DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ response to the last Office Action, dated Jan. 30, 2026 has been entered and made of record. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, dated Jan. 30, 2026 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to all of the references being used in the current rejection. Please see the following claim rejections for detailed analysis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beltran et al. (US 2019/0297421 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 2020/0201042 A1) and Petrov (US 2017/0364144 A1).
As to claim 1, Beltran teaches a head-mountable electronic device (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0037], “HMD 100”), comprising:
a housing (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0038], “forehead assembly 111”);
an optical module (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1F, [0040], “the optical engine may be configured to provide an image or a partial image reflected or displayed on the visor 114 providing a display”) disposed in (Beltran, see FIGS. 1A-1F) the housing (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0038], “forehead assembly 111”);
a strap (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0042], “left and/or right side straps 122”) connected to (Beltran, see FIGS. 1A-1B) the housing (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0038], “forehead assembly 111”) on a first end of (Beltran, see FIGS. 1A-1B) the strap (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0042], “left and/or right side straps 122”), the strap (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0042], “left and/or right side straps 122”) defining a volume (Beltran, FIG. 1C, [0048], “the first strap 122a may include a first internal volume 211a (shown by dashed lines in FIG. 1C) configured to house the first speaker 210a. The second strap 122b may include a second internal volume 211b (shown by dashed lines in FIG. 1C) configured to house the second speaker 210b”) and including:
a processor (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1C, [0048], “audio system 200 may include … one or more physical processors (not shown in FIG. 1)”) disposed in the volume (Beltran, see FIGS. 1A-1C); and
a band removably (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0038], “rear-head assembly 130”; [0047], “tightening portion 130”) connected to a second end of (Beltran, see FIGS. 1A-1F) the strap (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0042], “left and/or right side straps 122”) opposite the first end (Beltran, see FIGS. 1A-1F).
Beltran does not explicitly teach “a connector at the first end of the strap configured to mechanically and electrically couple to strap to the housing; wherein the connector directly electrically connects the processor to the optical module”.
However, Wang teaches the concept of a connector (Wang, FIGS. 5-6, [0061], “arm attachment element 210” comprising “arm communication interface 220”) at the first end of the strap (Wang, see FIGS. 5-7) configured to mechanically (Wang, FIGS. 5-7, [0061], “can be laterally or otherwise inserted into the frame attachment element 110”) and electrically couple to strap to the housing (Wang, FIGS. 5-7, [0061], “an electrical connection can be made and maintained upon mechanical securement of the frame attachment element 110 and the arm attachment element 210”); wherein the connector (Wang, FIGS. 5-6, [0061], “arm attachment element 210” comprising “arm communication interface 220”) directly electrically connects the processor (Wang, FIGS. 5-7, [0072], “controller 280”) to the optical module (Wang, see FIGS. 5-7, [0071], “frame module 100” comprising “display 104”, etc.).
At the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the “left and/or right side straps 122” taught by Beltran to further comprise the “attachment element 210” with “communication interface 220” for directly electrically connecting the “forehead assembly 111”, as taught by Wang, in order to “allow a user to modify components and functions of a head-mounted device to customize the user experience according to the user's desires” (Wang, [0025]).
Beltran does not explicitly teach “a power connector”.
However, Petrov teaches the concepts of the strap that directly electrically connects a power connector (Petrov, FIG. 2, [0038], “VR interface 175”) to the optical module (Petrov, FIG. 2, [0038], “VR interface 175 positioned on an outer surface of the head-mounted display 110, or alternatively on the headband 120 … a port through which the head-mounted display 110 is communicatively coupled to the stationary computer 125 … additional data and power are received from at least one cable coupled to an auxiliary device (e.g. a hand-held controller or headphones) and/or a power source”).
At the time effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the “internal volume 211a” and “internal volume 211b” of the “strap(s) 122” comprising the “audio system 200 including one or more physical processors (not shown in FIG. 1)” taught by Beltran to further be directly electrically connected to the “visor 114 providing a display”, and further comprise the “VR interface 175”, as taught by Petrov, in order to provide “virtual-reality systems capable of producing and rendering VR images from high-quality videos provided by stationary computers and VR images from video provided by mobile computers on the same headset so as to allow the user to view high-quality images during intensive use (e.g., “high-CPU” gameplay) and allow movement of the user to not be constrained by long cables to a standalone computer while using the HMD” (Petrov, [0004]).
As to claim 2, Petrov teaches the head-mountable electronic device of claim 1, wherein:
the power connector (Petrov, FIG. 2, [0038], “VR interface 175”) is disposed at the second end (Petrov, e.g., FIG. 2, [0038], “VR interface 175 positioned on an outer surface of the headband 120); and
the power connector (Petrov, FIG. 2, [0038], “VR interface 175”) is electrically connected to the processor and the optical module (Petrov, FIG. 2, [0038], “a port through which the head-mounted display 110 is communicatively coupled to the stationary computer 125 … additional data and power are received from at least one cable coupled to an auxiliary device (e.g. a hand-held controller or headphones) and/or a power source”). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 1.
As to claim 7, Beltran teaches the head-mountable electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a speaker disposed in the volume (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1C, [0048], “audio system 200 may include one or more of one or more speakers 210”).
As to claim 8, Beltran teaches the head-mountable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the strap (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0042], “left and/or right side straps 122”) comprises:
a first strap (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0042], “left side straps 122”) connected to the housing on a first end of (Beltran, see FIGS. 1A-1C) the housing (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0038], “forehead assembly 111”); and
a second strap (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0042], “right side straps 122”) connected to the housing on a second end of (Beltran, see FIGS. 1A-1C) the housing (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0038], “forehead assembly 111”), the second strap connected to the band (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0038], “rear-head assembly 130”; [0047], “tightening portion 130”).
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beltran et al. (US 2019/0297421 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 2020/0201042 A1), Petrov (US 2017/0364144 A1) and Mason et al. (US 2022/0347562 A1).
As to claim 3, Beltran in view of Wang and Petrov does not explicitly teach the head-mountable electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a battery removably connected to the power connector.
However, Mason teaches the concept of a battery (Mason, FIGS. 3A-3B and 7B, [0066], “battery portion 110”) removably connected to (Mason, see FIGS. 3A-3B) the power connector (Mason, FIGS. 3A-3B and 7B, [0120], “mobile dock portion 140 includes a power delivery component and/or power jack 706 to supply power to the HMD 150 from the battery portion 110”).
At the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the “VR interface 175” taught by Petrov to be further configured as “power jack 706 to supply power to the HMD 150 from the battery portion 110”, as taught by Mason, in order to provide that “the wearable carrier apparatus thus permits users to be mobile while engaging in extended reality applications and does not limit their movement to a range that is dependent on the length of a wired connection” (Mason, [0053]).
As to claim 5, Petrov in view of Mason teaches the head-mountable electronic device of claim 3, wherein the battery (Mason, FIGS. 3A-3B and 7B, [0066], “battery portion 110”) is removably connected to the band (Petrov, e.g., see FIGS. 3A-3C, [0047], “additional power source 185 is to provide additional power to the mobile device 135 during intensive VR use (e.g. high-CPU gameplay)”). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 3.
Claim 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beltran et al. (US 2019/0297421 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 2020/0201042 A1), Petrov (US 2017/0364144 A1), Mason et al. (US 2022/0347562 A1) and Zohar et al. (US 2009/0251363 A1).
As to claim 4, Beltran in view of Wang, Petrov and Mason does not explicitly teach the head-mountable electronic device of claim 3, wherein the power connector comprises a rotatable connection.
However, Zohar teaches the concept that the power connector comprises a rotatable connection (Zohar, FIG. 1, [0033], “the base unit 100 is able to swivel about a portion 112 of its power connector”).
At the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the “VR interface 175” taught by Petrov to further comprise the “swivel” structure, as taught by Zohar, in order to provide that “the connection cable can always be kept in vertical position or any other desired position” (Zohar, FIG. 1, [0033]).
Claim 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beltran et al. (US 2019/0297421 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 2020/0201042 A1), Petrov (US 2017/0364144 A1) and Goodner et al. (US 2021/0216099 A1).
As to claim 6, Beltran in view of Wang and Petrov does not teach the head-mountable electronic device of claim 1, wherein: a length of the band is adjustable; and the band is rotatably connected to the strap.
However, Goodner teaches the concept that a length of the band is adjustable (Goodner, FIG. 8, [0049], “a user may, via rotation of the adjustment knob 182, adjust the pinion 174 to increase and/or decrease an inner circumferential dimension of the head strap assembly 36, as discussed below”); and
the band is rotatably connected to the strap (Goodner, FIG. 9, [0050], “configured to rotate together about an axis 202 (e.g., extending through the passages 188) relative to the first head strap portion 150 of the head strap assembly 36”).
At the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the “left and/or right side straps 122” taught by Beltran to further comprise the elements in association with the rotation about “axis 202”, as taught in FIG. 9 of Goodner, in order to provide “a head strap assembly configured to couple to a head of a user to secure the interface device to the head” (Goodner, [0004]).
Claims 9-13, 15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beltran et al. (US 2019/0297421 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 2020/0201042 A1), Petrov (US 2017/0364144 A1), Goodner et al. (US 2021/0216099 A1) and Moghaddam et al. (US 2023/0247811 A1).
As to claim 9, Beltran in view of Petrov and Goodner teaches a wearable electronic device (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0037], “HMD 100”), comprising:
a housing (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0038], “forehead assembly 111”);
a first optical module (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1F, [0040], “the optical engine may be configured to provide an image or a partial image reflected or displayed on the visor 114 providing a display”);
a first strap (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0042], “left side straps 122”) connected to a first side of the housing (Beltran, see FIGS. 1A-1B, [0038], “forehead assembly 111”), the first strap (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0042], “left side straps 122”) defining a first volume (Beltran, FIG. 1C, [0048], “the first strap 122a may include a first internal volume 211a (shown by dashed lines in FIG. 1C) configured to house the first speaker 210a. The second strap 122b may include a second internal volume 211b (shown by dashed lines in FIG. 1C) configured to house the second speaker 210b”) and including:
a processor (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1C, [0048], “audio system 200 may include … one or more physical processors (not shown in FIG. 1)”) disposed in the first volume (Beltran, see FIGS. 1A-1C);
a power connector (Petrov, FIG. 2, [0038], “VR interface 175”); and
wherein the processor is electrically connected to the first optical module (Petrov, FIG. 2, [0038], “VR interface 175 positioned on an outer surface of the head-mounted display 110, or alternatively on the headband 120 … a port through which the head-mounted display 110 is communicatively coupled to the stationary computer 125 … additional data and power are received from at least one cable coupled to an auxiliary device (e.g. a hand-held controller or headphones) and/or a power source”) via a wired connection extending partially through the first volume (Wang, see FIGS. 5-7, e.g., via “arm attachment element 210” comprising “arm communication interface 220”);
a second strap (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0042], “right side straps 122”) connected to a second side of the housing (Beltran, see FIGS. 1A-1B, [0038], “forehead assembly 111”), the second strap (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0042], “right side straps 122”) electrically connected to the first strap (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0042], “left side straps 122”) and defining a second volume (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0048], “second internal volume 211b”); and
a flexible (Beltran, FIG. 1, [0042], “The rear-head assembly 130 includes the buckle pad 132 (e.g., a foam pad) on a side of the rear-head assembly 130 that may be configured to be in contact with the user's head. The buckle pad 132 may be configured to provide cushion and/or comfort between the buckle 134 and the user's head”) band removably (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0038], “rear-head assembly 130”; [0047], “tightening portion 130”) and rotatably (Goodner, FIG. 9, [0050], “configured to rotate together about an axis 202 (e.g., extending through the passages 188) relative to the first head strap portion 150 of the head strap assembly 36”) connected to the first strap (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0042], “left side straps 122”) and to the second strap (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0042], “right side straps 122”). Examiner renders the same motivations as in claims 1 and 6.
Beltran in view of Wang, Petrov and Goodner does not teach “the first optical module comprising a first display screen; a second optical module secured to the housing, the second optical module comprising a second display screen”.
However, Moghaddam teaches the concepts of the first optical module comprising a first display screen (Moghaddam, FIGS. 1-2, [0083], “electronic component 202 can include a display driver integrated circuit (DDIC) that is electrically coupled to a µ-OLED display panel 204 located behind a lens structure 106”);
a second optical module secured to the housing, the second optical module comprising a second display screen (Moghaddam, FIGS. 1-2, [0083], “electronic component 202 can include a display driver integrated circuit (DDIC) that is electrically coupled to the other µ-OLED display panel 204 located behind a lens structure 106”).
At the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the “optical engine(s)” in association with “visor 114” taught by Beltran with the pair of the “µ-OLED display panel(s) 204”, as taught by Moghaddam, in order to provide “the headsets with improved optical benefits compared to traditional optical engines” (Moghaddam, [0001]).
As to claim 10, Beltran teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 9, further comprising:
a first speaker (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1F, [0048], “first speaker 210a”) disposed in the first volume (first speaker 210a and/or other speakers may be located in and housed by the first strap 122a); and
a second speaker (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1F, [0048], “second speaker 210b”) disposed in the second volume (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1F, [0048], “second internal volume 211b (shown by dashed lines in FIG. 1C) configured to house the second speaker 210b”).
as to claim 11, Beltran in view of Petrov teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 10, wherein the power connector (Petrov, FIG. 2, [0038], “VR interface 175”) is electrically connected to the second speaker (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1F, [0048], “second speaker 210b”) through the housing (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1F, [0053], e.g., “one or more physical processors housed within forehead body 110 may be in communication with audio system 200”). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 1.
As to claim 12, Beltran teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 9, wherein:
the first strap is removably connected to the housing; and the second strap is removably connected to the housing (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1F, [0042], “side-head portions 120 may include left and/or right side straps 122 or pads that releasably connect the forehead assembly 111”).
As to claim 13, Moghaddam teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 10, wherein: the wearable electronic device further comprises:
a first motor movably connecting the first optical module to the housing; and a second motor movably connecting the second optical module to the housing (Moghaddam, FIG. 2, [0083], “fins 212 can be configured in an angle approximately aligned with a direction of air flow generated by a system fan (not shown)”; FIG. 7, [0091], “the TMS includes an integrated fan 702 that is sandwiched between the electronic component 202 and the µ-OLED display panel 204”); and
the first motor and the second motor are configured to be electrically connected (Moghaddam, FIG. 7, [0091], “electrical connector 306 folds around the integrated fan 702 to electrically couple the electronic component to the µ-OLED display panel 204”) to a battery (Petrov, FIGS. 3A-3C, [0047], “power source 185 may be a lithium-polymer battery or a lithium-ion battery”) and the processor (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1C, [0048], “audio system 200 may include … one or more physical processors (not shown in FIG. 1)”). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 9.
As to claim 15, Petrov teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 9, wherein the band (Petrov, FIGS. 3A-3C, [0047], “an additional power source 185 on the headband 120”) is configured to be removably connected to a battery (Petrov, see FIGS. 1-3, [0048], “additional power source 185 supported (e.g., cradled) in the holder 115”). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 1.
As to claim 17, it differs from claim 9 only in that it is the head mountable display device comprising the same elements as in the wearable device of claim 9, further comprising “a first conductor positioned at the first end of the first strap and extending through the first volume, the first conductor electrically connecting the power connector to the processor and the optical module” and “a second conductor electrically connecting to the power connector through the housing”.
Beltran in view of Wang, Petrov, Goodner and Moghaddam teaches them, and Wang and Petrov further teaches a first conductor (Wang, FIGS. 5-6, [0061], “arm attachment element 210” comprising “arm communication interface 220”) positioned at the first end of the first strap and extending through the first volume (Wang, see FIGS. 5-7), the first conductor electrically connecting the power connector to the processor and the optical module and a second conductor electrically connecting to the power connector through the housing (Petrov, FIG. 4, [0069], “the controller 314 processes the VR video and transmits the processed video to the VR interface 175 of the HMD 110 through the communication interface 318 and the second cable 189”; it is reasonably inferred that “VR interface 175” must comprise a conductor electrically connecting to the “controller 410” via “converter 460”). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 1.
As to claim 18, it recites the similar limitations as in claim 10, and Beltran teaches them.
Claims 14, 16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beltran et al. (US 2019/0297421 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 2020/0201042 A1), Petrov (US 2017/0364144 A1), Goodner et al. (US 2021/0216099 A1), Moghaddam et al. (US 2023/0247811 A1) and Mason et al. (US 2022/0347562 A1).
As to claim 14, Petrov in view of Mason teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 9, the power connector (Petrov, FIG. 2, [0038], “VR interface 175”) configured to be connected to a battery (Mason, FIGS. 3A-3B and 7B, [0066], “battery portion 110”) further comprising a battery (Mason, FIGS. 3A-3B and 7B, [0066], “battery portion 110”) electrically connected to the power connector (Mason, FIGS. 3A-3B and 7B, [0120], “mobile dock portion 140 includes a power delivery component and/or power jack 706 to supply power to the HMD 150 from the battery portion 110”). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 3.
As to claim 16, Petrov in view of Mason teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 9, further comprising a cable (Petrov, FIG. 2, [0056], “cable 187”) configured to be removably connected to the power connector (Mason, FIGS. 3A-3B and 7B, [0120], “mobile dock portion 140 includes a power delivery component and/or power jack 706 to supply power to the HMD 150 from the battery portion 110”) and a battery (Mason, FIGS. 3A-3B and 7B, [0066], “battery portion 110”). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 3.
As to claim 19, Beltran in view of Mason teaches the head mountable display of claim 17, wherein the battery (Mason, FIGS. 3A-3B and 7B, [0066], “battery portion 110”) is electrically connected to the processor (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1C, [0048], “audio system 200 may include … one or more physical processors (not shown in FIG. 1)”) and the optical module via the first conductor (Beltran, FIGS. 1A-1F, [0040], “the optical engine may be configured to provide an image or a partial image reflected or displayed on the visor 114 providing a display). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 3.
As to claim 20, it recites the similar limitations as in claim 5, and Petrov in view of Mason teaches them. Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: Erinjippurath et al. (US 2015/0002374 A1) teaches the concept of “modular and extensible features to affect a range of user/wearer/viewer experiences” (Abs.); Peek et al. (US 2015/0185765 A1) teaches the concept of “a clasp assembly for detachably coupling a first housing to a second housing” (Abs.).
Feb. 2, 2026
/RICHARD J HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621
***