DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s amendment dated January 6, 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “flight control inceptor” in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Peters et al., U.S. Patent 12,422,866 B2 (2025).
As to claim 1, Peters et al. discloses a digital surface position sensor, the digital surface position sensor comprising:
a position sensor adapted to be coupled to an aircraft flight control surface, the position sensor configured to sense a position of the aircraft flight control surface and supply a surface position signal representative thereof (Column 6, Lines 20-46);
an adaptable hardware input that provides an identification signal that identifies the aircraft flight control surface to which the position sensor is coupled (Column 7, Lines 3-40); and
a processing circuit coupled to receive the surface position signal and the identification signal, and adapted to receive flight control surface actuator position command data indicative of a commanded position of a flight control surface actuator, the processing circuit configured to:
(i) process the surface position signal and the identification signal to generate sensor actuator position data representative of flight control surface actuator position,
(ii) process the sensor actuator position data and the flight control surface actuator position command data to determine flight control surface actuator position error, and (iii) generate a fault signal when the flight control surface actuator position error exceeds a predetermined threshold (Column 6, Line 47 – Column 7, Line 2).
As to claim 2, Peters et al. discloses the digital surface position sensor of claim 1, and further discloses wherein:
the processing circuit is further adapted to receive actuator controller position data from an actuator controller, the actuator controller position data indicative of actual flight control surface actuator position (Column 6, Lines 20-46);
the processing circuit is further configured to process the sensor actuator position data and the actuator controller position data to determine an actuator-to-surface position error (Column 6, Lines 20-46); and
generate a disconnection fault signal when the actuator-to-surface position error exceeds a predetermined threshold (Column 6, Line 47 – Column 7, Line 2).
As to claim 3, Peters et al. discloses the digital surface position sensor of claim 1, and further discloses wherein:
the processing circuit implements a conversion algorithm to generate the sensor actuator position data (Column 6, Lines 20-46); and
the conversion algorithm is specific to the aircraft flight control surface to which the position sensor is coupled (Column 6, Lines 20-46).
As to claim 4, Peters et al. discloses the digital surface position sensor of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the processing circuit is further configured to:
implement a digital filter, the digital filter operable to filter the flight control surface actuator position command data to thereby supply filtered flight control surface actuator position command data; and process the sensor actuator position data and the filtered flight control surface actuator position command data to determine the flight control surface actuator position error (Column 4, Line 60 – Column 5, Line 8, Column 5, Lines 24-46).
As to claim 5, Peters et al. discloses the digital surface position sensor of claim 4, and further discloses wherein the digital filter is adapted to receive a reset signal (Column 5, Lines 24-46).
As to claim 6, Peters et al. discloses the digital surface position sensor of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the processing circuit is further configured to implement a fault persistence time, the fault persistence time corresponding to a predetermined amount of time to wait before generating the fault signal when the actual actuator position exceeds the predetermined threshold (Column 8, Lines 46-67).
Claims 8-13 are rejected for the same reasoning as the rejection of claims 1-6.
Claims 15-17 are rejected for the same reasoning as the rejection of claims 1-3.
As to claim 18, Peters et al. discloses the system of claim 15, and further discloses wherein:
the flight control surface actuator controller is further configured to implement a validation and selection logic scheme whereby, upon receipt of the flight control surface actuator position command data, the flight control surface actuator controller validates and selects the flight control surface actuator position command data from which to generate the flight control surface actuator commands (Column 9, Lines 1-15); and
the processing circuit implements the validation and selection logic scheme (Column 9, Lines 1-15).
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasoning as the rejection of claims 4 and 5.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reasoning as the rejection of claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peters et al., U.S. Patent 12,422,866 B2 (2025).
As to claim 7, Peters et al. discloses the digital surface position sensor of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the processing circuit is further configured to process the position signal and the identification signal and generate (i) a first digital position signal representative of the position of, and the identification of, the aircraft flight control surface and (ii) and independent second digital signal representative of the position of, and the identification of, the aircraft flight control surface (Column 7, Lines 3-40, repeating the second digital signal).
In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of claim 1, as disclosed by Peters et al., with the use of an independent second digital signal, as claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide a second signal for redundancy and comparison.
Claim 14 is rejected for the same reasoning as the rejection of claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued Peters et al. did not even remotely suggest the limitations of the independent claims. Applicant argued the position sensors disclosed by Peters et al. were not the same as the position sensor adapted to be coupled to an aircraft flight control surface of claim 1 of the present invention. Peters et al. discloses a control loop that may be a position loop (Column 6, Line 5) to utilize hardware devices associated with individual sensor inputs (Column 6, Line 45). This is interpreted as position sensors used to sense a position and correct the position according to the flight instructions. Applicant argues the Peters et al. description of individual sensors for position loop correction are insufficient to disclose “position sensor adapted to be coupled to an aircraft flight control surface”. The limitation of claim 1 is broad in merely claiming a “position sensor”, which is disclosed by Peters et al. in reciting an individual sensor and hardware to measure the position and correct it in the position loop.
Applicant did not respond to the interpretation of claim limitation “flight control inceptor” under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL BERNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3666
/MICHAEL A BERNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666