67 and col 24 lns 1-10]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Westervelt in view of Gibbons and Hale teaches the computing system of claim 16, wherein the operation further comprises:
generating the downlink ACARS message, and wherein the generating and the causing, during the flight of the aircraft, transmission of the downlink ACARS message to the ground station occur automatically without flight crew intervention (see Hale Fig. 1 and [col 28 lns 21-28] where ground server automatically capture and compile current and predicted flight information, i.e. automatic communication between ground and aircraft without another intervention. The ground server is communicatively linked to an aircraft as shown in air/ground messaging service in Fig. 1 and in [col 8 lns 60-67 and col 9 lns 1-13]. Note also that message is transmitted through ACARS.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify optimization flight plan control through machine learning of past flight data and tail specific performance with historical data and aging of an aircraft that represents health or degradation of Westervelt in view of Gibbons by incorporating teachings of Hale such that ground-based system receives flight message, which is transmitted in any unique format by a user or in a standardized ground messaging format, downlinked from an aircraft via ACARS, Aeronautical Telecommunication Network, internet or other aircraft datalink technology, and trajectory predictor, updating waypoints to a flight plan, with a message constructor can send updated list of commands and flight plan/route to a flight crew to execute and follow the flight plan/route.
The motivation to send a message to a flight crew is that, as indicated by Hale, this would allow improvement of safety through having an advisory service and accepting in real-time depending on various constraints such as crew cost, crew rest, flight schedule, connecting passenger, fuel loading, and time profiles. Also, an approved user can view and select the most efficient route based on the said constraints and other flight information and even configured accordingly (see [col 17 lns 49-67 and col 18 lns 1-14] and [col 23 lns 62-67 and col 24 lns 1-10]).
Regarding claim 21, modified Westervelt in view of Gibbons and Hale teaches the ground station of claim 11, decoding the downlink aircraft communications into a message format; and wherein determining the target parameter value for the aircraft based at least in part on the parameter values extracted from the downlink ACARS message is based on the downlink aircraft communications decoded (see Hale [col 8 ln 60 thru col 9 ln 13] where a ground-based system receiving flight message downlinked from an aircraft that includes environmental information and flight plan/route information via ACARS, and the message is in any unique format specified by a user or in a standardized ground messaging format.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify optimization flight plan control through machine learning of past flight data and tail specific performance with historical data and aging of an aircraft that represents health or degradation of Westervelt in view of Gibbons by incorporating teachings of Hale such that ground-based system receives flight message, which is in any unique format specified by a user or in standardized ground messaging format, downlinked from an aircraft and trajectory predictor, updating waypoints to a flight plan, with a message constructor can send updated list of commands and flight plan/route to a flight crew to execute and follow the flight plan/route.
The motivation to receive message downlinked from an aircraft and uplink a message to a flight crew is that, as indicated by Hale, this would allow improvement of safety through having an advisory service and accepting in real-time depending on various constraints such as crew cost, crew rest, flight schedule, connecting passenger, fuel loading, and time profiles. Also, an approved user can view and select the most efficient route based on the said constraints and other flight information and even configured accordingly (see [col 17 lns 49-67 and col 18 lns 1-14] and [col 23 lns 62-67 and col 24 lns 1-10]).
11. Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under pre-35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westervelt in view of Gibbons in further view of Cachia (“Using Flight Data to support fuel savings at Transavia”, https://www.aircraftit.com/articles/using-flight-data-to-support-fuel-savings-at-transavia/).
Regarding claim 22, modified Westervelt in view of Gibbons teaches the method of claim 1,
Modified Westervelt in view of Gibbons does not teach wherein the past flight data includes at least two hundred flights of the aircraft.
However, Cachia does teach machine learning performance models are generated by using past two hundred flights of each tail number that includes flight data and weather forecasts (see [page 6/20]-[page 7/20]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify optimization flight plan control with machine learning model to predict, compare, and update to a baseline performance of Westervelt in view of Gibbons by incorporating teachings of Cachia such that machine learning model will acquire past two hundred flight data.
The motivation to have a machine learning model to acquire past two hundred flight data, as indicated by Cachia, this would allow for predictions of fuel consumption of trajectories and choose an optimum trajectory that will save fuel usage (see [page 4/20] and [page7/20]).
Regarding claim 23, modified Westervelt in view of Gibbons and Hale teaches the computing system of claim 16,
Modified Westervelt in view of Gibbons and Hale does not teach wherein the past flight data includes at least two hundred flights from the aircraft.
However, Cachia does teach machine learning performance models are generated by using past two hundred flights of each tail number that includes flight data and weather forecasts (see [page 6/20]-[page 7/20]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify optimization flight plan control with machine learning model to predict, compare, and update to a baseline performance, and uplink message of an updated flight plan to a flew crew for review of Westervelt in view of Gibbons and Hale by incorporating teachings of Cachia such that machine learning model will acquire past two hundred flight data.
The motivation to have a machine learning model to acquire past two hundred flight data, as indicated by Cachia, this would allow for predictions of fuel consumption of trajectories and choose an optimum trajectory that will save fuel usage (see [page 4/20] and [page7/20]).
Conclusion
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/MATTHIAS S WEISFELD/Examiner, Art Unit 3661