DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The amendment filed on 3/3/2026 has been entered. In the amendment, Applicant amended claims 1, 9 and 16. Currently claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2024/0073508) in view of Kin et al. (US 2019/0212827), and further in view of Strawn et al. (US 2024/0248527).
Regarding claim 16, Yoon a display system (Abstract; Fig. 1: electronic device 101; Fig. 2: electronic device 200; [0035]: “Referring to FIG. 1, the electronic device 101 may be, for example, a wearable electronic device, such as AR glasses, an HMD device, and/or a VST device, capable of being worn on a user's head”) comprising:
a housing (Fig. 2: housings 210a, 210b, and 210c collectively as a housing);
a display (Fig. 2: first transparent member 201 and the second transparent member 202 with respective embedded waveguides as a screen display part or display module 240 if the latter is transparent; [0066]) configured to display an image in a first direction (i.e., rear-ward direction);
a first sensor (Fig. 2: illuminations LED 242, camera modules 251 and 252 collectively forming a first sensor) oriented in the first direction configured to perform gaze detection on a user ([0065]; [0073]: “the illumination LED 242 attached around a frame may be used as an auxiliary means for enabling easy gaze detection when an eye's movement is tracked using the ET camera modules 251 and 252, and an IR LED using infrared wavelengths is mainly used”); and
a second sensor (Fig. 2: camera modules 253, 254, 255, and 256; [0060]: “the electronic device 200 may obtain a visual image of an object or an environment positioned in a direction (e.g., a −Y direction) in which a user looks or the electronic device 200 is oriented, by using multiple camera modules 253, 254, 255, and 256”) oriented in a second direction (i.e., forward direction) and configured to perform gesture detection on the user (Fig. 3: image corresponding to a second FOV 320 captured by camera modules 255 and 256; Fig. 4: camera modules 415 and 416; [0061]: “the image obtained by the camera modules 255 and 256 may be used to recognize and/or track a subject disposed relatively lower than a part corresponding to a user's head when the user puts on the electronic device 200 (e.g., the subject is the user's hand)”; [0063]: “if a virtual keyboard is provided by the electronic device 200, keys designated on the virtual keyboard may be recognized based on a result of tracking a user's hand”; [0077]: “The camera modules 255 and 256 of FIG. 2 and/or the camera modules 415 and 416 of FIGS. 4A and 4B may be used to recognize and/or track a subject disposed relatively lower than a part corresponding to a user's head when the user puts on the electronic device 200 or 400 (e.g., the subject is the user's hand)”), and
a processor (Fig. 1: processor 120)
The differentiating features are directed to use of a combination of a gaze direction and a gesture to operate a head-mounted display system. It is not new in the related field, however.
Kin, for instance, teaches a HMD (Abstract: “system includes a near eye display (NED)”; Figs. 1-2, 4: eyewear device 100; FIG. 3: NED system 300) comprising a processor (Fig. 2: controller 310) configured to:
generate a virtual indicator (Figs. 5A-5B and [0083]-[0086]: shade actuation indicator 514 near area of bottom edge of roller shade 512, which includes a directional arrow to indicate a direction of movement for the shade actuation indicator 514; Fig. 5C and [0089]: shade actuation indicator 522 that is in a final position corresponding to the last position of the user's hand 520 before the user's hand exited the pinch gesture) on the display (Fig. 3: Near-Eye Display 305; [0081]: “The view shown in FIG. 5A depicts various objects in the local area, as well as an image overlay (or NED filter display) provided by the NED 305 in the artificial reality environment. In this embodiment, the artificial reality environment is a combination of real, non-virtual, objects in the local area overlaid by additional content (e.g., images) by the NED 305 as seen by a user wearing an eyewear device that includes the NED 305, such as the eyewear device 10”) at a first location (Fig. 4: location 420; Fig. 5: door 510 including roller shade 512);
receive, from the first sensor (Fig. 3: eye tracker 325; [0043]-[0045]), a detected gaze directed at the first location (Fig. 4: user's gaze 418 is towards a location 420; [0079]; [0080]: “in FIG. 5A, a user's gaze is towards a door 510”);
receive, from the second sensor (Fig. 3: depth camera array (DCA) 340 and imaging device 315; [0051]-[0053]), a detected predetermined gesture (Fig. 4: hand gesture in front of location 420; Figs. 5B-5C: pinch gesture in front of door 510) performed in a second location (Figs. 4-5: hand location in front of terminus of user’s gaze) different than the first location; and
cause an action (Figs. 5B-5C: adjustments made to roller shade 512) based on the detected gaze and the detected predetermined gesture corresponding to the virtual indicator (Figs. 5B-5C; [0084]-[0090]),
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to combine Kin’s technique with Yoon’s technique, having Yoon’s processor further configured to cause an action based on the gaze detection and the gesture detection to enhance a user’s VR/AR/MR experience with the head-mounted display system.
Yoon in view of Kin does not further teach: wherein an axis formed by the second location is different from a line of sight corresponding to the detected gaze of the user. In Kin’s technique, the hand/finger gesture needs to point toward the indicator associated with the eye gaze. However, it is not new in the related art.
Strawn, for instance, teaches in Fig. 4 and [0061] an axis formed between the location (i.e., second location) of a hand/finger gesture and an object (e.g., AR/VR content) associated with the focus of the user’s eye gaze is different from the eye gaze direction by using tool tips or flags displayed at certain locations upon detection of the user's gaze focusing on the object location (considered as primary input) to make the user aware of what is manipulated by the hand/finger gesture.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to further modify the technique of Yoon in view of Kin with Strawn’s technique to further enhance flexibility and ease of performing a hand/finger gesture as a secondary input to work with a primary eye gaze input.
Regarding claim 17, Yoon further teaches the display system of claim 16, wherein the second sensor is further configured to detect an environment around the user ([0060]: “the electronic device 200 may obtain a visual image of an object or an environment positioned in a direction (e.g., a −Y direction) in which a user looks or the electronic device 200 is oriented, by using multiple camera modules 253, 254, 255, and 256”).
Regarding claim 18, Yoon further teaches the display system of claim 16, wherein the he first sensor comprises an LED and a camera (Fig. 2: illuminations LED 242, camera modules 251 and 252; [0065]; [0073]: “the illumination LED 242 attached around a frame may be used as an auxiliary means for enabling easy gaze detection when an eye's movement is tracked using the ET camera modules 251 and 252, and an IR LED using infrared wavelengths is mainly used”).
Regarding claim 19, Yoon further teaches the display system of claim 16, wherein the second sensor comprises a camera (Fig. 2: camera modules 253, 254, 255, and 256).
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2024/0073508) in view of Rochford et al. (US 2017/0068500), and further in view of Sohn et al. (US Patent No. 10,845,595).
Regarding claim 9, Yoon teaches a wearable electronic device (Abstract; Fig. 1: electronic device 101; Fig. 2: electronic device 200; [0035]: “Referring to FIG. 1, the electronic device 101 may be, for example, a wearable electronic device, such as AR glasses, an HMD device, and/or a VST device, capable of being worn on a user's head”) comprising:
a housing (Fig. 2: housings 210a, 210b, and 210c collectively as a housing);
a forward-facing sensor (Fig. 2: camera modules 253, 254, 255, and 256; [0060]: “the electronic device 200 may obtain a visual image of an object or an environment positioned in a direction (e.g., a −Y direction) in which a user looks or the electronic device 200 is oriented, by using multiple camera modules 253, 254, 255, and 256”) coupled to the housing;
an optical module (Fig. 2: optical module including display modules 240, first transparent member 201 second transparent member 202 that are embedded with respective waveguides in view of [0066], camera modules 251 and 252 that are eye tracking (ET) cameras) coupled to the housing, the optical module comprising:
a rearward-facing display (Fig. 2: first transparent member 201 and the second transparent member 202 with respective embedded waveguides as a screen display part or display module 240 if the latter is transparent; [0066]); and
a rearward-facing sensor (Fig. 2: illuminations LED 242, camera modules 251 and 252; [0065]; [0073]: “the illumination LED 242 attached around a frame may be used as an auxiliary means for enabling easy gaze detection when an eye's movement is tracked using the ET camera modules 251 and 252, and an IR LED using infrared wavelengths is mainly used”) configured to perform gaze detection,
a processor (Fig. 1: processor 120) configured to:
display an image on the rearward-facing display ([0063]: “if a virtual keyboard is provided by the electronic device 200, keys designated on the virtual keyboard may be recognized based on a result of tracking a user's hand”);
Yoon does not further teach the wearable electronic device further comprising:
1) the processor configured to adjust the image based on the gaze detection, wherein adjusting the image comprises modifying an opacity of the image; and
2) a band configured to retain the housing on a user.
Differentiating feature 2) is not new in the related art.
Rochford, for instance, teaches in Fig. 1 a band (Fig. 1: band 106b) configured to retain the HMD on a user’s head.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to modify the technique of Yoon with Rochford’s technique adding a securement band and having it coupled to the housing and configured to retain the HMD on a user’s head.
The motivation/suggestion would have been to further secure the position of HMD on the user’s head.
As for differentiating feature 1), it is directed to a technique relying on a gaze gesture to adjust a virtual image. The technique is also not new, however.
Sohn, for instance, teaches in Fig. 5 and Col. 8, ll. 19-32 a processor configured to adjust the image based on the gaze detection, wherein adjusting the image comprises modifying an opacity of the image (Col. 8, ll. 21-26: “in response to determining that the user's gaze is directed towards the content item 540A, the HMD may change an opacity of the displayed content item 540A (e.g., raise the opacity level of the content item to make the content item easier to view)”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to modify the technique of Yoon in view of Rochford with Sohn’s technique to provide feedback to the user on a target of interest his/her eye gaze is directed to.
Regarding claim 10, Yoon further teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 9, wherein the forward-facing sensor is configured to detect a hand of the user (Fig. 2: camera modules 255 and 256; Fig. 3: image corresponding to a second FOV 320 captured by camera modules 255 and 256; Fig. 4: camera modules 415 and 416; [0061]: “the image obtained by the camera modules 255 and 256 may be used to recognize and/or track a subject disposed relatively lower than a part corresponding to a user's head when the user puts on the electronic device 200 (e.g., the subject is the user's hand)”; [0063]: “if a virtual keyboard is provided by the electronic device 200, keys designated on the virtual keyboard may be recognized based on a result of tracking a user's hand”; [0077]: “The camera modules 255 and 256 of FIG. 2 and/or the camera modules 415 and 416 of FIGS. 4A and 4B may be used to recognize and/or track a subject disposed relatively lower than a part corresponding to a user's head when the user puts on the electronic device 200 or 400 (e.g., the subject is the user's hand)”).
Regarding claim 11, Yoon further teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 9, wherein the forward-facing sensor is configured to detect an environment around the user and external to the wearable electronic device ([0060]: “the electronic device 200 may obtain a visual image of an object or an environment positioned in a direction (e.g., a −Y direction) in which a user looks or the electronic device 200 is oriented, by using multiple camera modules 253, 254, 255, and 256”).
Regarding claim 12, Yoon further teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 9, wherein the rearward-facing sensor comprises a camera (Fig. 2: camera modules 251 and 252; [0065]).
Regarding claim 13, Yoon further teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 9, wherein the rearward-facing sensor further comprises an LED (Fig. 2: illuminations LED 242, [0073]: “the illumination LED 242 attached around a frame may be used as an auxiliary means for enabling easy gaze detection when an eye's movement is tracked using the ET camera modules 251 and 252, and an IR LED using infrared wavelengths is mainly used”).
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2024/0073508) in view of Rochford et al. (US 2017/0068500) and Kin et al. (US 2019/0212827), and further in view of Strawn et al. (US 2024/0248527).
Regarding claim 1, Yoon teaches a head-mountable device (HMD) (Abstract; Fig. 1: electronic device 101; Fig. 2: electronic device 200; [0035]: “Referring to FIG. 1, the electronic device 101 may be, for example, a wearable electronic device, such as AR glasses, an HMD device, and/or a VST device, capable of being worn on a user's head”) comprising:
a housing (Fig. 2: housings 210a, 210b, and 210c collectively as a housing);
an external sensor (Fig. 2: camera modules 253, 254, 255, and 256; [0060]: “the electronic device 200 may obtain a visual image of an object or an environment positioned in a direction (e.g., a −Y direction) in which a user looks or the electronic device 200 is oriented, by using multiple camera modules 253, 254, 255, and 256”) coupled to the housing; and
an optical module (Fig. 2: optical module including display modules 240, first transparent member 201 second transparent member 202 that are embedded with respective waveguides in view of [0066], camera modules 251 and 252 that are eye tracking (ET) cameras) coupled to the housing, the optical module comprising:
an internal display (Fig. 2: first transparent member 201 and the second transparent member 202 with respective embedded waveguides as a screen display part or display module 240 if the latter is transparent; [0066]); and
an internal sensor (Fig. 2: illuminations LED 242, camera modules 251 and 252; [0065]; [0073]: “the illumination LED 242 attached around a frame may be used as an auxiliary means for enabling easy gaze detection when an eye's movement is tracked using the ET camera modules 251 and 252, and an IR LED using infrared wavelengths is mainly used”), wherein:
the external sensor is configured to perform gesture detection on the user (Fig. 2: camera modules 255 and 256; Fig. 3: image corresponding to a second FOV 320 captured by camera modules 255 and 256; Fig. 4: camera modules 415 and 416; [0061]: “the image obtained by the camera modules 255 and 256 may be used to recognize and/or track a subject disposed relatively lower than a part corresponding to a user's head when the user puts on the electronic device 200 (e.g., the subject is the user's hand)”; [0063]: “if a virtual keyboard is provided by the electronic device 200, keys designated on the virtual keyboard may be recognized based on a result of tracking a user's hand”; [0077]: “The camera modules 255 and 256 of FIG. 2 and/or the camera modules 415 and 416 of FIGS. 4A and 4B may be used to recognize and/or track a subject disposed relatively lower than a part corresponding to a user's head when the user puts on the electronic device 200 or 400 (e.g., the subject is the user's hand)”); and
the internal sensor is configured to perform gaze detection on the user (Fig. 13: step 1303; [0065]; [0073]: “[…] for enabling easy gaze detection when an eye's movement is tracked using the ET camera modules 251 and 252”; [0133]), and
a processor (Fig. 1: processor 120)
Yoon does not further teach the HMD further comprising:
1) a securement band coupled to the housing and configured to retain the HMD on a user’s head; and
2) the processor configured to:
generate a virtual indicator on the display at a first location;
receive, from the external sensor, a detected predetermined gesture performed in a second location different than the first location;
receive, from the internal sensor, a detected gaze directed at the first location; and
cause an action when the detected gesture corresponds to the virtual indicator,
wherein an axis formed by the second location is different from a line of sight corresponding to the detected gaze of the user.
Both features are not new, however.
As for differentiating feature 1), Rochford teaches in a securement band (Fig. 1: band 106b) coupled to the housing and configured to retain the HMD on a user’s head.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to modify the technique of Yoon with Rochford adding a securement band and having it coupled to the housing and configured to retain the HMD on a user’s head.
The motivation/suggestion would have been to further secure the position of HMD on the user’s head.
As for differentiating feature 2), it is directed to use of a combination of a gaze direction and a gesture to operate a head-mounted display system. It is not new in the related field, however.
Kin, for instance, teaches a HMD (Abstract: “system includes a near eye display (NED)”; Figs. 1-2, 4: eyewear device 100; FIG. 3: NED system 300) comprising a processor (Fig. 2: controller 310) configured to:
generate a virtual indicator (Figs. 5A-5B and [0083]-[0086]: shade actuation indicator 514 near area of bottom edge of roller shade 512, which includes a directional arrow to indicate a direction of movement for the shade actuation indicator 514; Fig. 5C and [0089]: shade actuation indicator 522 that is in a final position corresponding to the last position of the user's hand 520 before the user's hand exited the pinch gesture) on a display (Fig. 3: Near-Eye Display 305; [0081]: “The view shown in FIG. 5A depicts various objects in the local area, as well as an image overlay (or NED filter display) provided by the NED 305 in the artificial reality environment. In this embodiment, the artificial reality environment is a combination of real, non-virtual, objects in the local area overlaid by additional content (e.g., images) by the NED 305 as seen by a user wearing an eyewear device that includes the NED 305, such as the eyewear device 10”) at a first location (Fig. 4: location 420; Fig. 5: door 510 including roller shade 512);
receive, from an external sensor (Fig. 3: depth camera array (DCA) 340 and imaging device 315; [0051]-[0053]), a detected predetermined gesture (Fig. 4: hand gesture in front of location 420; Figs. 5B-5C: pinch gesture in front of door 510) performed in a second location (Figs. 4-5: hand location in front of terminus of user’s gaze) different than the first location;
receive, from an internal sensor (Fig. 3: eye tracker 325; [0043]-[0045]), a detected gaze directed at the first location (Fig. 4: user's gaze 418 is towards a location 420; [0079]; [0080]: “in FIG. 5A, a user's gaze is towards a door 510”); and
cause an action (Figs. 5B-5C: adjustments made to roller shade 512) when the detected predetermined gesture corresponds to the virtual indicator (Figs. 5B-5C),
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to combine Kin’s technique with Yoon’s technique in view of Rochford, having Yoon’s processor further configured to cause an action based on the gaze detection and the gesture detection to enhance a user’s VR/AR/MR experience with the head-mounted display system.
Yoon in view of Rochford and Kin does not further teach: wherein an axis formed by the second location is different from a line of sight corresponding to the detected gaze of the user. In Kin’s technique, the hand/finger gesture needs to point toward the indicator associated with the eye gaze. However, it is not new in the related art.
Strawn, for instance, teaches in Fig. 4 and [0061] an axis formed between the location (i.e., second location) of a hand/finger gesture and an object (e.g., AR/VR content) associated with the focus of the user’s eye gaze is different from the eye gaze direction by using tool tips or flags displayed at certain locations upon detection of the user's gaze focusing on the object location (considered as primary input) to make the user aware of what is manipulated by the hand/finger gesture.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to further modify the technique of Yoon in view of Rochford and Kin with Strawn’s technique to further enhance flexibility and ease of performing a hand/finger gesture as a secondary input to work with a primary eye gaze input.
Regarding claim 2, Yoon further teaches the HMD of claim 1, wherein the external sensor comprises a camera (Fig. 2: camera modules 253, 254, 255, and 256).
Regarding claim 3, Yoon further teaches the HMD of claim 1, wherein the internal sensor comprises an LED and a camera (Fig. 2: illuminations LED 242, camera modules 251 and 252; [0065]; [0073]: “the illumination LED 242 attached around a frame may be used as an auxiliary means for enabling easy gaze detection when an eye's movement is tracked using the ET camera modules 251 and 252, and an IR LED using infrared wavelengths is mainly used”).
Regarding claim 4, Yoon further teaches the HMD of claim 1, wherein the internal display is configured to display an image based at least partially on the gesture detection ([0063]: “The electronic device 200 may perform an operation identified based on a result of the recognition and/or tracking and, for example, may provide a visual object at a position corresponding to the subject. However, there is no limit to the operation. For example, if a virtual keyboard is provided by the electronic device 200, keys designated on the virtual keyboard may be recognized based on a result of tracking a user's hand”).
Regarding claim 5, Yoon in view of Rochford and Kin does not further teach, in this embodiment, the HMD of claim 1, further comprising an external display coupled to the housing, wherein the external display is configured to display an image at least partially based on the gaze direction.
However, Rochford additionally teaches in Fig. 1, [0016] and [0023] an HMD comprising an external display (Fig. 1: external display 110) coupled to the housing ([0016]), wherein the external display is configured to display an image ([0023]: “a system according to the disclosure displays external information on the external display 110 that is a 2D version of the 3D internal information displayed on the internal display 108. Such external information would allow the person other than the user 104 to observe the internal information being viewed by the user 104”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to further modify the technique of Yoon in view of Rochford and Kin with the additional teaching of Rochford adding an external display coupled to the housing of Yoon’s HMD such that the external display displays a version of information displayed on the internal display of Yoon’s HMD. Because the internal display of Yoon’s HMD displays a virtual image at a position based on the gaze detection (Yoon: [0065]), the same virtual image displayed on the external display resulting from the modification is also positioned at least partially based on the gaze direction.
The motivation/suggestion would have been to allow others to view the same image view by the wearer of the HMD (Rochford: {0016]).
Regarding claim 7, Yoon further teaches the HMD of claim 1, wherein the external sensor is further configured to detect an environment of the user ([0060]: “the electronic device 200 may obtain a visual image of an object or an environment positioned in a direction (e.g., a −Y direction) in which a user looks or the electronic device 200 is oriented, by using multiple camera modules 253, 254, 255, and 256”).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2024/0073508) in view of Rochford et al. (US 2017/0068500) and Sohn et al. (US Patent No. 10,845,595), and further in view of Jo et al. (WO 2022/066346, to which US 2023/0229008 is equivalent; the latter being used for this examination).
Regarding Yoon/Rochford/Sohn do not further teach the wearable electronic device of claim 9, wherein a position of the optical module relative to the housing is adjustable.
The differentiating limitation addresses a solution to fit adjustment of a HMD. It is not new in the related art, however.
Jo, for instance, teaches in Figs. 1-2 and [0040]-[0043] a capability of an HMD for adjusting tightness and/or fit by including in light seal element 200 multiple portions that are moveable (e.g., rotatable) relative to each other and to the frame 110 to provide different configurations for fits that correspond to different users. Jo also teaches in Fig. 1 and [0019] one or more of these components can be positioned within the light seal element 200. Accordingly, in a design option by Jo that the optical module is positioned within the light seal element 200, a position of the optical module relative to the housing is adjustable.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to modify the technique of Yoon in view of Rochford and Sohn with Jo’s technique, adding a light seal with fit adjustment capability and positioning the optical module within the light seal to improve the fit of the HMD on different users and also improve the performance of the HMD in terms of ambient light disturbance.
Regarding claim 15, Yoon/Rochford/Sohn do not further teach the wearable electronic device of claim 9, further comprising an environmental seal at least partially surrounding the rearward-facing display and the rearward-facing sensor.
In the related art, Jo, however, teaches in Fig. 1 a HMD 100 comprising a light seal 200 at least partially surrounding components (Fig. 1; [0019]: “the frame 110 can enclose and support various internal components … While several components are shown within the frame 110, it will be understood that some or all of these components can be located anywhere within or on the head-mountable device 100. For example, one or more of these components can be positioned within the light seal element 200”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to modify the HMD of Yoon in view of Sohn and Rochford with Jo’s technique adding an environmental seal at least partially surrounding the rearward-facing display and the rearward-facing sensor according to the functions of the rearward-facing display and the rearward-facing sensor to improve the performance of the HMD in terms of ambient light disturbance.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2024/0073508) in view of Rochford et al. (US 2017/0068500) and Kin et al. (US 2019/0212827) and Strawn et al. (US 2024/0248527), and further in view of Satake et al. (US 2019/0005731).
Regarding claim 6, Yoon/Rochford/Kin/Strawn do not further teach the HMD of claim 1, wherein the external sensor is further configured to perform face detection on the user.
In the same field of endeavor, Satake teaches in Fig. 1 an HMD, wherein the external sensor (Fig. 1: first camera 150; [0051]: “the first camera 150 is arranged on an exterior side of the HMD 120”) is further configured to perform face detection on the user ([0051] The first camera 150 photographs a lower part of a face of the user5. More specifically, the first camera 150 photographs, for example, the nose or mouth of the user 5).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to modify the technique of Yoon/Rochford/Kin with Sataka’s technizue adding a face detection camera to the exterior sensor of Yoon to aid in identification of a position/inclination state of the HMD (Satake: [0127]).
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2024/0073508) in view of Rochford et al. (US 2017/0068500) and Kin et al. (US 2019/0212827) and Strawn et al. (US 2024/0248527), and further in view of Jo et al. (WO 2022/066346, to which US 2023/0229008 is equivalent; the latter being used for this examination)
Regarding claim 8, Yoon/Rochford/Kin/Strawn do not further teach the HMD of claim 1, further comprising a light seal at least partially surrounding the optical module, wherein:
the internal display and the internal sensor are directed inward relative to the light seal; and
the external sensor is directed outward relative to the light seal.
However, it is not new in the relater art including a light seal surrounding the optical module of a HMD.
Jo, however, teaches in Fig. 1 a HMD 100 comprising a light seal 200 at least partially surrounding the optical module (Fig. 1; [0019]: “the frame 110 can enclose and support various internal components … While several components are shown within the frame 110, it will be understood that some or all of these components can be located anywhere within or on the head-mountable device 100. For example, one or more of these components can be positioned within the light seal element 200”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to modify the HMD of Yoon in view of Rochford, Kin and Strawn with Jo’s technique adding a light seal at least partially surrounding the optical module and according to the functions of the internal display, internal sensor and external sensor arranging the internal display and the internal sensor directed inward relative to the light seal and arranging the external sensor directed outward relative to the light seal.
The motivation/suggestion would have been to further improve the performance of the HMD in terms of ambient light disturbance.
Regarding claim 20, Yoon further teach the display system of claim 16, wherein:
the display is a first display (Fig. 2: first transparent member 201 and the second transparent member 202 with respective embedded waveguides as a screen display part or display module 240 if the latter is transparent).
Yoon in view of Kin and Strawn does not further teach:
the display system further comprises:
a second display; and
an optical module comprises the first display and the second display, wherein a position of the optical module is adjustable relative to the housing.
Rochford, however, teaches in Fig. 1, [0016] and [0023] an HMD comprising a second display (Fig. 1: external display 110); and
an optical module comprises a first display and the second display (Fig. 1: internal display 108 and external display 110 included in an optical module).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to further modify the technique of Yoon in view of Kin and Strawn with the teaching of Rochford adding a second display coupled to the housing of Yoon’s HMD such that the second display displays a version of information displayed on the internal display of Yoon’s HMD.
The motivation/suggestion would have been to allow others to view the same image view by the wearer of the HMD (Rochford: {0016]).
Yoon in view of Kin, Strawn and Rochford does not further teach wherein a position of the optical module is adjustable relative to the housing.
The differentiating limitation addresses a solution to fit adjustment of a HMD. It is not new in the related art, however.
Jo, for instance, teaches in Figs. 1-2 and [0040]-[0043] a capability of an HMD for adjusting tightness and/or fit by including in light seal element 200 multiple portions that are moveable (e.g., rotatable) relative to each other and to the frame 110 to provide different configurations for fits that correspond to different users. Jo also teaches in Fig. 1 and [0019] one or more of these components can be positioned within the light seal element 200. Accordingly, in a design option by Jo that the optical module is positioned within the light seal element 200, a position of the optical module relative to the housing is adjustable.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to modify the technique of Yoon in view of Kin, Strawn and Rochford with Jo’s technique, adding a light seal with fit adjustment capability and positioning the optical module within the light seal to improve the fit of the HMD on different users and also improve the performance of the HMD in terms of ambient light disturbance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XUEMEI ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629