DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 5/13/24, 4/25/25 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kohno et al. (US 5,688,028 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kohno teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a smart actuator assembly (fig 2), further comprising:
an overmolded electronics assembly (30), further comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB, 32);
a housing (31) at least partially surrounding the PCB (32); and
at least one bearing holder (33) integrally formed as part of the housing (3);
a motor subassembly (20), further comprising:
at least one bearing assembly (25) mounted to a shaft;
wherein the overmolded electronics assembly (30) is connected to the motor subassembly (20) such that the at least one bearing (25) is at least partially disposed in the at least one bearing holder (33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohno in view of Migita et al. (US 11,705,773 B2).
Regarding claim 2, Kohno teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of the at least one bearing holder further comprising: a base portion; a circumferential side wall integrally formed with the base portion; a recess area surrounded by the base portion; and a mounting surface integrally formed with the base portion, the mounting surface is perpendicular to the circumferential side wall; wherein the at least one bearing assembly is in contact with the mounting surface and surrounded by the circumferential side wall, and the shaft partially extends into the recess area.
Migita teaches a motor having an integrated shield and at least one bearing holder wherein the at least one bearing holder (300) comprising:
a base portion (320);
a circumferential side wall (312) integrally formed with the base portion (320);
a recess area (314) surrounded by the base portion (320); and
a mounting surface (316) integrally formed with the base portion (320), the mounting surface (316) is perpendicular to the circumferential side wall (312);
wherein the at least one bearing assembly (250) is in contact with the mounting surface (316) and surrounded by the circumferential side wall (312), and the shaft (242) partially extends into the recess area (314) to simplify assembly process and reduce cost of manufacturing (col 3 ln 12-15).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kohno’s apparatus with the at least one bearing holder comprising: a base portion; a circumferential side wall integrally formed with the base portion; a recess area surrounded by the base portion; and a mounting surface integrally formed with the base portion, the mounting surface is perpendicular to the circumferential side wall; wherein the at least one bearing assembly is in contact with the mounting surface and surrounded by the circumferential side wall, and the shaft partially extends into the recess area as taught by Migita. Doing so would simplify assembly process and reduce cost of manufacturing (col 3 ln 12-15).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohno in view of Ihata et al. (US 2005/0168085 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kohno teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of a wave washer disposed between the at least one bearing assembly and the mounting surface; wherein the wave washer is compressed between and applies force to the at least one at least one bearing assembly and the mounting surface, facilitating proper alignment of the at least one bearing assembly.
Ihata teaches a bearing device of an AC generator having a wave washer (1) disposed between the at least one bearing assembly (81) and the mounting surface (83); wherein the wave washer (1) is compressed between and applies force to the at least one at least one bearing assembly (81) and the mounting surface (83), facilitating proper alignment of the at least one bearing assembly (abs) to prevent exceeding pre-load force while improving creep-resistance performance (para [0031]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kohno’s apparatus with a wave washer disposed between the at least one bearing assembly and the mounting surface; wherein the wave washer is compressed between and applies force to the at least one at least one bearing assembly and the mounting surface, facilitating proper alignment of the at least one bearing assembly as taught by Ihata. Doing so would prevent exceeding pre-load force while improving creep-resistance performance (para [0031]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohno in view of Deynet (US 5,668,422 A).
Regarding claim 8, Kohno teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of a vent holder integrally formed as part of the housing; wherein a vent assembly is connected to the vent holder.
Deynet teaches a sealing connecting device having a vent holder (3.1) integrally formed as part of the housing (3); wherein a vent assembly (3.2) is connected to the vent holder (3.1) to provide a complete seal-tightness simple produced and assembled so reducing cost of manufacturing (col 1 ln 29-32).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kohno’s apparatus with a vent holder integrally formed as part of the housing; wherein a vent assembly is connected to the vent holder as taught by Deynet. Doing so would provide a complete seal-tightness simple produced and assembled so reducing cost of manufacturing (col 1 ln 29-32).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohno in view of Goatley et al. (US 2020/0037432 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Kohno teaches a smart actuator assembly, comprising:
an overmolded electronics assembly (30), further comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB) (32);
at least one terminal (7) mounted to the PCB (32);
a housing (31) at least partially surrounding the PCB (32), the at least one terminal (7) protruding out of the housing (31);
at least one bearing holder (33) integrally formed as part of the housing (31);
a motor subassembly (20), further comprising:
a motor housing (1);
a shaft (21a) at least partially extending into the motor housing (1);
a rotor (21) mounted to the shaft (21a); and
at least one bearing assembly (25) mounted to the shaft (21a) and adjacent the rotor (21);
wherein the overmolded electronics assembly (30) is connected to the motor subassembly (20) such that the at least one bearing (25) is at least partially disposed in the at least one bearing holder (33). However, Kohno does not teach a connector shroud mounted to the PCB, the connector shroud at least partially surrounded by the housing, the connector shroud surrounding one or more pins protruding from the PCB.
Goatley teaches a motor with overmolded PCB having a connector shroud ( 26, 28) mounted to the PCB (60), the connector shroud (26, 28) at least partially surrounded by the housing (32), the connector shroud (26, 28) surrounding one or more pins (54, 58) protruding from the PCB (60) to protect components of printed circuit board from environment (para -0052]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kohno’s actuator with a connector shroud mounted to the PCB, the connector shroud at least partially surrounded by the housing, the connector shroud surrounding one or more pins protruding from the PCB as taught by Goatley. Doing so would protect components of printed circuit board from environment (para -0052]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohno in view of Goatley, further in view of Migita.
Regarding claim 10, Kohno in view of Goatley teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 9, except for the added limitation of the at least one bearing holder further comprising: a base portion; a circumferential side wall integrally formed with the base portion; a recess area surrounded by the base portion; and a mounting surface integrally formed with the base portion, the mounting surface is perpendicular to the circumferential side wall; wherein the at least one bearing assembly is in contact with the mounting surface and surrounded by the circumferential side wall, and the shaft partially extends into the recess area.
Migita teaches a motor having an integrated shield and at least one bearing holder wherein the at least one bearing holder (300) comprising:
a base portion (320);
a circumferential side wall (312) integrally formed with the base portion (320);
a recess area (314) surrounded by the base portion (320); and
a mounting surface (316) integrally formed with the base portion (320), the mounting surface (316) is perpendicular to the circumferential side wall (312);
wherein the at least one bearing assembly (250) is in contact with the mounting surface (316) and surrounded by the circumferential side wall (312), and the shaft (242) partially extends into the recess area (314) to simplify assembly process and reduce cost of manufacturing (col 3 ln 12-15).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kohno in view of Goatley’s actuator with the at least one bearing holder comprising: a base portion; a circumferential side wall integrally formed with the base portion; a recess area surrounded by the base portion; and a mounting surface integrally formed with the base portion, the mounting surface is perpendicular to the circumferential side wall; wherein the at least one bearing assembly is in contact with the mounting surface and surrounded by the circumferential side wall, and the shaft partially extends into the recess area as taught by Migita. Doing so would simplify assembly process and reduce cost of manufacturing (col 3 ln 12-15).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohno in view of Goatley and Migita, further in view of Ihata.
Regarding claim 11, Kohno in view of Goatley and Migita teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 10, except for the added limitation of a wave washer disposed between the at least one bearing assembly and the mounting surface; wherein the wave washer is compressed between and applies force to the at least one at least one bearing assembly and the mounting surface, facilitating proper alignment of the at least one bearing assembly.
Ihata teaches a bearing device of an AC generator having a wave washer (1) disposed between the at least one bearing assembly (81) and the mounting surface (83); wherein the wave washer (1) is compressed between and applies force to the at least one at least one bearing assembly (81) and the mounting surface (83), facilitating proper alignment of the at least one bearing assembly (abs) to prevent exceeding pre-load force while improving creep-resistance performance (para [0031]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kohno in view of Goatley and Migita’s actuator with a wave washer disposed between the at least one bearing assembly and the mounting surface; wherein the wave washer is compressed between and applies force to the at least one at least one bearing assembly and the mounting surface, facilitating proper alignment of the at least one bearing assembly as taught by Ihata. Doing so would prevent exceeding pre-load force while improving creep-resistance performance (para [0031]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohno in view of Goatley, further in view of Deynet.
Regarding claim 16, Kohno in view of Goatley teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 9, except for the added limitation of a vent holder integrally formed as part of the housing; and an aperture integrally formed as part of the vent holder; wherein a vent assembly is connected to the vent holder such that the vent assembly is partially disposed in the aperture.
Deynet teaches a sealing connecting device having a vent holder (3.1) integrally formed as part of the housing (3); and an aperture (fig 9) integrally formed as part of the vent holder (3.1), wherein a vent assembly (3.2) is connected to the vent holder (3.1) such that the vent assembly (3.2) is partially disposed in the aperture to provide a complete seal-tightness simple produced and assembled so reducing cost of manufacturing (col 1 ln 29-32).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kohno in view of Goatley’s actuator with a vent holder integrally formed as part of the housing; and an aperture integrally formed as part of the vent holder; wherein a vent assembly is connected to the vent holder such that the vent assembly is partially disposed in the aperture as taught by Deynet. Doing so would provide a complete seal-tightness simple produced and assembled so reducing cost of manufacturing (col 1 ln 29-32).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the record of prior art by itself or in combination with other references does not show the apparatus further comprising a motor housing being part of the motor subassembly, a base flange integrally formed as part of the motor housing, and at least one crimping feature integrally formed as part of the motor housing such that the at least one crimping feature extends from the base flange, wherein the at least one crimping feature is in contact with the housing when the overmolded electronics assembly is assembled to the motor subassembly, as recited in claims 4 and 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schmezer (US 2021/0399606 A1) teaches an electric motor comprising a stator (A) with an insulation, a rotor, and an electronics and/or terminal housing (1) comprising a bottom (4), in which electrical/electronic components provided for the operation of the electric motor are housed. The electronics and/or terminal housing (1) is permanently connected to the stator (A) by means of an overmould (17b) so as to form a stator unit, the bottom (4) of the electronics and/or terminal housing (1) being at least partially covered by the overmould (17b) on its upper side. The overmould is not only provided for the stator, but is used at the same time as a connection means for connecting the electronics and/or terminal housing to the wound stator. Additional connection parts are not required as a result. The stator packet is first wound and then inserted into an injection mould with the electronics housing (1). Then, a heat-conductive, electrically insulating plastic is used to form the overmould (17b). Said overmould permanently connects the stator and the electronics and/or terminal housing (1) together to form the stator unit. As the bottom (4) of the electronics and/or terminal housing (1) is at least partially covered on the upper side by the overmould (17b), a secure interlocking connection is ensured between the electronics and/or terminal housing (1) and the stator (A).
Palmer et al. (US 2018/0226861 A1) teaches an electric motor including a rotor, a stator, a motor housing having a controller can, and a controller having an electronic component disposed within the controller can. The controller can includes an insert comprising thermally conductive metal for exchanging heat with an external heat sink space.
/LEDA T PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834