DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended the following:
Claims: 1-28 have not been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/04/26 with regards to claims 1-28 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS:
The applicant argues that … Applicant respectfully disagrees with the Office Action that Elliot cures the deficiencies of Tuck and Lekutai that are conceded in the Office Action. The cited portions of Elliot do not appear to teach that "a communication identifier associated with the premises" is determined "based on the data indicative of the request and account information associated with the user device." … As is clear in the above portion of Elliot, instead of "determining, based on the data indicative of the request and account information associated with the user device, a communication identifier associated with the premises" as claimed (emphasis added), Elliot describes a different process in which the Alarm Monitoring Service 130 connects the call by emulating the caller ID of the customer after retrieving from a database "the customer home phone number using the customer identification associated with the alarm system 150." See id. (emphasis added). Accordingly, this database lookup, based on customer identification associated with the alarm system, that is described in Elliot is not a determination "based on the data indicative of the request [received by the user device] and account information associated with the user device" as claimed (emphasis added). Accordingly, Elliot fails to overcome the deficiencies of Tuck and Lekutai for at least these reasons. As a result, claim 1 is allowable over the cited references for at least these reasons. As aforementioned, independent claims 8, 15, and 22 include similar, but not identical, features as independent claim 1 and are allowable over the cited references for at least the same reasons above. Claims 2-7, 9-14, 16-21, and 23-28 are dependent upon independent claims 1, 8, 15, or 22 and are allowable for at least the same reasons above as well as for the additional features they recite. Reconsideration of the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection is respectfully requested (See Pages 8-10 of Applicant’s arguments filed 01/20/26).
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Contrary to the applicant’s arguments the teachings of Elliot does disclose the applicant’s argued limitations of “determining, based on the data indicative of the request and account information associated with the user device, a communication identifier associated with the premises” as will be apparent in the following explanations provided below.
To begin with, the examiner would like to note that the applicant’s arguments against Elliot for failing to disclose the argued limitations, appears to be that the cited portions of Elliot discloses the customer identification is associated with the alarm system and not associated with the user device.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant’s argued limitations of “account information associated with the user device” is written broad in that there is no explicit recitation in the applicant’s claimed invention, as to how said user device is “associated” with the account information and as such, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the argued limitations of “account information associated with the user device” is directed towards account information that is related to or have some type of association with the user device which is clearly disclosed by the highlighted portions of teachings of Elliot, [0014], [0018], [0020] & [0022] seen below:
[0020] Alarm Monitoring Service 130 may connect this call by "emulating" the caller ID of the customer. This emulated Caller ID number may be stored in an internal or external customer database as a data array with each customer identification and associated Caller ID for the customer's home number 275. In step 270, a lookup is made to retrieve the customer home phone number using the customer identification associated with the alarm system 150. Note that the customer identification and the home phone number may, in some embodiments, be the same number. In step 280, the customer 110 home phone number is then inserted as the Caller ID number for the outgoing call which is made from the Alarm Monitoring Service 130 to the E911 center 170.
[0014] Element 130 comprises an Alarm Monitoring Service (i.e. NextAlarm, the assignee of the present invention, or another alarm monitoring company). Alarm monitoring service 130 may comprise a traditional alarm monitoring company, using suitable hardware and software to implement the present invention, or may comprise a middleware provider who routes alarm signals to an end alarm monitoring company. Alarm monitoring service 130 have an internal or external customer database which may include contact information (phone numbers and the like) for each customer whose alarm system 150 is monitored by alarm monitoring company 130.
[0018] FIG. 2 is a flowchart illustrating the steps of the process used in the system of FIG. 1. Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, the steps of the process are as follows. The process starts in step 200. In Step 210, security system 150 has a security event, such as a break-in. In step 220, security system 150 calls Alarm Monitoring service 130 over link 140 to report the event. Link 140 may comprise a POTS telephone line analog or digital cellular line, Internet connection, or the like. In step 230, Alarm Monitoring Service 130 issues an automated phone call 120 to the customer 110's cell phone or other remote or portable device. A computer-generated voice may play a message to the user 110 such as "Break-in at your home. Press 1 to call the Police". Alternately, a human operator may talk to the customer 110 or a text message or other communication may be displayed. The user may be prompted for a PIN number to insure that a burglar has not picked up the cell phone and is trying to cancel the alarm.
[0022] Thus, in the present invention, the customers are allowed to call the authorities "as if" they dialed "911" from inside of their own home, even though they are remote and on a cell phone, and this call is made in response to an event generated by the security system within their home. If the customer is cut off in the 911 call, emergency services will be dispatched to the home where the alarm is located, and not to the customer'remote location. In addition, since most E911 dispatches are made based on Caller-ID information, the customer need not read their address to the dispatcher, thus reducing the time for response and eliminating the possibility that services are dispatched to the wrong address. Moreover, when a 911 call center receives a call having a Caller ID number different than for the address reported for the emergency, all center staff may initially suspect a prank or hoax call. By providing the "correct" Caller ID for the emergency location, the chance of mishap or miscommunication is reduced or eliminated.
As can be seen from the highlighted portions of Elliot seen above, Elliot, [0020] discloses Alarm Monitoring Service 130 may connect this call (i.e. reads on based on the data indicative of the request) by "emulating" the caller ID of the customer and this emulated Caller ID number may be stored in an internal or external customer database as a data array with each customer identification (i.e. reads on and account information associated with the user device) and associated Caller ID for the customer's home number 275 and in step 270, a lookup (i.e. reads on determining) is made to retrieve the customer home phone number (i.e. reads on a communication identifier associated with the premises) using the customer identification associated with the alarm system 150 and in step 280, the customer 110 home phone number is then inserted as the Caller ID number for the outgoing call which is made from the Alarm Monitoring Service 130 to the E911 center 170 which clearly indicates to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize and find obvious that a determination is made for the customer home phone number that corresponds to the communication identifier associated with the premises, based on a request to connect the call and the customer identification account information.
In addition, Elliot, [0014] discloses Alarm monitoring service 130 have an internal or external customer database which may include contact information such as phone numbers (i.e. reads on associated with user device) and the like for each customer (i.e. reads on account information) whose alarm system 150 is monitored by alarm monitoring company 130 and Elliot, [0018] discloses Alarm Monitoring Service 130 issues an automated phone call 120 to the customer 110's cell phone (i.e. reads on user device) or other remote or portable device and a computer-generated voice may play a message to the user 110 such as "Break-in at your home. Press 1 to call the Police" and Elliot, [0022] discloses in the present invention, the customers are allowed to call the authorities "as if" they dialed "911" from inside of their own home, even though they are remote and on a cell phone, and this call is made in response to an event generated by the security system within their home and if the customer is cut off in the 911 call, emergency services will be dispatched to the home where the alarm is located, and not to the customer 'remote location and in addition, since most E911 dispatches are made based on Caller-ID information, the customer need not read their address to the dispatcher, thus reducing the time for response and eliminating the possibility that services are dispatched to the wrong address. Moreover, when a 911 call center receives a call having a Caller ID number different than for the address reported for the emergency, all center staff may initially suspect a prank or hoax call. By providing the "correct" Caller ID for the emergency location, the chance of mishap or miscommunication is reduced or eliminated which clearly indicates to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize and find obvious that the customer’s cell phone user device is also associated with the customer’s identification in the customer database as a phone call to the user’s cell phone is made.
As can be seen from the detailed explanations above, while the customer identification is associated with the alarm system, the customer identification is also associated with the customer’s cell phone or remote device as both the identification and the cell phone or remote device are associated with each other via the customer information of the customer database and as such, clearly reads on the applicant’s argued limitations.
Therefore, the argued limitations read upon the cited references or are written broad such that they read upon the cited references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuck et al. (US Patent Publication 2015/0163651 herein after referenced as Tuck) in view of Lekutai (US Patent Publication 2010/0048160 herein after referenced as Lekutai) and further in view of Elliot et al. (US Patent Publication 2008/0118039 herein after referenced as Elliot).
Regarding claim 1 and claim 8 and claim 22, Tuck discloses:
A method comprising: and A device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to: and A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed, cause: sending, to a user device located external to a premises, data associated with a premises device located at the premises; (Tuck, Fig. 1 & [0011]-[0012] discloses the customer premises include a home automation gateway and the gateway may be connected to a home automation controller (i.e. reads on device) that receives and interprets data from one or more data collectors such as a video or still camera, etc. and when data from one or more collectors (i.e. reads on associated with a premises device) indicates an emergency or alert condition in the customer premises (i.e. reads on located at the premises), the controller may provide a message (i.e. reads on sending data to) via the gateway to one or more remote devices 130 (i.e. reads on a user device located external to a premises) and discloses device 130 that is geographically remote from the customer premises may be used to make a request for emergency services such as via a telephone call to an emergency call center or service provider via a variety of mechanisms and the request for emergency services may include a location of the customer premises and not the geographically remote location of the device 130; Tuck, [0027] discloses data collectors may include one or more sensors, cameras, etc. and in addition to the camera, carbon monoxide detector, and smoke detector, shown in FIG. 1, data collectors may include motion sensors, noise sensors, temperature sensors, moisture sensors, etc. and a data collector may be a control system or the like that is located in the customer premises (i.e. reads on premises device located at the premises) and configured to provide data to the controller; Tuck, [0028] discloses the device 130 will often be a portable computing device such as a smartphone; Tuck, [0026] discloses the controller is generally a computing device including a processor and a memory and also includes mechanisms for communicating with and receiving data from one or more data collectors; Tuck, [0064] discloses a processor receives instructions from a memory, computer-readable, medium, etc. and executes these instructions).
(Tuck, Fig. 6 & [0043] discloses the device 130 displays information (i.e. reads on data indicative of) from the alert or message provided by the controller 120 and for example, the GUI 600 as shown in FIG. 6 illustrates one exemplary display of information by a device 130 based on an alert or message provided by the controller 120 and the display on the device 130 may include information relating to an alert incident and/or possible emergency, along with an option for a user to initiate an emergency call such as a 911 call (i.e. reads on a request received by the user device to initiate communication with an emergency service associated with the premises); Tuck, Fig. 1 & [0012] discloses device 130 that is geographically remote from the customer premises may be used to make a request for emergency services (i.e. reads on a request associated with the user device communicating with an emergency service) such as via a telephone call to an emergency call center or service provider via a variety of mechanisms and the request for emergency services may include a location of the customer premises and specify that the emergency services are requested at the location of the customer premises (i.e. reads on associated with the premises) and not the geographically remote location of the device 130; Tuck, [0056] discloses once the location information for the customer premises has been received, the server communicates and places a VoIP call according to SIP to a PSAP and using the location information for the customer premises, the PSAP is then able to forward the communication such as the VoIP call to an appropriate emergency call service provider for the location of the customer premises; Tuck, [0029] discloses in any event, on receiving data from a medical alert data collector, a remote device could be used to initiate an E-911 call or the like. Applicant’s Specification, [0021] recites “The application device 102 may be configured to determine to send a notification to the user device 106. …” and Applicant’s Specification, [0024] recites “The user device 106 may cause output e.g., via the user interface, via the application of the notification. The output of the notification may be caused based on receiving premises data from the premises device 108. The application may output one or more user interface elements associated with the notification. The one or more user interface elements may comprise an … option to request an emergency service, and/or the like. The one or more user interface elements may comprise a button associated with initiating a call to an emergency service…”).
(Tuck, Abstract discloses the mobile computing device is configured to receive from the customer premises information (i.e. reads on based on the data indicative of the request) including data indicating a status of the customer premises and an identifier for the customer premises (i.e. reads on a communication identifier associated with the premises) and the device is further configured to receive user input to place an emergency call concerning the customer premises to provide the identifier for the customer premises to a data store as part of a query for a location of the customer premises; Tuck, [0042] discloses the controller generates an alert message such as a VoIP call to be sent to one or more devices 130 or could send a message to the home automation server which in turn could communicate with the one or more devices 130 and the controller may provide a message providing information relating to the alert such as shown in the GUI 600 identifying an address of the customer premises, describing an alert or emergency condition and providing data from a data collector; Tuck, [0019] discloses the gateway is configured to provide a media access control MAC address or some similar unique or substantially unique identifier associated with the customer premises and upon receiving a message including customer premises identifier, the server may submit a query to a home automation data store to determine a public safety answering point PSAP associated with the geographic location of the customer premises and the server may then place a telephone call to the PSAP associated with the customer premises. Applicant’s Specification, [0026] discloses “… the communication identifier may comprise a telephone number associated with a communication service configured at the premises. The communication identifier may comprise any other identifier such as a user name, a domain name, an internet protocol address, a network address, a physical address (e.g. a street address, a zip code, a city) or a combination thereof …”. Wikipedia defines MAC address as “a media access control address (MAC address) is a unique identifier … for use as a network address in communications).
and sending, to the user device, the communication identifier, (Tuck, Fig. 4 & [0054] discloses the remote device 130 (i.e. reads on the user device) sends a message to the remote home automation server 135 and for example, the device 130 may place a VoIP call to the server including in one or more fields of a SIP INVITE message, identifying information (i.e. reads on the communication identifier) for the customer premises 105 received from (i.e. reads on sending to) the controller; Tuck, [0042] discloses the controller generates an alert message such as a VoIP call to be sent to one or more devices 130 or could send a message to the home automation server which in turn could communicate with the one or more devices 130 and the controller may provide a message providing information relating to the alert such as shown in the GUI 600 identifying an address of the customer premises, describing an alert or emergency condition and providing data from a data collector).
wherein the user device is configured to use the communication identifier in a communication message (Tuck, Fig. 4 & [0054] discloses the remote device 130 (i.e. reads on wherein the user device is configured to use) sends a message (i.e. reads on in a communication message) to the remote home automation server 135 and for example, the device 130 may place a VoIP call to the server including in one or more fields of a SIP INVITE message, identifying information (i.e. reads on the communication identifier) for the customer premises 105 received from the controller).
that is routed based on an association of the communication identifier and a physical address of the premises (Tuck, Fig. 4 & [0055]-[0056] discloses the server queries the data store with the unique identifier (i.e. reads on based on an association of the communication identifier) for the customer premises to obtain location information such as geo-coordinates and/or a street address for the customer premises (i.e. reads on and a physical address of the premises) and discloses once location information for the customer premises has been received, the server communicates and places a VoIP call according to SIP to a PSAP and using the location information for the customer premises, the PSAP is then able to forward (i.e. reads on that is routed) the communication and VoIP call to an appropriate emergency call service provider for the location of the customer premises; Tuck, [0114] discloses known signaling mechanisms may be used by a PSAP or the like when an emergency call is made to provide a phone number from which a call is made, e.g., using Automatic Number Identification ANI in an advanced intelligent network AIN as is known and further, as is known, a location, e.g., street address, of a POTS telephone from which an emergency call is made may be determined, e.g., the PSAP may use a number obtained via ANI to then identify a location from which a call originated using the known Master Street Address Guide MSAG).
Tuck discloses determining an emergency alert condition and sending an emergency alert message that includes information for a user to call emergency services but fails to explicitly disclose a determination to call emergency services prior to sending the message and therefore fails to disclose “determining data indicative of a request to initiate communication with an emergency service”.
In addition, Tuck discloses the user device receiving a message that includes identifying information of a premises that could be a MAC address or some similar unique or substantially unique identifier and the user device sends a message via a VOIP call to a remote server that includes the identifying information of a premises which is utilized by the remote server to determine the location and street address of the premises in order to identify an appropriate PSAP where the identifying information may be any unique or substantially unique identifier associated with the customer premises but fails to explicitly disclose that a determination of the unique identifier is made based on an emergency message and account information and therefore fails to disclose “determining, based on the data indicative of the request and account information associated with the user device, a communication identifier associated with the premises;”.
In a related field of endeavor, Lekutai discloses:
determining data indicative of a request to initiate communication with an emergency service (Lekutai, [0035]-[0036] discloses the request may be a request to establish a voice call, such as the dialing of "911" (i.e. reads on data indicative of a request to initiate communication with an emergency service), or it may be a specific emergency request which is detectable (i.e. reads on determining) by appropriately configured equipment, such as ESME 142 and discloses a request for emergency assistance is transmitted to an emergency services provider and such a request may also include other information that may be useful or informative to an emergency services provider, such as the location of the device transmitting the request, an identifying number and/or user name associated with the device, or any other information and following the transmission of the request, a call may be established between the user and an emergency services provider; Lekutai, [0040] discloses the emergency services provider may be contact before associated contacts are determined and this may be in order to bring the emergency request to the attention of emergency services providers as quickly as possible and alternatively, the associated contacts may be determined and contacted prior to transmitting the emergency request to an emergency services provider and this may be to ensure that a message gets to an interested party even if the transmission to the emergency services provider fails and in yet another alternative, transmitting the emergency request to an emergency services provider and determining and contacting the associated contacts is performed in parallel, bringing the situation to the notice of both the emergency services provider and the associated contacts as soon as possible).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Tuck to incorporate the teachings of Lekutai for the purpose of providing the system with a means to identify and determine the type of information to be provided (Lekutai, [0035]-[0036]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of transmitting a request for dialing emergency services 911 as taught by Tuck) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of transmitting a request for dialing emergency services 911, wherein the request for dialing emergency services 911 is first determined prior to the transmission as taught by Lekutai) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of transmitting a request for dialing emergency services 911 (i.e. as taught by Tuck & Lekutai) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Tuck in view of Lekutai fails to disclose “determining, based on the data indicative of the request and account information associated with the user device, a communication identifier associated with the premises;”.
In a related field of endeavor, Elliot discloses:
determining, based on the data indicative of the request and account information associated with the user device, a communication identifier associated with the premises; (Elliot, [0020] discloses Alarm Monitoring Service 130 may connect this call (i.e. reads on based on the data indicative of the request) by "emulating" the caller ID of the customer and this emulated Caller ID number may be stored in an internal or external customer database as a data array with each customer identification (i.e. reads on and account information associated with the user device) and associated Caller ID for the customer's home number 275 and in step 270, a lookup (i.e. reads on determining) is made to retrieve the customer home phone number (i.e. reads on a communication identifier associated with the premises) using the customer identification associated with the alarm system 150 and in step 280, the customer 110 home phone number is then inserted as the Caller ID number for the outgoing call which is made from the Alarm Monitoring Service 130 to the E911 center 170; Elliot, [0014] discloses Alarm monitoring service 130 have an internal or external customer database which may include contact information such as phone numbers (i.e. reads on associated with user device) and the like for each customer (i.e. reads on account information) whose alarm system 150 is monitored by alarm monitoring company 130; Elliot, [0018]-[0019] discloses Alarm Monitoring Service 130 issues an automated phone call 120 to the customer 110's cell phone (i.e. reads on user device) or other remote or portable device and a computer-generated voice may play a message to the user 110 such as "Break-in at your home. Press 1 to call the Police" and discloses In step 240, the customer 110 may then press "1" or otherwise indicate that he wishes to have the police or other emergency services such as fire, ambulance summoned and if, however, the customer 110 decides or otherwise indicates the alarm is real or the system otherwise indicates that the alarm may be real e.g., customer fails to properly enter PIN number, customer enters silent alarm PIN number, or the like then Alarm Monitoring Service 130 then connects the call to the E911 Service Provider 170 over phone or other link 160 in step 260; Elliot, [0010] discloses the alarm monitoring company contacts the customer if an alarm event occurs and offers the customer the opportunity to connect with the 911 call center for their home and if the customer indicates they want to call 911, the call is routed to the correct PSAP center with the customers home caller ID number emulated for the call and in this manner the PSAP center can determine from the caller ID data, the correct response agency that is local to the customers home; Elliot, [0021]-[0022] discloses the E911 provider receives the connected telephone call and they believe that the customer is calling from within their own home rather than from their cell phone and the E911 provider looks up in its PSAP database, the correct data indicating which police department should be called for the customer based upon their home address which is already on file and which is cross-referenced from the caller ID of the inbound phone call and the E911 provider there connects the call to the appropriate authorities within the local jurisdiction of the caller and discloses in the present invention, the customers are allowed to call the authorities "as if" they dialed "911" from inside of their own home, even though they are remote and on a cell phone, and this call is made in response to an event generated by the security system within their home and if the customer is cut off in the 911 call, emergency services will be dispatched to the home where the alarm is located, and not to the customer 'remote location and in addition, since most E911 dispatches are made based on Caller-ID information, the customer need not read their address to the dispatcher, thus reducing the time for response and eliminating the possibility that services are dispatched to the wrong address. Moreover, when a 911 call center receives a call having a Caller ID number different than for the address reported for the emergency, all center staff may initially suspect a prank or hoax call. By providing the "correct" Caller ID for the emergency location, the chance of mishap or miscommunication is reduced or eliminated).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Tuck in view of Lekutai to incorporate the teachings of Elliot for the purpose of providing the system with a means to retrieve the identifying information of the customer premises in order to be able to include the identifying information in the message sent so that the identifying information can be utilized in determining the location information of the premises (Elliot, [0020]-[0021] & Tuck, [0054]-[0056]) and for providing the system with an alternative identifying information of the customer premises (Elliot, [0020] & Tuck, [0019]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of providing and utilizing identifying information of the customer premises in order to determine the location of the customer premises as taught by Tuck) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of providing and utilizing identifying information of the customer premises in order to determine the location of the customer premises, wherein the identifying information is determined prior to including in the call using account information and wherein the identifying information is a home phone number as taught by Elliot) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system a process of providing and utilizing identifying information of the customer premises in order to determine the location of the customer premises (i.e. as taught by Tuck & Elliot) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 2 and claim 9 and claim 23, Tuck in view of Lekutai and further in view of Elliot discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The device of claim 8 (see claim 8) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 22 (see claim 22).
wherein the premises device comprises one or more of a camera, a sensor, a or a combination thereof (Tuck, [0027] discloses data collectors may include one or more sensors, cameras, etc. and in addition to the camera, carbon monoxide detector, and smoke detector, shown in FIG. 1, data collectors may include motion sensors, noise sensors, temperature sensors, moisture sensors, etc. and a data collector may be a control system or the like that is located in the customer premises and configured to provide data to the controller. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “security system, a smoke detector, a heat sensor, a door sensor, window sensor, or”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 3 and claim 10 and claim 24, Tuck in view of Lekutai and further in view of Elliot discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The device of claim 8 (see claim 8) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 22 (see claim 22).
wherein the communication identifier comprises a telephone number associated with a communication service configured at the premises (Elliot, [0020] discloses a lookup is made to retrieve the customer home phone number using the customer identification associated with the alarm system and the customer home phone number is then inserted as the caller ID number for the outgoing call which is made from the alarm monitoring service to the E911 center; Elliot, [0010] discloses the alarm monitoring company contacts the customer if an alarm event occurs and offers the customer the opportunity to connect with the 911 call center for their home and if the customer indicates they want to call 911, the call is routed to the correct PSAP center with the customers home caller ID number emulated for the call and in this manner the PSAP center can determine from the caller ID data, the correct response agency that is local to the customers home; Tuck, [0019] discloses the gateway is configured to provide a media access control MAC address or some similar unique or substantially unique identifier associated with the customer premises and upon receiving a message including customer premises identifier, the server may submit a query to a home automation data store to determine a public safety answering point PSAP associated with the geographic location of the customer premises and the server may then place a telephone call to the PSAP associated with the customer premises; Tuck, Abstract discloses the mobile computing device is configured to receive from the customer premises information including data indicating a status of the customer premises and an identifier for the customer premises and the device is further configured to receive user input to place an emergency call concerning the customer premises to provide the identifier for the customer premises to a data store as part of a query for a location of the customer premises).
Regarding claim 4 and claim 11 and claim 25, Tuck in view of Lekutai and further in view of Elliot discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The device of claim 8 (see claim 8) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 22 (see claim 22).
wherein the communication identifier is stored in a field of the communication message indicating a sender of the communication message (Tuck, Fig. 4 & [0054] discloses the remote device 130 sends a message to the remote home automation server 135 and for example, the device 130 may place a VoIP call to the server including in one or more fields of a SIP INVITE message, identifying information for the customer premises 105 received from the controller; Elliot, [0020] discloses a lookup is made to retrieve the customer home phone number using the customer identification associated with the alarm system and the customer home phone number is then inserted as the caller ID number for the outgoing call which is made from the alarm monitoring service to the E911 center; Elliot, [0010] discloses the alarm monitoring company contacts the customer if an alarm event occurs and offers the customer the opportunity to connect with the 911 call center for their home and if the customer indicates they want to call 911, the call is routed to the correct PSAP center with the customers home caller ID number emulated for the call and in this manner the PSAP center can determine from the caller ID data, the correct response agency that is local to the customers home).
Regarding claim 5 and claim 12 and claim 26, Tuck in view of Lekutai and further in view of Elliot discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising (see claim 1) and The device of claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further (see claim 8) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 22, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause (see claim 22).
causing output of a notification associated with the premises, wherein receiving the data indicative of the request to initiate communication with the emergency service comprises receiving, based on the notification, the request to initiate communication with the emergency service (Tuck, Fig. 3 & [0048]-[0050] discloses the message or alerts regarding an incident, emergency condition etc. in a customer premises is received in a remote device 130 and discloses the remote device provides a display based on information received from a controller 120 in the customer premises and discloses the remote device receives input via a user selection of an option provided by a field in a GUI displayed on the remote device as shown in Fig. 6 to make a request for emergency assistance such as to make a 911 call; Tuck, Fig. 6 & [0033] discloses a graphical user interface GUI in a remote device 130 for reporting a possible emergency incident and upon receiving information from the controller 120, the remote device 130 could be configured such as include instructions in the form of an “app” or the like to display the GUI).
Regarding claim 6 and claim 13 and claim 27, Tuck in view of Lekutai and further in view of Elliot discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The device of claim 8 (see claim 8) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 22 (see claim 22).
wherein the data associated with the premises device comprises data associated with media content captured at the premises, and wherein the communication message comprises the data associated with the media content captured at the premises (Tuck. Fig. 6 & [0036] discloses a data display field may be used to display media content and/or other data provided by the controller from a collector such as a still image, a video image, etc. and media display field 620 could include a message or indication that audio was being played along with a description of the audio and further the audio could be played along with a display of moving or still images in the field 620; Tuck, [0033] discloses the controller may receive data from a collector indicating a possible emergency in a customer premises such as sounds or images indicating a possible break-in, indications of carbon monoxide or smoke indicating a possible fire, etc.).
Regarding claim 7 and claim 14 and claim 28, Tuck in view of Lekutai and further in view of Elliot discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The device of claim 8 (see claim 8) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 22 (see claim 22).
wherein the message is routed to a public-safety answering point configured to determine the physical address based on an automatic location identification (ALI) database (Tuck, [0014] discloses known signaling mechanisms may be used by a PSAP or the like when an emergency call is made to provide a phone number from which a call is made using Automatic Number Identification ANI in an advance intelligent network and a location such as a street address of a POTS telephone from which an emergency call is made may be determined by the PSAP and use a number obtained via ANI to then identify a location form which a call originated and an appropriate emergency responder may be contacted and requested to provide for assistance; Tuck, [0056] discloses once location information for the premises has been received, the server communicates and places a VOIP call according to SIP to a PSAP and using the location information for the premises, the PSAP is then able to forward the communication such as the VOIP call to an appropriate emergency call service provider for the location of the premises such as for example, the PSAP generally includes a look-up table or the like associating customer premises with emergency call service providers; Elliot, [0021] discloses the E911 provider receives the connected telephone call and they believe that the customer is calling from within their own home rather than from their cell phone and the E911 provider looks up in its PSAP database, the correct data indicating which police department should be called for the customer based upon their home address which is already on file and which is cross-referenced from the caller ID of the inbound phone call and the E911 provider there connects the call to the appropriate authorities within the local jurisdiction of the caller).
Regarding claim 15, Tuck discloses:
A system comprising: a server for sending encoded video content; and an encoder configured to: send, to a user device located external to a premises, data associated with a premises device located at the premises; (Tuck, Fig. 1 & [0011]-[0012] discloses the customer premises include a home automation gateway and the gateway may be connected to a home automation controller (i.e. reads on server and reads on encoder) that receives and interprets data from one or more data collectors such as a video or still camera, etc. and when data from one or more collectors (i.e. reads on associated with a premises device) indicates an emergency or alert condition in the customer premises (i.e. reads on located at the premises), the controller may provide a message (i.e. reads on send data) via the gateway to one or more remote devices 130 (i.e. reads on to a user device located external to a premises) and discloses device 130 that is geographically remote from the customer premises may be used to make a request for emergency services such as via a telephone call to an emergency call center or service provider via a variety of mechanisms and the request for emergency services may include a location of the customer premises and not the geographically remote location of the device 130; Tuck, Fig. 6 & [0036] discloses a data display field 620 may be used to display media content (i.e. reads on encoded video content) and/or other data provided (i.e. reads on for sending) by the controller 120 from a collector 125, e.g., a still image, a video image, etc. and further, audio content from a data collector 125, although not displayed in a visual sense in the GUI 600, could be displayed by being played through a speaker, headphone, etc., in the remote device 130. The media display field 620 could include a message or indication, e.g., "audio being played from bedroom 1 microphone," that audio was being played along with a description of the audio and further, audio could be played along with a display of moving or still images in the field 620; Tuck, [0027] discloses data collectors may include one or more sensors, cameras, etc. and in addition to the camera, carbon monoxide detector, and smoke detector, shown in FIG. 1, data collectors may include motion sensors, noise sensors, temperature sensors, moisture sensors, etc. and a data collector may be a control system or the like that is located in the customer premises (i.e. reads on premises device located at the premises) and configured to provide data to the controller; Tuck, [0028] discloses the device 130 will often be a portable computing device such as a smartphone; Tuck, [0026] discloses the controller is generally a computing device including a processor and a memory and also includes mechanisms for communicating with and receiving data from one or more data collectors; Tuck, [0064] discloses a processor receives instructions from a memory, computer-readable, medium, etc. and executes these instructions).
(Tuck, Fig. 6 & [0043] discloses the device 130 displays information (i.e. reads on data indicative of) from the alert or message provided by the controller 120 and for example, the GUI 600 as shown in FIG. 6 illustrates one exemplary display of information by a device 130 based on an alert or message provided by the controller 120 and the display on the device 130 may include information relating to an alert incident and/or possible emergency, along with an option for a user to initiate an emergency call such as a 911 call (i.e. reads on a request received by the user device to initiate communication with an emergency service associated with the premises); Tuck, Fig. 1 & [0012] discloses device 130 that is geographically remote from the customer premises may be used to make a request for emergency services (i.e. reads on a request associated with the user device communicating with an emergency service) such as via a telephone call to an emergency call center or service provider via a variety of mechanisms and the request for emergency services may include a location of the customer premises and specify that the emergency services are requested at the location of the customer premises (i.e. reads on associated with the premises) and not the geographically remote location of the device 130; Tuck, [0056] discloses once the location information for the customer premises has been received, the server communicates and places a VoIP call according to SIP to a PSAP and using the location information for the customer premises, the PSAP is then able to forward the communication such as the VoIP call to an appropriate emergency call service provider for the location of the customer premises; Tuck, [0029] discloses in any event, on receiving data from a medical alert data collector, a remote device could be used to initiate an E-911 call or the like. Applicant’s Specification, [0021] recites “The application device 102 may be configured to determine to send a notification to the user device 106. …” and Applicant’s Specification, [0024] recites “The user device 106 may cause output e.g., via the user interface, via the application of the notification. The output of the notification may be caused based on receiving premises data from the premises device 108. The application may output one or more user interface elements associated with the notification. The one or more user interface elements may comprise an … option to request an emergency service, and/or the like. The one or more user interface elements may comprise a button associated with initiating a call to an emergency service…”).
(Tuck, Abstract discloses the mobile computing device is configured to receive from the customer premises information (i.e. reads on based on the data indicative of the request) including data indicating a status of the customer premises and an identifier for the customer premises (i.e. reads on a communication identifier associated with the premises) and the device is further configured to receive user input to place an emergency call concerning the customer premises to provide the identifier for the customer premises to a data store as part of a query for a location of the customer premises; Tuck, [0042] discloses the controller generates an alert message such as a VoIP call to be sent to one or more devices 130 or could send a message to the home automation server which in turn could communicate with the one or more devices 130 and the controller may provide a message providing information relating to the alert such as shown in the GUI 600 identifying an address of the customer premises, describing an alert or emergency condition and providing data from a data collector; Tuck, [0019] discloses the gateway is configured to provide a media access control MAC address or some similar unique or substantially unique identifier associated with the customer premises and upon receiving a message including customer premises identifier, the server may submit a query to a home automation data store to determine a public safety answering point PSAP associated with the geographic location of the customer premises and the server may then place a telephone call to the PSAP associated with the customer premises. Applicant’s Specification, [0026] discloses “… the communication identifier may comprise a telephone number associated with a communication service configured at the premises. The communication identifier may comprise any other identifier such as a user name, a domain name, an internet protocol address, a network address, a physical address (e.g. a street address, a zip code, a city) or a combination thereof …”. Wikipedia defines MAC address as “a media access control address (MAC address) is a unique identifier … for use as a network address in communications).
and send, to the user device, the communication identifier, (Tuck, Fig. 4 & [0054] discloses the remote device 130 (i.e. reads on the user device) sends a message to the remote home automation server 135 and for example, the device 130 may place a VoIP call to the server including in one or more fields of a SIP INVITE message, identifying information (i.e. reads on the communication identifier) for the customer premises 105 received from (i.e. reads on send to) the controller; Tuck, [0042] discloses the controller generates an alert message such as a VoIP call to be sent to one or more devices 130 or could send a message to the home automation server which in turn could communicate with the one or more devices 130 and the controller may provide a message providing information relating to the alert such as shown in the GUI 600 identifying an address of the customer premises, describing an alert or emergency condition and providing data from a data collector).
wherein the user device is configured to use the communication identifier in a communication message (Tuck, Fig. 4 & [0054] discloses the remote device 130 (i.e. reads on wherein the user device is configured to use) sends a message (i.e. reads on in a communication message) to the remote home automation server 135 and for example, the device 130 may place a VoIP call to the server including in one or more fields of a SIP INVITE message, identifying information (i.e. reads on the communication identifier) for the customer premises 105 received from the controller).
that is routed based on an association of the communication identifier and a physical address of the premises (Tuck, Fig. 4 & [0055]-[0056] discloses the server queries the data store with the unique identifier (i.e. reads on based on an association of the communication identifier) for the customer premises to obtain location information such as geo-coordinates and/or a street address for the customer premises (i.e. reads on and a physical address of the premises) and discloses once location information for the customer premises has been received, the server communicates and places a VoIP call according to SIP to a PSAP and using the location information for the customer premises, the PSAP is then able to forward (i.e. reads on that is routed) the communication and VoIP call to an appropriate emergency call service provider for the location of the customer premises; Tuck, [0114] discloses known signaling mechanisms may be used by a PSAP or the like when an emergency call is made to provide a phone number from which a call is made, e.g., using Automatic Number Identification ANI in an advanced intelligent network AIN as is known and further, as is known, a location, e.g., street address, of a POTS telephone from which an emergency call is made may be determined, e.g., the PSAP may use a number obtained via ANI to then identify a location from which a call originated using the known Master Street Address Guide MSAG).
Tuck discloses determining an emergency alert condition and sending an emergency alert message that includes information for a user to call emergency services but fails to explicitly disclose a determination to call emergency services prior to sending the message and therefore fails to disclose “determine data indicative of a request to initiate communication with an emergency service”.
In addition, Tuck discloses the user device receiving a message that includes identifying information of a premises that could be a MAC address or some similar unique or substantially unique identifier and the user device sends a message via a VOIP call to a remote server that includes the identifying information of a premises which is utilized by the remote server to determine the location and street address of the premises in order to identify an appropriate PSAP where the identifying information may be any unique or substantially unique identifier associated with the customer premises but fails to explicitly disclose that a determination of the unique identifier is made based on an emergency message and account information and therefore fails to disclose “determine, based on the data indicative of the request and account information associated with the user device, a communication identifier associated with the premises;”.
In a related field of endeavor, Lekutai discloses:
determine data indicative of a request to initiate communication with an emergency service (Lekutai, [0035]-[0036] discloses the request may be a request to establish a voice call, such as the dialing of "911" (i.e. reads on data indicative of a request to initiate communication with an emergency service), or it may be a specific emergency request which is detectable (i.e. reads on determine) by appropriately configured equipment, such as ESME 142 and discloses a request for emergency assistance is transmitted to an emergency services provider and such a request may also include other information that may be useful or informative to an emergency services provider, such as the location of the device transmitting the request, an identifying number and/or user name associated with the device, or any other information and following the transmission of the request, a call may be established between the user and an emergency services provider; Lekutai, [0040] discloses the emergency services provider may be contact before associated contacts are determined and this may be in order to bring the emergency request to the attention of emergency services providers as quickly as possible and alternatively, the associated contacts may be determined and contacted prior to transmitting the emergency request to an emergency services provider and this may be to ensure that a message gets to an interested party even if the transmission to the emergency services provider fails and in yet another alternative, transmitting the emergency request to an emergency services provider and determining and contacting the associated contacts is performed in parallel, bringing the situation to the notice of both the emergency services provider and the associated contacts as soon as possible).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Tuck to incorporate the teachings of Lekutai for the purpose of providing the system with a means to identify and determine the type of information to be provided (Lekutai, [0035]-[0036]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of transmitting a request for dialing emergency services 911 as taught by Tuck) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of transmitting a request for dialing emergency services 911, wherein the request for dialing emergency services 911 is first determined prior to the transmission as taught by Lekutai) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of transmitting a request for dialing emergency services 911 (i.e. as taught by Tuck & Lekutai) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Tuck in view of Lekutai fails to disclose “determine, based on the data indicative of the request and account information associated with the user device, a communication identifier associated with the premises;”.
In a related field of endeavor, Elliot discloses:
determine, based on the data indicative of the request and account information associated with the user device, a communication identifier associated with the premises; (Elliot, [0020] discloses Alarm Monitoring Service 130 may connect this call (i.e. reads on based on the data indicative of the request) by "emulating" the caller ID of the customer and this emulated Caller ID number may be stored in an internal or external customer database as a data array with each customer identification (i.e. reads on and account information associated with the user device) and associated Caller ID for the customer's home number 275 and in step 270, a lookup (i.e. reads on determine) is made to retrieve the customer home phone number (i.e. reads on a communication identifier associated with the premises) using the customer identification associated with the alarm system 150 and in step 280, the customer 110 home phone number is then inserted as the Caller ID number for the outgoing call which is made from the Alarm Monitoring Service 130 to the E911 center 170; Elliot, [0014] discloses Alarm monitoring service 130 have an internal or external customer database which may include contact information such as phone numbers (i.e. reads on associated with user device) and the like for each customer (i.e. reads on account information) whose alarm system 150 is monitored by alarm monitoring company 130; Elliot, [0018]-[0019] discloses Alarm Monitoring Service 130 issues an automated phone call 120 to the customer 110's cell phone (i.e. reads on user device) or other remote or portable device and a computer-generated voice may play a message to the user 110 such as "Break-in at your home. Press 1 to call the Police" and discloses In step 240, the customer 110 may then press "1" or otherwise indicate that he wishes to have the police or other emergency services such as fire, ambulance summoned and if, however, the customer 110 decides or otherwise indicates the alarm is real or the system otherwise indicates that the alarm may be real e.g., customer fails to properly enter PIN number, customer enters silent alarm PIN number, or the like then Alarm Monitoring Service 130 then connects the call to the E911 Service Provider 170 over phone or other link 160 in step 260; Elliot, [0010] discloses the alarm monitoring company contacts the customer if an alarm event occurs and offers the customer the opportunity to connect with the 911 call center for their home and if the customer indicates they want to call 911, the call is routed to the correct PSAP center with the customers home caller ID number emulated for the call and in this manner the PSAP center can determine from the caller ID data, the correct response agency that is local to the customers home; Elliot, [0021]-[0022] discloses the E911 provider receives the connected telephone call and they believe that the customer is calling from within their own home rather than from their cell phone and the E911 provider looks up in its PSAP database, the correct data indicating which police department should be called for the customer based upon their home address which is already on file and which is cross-referenced from the caller ID of the inbound phone call and the E911 provider there connects the call to the appropriate authorities within the local jurisdiction of the caller and discloses in the present invention, the customers are allowed to call the authorities "as if" they dialed "911" from inside of their own home, even though they are remote and on a cell phone, and this call is made in response to an event generated by the security system within their home and if the customer is cut off in the 911 call, emergency services will be dispatched to the home where the alarm is located, and not to the customer 'remote location and in addition, since most E911 dispatches are made based on Caller-ID information, the customer need not read their address to the dispatcher, thus reducing the time for response and eliminating the possibility that services are dispatched to the wrong address. Moreover, when a 911 call center receives a call having a Caller ID number different than for the address reported for the emergency, all center staff may initially suspect a prank or hoax call. By providing the "correct" Caller ID for the emergency location, the chance of mishap or miscommunication is reduced or eliminated).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Tuck in view of Lekutai to incorporate the teachings of Elliot for the purpose of providing the system with a means to retrieve the identifying information of the customer premises in order to be able to include the identifying information in the message sent so that the identifying information can be utilized in determining the location information of the premises (Elliot, [0020]-[0021] & Tuck, [0054]-[0056]) and for providing the system with an alternative identifying information of the customer premises (Elliot, [0020] & Tuck, [0019]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of providing and utilizing identifying information of the customer premises in order to determine the location of the customer premises as taught by Tuck) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of providing and utilizing identifying information of the customer premises in order to determine the location of the customer premises, wherein the identifying information is determined prior to including in the call using account information and wherein the identifying information is a home phone number as taught by Elliot) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system a process of providing and utilizing identifying information of the customer premises in order to determine the location of the customer premises (i.e. as taught by Tuck & Elliot) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 16, Tuck in view of Lekutai and further in view of Elliot discloses:
The system of claim 15, (see claim 15).
wherein the premises device comprises one or more of a camera, a sensor, a or a combination thereof (Tuck, [0027] discloses data collectors may include one or more sensors, cameras, etc. and in addition to the camera, carbon monoxide detector, and smoke detector, shown in FIG. 1, data collectors may include motion sensors, noise sensors, temperature sensors, moisture sensors, etc. and a data collector may be a control system or the like that is located in the customer premises and configured to provide data to the controller).
Regarding claim 17, Tuck in view of Lekutai and further in view of Elliot discloses:
The system of claim 15, (see claim 15).
wherein the communication identifier comprises a telephone number associated with a communication service configured at the premises (Elliot, [0020] discloses a lookup is made to retrieve the customer home phone number using the customer identification associated with the alarm system and the customer home phone number is then inserted as the caller ID number for the outgoing call which is made from the alarm monitoring service to the E911 center; Elliot, [0010] discloses the alarm monitoring company contacts the customer if an alarm event occurs and offers the customer the opportunity to connect with the 911 call center for their home and if the customer indicates they want to call 911, the call is routed to the correct PSAP center with the customers home caller ID number emulated for the call and in this manner the PSAP center can determine from the caller ID data, the correct response agency that is local to the customers home; Tuck, [0019] discloses the gateway is configured to provide a media access control MAC address or some similar unique or substantially unique identifier associated with the customer premises and upon receiving a message including customer premises identifier, the server may submit a query to a home automation data store to determine a public safety answering point PSAP associated with the geographic location of the customer premises and the server may then place a telephone call to the PSAP associated with the customer premises; Tuck, Abstract discloses the mobile computing device is configured to receive from the customer premises information including data indicating a status of the customer premises and an identifier for the customer premises and the device is further configured to receive user input to place an emergency call concerning the customer premises to provide the identifier for the customer premises to a data store as part of a query for a location of the customer premises).
Regarding claim 18, Tuck in view of Lekutai and further in view of Elliot discloses:
The system of claim 15, (see claim 15).
wherein the communication identifier is stored in a field of the communication message indicating a sender of the communication message (Tuck, Fig. 4 & [0054] discloses the remote device 130 sends a message to the remote home automation server 135 and for example, the device 130 may place a VoIP call to the server including in one or more fields of a SIP INVITE message, identifying information for the customer premises 105 received from the controller; Elliot, [0020] discloses a lookup is made to retrieve the customer home phone number using the customer identification associated with the alarm system and the customer home phone number is then inserted as the caller ID number for the outgoing call which is made from the alarm monitoring service to the E911 center; Elliot, [0010] discloses the alarm monitoring company contacts the customer if an alarm event occurs and offers the customer the opportunity to connect with the 911 call center for their home and if the customer indicates they want to call 911, the call is routed to the correct PSAP center with the customers home caller ID number emulated for the call and in this manner the PSAP center can determine from the caller ID data, the correct response agency that is local to the customers home).
Regarding claim 19, Tuck in view of Lekutai and further in view of Elliot discloses:
The system of claim 15, wherein the computing device is further configured to (see claim 15).
cause output of a notification associated with the premises, wherein the request to initiate communication with the emergency service is based on the notification (Tuck, Fig. 3 & [0048]-[0050] discloses the message or alerts regarding an incident, emergency condition etc. in a customer premises is received in a remote device 130 and discloses the remote device provides a display based on information received from a controller 120 in the customer premises and discloses the remote device receives input via a user selection of an option provided by a field in a GUI displayed on the remote device as shown in Fig. 6 to make a request for emergency assistance such as to make a 911 call; Tuck, Fig. 6 & [0033] discloses a graphical user interface GUI in a remote device 130 for reporting a possible emergency incident and upon receiving information from the controller 120, the remote device 130 could be configured such as include instructions in the form of an “app” or the like to display the GUI).
Regarding claim 20, Tuck in view of Lekutai and further in view of Elliot discloses:
The system of claim 15, (see claim 15).
wherein the data associated with the premises device comprises data associated with media content captured at the premises, and wherein the communication message comprises the data associated with the media content captured at the premises (Tuck. Fig. 6 & [0036] discloses a data display field may be used to display media content and/or other data provided by the controller from a collector such as a still image, a video image, etc. and media display field 620 could include a message or indication that audio was being played along with a description of the audio and further the audio could be played along with a display of moving or still images in the field 620; Tuck, [0033] discloses the controller may receive data from a collector indicating a possible emergency in a customer premises such as sounds or images indicating a possible break-in, indications of carbon monoxide or smoke indicating a possible fire, etc.).
Regarding claim 21, Tuck in view of Lekutai and further in view of Elliot discloses:
The system of claim 15, (see claim 15).
wherein the message is routed to a public-safety answering point configured to determine the physical address based on an automatic location identification (ALI) database (Tuck, [0014] discloses known signaling mechanisms may be used by a PSAP or the like when an emergency call is made to provide a phone number from which a call is made using Automatic Number Identification ANI in an advance intelligent network and a location such as a street address of a POTS telephone from which an emergency call is made may be determined by the PSAP and use a number obtained via ANI to then identify a location form which a call originated and an appropriate emergency responder may be contacted and requested to provide for assistance; Tuck, [0056] discloses once location information for the premises has been received, the server communicates and places a VOIP call according to SIP to a PSAP and using the location information for the premises, the PSAP is then able to forward the communication such as the VOIP call to an appropriate emergency call service provider for the location of the premises such as for example, the PSAP generally includes a look-up table or the like associating customer premises with emergency call service providers; Elliot, [0021] discloses the E911 provider receives the connected telephone call and they believe that the customer is calling from within their own home rather than from their cell phone and the E911 provider looks up in its PSAP database, the correct data indicating which police department should be called for the customer based upon their home address which is already on file and which is cross-referenced from the caller ID of the inbound phone call and the E911 provider there connects the call to the appropriate authorities within the local jurisdiction of the caller).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645