DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C. 101 Abstract Idea in regards to claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-12 and 14-20 have been considered, however are not found to be persuasive due to the following reasons. Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments because Under Alice/Mayo Step 2A, the claims are directed to an abstract idea. The claims recites mental processes and mathematical concepts: receiving information, generating candidate answers, organizing the answer into clusters, calculating a calibration score, comparing that score to a threshold, and deciding whether to output an answer or ask the user to rephrase. These are acts of collecting, analyzing, classifying, scoring, and making a rule-based decision. The “calibration score”, “clusters,” “N sample responses,” and “threshold” are mathematical or logical concepts. The processor and LLM merely automate those abstract steps and do not improve how a computer or LLM operates.
Under Alice/Mayo Step 2B, the claims do not add significantly more than the abstract idea. The claims use only generic computer components, namely “at least one processor” and an LLM, to perform routine data processing steps. It does not recite a new LLM architecture, a new calibration algorithm, or any technical change to the model. Repeating the LLM input N times, grouping responses, calculating a score, and comparing that score to a threshold are ordinary uses of computer logic and mathematics. Thus, the claims merely applies the abstract idea on generic computer technology and lacks an inventive concept.
The claims remain ineligible even under the newer Ex parte Desjardins guidance. Desjardins supports eligibility where the claims improve the machine learning model or computer system itself, such as by improving model operation, reducing storage, reducing complexity, or preserving performance. The claims do not do that. They do not modify the LLM, improve its internal operation, reduce computing resources, or solve a technical problem in machine learning. Instead, they use an existing LLM as a tool to generate text and applies a mental/mathematical confidence value to decide what message to output. Therefore, claims still stand rejected.
Applicant's arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C. 103 in regards to claims 1, 11 and 20 have been considered, however are not found to be persuasive due to the following reasons. Wang in view of Mirkovic teach all the newly added limitations. See detailed rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 recites the limitation "The apparatus of claim 1". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1, 11 and 20 are directed to an abstract idea. These claims are an abstract idea because it is essentially: (1) collect information (get a query and generate multiple outputs), (2) analyze/organize the information (cluster the outputs), (3) compute a score (calibration score), and (4) make a decision using a rule/threshold (answer vs. ask user to rephrase). Those are “information processing” steps that fall within the USPTO’s recognized groupings of abstract ideas such as mental processes and mathematical concepts (e.g., scoring, comparing, and selecting).
The claims does not tie the abstract idea to a practical technological application. It does not claim a specific improvement to computer functionality. It broadly uses an LLM as a tool and then applies a generic decision rule to decide whether to output a response or ask the user to rephrase, more managing the content of information presented to a user than improving a technical system.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims are (i) mere instructions to implement the idea on a computer, and/or (ii) recitation of generic computer structure that serves to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry. Viewed as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, the claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. There is further no improvement to the computing device.
Dependent claims 2, 4-9, 12 and 14-19 further recite an abstract idea performable by a human and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea as they do not provide steps other than what is conventionally known in information processing.
Claims 2 and 12: organizing information (a mental/process-of-sorting concept) with no technical improvement.
Claims 4 and 14: a mathematical/statistical evaluation of grouped data.
Claims 5 and 15: a straightforward mathematical calculation (normalization) applied to the abstract scoring idea.
Claims 6 and 16: just measuring and evaluating data group sizes—an abstract information-analysis step.
Claims 7 and 17: a basic math operation applied to the abstract scoring concept.
Claims 8 and 18: a mathematical formula applied to data group counts, without adding a concrete technological improvement.
Claims 9 and 19: just a field-of-use limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, 11-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (“Self-Consistency Boosts Calibration for Math Reasoning” Mar. 14, 2024, hereinafter Wang24) in view Mirkovic et al. (US 2006/0271364).
Claims 1, 11 and 20,
Wang24 teaches a method performed by at least one processor, the method comprising: receiving a natural language input query ([1.] Wang states: “Self-consistency performs clustering over multiple LLM samples before picking one from the largest cluster as the response to each input query”; Wang also teaches “input questions”);
generating N sample responses based on the natural language input query by inputting the natural language input query into a large language model (LLM) in a pre-calibrated state N number of times, N being an integer greater than zero ([1.] Wang states: “LLMs lack adequate calibration out of the box.”; [2.] “Wang et al. (2022) initially sample various reasoning paths r1…rN from the LLM given input x with Chain-of-Thought (CoT) prompting”; [4.1] Wang further states: “We use nucleus sampling to obtain N = 16 samples by default for each instance”);
organizing the N sample responses into one or more clusters ([1.] Wang states: “Self-consistency performs clustering over multiple LLM samples”; [3.] Wang further states: “After performing self-consistency on input x using LLMθ, we obtain a set of clusters C = {c1, …, c|C|} with each cluster ci comprising ni samples responses with the same answers.”);
performing a calibration process on the one or more clusters in which the calibration process determines a calibration score ([3.] Wang states: “We design the following strategies, tailored to the characteristics of these clusters, to estimate the confidence of LLMθ”; [3.] [Eq. 3] Wang states: “Cluster Size: the number of samples (e.g. ni) within a specific cluster (e.g. ci). Again, we compute its proportion relative to the total sample size to normalize the score into the range [0, 1]”; FCS(x,θ) = ni/N); and
outputting a response to the natural language input query based on the calibration process ([1.] Wang states: “Self-consistency performs clustering over multiple LLM samples before picking one from the largest cluster as the response to each input query”),
the outputted response is one of the N sample responses ([2.] [Eq. 1] Wang teaches “Then, the answers a1 …, aN are extracted from the paths, and the most consistent answer … is selected as final answer a”; see eq. 1; [1.] Wang also states: “picking one from the largest cluster as the response to each input query”),
that is entered into the LLM another N number of times to calibrate the LLM ([4.1] Wang teaches “We use nucleus sampling to obtain N = 16 samples by default for each instance”; “Out methods are founded on the principle of self-consistency, which relies on sampling multiple times for prediction”; [1.] Wang also teaches handling low confidence by “keep resampling until a confident response is produced”).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Wang24 does not explicitly teach wherein based on a determination the calibration score is greater than or equal to a threshold, and wherein based on a determination the calibration score is less than the threshold, the outputted response is an output requesting a user to rephrase the natural language input query.
Mirkovic teaches wherein based on a determination the calibration score is greater than or equal to a threshold ([0142] Mirkovic states: “Confidence thresholds (upper and lower bounds) set by the dialogue designer specify the levels at which a candidate move is rejected, requires explicit confirmation by the user, or is accepted”; Mirkovic further states: “In 1408 it is determined whether the highest candidate move score is above the high threshold, T1. If it is, then the move candidate move can simply be accepted”; see Fig. 14), and
wherein based on a determination the calibration score is less than the threshold ([0142] Mirkovic teaches “If the highest score is below T2, then the candidate move or moves are taken as a failure of interpretation, and the user is asked for clarification”; see Fig. 14),
the outputted response is an output requesting a user to rephrase the natural language input query ([0121] Mirkovic states: “If the confidence is low, either there is no match from that move and the system returns a general ‘did-not-understand’ type response”; [0122] Mirkovic further states: “This help feature produces a node specific help message or hint for the user like ‘if you want to play something, try saying something like: play a Beatles song”; Wang also states: “in this case it can help to give the user a specific hint how to rephrase his request rather than provide a general response to the user”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Wang24 with teachings of Mirkovic by modifying the self-consistency boosts calibration for math reasonings as taught by Wang24 to include wherein based on a determination the calibration score is greater than or equal to a threshold, and wherein based on a determination the calibration score is less than the threshold, the outputted response is an output requesting a user to rephrase the natural language input query as taught by Mirkovic for the benefit of resolution preventing noun-phrases from being properly resolved until the appropriate device has been determined ([0006] Mirkovic).
Claims 2 and 12,
Wang24 further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the organizing the N sample responses into the one or more clusters comprises organizing each sample response having a same answer into a same cluster ([1] [3] obtaining a set of cluster with each c comprising n sampled responses with the same answer).
Claims 4 and 14,
Wang24 further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the calibration process comprises determining a calibration score based on a number of clusters ([3] obtain a set of cluster C1-c with each cluster Ci comprising ni sampled responses with the same answers; the characteristics of these clusters are to estimate the confidence of LLM).
Claims 5 and 15,
Wang24 further teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the calibration score is normalized based on dividing the number of clusters by N ([3] divide the cluster number by the sample size N to normalize the score into the range [0,1]).
Claims 6 and 16,
Wang24 further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the calibration process comprises determining a calibration score based on a cluster size of each of the one or more clusters ([3] three different ways to calibrate a set of cluster; cluster number, cluster size (the number of samples within a specific cluster; computing a proportion relative to the total sample size to normalize the score range), pairwise comparison)).
Claims 7 and 17,
Wang24 further teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein the cluster size of each of the one or more clusters is normalized by dividing each of the one or more clusters by N ([3] divide the cluster number by the sample size N to normalize the score into the range [0,1]).
Claims 8 and 18,
Wang24 further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the calibration process comprises, for each cluster: determining a cluster size of each cluster from the one or more clusters ([3] cluster size), and
determining, for each cluster, the calibration score based on a product of (i) the cluster size of a respective cluster divided by a sum of the cluster size of the respective cluster and the cluster size of a first cluster other than the respective cluster with (ii) the cluster size of the respective cluster divided by a sum of the cluster size of the respective cluster and the cluster size of a second cluster other than the respective cluster ([3] [eq. 3] ni is the number of samples; N is the normalized score; Fcs(x,0)=ni/N).
Claim 9,
Wang24 the method of claim 1, wherein the input query is a word math problem ([Abstract] math reasoning tasks).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Weissenberger et al. (US 2024/0144192) – Some implementations process structured calendar data of an electronic calendar for a first user, to generate a natural language representation of the structured calendar data. Versions of those implementations further, in response to receiving a query determined to be relevant to the electronic calendar, prime a large language model (LLM) using a priming input (e.g., process the priming input using the LLM), where the priming input is based on the natural language representation of the structured calendar data. Following priming of the LLM using the priming input, some of those versions process, using the LLM, query input that is based on the query, to generate a LLM output and determine, based on the LLM output, a response to the query. The response can include a natural language response that can be rendered.
SHREYANS A. PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2653
/SHREYANS A PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2659