Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 18-20 is/are withdrawn from examination as being directed to non-elected invention per Response to Restriction dated 04/10/2026. Claims 1-17 thus is/are under examination.
Drawings dated 05/13/2024 is/are accepted.
IDS is/are considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 11 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 3 and 11 recite “maintaining a list of networks and associated Tracking Area Identity (TAI) RAT ”. As the phrase Tracking Area Identity RAT does not make any technical sense, as tracking area identity refers to parameter that tracks locations and movement of UEs and RAT refer to radio access technology. There appears to be a grammatical issue that results in the incoherent wording. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-10, 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui et al. (WO 2021/258287) – IDS entry of record - in view of Matolia et al. (US 2023/0308855).
As to claim 1:
Hui discloses:
A method for accessing one or more services by a User Equipment (UE) in a multi-Radio Access Technology (multi-RAT) network (See abstract, ¶0020, 0021, 0026, accessing one or more service of a multi-SIM UE in multi-RAT network environment), the method comprising:
receiving, from one or more applications associated with the UE, a request to access at least one of one or more services or one or more slices within the multi-RAT network; (¶0089-0091, 0105, receiving a request including an application identifier to access associated service /setup, establish, or assign a PDU session with a network for the recently launched application )
based on the received request and mapping information, determining at least one of one or more RATs or one or more Subscription Permanent Identifiers (SUPIs), wherein the mapping information indicates a relationship between a plurality of slices and at least one of a plurality of RATs associated with one or more networks within the multi-RAT network and a plurality of SUPIs stored at the UE;
(See ¶0106-0110, based on the application identifier and the request, as well as analysis of association of each of the plurality of SIMs (each identified by a SIM identifier, which is SUPIs in 5G context), with their respective NSSAI, i.e. each SIM is mapped to a plurality of allowed NSSAIs, and the UE determines whether the requested application’s data matches any of the allowed NSSAIs, thereby determining the particular SIM as the DSS SIM in response to the matching with the allowed NSSAI that supports the preferred services. The device also determines a preferred wireless communication service per ¶0107, such as URLLC, eMBB, mmW etc. The association with respect to SIMs and NSSAIs are stored locally in the UE)
and based on the determined at least one of one or more RATs, and the one or more SUPIs to access the requested at least one of the one or more services or the one or more slices, establishing a connection with at least one of the one or more networks within the multi-RAT network. (See ¶0109-0111, based on the determined SIM to access the requested one or more services, establishing a session with a network node relevant to the NSSAI in the multi-RAT network environment)
Hui discloses a mapping between SIM and NSSAIs, however does not disclose RATs associated with one or more networks within the multi-RAT network in the mapping with the slices and the SIMs.
Matolia, in a related field of managing connections in a multi-RAT network, discloses system/method for establishing connection using appropriate SIMs and slices for a particular service in a multi-RAT network for a multi-SIM device, wherein each SIM is associated with a set of allowed network slices mapped to corresponding services (See Abstract, Fig. 7, ¶0050) and wherein a first SIM is associated with a first network, i.e. cellular and a second SIM is associated with a data second network. In consideration of the invoked application and slices associated with each SIM, the UE initiates a connection to the determined preferred network in the multi-RAT network (See ¶0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the mapping of slices and SIMs in the system of Hui to incorporate RATs associated with one or more networks within the multi-RAT network in the mapping with the slices and the SIMs. As both Hui and Matolia share the same goal of adaptive connection establishment in consideration of SIMs and application, this RAT-adaptive approach of establishing connection advantageously allow for a dynamic RAT selection while avoiding cases of unavailable networks, resulting in unnecessary delay (See Matolia, ¶0004).
As to claim 9:
Hui discloses:
A User Equipment (UE) to access one or more services in a multi-Radio Access Technology (multi-RAT) network (See abstract, ¶0020, 0021, 0026, accessing one or more service of a multi-SIM UE in multi-RAT network environment), the UE comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 4, UE structure with processor/memory) configured to:
receive, from one or more applications associated with the UE, a request to access at least one of one or more services or one or more slices within the multi-RAT network; (¶0089-0091, 0105, receiving a request including an application identifier to access associated service /setup, establish, or assign a PDU session with a network for the recently launched application )
based on the received request and mapping information, determine at least one of one or more RATs or one or more Subscription Permanent Identifiers (SUPIs), wherein the mapping information indicates a relationship between a plurality of slices and at least one of a plurality of RATs associated with one or more networks within the multi-RAT network and a plurality of SUPIs stored at the UE;
(See ¶0106-0110, based on the application identifier and the request, as well as analysis of association of each of the plurality of SIMs (each identified by a SIM identifier, which is SUPIs in 5G context), with their respective NSSAI, i.e. each SIM is mapped to a plurality of allowed NSSAIs, and the UE determines whether the requested application’s data matches any of the allowed NSSAIs, thereby determining the particular SIM as the DSS SIM in response to the matching with the allowed NSSAI that supports the preferred services. The device also determines a preferred wireless communication service per ¶0107, such as URLLC, eMBB, mmW etc. The association with respect to SIMs and NSSAIs are stored locally in the UE)
and based on the determined at least one of one or more RATs, and the one or more SUPIs to access the requested at least one of the one or more services or the one or more slices, establish connection with at least one of the one or more networks within the multi-RAT network. (See ¶0109-0111, based on the determined SIM to access the requested one or more services, establishing a session with a network node relevant to the NSSAI in the multi-RAT network environment)
Hui discloses a mapping between SIM and NSSAIs, however does not disclose RATs associated with one or more networks within the multi-RAT network in the mapping with the slices and the SIMs.
Matolia, in a related field of managing connections in a multi-RAT network, discloses system/method for establishing connection using appropriate SIMs and slices for a particular service in a multi-RAT network for a multi-SIM device, wherein each SIM is associated with a set of allowed network slices mapped to corresponding services (See Abstract, Fig. 7, ¶0050) and wherein a first SIM is associated with a first network, i.e. cellular and a second SIM is associated with a data second network. In consideration of the invoked application and slices associated with each SIM, the UE initiates a connection to the determined preferred network in the multi-RAT network (See ¶0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the mapping of slices and SIMs in the system of Hui to incorporate RATs associated with one or more networks within the multi-RAT network in the mapping with the slices and the SIMs. As both Hui and Matolia share the same goal of adaptive connection establishment in consideration of SIMs and application, this RAT-adaptive approach of establishing connection advantageously allow for a dynamic RAT selection while avoiding cases of unavailable networks, resulting in unnecessary delay (See Matolia, ¶0004).
As to claims 2, 10:
Hui in view of Matolia discloses all limitations of claim 1/9, further comprising: establishing a connection with at least one of the one or more networks within the multi-RAT network; transmitting the request to the at least one of the one or more networks to access the at least one of the one or more services or one or more the slices; and receiving a response message indicating one of a rejection or an acceptance of the at least one of the one or more services or one or more the slices and the mapping information. (See Matolia, ¶0037, 0057, the UE establishes connection with a first application-preferred network, sending a request for access for the invoked application, the UE then receives either a rejection message or an accept message)
As to claims 6, 14:
Hui in view of Matolia discloses all limitations of claim 1/9, wherein the mapping information comprises at least one of a User Equipment Routing Selection Policy (URSP), an Access Network Discovery and Selection Policy (ANDSP) or a Home Network configured or controlled policy for selecting RAT based on services or slices, a configured Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI), an allowed NSSAI, an alternative NSSAI, a slice or service priority, a supported-band related information, a SUPI, and a location associated with each of the one or more RATs within the multi-RAT network for Public Land Mobile Networks PLMNs/Standalone Non-Public Networks (SNPNs). (See Hui, Abstract, ¶0008, ¶0106-0110, at least URSP, NSSAI etc..)
As to claims 7, 15:
Hui in view of Matolia discloses all limitations of claim 1/9, wherein the one or more RATs comprises a 5G Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) or a 5G Terrestrial Network (TN), wherein priorities of the one or more RATs may be pre-configured in at least one of an Elementary File user controlled PLMN with Access Technology (EFPLMNWACT) file, an Elementary File operator controlled PLMN with Access Technology (EFOPLMNWACT) file, an elementary file home PLMN selector with Access Technology (EFHPLMNWACT) file, or a memory element of the UE, and wherein the priorities of the one or more RATs are mapped to one or more services or one or more slices in the mapping information. (Hui, ¶0094, Fig. 1, 5G Terrestrial network, Matolia, ¶0036, maintaining indications of connection priorities associated with one or more services, ¶0003 memory associated with each UICC)
As to claim 16:
Hui in view of Matolia discloses all limitations of claim 9, wherein the priorities of the one or more RATs are mapped to one or more services or one or more slices in the mapping information. (Hui, ¶0094, Fig. 1, 5G Terrestrial network, Matolia, ¶0036, maintaining indications of connection priorities associated with one or more services, ¶0003 memory associated with each UICC)
As to claims 8, 17:
Hui in view of Matolia discloses all limitations of claim 1/9, wherein the mapping information is pre-configured at the UE. (See Hui, ¶0106-0110, storing association of each of the plurality of SIMs (each identified by a SIM identifier, which is SUPIs in 5G context), with their respective NSSAI, i.e. each SIM is mapped to a plurality of allowed NSSAIs, and the UE determines whether the requested application’s data matches any of the allowed NSSAIs, thereby determining the particular SIM as the DSS SIM, these associations are pre-determined, not dynamically generated)
Claim(s) 3-5, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui et al. (WO 2021/258287) in view of Matolia et al. (US 2023/0308855) and in further view of Shan et al. (US 2019/0174449).
As to claims 3, 11:
Hui in view of Matolia discloses all limitations of claim 2/9, further comprising: based on the received response message indicating the rejection of the at least one of the one or more services or one or more the slices, maintaining a list of networks (See Matolia, ¶0037, 0051, based on rejection message, the UE analyzes the options of a plurality of networks for alternative access) and access environment including at least one of a Standalone Non-Public Network (SNPN), Reduced Capability (REDCAP) network, Terrestrial Network (TN), Non-TN (NTN), Beyond-5G (B5G), or 6G (See at least ¶0040 of Matolia, the UE can recognize and access 6G), however is silent on associated Tracking Area Identity (TAI) RAT.
Shan, in a related field of endeavor, discloses in at least ¶0051 that the UE does in fact maintain a list of TAIs for each serving network, which is used to perform mobility registration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the apparatus of Hui/Matolia also maintain a list of TAIs for each serving network, which is used to perform mobility registration. This implementations advantageously provide up-to-date location of the UE so as the network can determine if registration/de-registration is needed per ¶0051.
As to claims 4, 12:
Hui in view of Matolia and Shan discloses all limitations of claim 3/11, wherein the establishing the connection with at least one of the one or more networks within the multi-RAT network comprises: identifying a location of the UE; and based on the received request, the mapping information, the maintained list of networks, and the location of the UE, determining at least one of the one or more RATs or one or more SUPIs (See Hui in claim 1’s analysis, and Matolia, ¶0037, 0057, the UE establishes connection with a first application-preferred network, sending a request for access for the invoked application, the UE then receives either a rejection message or an accept message. Shane in at least ¶0038, 0068, the UE keeps track of its location to determine whether it is in an Allowed area to perform service requests)
As to claims 5, 13:
Hui in view of Matolia and Shan discloses all limitations of claim 4/12, further comprising: based on the response message or the mapping information, identifying at least one or more services or slices not supported in a current RAT or a SUPI; and accessing the one or more identified services or slices by establishing a second connection via the one or more determined RATs or the one or more SUPIs. (See Hui, ¶0108-0110, Matolia, ¶0062, based on rejection or the association information, determining whether the application/service is not supported, thereby switching to a different connection with another network associated with a different SIM to maintain/initiate service)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2022/0295265 - An operation method of a first network entity in a wireless communication system, includes: receiving, from a terminal, a registration request message regarding a plurality of subscriber identity modules (SIMs); performing a procedure for registering the plurality of SIMs, based on the registration request message; determining priorities between at least one registered SIM; and transmitting, to the terminal, a registration accept message including information about the priorities.
/QUAN M HUA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645