DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Boucke et al (US Publication 20200063443).
Boucke discloses a multi-purpose tile system for a floor tile (abs). The tile comprises a base layer 102 (substrate layer) provided with coupling parts 103 and 104 (paragraph 72). The first coupling part 103 reads on applicant’s connecting portion and the second coupling part 104 reads on applicant’s overlapping portion formed on the other side and corresponds to the shape of the connecting portion 103 (figure 1). The tile further comprises a substrate layer (surface layer) affixed directly or indirectly onto the base layer (paragraph 16).
As to claim 2, the substrate layer can comprise a ceramic bead coating (paragraph 17) or formed of ceramic fibers (paragraph 14) further the uppers surface is formed to look like a stone or fibrous design (paragraph 17).
As to claim 3, the base layer can be formed of polymers (plastic material) or alternative can be wood or stone powder (paragraphs 95).
As to claim 4, the substrate layer can be affixed to the substrate layer by an adhesive layer (paragraph 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boucke et al (US Publication 20200063443) in view of Pacione (US Publication 20200340253).
As to claims 5-7, Boucke anticipates claim 1 for the reasons noted above, however is silent to the specifics of the overlapping portion and connecting portion.
Pacione discloses a tile system for covering a surface wherein the tile comprises a connector comprising a first and complementary second component (abs). As seen in the figures Pacione discloses multiple different embodiments for the first and second component wherein the first component can comprise a first portion as a tenon and the second portion as groove, wherein the lateral recess is formed in an inner side of the overlapping portion and the groove has first and second vertical recesses and protrusions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Boucke and used the tongue and groove connections as suggested by Pacione as it would be a suitable alternative and provide good connection between the tiles. See MPEP 2144.06
As to claim 8, Boucke anticipates claim 1 for the reasons noted above, however is silent to a hard or soft foam layer on the bottom of the substrate layer. Boucke further discloses a backing material affixed to the bottom of the base layer that has sound-dampening properties (paragraphs 19 and 20).
Pacione discloses a backing material such as foam can be used when the tile is installed on the floor (paragraph 320).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Boucke and used a foam material as the backing layer of Boucke as suggested by Pacione as it would be a suitable alternative as the foam material is known to provide sound dampening properties. See MPEP 2144.06.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER M POLLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785