DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 84, Applicant argues that Boulay does not teach “an apparatus configured to correct an orientation of a product conveying within a plurality of products on a conveyor along a conveying direction”. Boulay teaches “When dealing with cartons of varying widths, it is not always possible to deliver the cartons to the machine in properly oriented relation. To this end, each belt assembly 14 is provided with a carton orienting mechanism 119 adjacent the receiving end thereof. The carton orienting mechanisms cooperate together, when an improperly oriented carton is fed to the machine, to move such a carton into proper oriented relation prior to its actual movement through the machine by the belt assemblies” 8 L33-45. Applicant does not provide structural claim limitation to overcome the cited prior art.
For the foregoing reasons, the claims stand rejected.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 84, 91-92, 94-95, 98, and 100 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boulay U.S. Patent No. 3,595,369.
Claim 84, Boulay teaches an apparatus 10 configured to correct an orientation of a product conveying within a plurality of products on a conveyor along a conveying direction C5 L50-75.
Claim 91, Boulay teaches an arm 121 with an edge notch between terminal ends of the arm 121 Fig. 8.
Claim 92, Boulay teaches a sensor S1 adapted to identify a condition of the product C17 L3-10.
Claim 94, Boulay teaches a first sensor and a second sensor S1,2 positioned at a distance from each other C17 L3-10.
Claim 95, Boulay teaches a device 119 adapted to at least temporarily restrict conveyance of the product along the conveying direction C21 L1-20.
Claim 98, Boulay teaches a first sensor S1 designed to sense a first condition of the product and output a first signal in a response to sensing the first condition; and a second sensor S2 designed to sense a second condition of the product and output a second signal in a response to sensing the second condition of the product C17 L3-40.
Claim 100, Boulay teaches a conveyor Fig. 2 adapted to convey the plurality of products Abstract.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 103 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schroder U.S. Patent No. 11,685,608.
Claim 103, Schroder teaches an apparatus Fig. 1, comprising: a sensor 43 adapted to sense an orientation of an upper portion of a product 11 conveyable within a plurality of products 11 on a conveyor 13 along a conveyor direction R; a first device 39 configured to correct the orientation of the product 11 at least on a response to sensing the orientation of the upper portion C11 L49-55; and a second device 19 adapted to at least temporarily clamp the product 11, the second device 19 at least including a fixed component 89, a movable component 27 and a powered actuator 35 in connection with the movable component Abstract C13 L5-20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 104 is allowed.
Claims 85-90, 93, 96-97, 99, 101-102 and 105 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAVEL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651
KS