DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-9 are the subject of this FINAL Office Action. Claims 10-20 are withdrawn. Any objection(s) and/or rejection(s) not reiterated and/or maintained in the following FINAL Office Action is considered withdrawn in view of Applicant's response.
Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-9) in the reply filed 09/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Priority - Maintained
The instant claims receive an effective filing date of 08/16/2013 (AIA ) because the non-provisional parent application (No. 13/968,587) filed on that date is the first priority document that contains written description support for iPSC-reprogrammed supercentenarian cells. Specifically, provisional application Nos. 61/684,047 and 61/825,053 filed 08/16/2012 and 5/19/2013 fail to reduce to practice reprogramming supercentenarian cells, instead only providing a wish or an experimental plan. More specifically, the provisional applications merely provide a plan to generate iPSC from supercentenarian cells using conventional reprogramming techniques, but never actual demonstrate as much using the critical integration-free episomal DNA transfection of Oct4, Klf4, Sox2 and c-Myc in Epstein Barr Virus immortalized B-lymphoblastoid cells . In contrast, the non-provisional parent includes a specific example of a reprogrammed supercentenarian cell using integration-free episomal DNA transfection of Oct4, Klf4, Sox2 and c-Myc in Epstein Barr Virus immortalized B-lymphoblastoid cells (Figs. 1-2). Thus, the priority date is 08/16/2013 (AIA ) because the provisional applications filed before that date fail to demonstrate possession of a reprogrammed supercentenarian cell.
If Applicants dispute this analysis, then they must provide detailed explanation as to how the priority documents actually demonstrate possession of a reprogrammed supercentenarian cell.
Previous Response to Arguments
The Office is not persuaded of error by Applicants’ Reply filed 04/29/2020 because Applicants merely state they disagree without providing evidence. Thus, the conclusion as to priority is maintained.
Claim Interpretation
The claims do not require any steps of actually determining telomere length, rather only “identifying cells which exhibit telomere length resetting.” A cell can exhibit telomere length resetting without it ever being determined. In fact, as the prior art demonstrates, this is a feature of iPSC. Thus, an iPSC will necessarily exhibit telomere length resetting.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 103 - Maintained
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lapasset et al. (Rejuvenating senescent and centenarian human cells by reprogramming through the pluripotent state, Genes Dev. 2011 Nov 1; 25(21): 2248–2253) and PRIEUR (US 2014/0056860), in view of Yagi et al. (Establishment of Induced Pluripotent Stem Cells from Centenarians for Neurodegenerative Disease Research, PLoS One. 2012; 7(7): e41572. Published online 2012 Jul 25), Lodi et al. (Stem cells in clinical practice: applications and warnings, J Exp Clin Cancer Res. 2011 Jan 17;30:9); Lewis et al. (Centenarians as stem cell donors, Am J Bioeth. 2009 Nov;9(11):1-3) and Mahmoudi et al. (Aging and reprogramming: a two-way street, Curr Opin Cell Biol. 2012 Dec;24(6):744-56. doi: 10.1016/j.ceb.2012.10.004. Epub 2012 Nov 9).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to extend the centenarian iPSC technique of Lapasset and PRIEUR to supercentenarians as suggested throughout the prior art with a reasonable expectation of success.
As to familiar iPSC reprogramming of aged-human cells of claims 1-9, Lapasset and PRIEUR teach to collect fibroblast cells from validated human centenarians (Lapasset at Abstract and pgs. 2248-49; PRIEUR at Example), reprogram the cells to iPSC as verified by telomere length toward embryonic (pgs. 2250-51; PRIEUR at Example). Lapasset provides motivation to extend this centenarian iPSC technique to older cells:
Taken together, our results show that it is possible, using an adequate reprogramming strategy, to efficiently reprogram senescent cells and cells derived from very old individuals into iPSCs and that cellular senescence and aging are not barriers to reprogramming toward pluripotency. Crucially, we also demonstrated for the first time that, when redifferentiated back into fibroblasts, our cells have rejuvenated extended life spans and characteristics of young proliferative embryonic fibroblasts; thus, these cells have been completely rid of their former aged cellular phenotype.
Our demonstration of the reversibility of major aspects of the cellular aging physiology provides a totally unexpected insight into the perceived importance of epigenetic modifications in aging and provides a new paradigm for cell rejuvenation.
Because iPSCs can bypass the ethical concerns related to hESC derivation and potential issues of allogenic rejection, an evident ultimate goal for iPSC research is their use for therapy, as they may represent an ideal source of immune system-tolerated adult cells for future clinical applications. In this context, we believe that our six-factor-based reprogramming, in reversing the aged altered cellular physiology, may constitute an optimal strategy for developing cell-based therapies for aged patients
(pg. 2252). Thus, both Lapasset and PRIEUR provide implicit motivation to extend centenarian-based iPSC to supercentenarian cells.
Neither Lapasset nor PRIEUR explicitly teaches supercentenarian cells. However, in addition to the implicit motivation a skilled artisan would find from both Lapasset and PRIEUR, further numerous prior art references explicitly suggest as much. Lodi states that
It has been proposed that centenarians and supercentenarians (aged 110 years or more) may present an unprecedented opportunity to explore the possibilities of SCs [iPSC-derived stem cells] that have proven their value over time. These SCs should be studied to determine their developmental potential, mutational load, telomere lengths, and markers of “stemness” [citing Lewis]
(pg. 13, col. 1). Lewis explicitly suggests to use centenarian and supercentenarian cells to generate stem cells for further study:
Much current research on 110+-year-olds as well as youngsters just past the century mark focuses on counting them and identifying what they have survived or never developed–the ills that fell the vast majority of us, including heart disease, stroke, and cancers. These people live a very long time with very little disability, recover from whatever illnesses they catch or develop, and when they do approach the end, die fast (Schoenhofen 2006). Projects such as the New England Centenarian Study (http://www.bumc.bu.edu/centenarian) and the Okinawa Centenarian Study are scrutinizing the human genome for gene variants associated with extreme longevity. Might the very aged also have extraordinary regenerative capacities (Willcox 2008)? If the oldest old resist or overcome the degenerative diseases that kill most of us, perhaps they do so because of a built-in reserve – their stem cells. In fact, the first human disease cells “reprogrammed” into induced pluripotent stem (iPS) cells came from a pair of 82-year old women with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis; they were selected because of their mild cases (Dimos 2008).
(pg. 1) (emphases added). Another reference (Mahmoudi) similarly states that
On the other end of the age spectrum are individuals with exceptional longevity, such as centenarians and supercentenarians (110 years old or more). In these individuals, longevity is known to be largely due to genetic factors. It will be interesting to determine if iPSC lines derived from these individuals exhibit specific qualities compared to cells from individuals with normal lifespan, and whether some lineages are more affected than others. Centenarian-derived iPSC lines could also serve as cellular models to understand the molecular mechanisms of exceptional longevity (very reductionist approach!).
(pg. 9) (emphases added). In fact, Yagi demonstrated that a skilled artisan would expect success using >109-year-old cells because Yagi successfully reprogrammed 109-year-old cells “using only the four [conventional Yamanaka] factors without any difficulties” (pg. 4, col. 2). In other words, the prior art demonstrates a strong interest in reprogramming supercentenarian cells using conventional iPSC techniques with a reasonable expectation of success.
In sum, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to reprogram supercentenarian cells in order to study regenerative medicine with a reasonable expectation of success.
Previous Response to Arguments
The Office is not persuaded of error by Applicants’ Reply filed 07/15/2019 because the prior art in fact provides a reasonable expectation of success to reprogram supercentenarian cells using any available techniques and any available reprogramming/iPSC markers. Applicants argue that Lapasset does not provide a reasonable expectation of success to reprogram supercentenarian cells because in their background section they discuss previous difficulties in reprogramming centenarian and other old cells, and they used a six-factor reprogramming technique instead of a four-factor reprogramming technique. Yet, Applicants selectively quote Lapasset, which immediately after the selective quote states that
[h]ere we demonstrate that a specific six-factor gene cocktail causes efficient reversing of cellular senescence and reprogramming into iPSCs and that reprogrammed iPSCs generated from senescent and centenarian fibroblasts are indistinguishable from human embryonic stem cells (hESCs). Finally, we demonstrate that redifferentiation led to rejuvenated cells with a reset cellular physiology, defining a new paradigm for cell rejuvenation.
(pg. 2248, col. 2). In other words, Applicants ignore the fact that Lapasset actually solved the problem they identified in their background section. Even more, Lappasset suggest to extend this discovery to other old cells as explained in the Non-Final Office Action:
Taken together, our results show that it is possible, using an adequate reprogramming strategy, to efficiently reprogram senescent cells and cells derived from very old individuals into iPSCs and that cellular senescence and aging are not barriers to reprogramming toward pluripotency. Crucially, we also demonstrated for the first time that, when redifferentiated back into fibroblasts, our cells have rejuvenated extended life spans and characteristics of young proliferative embryonic fibroblasts; thus, these cells have been completely rid of their former aged cellular phenotype.
Our demonstration of the reversibility of major aspects of the cellular aging physiology provides a totally unexpected insight into the perceived importance of epigenetic modifications in aging and provides a new paradigm for cell rejuvenation.
Because iPSCs can bypass the ethical concerns related to hESC derivation and potential issues of allogenic rejection, an evident ultimate goal for iPSC research is their use for therapy, as they may represent an ideal source of immune system-tolerated adult cells for future clinical applications. In this context, we believe that our six-factor-based reprogramming, in reversing the aged altered cellular physiology, may constitute an optimal strategy for developing cell-based therapies for aged patients
(pgs. 4-5). Thus, in fact Lapasset provides both motivation and a reasonable expectation of success to reprogram supercentenarian cells.
Applicants similarly argue that Yagi fails to provide a reasonable expectation of success to reprogram supercentenarian cells because the 109-year-old donor cells did not demonstrate telomere lengthening. However, Applicants ignore all the other reprogramming markers/indicators. Specifically, Yagi states that
We established two iPSC clones (100–1 #8 and #16) derived from a 106-year-old donor and one clone (100–2 #1) derived from a 109-year-old donor using retroviral transduction of primary human fibroblasts with the original Yamanaka factors OCT4, SOX2, KLF4, and c-MYC.
(pg. 2, col. 1; emphasis added). This clone was considered reprogrammed because it demonstrated markers of pluripotency (Fig. 1) and teratoma formation (fig. 2). Thus, in fact Yagi, in light of all the prior art suggesting to apply known reprogramming techniques to supercentenarian cells (Non-Final, pgs. 4-6), demonstrates a reasonable expectation of success to reprogram supercentenarian cells.
Finally, Applicants do not argue commensurate with their claims. For example, telomere reset is not required by claim 21; nor any particular reprogramming technique. Instead, the claims broadly state to reprogram supercentenarian cells. Thus Applicants’ arguments that the prior art does not enable or provide reasonable expectation of success for supercentenarian reprogramming begs the questions: what reprogramming technique did Applicants use? Did Applicants actually reprogram any supercentenarian cells? Or did Applicants merely follow the suggestions of the prior art using known reprogramming techniques?
In sum, the prima facie obviousness is maintained because the prior art clearly provides explicit and implicit motivation to reprogram supercentenarian cells using available reprogramming techniques with a reasonable expectation of success.
Previous Response to Arguments
The Office is not persuaded of error by Applicants’ Reply filed 04/29/2020 because all that is required is a reasonable expectation of success which is provided in the cited prior art. The Federal Circuit stated in In re O'Farrell, 853 F.2d 894, 903 (Fed. Cir. 1988), and reiterated in In re Kubin, 561 F.3d 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2009), “‘[o]bviousness does not require absolute predictability of success ... all that is required is a reasonable expectation of success.’” Id. at 1360 (quoting O'Farrell, 853 F.2d at 903-904). Yagi, Lapasset and PRIEUR provide this reasonable expectation of success as previously explained in the previous replies above.
Applicants repeat the previous arguments; thus, these arguments are addressed in the previous replies above. Applicants also now argue that “deep senescence” in supercentenarian cells would prevent success due to negative correlation of donor age with efficiency of reprogramming, increase in lamin A with age, DNA damage, increase in senescent cells with age and decrease in ability to proliferate in culture with age (Reply, pgs. 6-10). However, all of these problems were overcome in Yagi and Lapasset as previously explained. Applicants continue to argue that Lapasset “faced difficulty in using the conventional four-factor method for inducing pluripotency in senescent cells,” which caused them to use a 6-factor reprogramming. Yet, this is irrelevant to the claims which do not require any particular reprogramming technique. In fact, Example 1 of the instant specification indicates any familiar reprogramming technique would work:
The derivation of iPS cells from supercentenarian donor cells is performed by introducing reprogramming factors into the cultured donor cells (Takahashi K et al. (2007) Nat Protoc 2: 3081). Methods for reprogramming are well established including the use of viral vectors, episomal plasmid DNA, and RNA to introduce the reprogramming factors or small molecule reagents to activate reprogramming factors. The source of donor cells may be any source known in the art including, without limitation, dermal fibroblasts, hair follicle, and blood. Blood cells (e.g. B-lymphocytes) that have been immortalized by Epstein Barr Virus (EBV) infection are advantageous for obtaining sufficient numbers of cells for reprogramming. Non-viral methods of reprogramming such as integration-free episomal DNA transfection (Okita et al. (2011) Nat Methods 8:409) are advantageous because they minimize risk of inadvertent genetic modification that could activate tumor forming ability in iPS cells and their derivatives.
Even more, the claims are directed to reprogramming supercentenarian cells. That’s it. No particular cell screening, patient screening, pluripotency confirmation technique, autologous treatment, differentiation or anything else is required by the claims. Thus, any argument as to lack of reasonable expectation of success due to particular conditions is irrelevant to the very broad claims to any reprogramming technique using any supercentenarian cells.
The plain facts are that Lapasset and Yagi reprogrammed 101-year-old and 109-year-old cells, respectively. Lapasset used a familiar 6-factor technique; and Yagi used a familiar 4-factor technique. A skilled artisan reading Lapasset and Yagi, in light of the implicit and explicit suggestions of the prior art explained and cited in the obviousness rejection above would have been motivated to try reprogramming 110-year-old cells; and would have expected based on the success with up to 109-year-old cells that 110-year-old cells would be reprogrammed, too, using any familiar reprogramming techniques. In fact, both Lapasset and Yagi suggest as much, as does the instant specification. The Specification even states that “donor cells from individuals up to 109 years of age have been successfully reprogrammed to pluripotency (Yagi et aL (2012) PloS One 7: e4172; Lapasset et al. (2011) Genes Dev 25: 2248)” (para. 0006). This is an admission by Applicant that both Lapasset and Yagi reprogrammed cells up to 109-years-old. Applicant now contradicts their statement from their Specification when they state that “[t]he correct reading of Yagi is that Yagi did not successfully reprogram cells of a 109 year old and demonstrate telomere lengthening” (Reply, pg. 15). Thus, the prior art in fact provides a reasonable expectation of success in reprogramming supercentenarian cells using familiar reprogramming techniques as admitted by applicant.
In the absence of objective evidence (e.g. unexpected results) that Applicants somehow overcame these supposedly impossible hurdles to reprogramming supercentenarian cells by using a particular reprogramming technique, then the Office remains convinced the clamed invention is obvious in light of the prior art as a whole.
In contrast, as was explained in U.S. Application 17/110,230, Although Lapasset et al. (Rejuvenating senescent and centenarian human cells by reprogramming through the pluripotent state, Genes Dev. 2011 Nov 1; 25(21): 2248–2253) and PRIEUR (US 2014/0056860), in view of Yagi et al. (Establishment of Induced Pluripotent Stem Cells from Centenarians for Neurodegenerative Disease Research, PLoS One. 2012; 7(7): e41572. Published online 2012 Jul 25), Lodi et al. (Stem cells in clinical practice: applications and warnings, J Exp Clin Cancer Res. 2011 Jan 17;30:9); Lewis et al. (Centenarians as stem cell donors, Am J Bioeth. 2009 Nov;9(11):1-3) and Mahmoudi et al. (Aging and reprogramming: a two-way street, Curr Opin Cell Biol. 2012 Dec;24(6):744-56. doi: 10.1016/j.ceb.2012.10.004. Epub 2012 Nov 9) demonstrate that a skilled artisan had a strong interest in reprogramming supercentenarian cells, yet none of these references achieved as much.
[T]he reprogramming into iPSCs still suffers from several hurdles that have to be overcome for their practical application. Among them, cellular senescence increasing with the age was thought to be a critical issue. Senescence is linked to physiological aging, and is characterized by an irreversible cell cycle arrest in response to various forms of stress, including activation of oncogenes, shortened telomeres (replicative senescence), DNA damage, oxidative stress, and mitochondrial dysfunction. A common
feature is the activation of the p53/p21CIP1 and p16INK4A/pRb pathways, alteration of cell morphology and metabolism, increase in senescence-associated β-galactosidase (SA-β-Gal) activity, and formation of senescence-associated heterochromatic foci (SAHF).
It has been reported by several groups that cellular senescence is a barrier to reprogramming due to upregulation of p53, p16INK4A, and p21CIP1, which are also induced by some of the iPSC reprogramming factors. This suggested that cellular aging might be an important limitation for the derivation of iPSCs for therapeutic purposes from elderly individuals
Lapasset, pg. 2248, col. 2 (citations omitted).
Lapasset et al. recently generated iPSCs derived from senescent cells and cells from a centenarian (101-year-old) individual by introducing six factors: OCT4, SOX2, KLF4, c-MYC, NANOG, and LIN28. The reprogramming strategy used in that study was designed to overcome cellular senescence, which represents a critical barrier to reprogramming
Yagi, pg. 1, col. 2. In other words, to overcome cellular senescence in very aged cells, Lapasset used lentiviral vectors with OCT4, SOX2, KLF4, c-MYC, along with NANOG, and LIN28 in up to 101-yo fibroblast cells. Although Yagi proceeded to use retroviral transduction of OCT4, SOX2, KLF4 and c-MYC in fibroblasts, yet the oldest cells used were 109 years. Thus, at the time of the invention, the prior art demonstrated a reasonable expectation of success to reprogram centenarian and supercentenarian fibroblast cells using retroviral or lentiviral transduction of either OCT4, SOX2, KLF4 and c-MYC or OCT4, SOX2, KLF4, c-MYC, along with NANOG, and LIN28.
Here, Applicants demonstrate successful reprogramming of supercentenarian cells using integration-free episomal DNA transfection of Oct4, Klf4, Sox2 and c-Myc in Epstein Barr Virus immortalized B-lymphoblastoid cells (Spec., Examples 1-4). The Examiner could not find in the prior art a reasonable expectation of success to reprogram supercentenarian cells using this combination of reprogramming factors, delivery technique and cells. A general expectation of success existed for reprogramming Epstein Barr Virus immortalized B-lymphoblastoid cells using integration-free episomal DNA transfection of Oct4, Klf4, Sox2 and c-Myc (Rajesh et al., Human lymphoblastoid B-cell lines reprogrammed to EBV-free induced pluripotent stem cells, Blood, 2011 Aug 18;118(7):1797-800. doi: 10.1182/blood-2011-01-332064. Epub 2011 Jun 27), but never applied to supercentenarian cells. Applicants should consider amending their claims accordingly.
Double Patenting- Obvious Type
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Instant claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over conflicting claims 1-19 of US 11981930.
The conflicting method claims teach the same method using a species of reprogramming that falls within the genus here. Specifically, the conflicting claims teach
1. A method of generating stem cells having a reduced rate of cellular aging, the method comprising:
a. collecting a cell sample from a validated supercentenarian individual, the cell sample comprising Epstein Barr Virus immortalized B-lymphoblastoid cells;
b. reprogramming cells from the cell sample into induced pluripotent (iPS) cells, the reprogramming comprising integration-free episomal DNA comprising Oct4, Klf4, Sox2 and c-Myc;
c. identifying supercentenarian induced pluripotent stem (sciPS) cells which exhibit telemore length resetting; and
d. deriving stem cells which exhibit telomere length resetting from the sciPS cells, thereby generating stem cell having a reduced rate of cellular aging as compared to stem cells from iPS cells from a non-supercentenarian donor.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the sciPS cells exhibit full telomere length resetting towards embryonic length.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the supercentenarian individual is a human.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the stem cells are mesenchymal stromal cells (MSC) or hematopoietic stem cells (HSC).
5. An isolated population of sciPS cells comprising iPS cells made by the method of claim 1.
6. The sciPS cells of claim 5, wherein the iPS cells exhibit telomere length resetting towards embryonic length.
7. The sciPS cells of claim 5, wherein the supercentenarian individual is a human.
8. An isolated population of stem cells derived from the sciPS cells of claim 5; wherein the stem cells exhibit telomere length resetting.
9. A method of identifying substances capable of tissue homeostasis and immune function regulation; the method comprising:
a. culturing sciPS cells according to claim 5 and stem cells therefrom in growth media, and
b. identifying substances in the growth media or in cell extracts.
10. A method of age-related disease relevant screening of candidate agent, the method comprising:
a. contacting the candidate agent with a population of stem cells made by the method of claim 1; and
d. determining the morphologic, genetic or functional effect of the candidate agent on the stem cells or on cells differentiated therefrom.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein the age-related disease is selected from the group consisting of osteoporosis, osteoarthritis, cancer, heart disease, stroke, and neurological disorders.
12. The method of claim 1, wherein the candidate agent is selected from the group consisting of biologics, small molecules, drugs, nutraceuticals, cosmeceuticals, compounds, and reagents.
13. The method of claim 10, wherein the stem cells are human stem cells.
14. The method of claim 10, wherein the stem cells exhibit full telomere length resetting towards embryonic length.
15. The method of claim 10, wherein the stem cells are MSCs or HSCs.
16. A method of screening candidate agents for the ability to confer properties of stem cells made by the method of claim 1, the method comprising:
a. contacting the candidate agent with a population of non-sciPS cells;
b. comparing the cells resulting from step a with stem cells made by the method of claim 1; and
c. identifying agents which are capable of conferring properties of stem cells made by the method of claim 1 to the non-sciPS cells.
17. The method of claim 16, wherein the candidate agent is selected from the group consisting of biologics, small molecules, drugs, nutraceuticals, cosmeceuticals, compounds, and reagents.
18. The method of claim 16, wherein the properties of stem cells made by the method of claim 1 conferred to the non-sciPS cells are a reduced rate of cellular aging as compared to non-sciPS cells without the candidate agent.
19. The method of claim 16, wherein the non-sciPS cells are human.
Thus, the conflicting claims teach a species of reprogramming supercentenarian cells that anticipated the genus here.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
This is a CON of applicant's earlier Application Nos. 15/299927 and 17/110230. All claims are identical to, patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with the invention claimed in the earlier application (that is, restriction (including lack of unity) would not be proper) and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the earlier application. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action in this case. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON A PRIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681