Claims 1-7, 9-16 are presented. Claims 18-20 is/are withdrawn from examination.
Amendments of 09/22/2026 are entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in Remarks 09/22/2026 have been fully considered but are in part moot in view of a new ground of rejection with reference Huang-Fu (US 2020/0359295).
With respect to Applicant’s arguments that Matolia does not disclose any stored mapping information that indicates a relationship among the slices, the RATs, and the SUPIs, or determining a RAT from such mapping:
The examine respectfully disagrees.
The argument treats Matolia as if it was the anticipating reference for the entire mapping information as claimed. However Matolia is in a combination with Hui to address a sub-piece of the mapping information that Hui already discloses. As discussed in the previous Action, Hui already discloses a mapping of SIM (SUPI) to slices (NSSAI). Applicant admitted such mapping exist but goes on to also alleges Hui does not disclose a mapping, as such self-contradictory (i.e. a mapping is expressed by data, therefore mapping data). Matolia discloses a multi-SIM device wherein a device is configured with a first SIM tied to a first network, and a second SIM tied to a second network (i.e. thus having data that expresses such association), and initiates network connection based on an appropriate SIM. Thus Matolia discloses the UE to connect to network based on evaluation of such association data (mapping data). Matolia is incorporated to supply this missing piece to Hui, and thus arriving at the claimed invention.
Furthermore, Applicant merely recites “mapping information” in general sense without detailing any specific structures and how exactly they are used. The ambiguity is further compounded by the conceptual/functional language (i.e. indicating relationship) that describes an intended effect/result without telling the audience as to how exactly such indications are achieved and “based on” which loosely indicates a basic level of consultation and not adequately describing how they are players in determining the output. Therefore, so long Hui/Matolia in combination discloses some internal association data with equivalent functionality, i.e. allowing the UE to base on to perform route selection, they meets the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01.
Specifically:
Claims 2 and 10 are amended to recite “receiving a response message indicating one of a rejection or an acceptance of 1) the one or more services or one or more the slices and 2) the mapping information”.
In other words, the amendment now specify the response message from the network includes a rejection/acceptance of the mapping information. This implies the current serving base station has knowledge of the specific mapping information of the instant UE, and somehow determines to reject such mapping information.
However, in the claimed process, the UE only invokes the mapping information internally as routing selection rules. UE never sends this specific mapping information in its application service request in the claim. Therefore, there exist a gap in the process as claimed, i.e. namely one or more essential step(s) that explain how the base station has the knowledge of the mapping information that the UE only uses internally and never relays it to the bae station. For purpose of examination, the examiner will perform best attempt at BRI until further clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-10, 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui et al. (WO 2021/258287) – IDS entry of record - in view of Matolia et al. (US 2023/0308855) and in further view of Huang-Fu (US 2020/0359295).
As to claim 1:
Hui discloses:
A method for accessing one or more services by a User Equipment (UE) in a multi-Radio Access Technology (multi-RAT) network (See abstract, ¶0020, 0021, 0026, accessing one or more service of a multi-SIM UE in multi-RAT network environment), the method comprising:
receiving, from one or more applications associated with the UE, a request to access one or more services or one or more slices within the multi-RAT network; (¶0089-0091, 0105, receiving a request including an application identifier to access associated service /setup, establish, or assign a PDU session with a network for the recently launched application )
based on the received request and mapping information, determining one or more RATs or one or more Subscription Permanent Identifiers (SUPIs), wherein the mapping information indicates a relationship between a plurality of slices and at least one of a plurality of RATs associated with one or more networks within the multi-RAT network and a plurality of SUPIs stored at the UE;
(See ¶0106-0110, based on the application identifier and the request, as well as analysis of association of each of the plurality of SIMs (each identified by a SIM identifier, which is SUPIs in 5G context), with their respective NSSAI, i.e. each SIM is mapped to a plurality of allowed NSSAIs, and the UE determines whether the requested application’s data matches any of the allowed NSSAIs, thereby determining the particular SIM as the DSS SIM in response to the matching with the allowed NSSAI that supports the preferred services. The device also determines a preferred wireless communication service per ¶0107, such as URLLC, eMBB, mmW etc. The association with respect to SIMs and NSSAIs are stored locally in the UE)
and based on the determined one or more RATs, and the one or more SUPIs to access the requested the one or more services or the one or more slices, establishing a connection with the one or more networks within the multi-RAT network. (See ¶0109-0111, based on the determined SIM to access the requested one or more services, establishing a session with a network node relevant to the NSSAI in the multi-RAT network environment)
Hui discloses a mapping between SIM and NSSAIs, however does not disclose RATs associated with one or more networks within the multi-RAT network in the mapping with the slices and the SIMs.
Matolia, in a related field of managing connections in a multi-RAT network, discloses system/method for establishing connection using appropriate SIMs and slices for a particular service in a multi-RAT network for a multi-SIM device, wherein each SIM is associated with a set of allowed network slices mapped to corresponding services (See Abstract, Fig. 7, ¶0050) and wherein a first SIM is associated with a first network, i.e. cellular and a second SIM is associated with a data second network. In consideration of the invoked application and slices associated with each SIM, the UE initiates a connection to the determined preferred network in the multi-RAT network (See ¶0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the mapping of slices and SIMs in the system of Hui to incorporate RATs associated with one or more networks within the multi-RAT network in the mapping with the slices and the SIMs. As both Hui and Matolia share the same goal of adaptive connection establishment in consideration of SIMs and application, this RAT-adaptive approach of establishing connection advantageously allow for a dynamic RAT selection while avoiding cases of unavailable networks, resulting in unnecessary delay (See Matolia, ¶0004).
Except Hui and Matolia do not explicitly focus on how such mapping information is received, namely “wherein the mapping information is pre-configured by a network operator and stored in the memory of the UE.
Huang-Fu, in a related field of connection route selection management (Abstract, Fig. 2), discloses such a similar mapping information, namely the URSP policy mapping table with NSSAI associated with one or more DNN, PDU type, preferred RAT access and matching SUPI (See Table 1, Table 2, ¶0031, 0036-0038, 0024), which is used as route selection rule for when the UE establishes a connection/session with a network. Specifically, this mapping information is pre-configured at the UE by the home PLMN in stored in a non-volatile memory together with the associated/matching SUPI from a SIM.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that mapping information used for session establishment in Hui and Matolia can be pre-configured by a network operator and stored in the memory of the UE in view of Huang-Fu’s teaching. Hui and Matolia both disclose UE route selection scheme, wherein UE establishing connection based on evaluation of mapping information of preferred network slices, RATs and SUPIs accessible to UE at the time of initiating connection. Therefore, claimed process can operate irrespective of when/how the mapping is received, so long as the mapping information is accessible to the UE at the time of establishing a connection. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had the mapping information is pre-configured by a network operator and stored in the memory of the UE to the very same and predictable outcome and result of the claimed process. Furthermore, this implementation carries an advantage that the UE already and would always have a default route selection rule set to use or fall back to in case the signaled URSP is unavailable or otherwise rejected (i.e. not matching the SUPI).
As to claim 9:
Hui discloses:
A User Equipment (UE) to access one or more services in a multi-Radio Access Technology (multi-RAT) network (See abstract, ¶0020, 0021, 0026, accessing one or more service of a multi-SIM UE in multi-RAT network environment), the UE comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 4, UE structure with processor/memory) configured to:
receive, from one or more applications associated with the UE, a request to access one or more services or one or more slices within the multi-RAT network; (¶0089-0091, 0105, receiving a request including an application identifier to access associated service /setup, establish, or assign a PDU session with a network for the recently launched application )
based on the received request and mapping information, determine one or more RATs or one or more Subscription Permanent Identifiers (SUPIs), wherein the mapping information indicates a relationship between a plurality of slices and at least one of a plurality of RATs associated with one or more networks within the multi-RAT network and a plurality of SUPIs stored at the UE;
(See ¶0106-0110, based on the application identifier and the request, as well as analysis of association of each of the plurality of SIMs (each identified by a SIM identifier, which is SUPIs in 5G context), with their respective NSSAI, i.e. each SIM is mapped to a plurality of allowed NSSAIs, and the UE determines whether the requested application’s data matches any of the allowed NSSAIs, thereby determining the particular SIM as the DSS SIM in response to the matching with the allowed NSSAI that supports the preferred services. The device also determines a preferred wireless communication service per ¶0107, such as URLLC, eMBB, mmW etc. The association with respect to SIMs and NSSAIs are stored locally in the UE)
and based on the determined one or more RATs, and the one or more SUPIs to access the requested the one or more services or the one or more slices, establish connection with the one or more networks within the multi-RAT network. (See ¶0109-0111, based on the determined SIM to access the requested one or more services, establishing a session with a network node relevant to the NSSAI in the multi-RAT network environment)
Hui discloses a mapping between SIM and NSSAIs, however does not disclose RATs associated with one or more networks within the multi-RAT network in the mapping with the slices and the SIMs.
Matolia, in a related field of managing connections in a multi-RAT network, discloses system/method for establishing connection using appropriate SIMs and slices for a particular service in a multi-RAT network for a multi-SIM device, wherein each SIM is associated with a set of allowed network slices mapped to corresponding services (See Abstract, Fig. 7, ¶0050) and wherein a first SIM is associated with a first network, i.e. cellular and a second SIM is associated with a data second network. In consideration of the invoked application and slices associated with each SIM, the UE initiates a connection to the determined preferred network in the multi-RAT network (See ¶0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the mapping of slices and SIMs in the system of Hui to incorporate RATs associated with one or more networks within the multi-RAT network in the mapping with the slices and the SIMs. As both Hui and Matolia share the same goal of adaptive connection establishment in consideration of SIMs and application, this RAT-adaptive approach of establishing connection advantageously allow for a dynamic RAT selection while avoiding cases of unavailable networks, resulting in unnecessary delay (See Matolia, ¶0004).
Except Hui and Matolia do not explicitly focus on how such mapping information is received, namely “wherein the mapping information is pre-configured by a network operator and stored in the memory of the UE.
Huang-Fu, in a related field of connection route selection management (Abstract, Fig. 2), discloses such a similar mapping information, namely the URSP policy mapping table with NSSAI associated with one or more DNN, PDU type, preferred RAT access and matching SUPI (See Table 1, Table 2, ¶0031, 0036-0038, 0024), which is used as route selection rule for when the UE establishes a connection/session with a network. Specifically, this mapping information is pre-configured at the UE by the home PLMN in stored in a non-volatile memory together with the associated/matching SUPI from a SIM.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that mapping information used for session establishment in Hui and Matolia can be pre-configured by a network operator and stored in the memory of the UE in view of Huang-Fu’s teaching. Hui and Matolia both disclose UE route selection scheme, wherein UE establishing connection based on evaluation of mapping information of preferred network slices, RATs and SUPIs accessible to UE at the time of initiating connection. Therefore, claimed process can operate irrespective of when/how the mapping is received, so long as the mapping information is accessible to the UE at the time of establishing a connection. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had the mapping information is pre-configured by a network operator and stored in the memory of the UE to the very same and predictable outcome and result of the claimed process. Furthermore, this implementation carries an advantage that the UE already and would always have a default route selection rule set to use or fall back to in case the signaled URSP is unavailable or otherwise rejected (i.e. not matching the SUPI).
As to claims 2, 10:
Hui in view of Matolia and Huang-Fu discloses all limitations of claim 1/9, further comprising: establishing a connection with the one or more networks within the multi-RAT network; transmitting the request to the one or more networks to access the one or more services or the one or more the slices; and receiving a response message indicating one of a rejection or an acceptance of 1) the one or more services or one or more the slices and 2) the mapping information. (See Matolia, ¶0037, 0057, the UE establishes connection with a first application-preferred network, sending a request for access for the invoked application, the UE then receives either a rejection message or an accept message. ¶0051-0058, the UE issues the request for specific network slices which is determined and included as part of the mapping information. The UE receives either an acceptance or reject of that mapping determination, thus implicitly a rejection of the mapping)
As to claims 6, 14:
Hui in view of Matolia and Huang-Fu discloses all limitations of claim 1/9, wherein the mapping information comprises at least one of a User Equipment Routing Selection Policy (URSP), an Access Network Discovery and Selection Policy (ANDSP) or a Home Network configured or controlled policy for selecting RAT based on services or slices, a configured Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI), an allowed NSSAI, an alternative NSSAI, a slice or service priority, a supported-band related information, a SUPI, and a location associated with each of the one or more RATs within the multi-RAT network for Public Land Mobile Networks PLMNs/Standalone Non-Public Networks (SNPNs). (See Hui, Abstract, ¶0008, ¶0106-0110, at least URSP, NSSAI etc..)
As to claims 7, 15:
Hui in view of Matolia and Huang-Fu discloses all limitations of claim 1/9, wherein the one or more RATs comprises a 5G Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) or a 5G Terrestrial Network (TN), wherein priorities of the one or more RATs may be pre-configured in at least one of an Elementary File user controlled PLMN with Access Technology (EFPLMNWACT) file, an Elementary File operator controlled PLMN with Access Technology (EFOPLMNWACT) file, an elementary file home PLMN selector with Access Technology (EFHPLMNWACT) file, or a memory element of the UE, and wherein the priorities of the one or more RATs are mapped to one or more services or one or more slices in the mapping information. (Hui, ¶0094, Fig. 1, 5G Terrestrial network, Matolia, ¶0036, maintaining indications of connection priorities associated with one or more services, ¶0003 memory associated with each UICC)
As to claim 16:
Hui in view of Matolia and Huang-Fu discloses all limitations of claim 9, wherein the priorities of the one or more RATs are mapped to one or more services or one or more slices in the mapping information. (Hui, ¶0094, Fig. 1, 5G Terrestrial network, Matolia, ¶0036, maintaining indications of connection priorities associated with one or more services, ¶0003 memory associated with each UICC)
As to claims 8, 17:
Hui in view of Matolia and Huang-Fu discloses all limitations of claim 1/9, wherein the mapping information is pre-configured at the UE. (See Hui, ¶0106-0110, storing association of each of the plurality of SIMs (each identified by a SIM identifier, which is SUPIs in 5G context), with their respective NSSAI, i.e. each SIM is mapped to a plurality of allowed NSSAIs, and the UE determines whether the requested application’s data matches any of the allowed NSSAIs, thereby determining the particular SIM as the DSS SIM, these associations are pre-determined, not dynamically generated)
Claim(s) 3-5, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui et al. (WO 2021/258287) in view of Matolia et al. (US 2023/0308855) and Huang-Fu (US 2020/0359295)and in further view of Shan et al. (US 2019/0174449).
As to claims 3, 11:
Hui in view of Matolia and Huang-Fu discloses all limitations of claim 2/9, further comprising: based on the received response message indicating the rejection of the one or more services or one or more the slices, maintaining a list of networks (See Matolia, ¶0037, 0051, based on rejection message, the UE analyzes the options of a plurality of networks for alternative access) and access environment including at least one of a Standalone Non-Public Network (SNPN), Reduced Capability (REDCAP) network, Terrestrial Network (TN), Non-TN (NTN), Beyond-5G (B5G), or 6G (See at least ¶0040 of Matolia, the UE can recognize and access 6G), however is silent on each network associated Tracking Area Identity (TAI) of an RAT.
Shan, in a related field of endeavor, discloses in at least ¶0051 that the UE does in fact maintain a list of TAIs for each serving network, which is used to perform mobility registration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the apparatus of Hui/Matolia also maintain a list of TAIs for each serving network, which is used to perform mobility registration. This implementations advantageously provide up-to-date location of the UE so as the network can determine if registration/de-registration is needed per ¶0051.
As to claims 4, 12:
Hui in view of Matolia and Huang-Fu and Shan discloses all limitations of claim 3/11, wherein the establishing the connection with the one or more networks within the multi-RAT network comprises: identifying a location of the UE; and based on the received request, the mapping information, the maintained list of networks, and the location of the UE, determining the one or more RATs or one or more SUPIs (See Hui in claim 1’s analysis, and Matolia, ¶0037, 0057, the UE establishes connection with a first application-preferred network, sending a request for access for the invoked application, the UE then receives either a rejection message or an accept message. Shane in at least ¶0038, 0068, the UE keeps track of its location to determine whether it is in an Allowed area to perform service requests)
As to claims 5, 13:
Hui in view of Matolia and Huang-Fu and Shan discloses all limitations of claim 4/12, further comprising: based on the response message or the mapping information, identifying at least one or more services or slices not supported in a current RAT or a SUPI; and accessing the one or more identified services or slices by establishing a second connection via the one or more determined RATs or the one or more SUPIs. (See Hui, ¶0108-0110, Matolia, ¶0062, based on rejection or the association information, determining whether the application/service is not supported, thereby switching to a different connection with another network associated with a different SIM to maintain/initiate service)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2022/0295265 - An operation method of a first network entity in a wireless communication system, includes: receiving, from a terminal, a registration request message regarding a plurality of subscriber identity modules (SIMs); performing a procedure for registering the plurality of SIMs, based on the registration request message; determining priorities between at least one registered SIM; and transmitting, to the terminal, a registration accept message including information about the priorities.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUAN M HUA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645