DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication to Baechtle 2004/0136638US.
In terms of Claim 1, Baechtle teaches a device (Figure 2a and Figure 3e-f) comprising: a photonics chip (Figure 2a: 42); and a flexible waveguide ribbon (Figure 2a: within 55; [0017]; substrate fibers maybe is ribbonize [0017] wherein the substrate have flexibility [0032]; wherein the ribbon fibers are flexible [0019]; free fibers 55 may also be ribbonized [0018]) having a first end connected to the photonics chip (Figure 2a: end of 55 that couples to 42) and a second end opposite the first end (Figure 2a: left most end of 55); wherein the second end of the flexible waveguide ribbon ([0017-0019]) includes a first portion (portion of fiber within 55 being terminated to the ferrule ([0024]) connected to a ferrule module (ends maybe terminated with a ferrule structure [0024]) and a second portion connected to the ferrule module and wherein the second portion is stacked vertically over the first portion in the ferrule module (See Figure 3e-f: wherein ends of a1/a2 or a1/b2 maybe terminated by ferrules [0024] the ferrules on a1/a2 are orientated in Figure 3e-f as being on top of each other or vertical stacked as shown a1/b2).
As for Claim 2, Baechtle teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the second portion is folded over the first portion (See Figure 3e-f: wherein a1/a2 or a1/b2 are folded over each other).
As for Claim 3, Baechtle teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the first portion is lid under the second portion (See Figure 3e-f: a1/a2 or a1/b2).
As for Claim 4, Baechtle teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the ferrule module ([0024]) comprises a single structure having two recesses accommodating the first portion and the second portion ([0024] teaches multi-row ferrule wherein each row contains at least one hole; the multi-row can be different structures or a single structure [0024]).
As for Claim 5, Baechtle teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the ferrule module ([0024]) comprises a first single ferrule structure having one recess and a second single ferrule structure having another recess ([0024]), wherein the second single ferrule structure is stacked over the first single ferrule structure ([0024] and Figure 3f: at a1/b2).
In terms of Claim 6, Baechtle teaches a device (Figure 2a, Figure 3e-f) comprising: a photonics chip (Figure 2a: 42); a flexible waveguide ribbon (Figure 2a: within 55 [0017]) having a first end connected to the photonics chip (Figure 2a: ends of 55 that couples with 42) and a bifurcated second end opposite the first end (Figure 3e-f: see a1/a2 or a1/b2 are bifurcated relative to each other) wherein the bifurcated second end has a first portion and a second portion stacked over the first portion (Figure 3f: a1/b2); a first outer edge of the first portion of the bifurcated second end (Figure 3e-f: end portion of a1) ; a second outer edge of the second portion of the bifurcated second end; (Figure 3f: end portion of b2 or Figure 3e: end portion a2) a first inner edge of the first portion of the bifurcated second end (Figure 3e-f: horizontal sidewall of 55 at a1); and a second inner edge of the second portion of the bifurcated second end (Figure 3f: horizontal sidewall of b2); wherein the second inner edge is over the first outer edge (Figure 3f: a1/b2 horizontal side edge are oriented over each other).
As for Claim 7, Baechtle teaches the device of claim 6, wherein the second outer edge is over the first inner edge (Figure 3f: a1/b2 horizontal side edge are oriented over each other).
As for Claim 8, Baechtle teaches the device of claim 1, further comprising a ferrule module ([0024]) connected to the second end (left ends of a1/a2 or a1/b2).
As for Claim 9, Baechtle teaches the device of claim 8, wherein the ferrule module ([0024]) comprises a single ferule accommodating both the first portion and the second portion ([0024]).
As for Claim 10, Baechtle teaches the device of claim 8, wherein the ferrule module ([0024]) comprises a first ferrule connected to the first portion and a second ferrule connected to the second portion ([0024]).
In terms of claim 11, Baechtle teaches a device (Figure 2a, Figure 3e-f) comprising: a photonics chip (Figure 2a: 42); a flexible waveguide ribbon (Figure 2a: within 55; [0017]) having a first end connected to the photonics chip (Figure 2a: side off 55 that contacts 42) and a bifurcated second end opposite the first end wherein the bifurcated second end has a first portion (Figure 3e-f: a1) and a second portion (Figure 3e: a2 or Figure 3f: b2) stacked over the first portion (Figure 3f: a1/b2 are stacked on top of each other); a first outer edge (end portion of a1) of the first portion (a1) of the bifurcated second end; a second outer edge (end portion of a2 or b2) of the second portion of the bifurcated second end; a first inner edge (horizontal sidewall of a1) of the first portion of the bifurcated second end; and a second inner edge (horizontal portion of a2 or b2) of the first portion of the bifurcated second end; wherein the second inner edge is over the first inner edge (Figure 3e-f: horizontal edge of a1/a2/b2).
As for Claim 12, Baechtle teaches the device of claim 11, wherein the second outer edge is over the first outer edge (Figure 3e-f: end face sidewall of a1/a2/b2)
As for Claim 13, Baechtle teaches the device of claim 11, further comprising a ferrule module connected to the second end ([0024]).
As for Claim 14, Baechtle teaches the device of claim 13, wherein the ferrule module ([0024]) comprises a single ferrule accommodating both the first portion and the second portion ([0024]).
As for Claim 15, Baechtle teaches the device of claim 13, wherein the ferrule module ([0024]) comprises a first ferrule connected to the first portion and a second ferrule connected to the second portion ([0024]).
Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US Patent to Krywicki 10,379,311US.
In terms of Claim 21, Krywicki teaches a ferrule module (Figure 1: 1a: 100) comprising: a flexible optical waveguide ribbon (Figure 1: within 102) comprising a first end (Figure 1: left side of 102); and a bifurcated second end opposite the first end (Figure 1: left side); a first ferrule (Figure 1: 108a) comprising: an entrance side (side of which 106 enters) having a first recess to receive a first portion the bifurcated second end (figure 1a: left side 102 is bifurcated into 106 and routed to 108a) of a flexible optical waveguide ribbon (Figure 1: 108a accepts fibers from 106); and an exit side having a first plurality of core holes arranged in a row (Figure front side at 108a).
As for claim 22, Krywicki teaches the ferrule module of claim 21, further comprising: a second ferrule (Figure 1: a second ferrule at 108a on the left side) comprising: a second entrance side having a second recess to receive a second portion of the bifurcated second of the flexible optical waveguide ribbon (See Figure 1: left side 108a has 4 ferrule each receiving a portion of bifurcated waveguide from 102); and a second exit side having a second plurality of core holes arranged in a row; wherein the second ferrule is stacked over the first ferrule (See Figure 1: ferrule at 108 is vertically stack).
As for Claim 23, Krywicki teaches the device of claim 22, wherein the first exit side has at least 12 core holes and the second exit side has at least 12 core holes (Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Baechtle 2004/0136638US in view of the US Patent to Van Vickle 11,988,886B1.
In terms of Claim 16, Baechtle teaches a flexible optical waveguide ribbon (Figure 2a: with 55; [0017]) comprising: a first end (right side of 55); a bifurcated second end opposite the first end (left side of 55; Figure 2b: see 42 and 48 have multiples branches; Figure 3G: element B-44 having bifurcation branches B1 and B2 as 55).
Baechtle does not teach a cladding layer; and a plurality of waveguide cores surrounded by the cladding layer.
Van Vickle does teach a multicore fiber (Figure 1b), arranged in a ribbon (Figure 3), wherein a cladding material (Figure 1b: 104 surrounds the plurality of multi-core 102). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to modify the fibers ribbons of Baechtle to be a multi-core fiber being surrounded by a cladding in order to scale the amount connections with thin the optical coupling device. This allows the device to be used in high density connection applications.
As for Claim 17, Baechtle / Van Vickle teaches the device of Claim 16.
Baechtle does not teach wherein the cladding material is a polymer.
Van Vickle does teach wherein the cladding layer is a polymer (Van Vickle Column 4 lines 30-50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fiber material of the cladding to be a polymer material to allow the fiber to be flexible. This allows the cable to be more durable and less prone to damage in the routing of the fiber.
As for Claim 18, Baechtle / Van Vickle teaches the device of Claim 16.
Baechtle does not teach wherein the waveguide ribbon contains 24 cores.
Van Vickle does teach wherein the waveguide ribbon contains 24 cores (Figure 1b: 100 contains 4 cores of 102; Figure 5a teaches a ribbon configuration having 12 waveguides wherein each waveguide 100 may contain 4 cores 102 to each waveguide 100). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the waveguide to contain 24 cores to enable large-scale high-density connections.
As for Claim 19, Baechtle / Van Vickle teaches the device of Claim 16 wherein Baechtle teaches configurations in which the fiber is designed to make coupling with 42 via vertical coupling along the bottom or top surfaces of 42 (Figure 3G-H). In this configuration the fiber end faces that couples with 42 must be lack a cladding layer in order to provide coupling with 42, the lower layer or end face layer will expose the core to coupling with element 42).
As for Claim 20, Baechtle / Van Vickle teaches the device of Claim 16 further comprising an inner edge having an inner edge length (horizontal side edge of a1), and a recess ferrule having a recess width and attached to the second end ([0024]).
Baechtle / Van Vickle does not teach wherein the inner edge length is greater than twice the recess width.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inner edge length to be greater than twice the recess width in order to optimize the ferrule connector with the cable length in order to ensure the fiber fits properly within the recess housing the fiber.
It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977).
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent to Krywicki 10,379,311US in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Li 2018/0275356US.
As for Claims 24 and 25, Krywicki teaches the device of claim 21. Krywicki does not teach wherein the first ferrule further comprises a second recess to receive a second portion of the flexible optical waveguide ribbon, and wherein the exit side has a second plurality of core holes arranged in a row under the first plurality of core holes; wherein at least 12 core holes are in each of the first plurality of core holes and second plurality of core holes.
Li does teach wherein the first ferrule (72) further comprises a second recess to receive a second portion of the flexible optical waveguide ribbon, and wherein the exit side has a second plurality of core holes arranged in a row under the first plurality of core holes (Figure 9: 114); wherein at least 12 core holes are in each of the first plurality of core holes and second plurality of core holes ([0047] or Figure 9: 114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the components housing fibers at 106 of Krywicki to have multiple rows in order to house more fibers for larger density connections applications.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argued that the prior art of Baechtle 2004/0136638US does not teach flexible ribbon waveguide (Remarks Page 8-10). The examiner has clarified the rejection above to include citation of which the ribbon fibers are flexible, the substrate 42/44 of which the fiber is housed is also flexible. Hence the prior art teaches the device of claim 1, 6 and 11 as claimed.
Thus, the grounds of rejection to Claim 1, 6 and 11 are maintained.
In regard to claims 21-25, the examiner has established new grounds of rejection in view of the amendment to claim 21 as detailed above.
This rejection is therefore made final for the reason(s) cited above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOANG Q TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/SUNG H PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874