DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an amendment filed on November 26, 2025 regarding Application No. 18/662,469. Applicants amended claims 1, 12-13, and 17, canceled claims 11, 16, and 20, and added new claims 21-22. Claims 2-10, 14-15, and 18-19 are withdrawn from further considerations as being drawn to a non-elected species or sub-species. Claims 1-10, 12-15, 17-19, and 21-22 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election of Species 1 (FIG. 2), Sub-species B (FIG. 8) that correspond to claims 1, 11-13, 16-17, and 20 in the reply filed on August 15, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-10, 14-15, and 18-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to non-elected species or sub-species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of Applicants’ claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). A certified copy of the CN 202311803102.2 application filed in China on December 25, 2023 has been filed.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ amendments to claims 1, 13, and 17, cancelation of claims 11, 16, and 20, and remarks regarding claim objections (Remarks, p. 10) are acknowledged. In view of the canceled claims, the objections are moot.
Applicants arguments filed on November 26, 2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection or they are not persuasive.
In response to the argument regarding Park, “all limitations of the amended claim 1”, and obvious (Remarks, p. 11), the Office respectfully submits that Park teaches the features discussed in the rejections. For example, figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0043]-[0046] and [0062]-[0063] of Park teach: obtaining an initial data voltage value of each pixel in a display panel according to a to-be-displayed image; the display panel compensation method further comprises: determining a first compensation grayscale value of the first pixel in the first to-be-compensated region according to the first compensation voltage value; and determining a second compensation grayscale value of the second pixel in the second to-be-compensated region according to the second compensation voltage value.
In response to the argument regarding “determining a first compensation voltage value of the first pixel in the first to-be-compensated region according to a difference between the initial data voltage value of the first pixel in the first to-be-compensated region and a first target voltage value; and determining a second compensation voltage value of the second pixel in the second to-be-compensated region according to a difference between the initial data voltage value of the second pixel in the second to-be-compensated region and a second target voltage value”, initial data voltage value of each pixel, refresh rates, “the compensation is performed based on different compensation voltage values”, dynamic compensation, Park and “compensation based on differences between adjacent pixels”, and amended claim 1 and “compensation based on the difference between the initial data voltage value of a pixel and the target voltage value” (Remarks, pp. 13-14), the Office respectfully disagrees and submits that the argument is not commensurate with the rejections and the recited features are taught by Park. As noted by Applicants, Park teaches:
[0058] A compensation code corresponding to the summation result is generated (S300). The compensation code is a digital code corresponding to a voltage for compensating for an error voltage ΔV caused by crosstalk…. [T]he compensation code is added to a code corresponding to a grayscale voltage provided to each pixel to generate a compensated grayscale voltage.
[0059] The error voltage ΔV caused by crosstalk increases according to an increase in the difference between grayscale voltages provided to pixels and an increase in the number of pixels of which grayscale voltages have a large difference….
[0060]… [A]s illustrated in FIG. 4A, when a grayscale level brighter than a grayscale level to be displayed is displayed due to crosstalk, a compensation code is generated to cancel out effects of the error voltage ΔV so that a grayscale voltage corresponding to a white level may be provided to pixels. As illustrated in FIG. 4B, when a grayscale level darker than that to be displayed is displayed due to crosstalk, a compensation code is generated to cancel out effects of the error voltage ΔV so that a grayscale voltage corresponding to a white level may be provided to pixels.
See also figures 1, and 3-5B. Thus, Park teaches: determining a first compensation voltage value of the first pixel in the first to-be-compensated region according to a difference between the initial data voltage value of the first pixel in the first to-be-compensated region and a first target voltage value; and
determining a second compensation voltage value of the second pixel in the second to-be-compensated region according to a difference between the initial data voltage value of the second pixel in the second to-be-compensated region and a second target voltage value.
In response to the arguments regarding “the additional features of the previous claim 11, which have been added in claim 1”, Park, digital domain operation, “using a fixed voltage value of a single grayscale to determine the compensation grayscale value”, “process of generating the grayscale voltage” and “use of a voltage value of a single grayscale”, “determining a first compensation grayscale value of the first pixel in the first to-be-compensated region according to the first compensation voltage value and a voltage value of a single grayscale; and determining a second compensation grayscale value of the second pixel in the second to-be-compensated region according to the second compensation voltage value and the voltage value of the single grayscale, as claimed in the amended claim 1” (Remarks, pp. 15-16), the Office respectfully disagrees and/or submits that the arguments are not commensurate with the rejections and the recited features are taught and/or suggested by Park and as discussed. More specifically, as noted by Applicants, Park teaches:
[0062] Grayscale voltages compensated with the compensation code are provided to pixels of which digital codes have a difference of less than the threshold value (S400). According to an exemplary embodiment, the source drivers receive a digital code corresponding to a grayscale level to be displayed by each pixel from the timing controller and add the compensation code to the digital code. The digital code to which the compensation code is added is converted into a grayscale voltage and provided to the pixel.
[0063] According to another exemplary embodiment, the timing controller adds the compensation code to a digital code corresponding to a grayscale level to be displayed by each pixel. The timing controller provides the digital code to which the compensation code is added to the source driver, and the source driver generates a grayscale voltage corresponding to the provided digital code and provides the grayscale voltage to the pixel.
(Emphasis added). Thus, Park teaches: determining a first compensation grayscale value of the first pixel in the first to-be-compensated region according to the first compensation voltage value; and determining a second compensation grayscale value of the second pixel in the second to-be-compensated region according to the second compensation voltage value. Note that the grayscale voltage provided to the pixel corresponds to the compensation code added to the digital code and the
digital code corresponds to a grayscale level to be displayed by each pixel in Park. Also, it would have been obvious to include: the determining the first compensation grayscale value… according to the first compensation voltage value and a voltage value of a single grayscale; and the determining the second compensation grayscale value… according to the second compensation voltage value and a voltage value of a single grayscale, to determine grayscale values from voltage values. Thus, Park as modified teaches: the recited features.
In response to the argument regarding “[t]he above features of the amended claim 1”, common knowledge, technical scheme, and obvious (Remarks, p. 16), the Office respectfully disagrees and submits that the motivations for the modifications relating to the features taught and/or suggested by Park as modified are obvious, as discussed in the rejections.
In response to the arguments regarding Park, different refresh rates, “the same pixel having different initial data voltage values and determining a first (second) compensation voltage value according to a difference between the initial data voltage value and a first (second) target voltage value”, “the following features of amended claim 1”, and Park, “render obvious of all the limitations of the amended claim 1, and “allowable over Park (Remarks, pp. 16-17), the Office respectfully submits that Park as modified teaches and/or suggest the features discussed above and in the rejections.
In response to the argument regarding newly amended independent claims 13 and 17 and allowable (Remarks, p. 17), the Office respectfully refers Applicants to the discussion above and rejections.
In response to the argument regarding dependent claims 12 and 21-22 and allowable (Remarks, p. 17), the Office respectfully refers Applicants to the discussion above and rejections.
For the reasons discussed above and in the rejections, the pending claims are not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12-13, 17, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. in US 2021/0256895 A1 (hereinafter Park) in view of Fu et al. in CN 117219006 A (hereinafter Fu; an original copy and full machine translation thereof is/was provided with the Office action mailed in response to the amendment filed on November 26, 2025).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches:
A display panel compensation method (see FIG. 1), comprising (Park: FIG. 1 and “[0043]… Referring to FIG. 1, the method of driving a display according to the exemplary embodiment includes… an operation S400 of providing grayscale voltages compensated with the compensation code to the pixels….”):
obtaining an initial data voltage value of each pixel in a display panel (in FIG. 2) according to a to-be-displayed image (Park: obtaining for each pixel as claimed; FIGs. 1-3, “[0043]… Referring to FIG. 1, the method of driving a display according to the exemplary embodiment includes an operation S100 of calculating differences between digital codes corresponding to grayscale voltages each provided to pixels connected to the same data line and gate lines which are sequentially driven… and an operation S400 of providing grayscale voltages compensated with the compensation code to the pixels of which digital codes have a difference of less than the threshold value.”, [0044]-[0045], and “[0046] FIG. 3 is a diagram schematically showing a plurality of pixels connected to the plurality of gate lines GLk−3, GLk−2, . . . , and GLk+4 connected to a gate driver included in a display panel shown in FIG. 2 and the plurality of data lines DLn−3, DLn−2, . . . , and DLn+4 connected to a source driver included in the same….”);
determining a to-be-compensated region (P[n-3, k-1], P[n-2, k-1], P[n-1, k-1], and P[n, k-1], and P[n-3, k], P[n-2, k], P[n-1, k], and P[n, k] region in FIG. 3) of the display panel according to the initial data voltage value of each pixel in the display panel, wherein the to-be-compensated region comprises a first to-be-compensated region (P[n-3, k-1], P[n-2, k-1], P[n-1, k-1], and P[n, k-1] region in FIG. 3) and a second to-be-compensated region (P[n-3, k], P[n-2, k], P[n-1, k], and P[n, k] region in FIG. 3) that are adjacent to each other in a first direction (x-axis/vertical direction in FIG. 3), and an absolute value of a difference between an initial data voltage value of a first pixel (P[n-3, k-1] in FIG. 3) in the first to-be-compensated region and an initial data voltage value of a second pixel (P[n-3, k] in FIG. 3) in the second to-be-compensated region is larger than a first threshold (Park: FIGs. 1 and 3, “[0050] To solve… abnormal characteristics which come into effect due to crosstalk, a difference is calculated between digital codes corresponding to grayscale voltages each provided to pixels which are connected to the same data line but separately connected to a (k−1)th gate line and a kth gate line (S100). For example, a difference is calculated between digital codes corresponding to a grayscale voltage provided to the pixel p[n−3, k−1] connected to the (k−1)th gate line GLk−1 and a grayscale voltage provided to the pixel p[n−3, k] connected to the kth gate line GLk. Also, a difference is calculated between digital codes corresponding to a grayscale voltage provided to the pixel p[n−2, k−1] connected to the (k−1)th gate line GLk−1 and a grayscale voltage provided to the pixel p[n−2, k] connected to the kth gate line GLk…. [T]he operation of calculating differences between digital codes may be performed regarding all pixels connected to the same gate line. Also, the operation of calculating differences between digital codes may be performed regarding pixels connected to two gate lines which are sequentially driven over time.”, “[0051] For example, a difference may be calculated between digital codes corresponding to grayscale voltages provided to pixels connected to the (k−1)th gate line and the k th gate line…. As such, a difference between digital codes may be calculated regarding pixels connected to two gate lines which are sequentially driven over time.”, “[0052]… [I]n FIG. 3, grayscale voltages provided to the pixels P[n−3, k−1], P[n−2, k−1], P[n−1, k−1], and P[n, k−1] correspond to voltages for displaying the white color, and grayscale voltages provided to the pixels P[n−3, k], P[n−2, k], P[n−1, k], and P[n, k] correspond to voltages for displaying the black color. For example, when a digital code corresponding to a voltage for displaying the black color has a larger binary value than a digital code corresponding to a voltage for displaying the white color, differences between digital codes provided to the pixels P[n−3, k−1], P[n−2, k−1], P[n−1, k−1], and P[n, k−1] and the pixels P[n−3, k], P[n−2, k], P[n−1, k], and P[n, k] are calculated to obtain results of positive numbers.”, [0053], “[0054] The differences of the digital codes which are larger than the threshold value are added (S200)….”, and “[0058] A compensation code corresponding to the summation result is generated (S300). The compensation code is a digital code corresponding to a voltage for compensating for an error voltage ΔV caused by crosstalk…. [T]he compensation code is added to a code corresponding to a grayscale voltage provided to each pixel to generate a compensated grayscale voltage.”, see also FIGs. 4A-5B); and
determining a first compensation voltage value of the first pixel in the first to-be-compensated region according to a difference between the initial data voltage value of the first pixel in the first to-be-compensated region and a first target voltage value (Park: see FIGs. 1 and 3-4B, “[0058] A compensation code corresponding to the summation result is generated (S300). The compensation code is a digital code corresponding to a voltage for compensating for an error voltage ΔV caused by crosstalk…. [T]he compensation code is added to a code corresponding to a grayscale voltage provided to each pixel to generate a compensated grayscale voltage.”, “[0059] The error voltage ΔV caused by crosstalk increases according to an increase in the difference between grayscale voltages provided to pixels and an increase in the number of pixels of which grayscale voltages have a large difference….”, and “[0060]… [A]s illustrated in FIG. 4A, when a grayscale level brighter than a grayscale level to be displayed is displayed due to crosstalk, a compensation code is generated to cancel out effects of the error voltage ΔV so that a grayscale voltage corresponding to a white level may be provided to pixels. As illustrated in FIG. 4B, when a grayscale level darker than that to be displayed is displayed due to crosstalk, a compensation code is generated to cancel out effects of the error voltage ΔV so that a grayscale voltage corresponding to a white level may be provided to pixels.”, see also FIGs. 5A-B); and
determining a second compensation voltage value of the second pixel in the second to-be-compensated region according to a difference between the initial data voltage value of the second pixel in the second to-be-compensated region and a second target voltage value (Park: see FIGs. 1 and 3-4B, “[0058] A compensation code corresponding to the summation result is generated (S300). The compensation code is a digital code corresponding to a voltage for compensating for an error voltage ΔV caused by crosstalk…. [T]he compensation code is added to a code corresponding to a grayscale voltage provided to each pixel to generate a compensated grayscale voltage.”, “[0059] The error voltage ΔV caused by crosstalk increases according to an increase in the difference between grayscale voltages provided to pixels and an increase in the number of pixels of which grayscale voltages have a large difference….”, and “[0060]… [A]s illustrated in FIG. 4A, when a grayscale level brighter than a grayscale level to be displayed is displayed due to crosstalk, a compensation code is generated to cancel out effects of the error voltage ΔV so that a grayscale voltage corresponding to a white level may be provided to pixels. As illustrated in FIG. 4B, when a grayscale level darker than that to be displayed is displayed due to crosstalk, a compensation code is generated to cancel out effects of the error voltage ΔV so that a grayscale voltage corresponding to a white level may be provided to pixels.”, see also FIGs. 5A-B);
the display panel compensation method further comprises:
determining a first compensation grayscale value of the first pixel in the first to-be-compensated region according to the first compensation voltage value (Park: FIG. 1, “[0062] Grayscale voltages compensated with the compensation code are provided to pixels…. According to an exemplary embodiment, the source drivers receive a digital code corresponding to a grayscale level to be displayed by each pixel from the timing controller and add the compensation code to the digital code. The digital code to which the compensation code is added is converted into a grayscale voltage and provided to the pixel.”, and “[0063] According to another exemplary embodiment, the timing controller adds the compensation code to a digital code corresponding to a grayscale level to be displayed by each pixel. The timing controller provides the digital code to which the compensation code is added to the source driver, and the source driver generates a grayscale voltage corresponding to the provided digital code and provides the grayscale voltage to the pixel.”); and
determining a second compensation grayscale value of the second pixel in the second to-be-compensated region according to the second compensation voltage value (Park: FIG. 1, “[0062] Grayscale voltages compensated with the compensation code are provided to pixels…. According to an exemplary embodiment, the source drivers receive a digital code corresponding to a grayscale level to be displayed by each pixel from the timing controller and add the compensation code to the digital code. The digital code to which the compensation code is added is converted into a grayscale voltage and provided to the pixel.”, and “[0063] According to another exemplary embodiment, the timing controller adds the compensation code to a digital code corresponding to a grayscale level to be displayed by each pixel. The timing controller provides the digital code to which the compensation code is added to the source driver, and the source driver generates a grayscale voltage corresponding to the provided digital code and provides the grayscale voltage to the pixel.”).
However, it is noted that Park does not teach:
wherein at different refresh rates, the same pixel has different initial data voltage values.
Fu teaches:
wherein at different refresh rates, a same pixel has different initial data voltage values (Fu: p. 10, ¶ 3 (“… [W]hen the… display panel displays different refresh frame rates, the pixel charging time is different, and pixel voltage differences are prone to occur…..”)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Fu, such that Park as modified teaches: obtaining an initial data voltage value of each pixel in a display panel according to a to-be-displayed image (as taught by Park), wherein at different refresh rates, the same pixel has different initial data voltage values (initial data voltage value of each pixel of Park combined with the different refresh rates, same pixel, and different initial data voltages of Fu), to display images at different refresh rates and since it is well-known in the art. See also the Specification as filed (“[0032] In the related art, compensation can only be performed based on the same fixed value. When the refresh rate is switched, compensation capability may result in over-compensation or under-compensation, and corresponding satisfactory compensation cannot be provided.” and “[0047] Charging time of data voltages of the pixel is different at different refresh rates. Therefore, at the different refresh rates, the same pixel may have different initial data voltage values.”).
However, it is noted that Park as modified by Fu, as particularly cited, does not teach:
the determining the first compensation grayscale value… according to the first compensation voltage value and a voltage value of a single grayscale; and
the determining the second compensation grayscale value… according to the second compensation voltage value and a voltage value of a single grayscale,
but which would have been obvious to include, such that Park as modified teaches: the display panel compensation method further comprises: determining a first compensation grayscale value of the first pixel in the first to-be-compensated region according to the first compensation voltage value and a voltage value of a single grayscale; and determining a second compensation grayscale value of the second pixel in the second to-be-compensated region according to the second compensation voltage value and the voltage value of the single grayscale, to determine grayscale values from voltage values (see also Response to Arguments above).
Regarding claim 12, Park as modified by Fu teaches:
The display panel compensation method according to claim 1, wherein the voltage value of the single grayscale is V0, and V0 = (Vmax – Vmin)/Gmax (it would have been obvious to include: the claimed features, to determine grayscale values from voltage values);
wherein Gmax denotes a maximum grayscale value of the display panel, Vmax denotes a maximum data voltage value of the display panel, and Vmin denotes a minimum data voltage value of the display panel (it would have been obvious to include: the claimed features, to determine grayscale values from voltage values).
Regarding claim 13, Park is modified in the same manner and for the same reasons set forth in the discussion of claim 1 above. Thus, claim 13 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 1 above.
However, it is noted that claim 13 differs from claim 1 above in that the following are recited:
An electronic device, comprising:
a processor and a memory that stores a computer program instruction, wherein when executing the computer program instruction, the processor implements a display panel compensation method.
Park as modified by Fu teaches:
An electronic device, comprising (Park: see FIG. 2 and “[0003] Various electronic devices including cellular phones, tablet computers, etc. have a display unit for displaying information to a user. The display unit includes a display panel and circuitry… for driving the display panel.”, see also [0002], [0004], and [0044]):.
However, it is noted that Park as modified by Fu, as particularly cited, does not teach:
a processor and a memory that stores a computer program instruction, wherein when executing the computer program instruction, the processor implements a display panel compensation method,
but which would have been obvious to include, such that Park as modified teaches: a processor and a memory that stores a computer program instruction, wherein when executing the computer program instruction, the processor implements a display panel compensation method (e.g., a processor, memory, and computer program instruction of a tablet computer; Park: see [0003]); wherein the display panel compensation method comprises:, to implement a display panel compensation method.
Regarding claim 17, this claim is rejected under similar rationale as claims 1 and 13 above.
However, it is noted that claim 17 differs from claims 1 and 13 above in that the following are recited:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured to store a computer program, wherein when executing the computer program, a processor implements a display panel compensation method,
that is not taught by Park as modified by Fu, as particularly cited, but which would have been obvious to include, such that Park as modified teaches: the claimed features (e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, computer program, and processor of a tablet computer; Park: see [0003]), to implement a display panel compensation method.
Regarding claim 21, this claim is rejected under similar rationale as claim 12 above.
Regarding claim 22, this claim is rejected under similar rationale as claim 12 above.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendments necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K. K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 1/29/26