DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The action is in response to the remarks filed on 2/3/2026. Claims 1-9 and 11-23 remain pending. Claim 23 is newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation of “the excitation light source … are each mounted directly on and external to the portable frame” (in lines 11-14) which the “excitation light source” appears to refer back to the “an excitation light source” in line 4. As best understood, there is ONLY ONE excitation light source being recited and it is not clear what is meant by “are each mounted” (in line 14) as if there were more than ONE light sources.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 13-22 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chhibber et al (US20070064985A1) in view of Kollias et al (US20050195316A1).
Regarding claim 13, Chhibber teaches a portable imaging system for visualizing bacteria in a wound in situ (“captured fluorescence coming from an inflamed pore upon illumination by a UV flash” [0064]), comprising:
an excitation light source configured to emit violet or blue excitation light to illuminate a wound in situ and cause at least one biomarker associated with the wound to fluoresce in situ (“UV wavelengths the can causes the skin associated with the subject 101 to fluoresce” [0050]);
a camera configured to detect fluorescence emitted by the at least one biomarker associated with the wound in response to illumination of the in situ wound with the excitation light (“captured fluorescence coming from an inflamed pore upon illumination by a UV flash” [0064]);
an emission filter movable relative to an image sensor of the camera and selectively positionable between an image sensor of the camera and the wound (“filter 310 in front of the light source 300 into a UV filter 310… In addition to the white-light and UV filters, some or all of the light sources 120 may also have infrared absorbing filters 315 installed.” [0041]; also see fig. 1 and the associated pars.);
a portable frame configured to support the camera and the excitation light source for hands-free operation (“digital camera 200, including, for example, two flash light sources 120 on two sides of the camera, a flash light source 120 on top of the camera, and optionally another flash light source 120 at the bottom of the camera” [0039]; notice those flashes light sources being added on to the portable frame of the off-the-shelf digital camera), and to position the camera and the excitation light source relative to the in situ wound (see figs. 1-3 and the associated pars.), wherein the portable frame is movable relative to the in situ wound to adjust a field of view of the camera (see figs. 1-3 and the associated pars.), wherein the camera configured to detect the fluorescence emitted by the at least one biomarker in situ (“UV wavelengths the can causes the skin associated with the subject 101 to fluoresce” [0050]) and the excitation light source configured to cause the at least one biomarker to fluoresce in situ are mounted on and external to the portable frame (“living organisms fluoresce upon excitation through the absorption of light, a phenomenon known as autofluorescence” [0051]); and
a power source for the excitation light source (“conventional, off-the-shelf digital camera, such as the one shown in FIG. 2C” [0041] which are known to have batteries),
wherein the camera is configured to detect, in real time, one or more signals emitted by the at least one biomarker while the at least one biomarker is in situ in or on the wound (“the skin pixel is likely one of a group of contiguous pixels that have captured fluorescence coming from an inflamed pore upon illumination by a UV flash” [0064]).
Although, Chhibber’s convention off the shelf digital camera known to have power source for the excitation light source; hands-free operation of the imaging system; portable frame and in real time of detection which are apparent features of digital camera as also shown above, if one argues that these features are not explicitly taught (which the office does not concede), Kollias reference is brought in for the explicit teachings for these features and to expedite the prosecution under the compact prosecution initiatives.
In the same field of endeavor, Kollias teaches a self-contained, portable apparatus and corresponding method for capturing, displaying and analyzing images of a person includes a housing for containing a digital camera, a light source capable of providing at least two different wavelengths of light, a touch-screen display and a computer for controlling the camera, the light source and the display (abst). Kollias further teaches power source for the excitation light source (“power packs 92, 92, 93, 93, 91, and 91” [0070]); hands-free operation of the imaging system (“the person whose image is to be captured is positioned relative to the camera and a plurality of images is automatically captured with the camera” [0009]); portable frame (“The apparatus has a housing, a camera mounted in the housing for capturing the images of the person a and means for illuminating mounted in the housing for providing light for capturing the images of the person” [0008]) and in real time of detection (“The real time image is therefore, in some respects, like a mirror. To initiate an imaging session, a computer program may be used to inform the user, either through visually displayed instructions or auditory instructions, to position their face such that it substantially fills the display frame and is centered therein” [0087]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with known features of an off the shelf digital camera to have a power source for the excitation light source; hands-free operation of the imaging system; portable frame and in real time of detection as taught by Kollias because improved means of viewing their skin with digital camera, in order to provide them additional insight into the condition of their skin. Such insight allows them to make more informed decisions regarding the purchase of skin care products ([0007] of Kollias).
Regarding the claim 14, Chhibber teaches wherein the emission filter configured to block the excitation light reflected by the wound (“light source 300 by changing a low-pass filter 310 in front of the light source 300 into a UV filter 310.” [0041]).
Further, Kollias teaches the light source may include a plurality of flashes and filters, some of which may be adjustable to adjust the angle of incidence of the illuminating light on the subject (abst). Separate cameras having a distinct light filtering lens may be used for each type of photograph taken and/or separate cameras used to photograph different areas or angles of the subject… mechanical filter wheel or arm containing a filter(s) may be placed in front of the camera to selectively filter the light prior to or after entering the camera's lens and/or the respective filter(s) may be placed at the light source(s) to filter the light as it leaves the light source(s) [0023].
Regarding the claim 20, Chhibber teaches wherein the system is further configured to display fluorescence emitted in response to illumination of the wound with the excitation light on a viewing screen for indirect visualization of bacteria in the wound (“selected skin condition can be displayed on a user interface” [0012]; “to visually display the UV damage in an enhanced view, a UV damage enhanced white light image is formed in step 1150 that has a plurality of pixels each corresponding to a respective pixel in the first white-light image.” [0061]).
Regarding the claim 22, Chhibber teaches the excitation light source is movable relative to the portable frame (“FIG. 2A also shows a plurality of light sources 120 as parts of the digital camera 200, including, for example, two flash light sources 120 on two sides of the camera, a flash light source 120 on top of the camera, and optionally another flash light source 120 at the bottom of the camera. Having more than one flash light sources 120 allows more uniform exposure of the subject 101 to light during imaging and to allow different light sources to be configured to emit different colors or wavelengths of light, but the number of light sources 120 and their positions in system 100 can be varied without affecting the general performance of the system” [0039]; “FIG. 2C, by adding the light sources 120 on the sides and the bottom, and electronic and mechanical components to allow sensor 114 to rotate as directed. In one embodiment, the light sources 120 that are on the top and at the bottom of the camera 200 are white light sources and the light sources 120 on the sides are UV light sources. The white light sources can be conventional off-the-shelf flash light sources, such as the flash light source 300 shown in FIG. 3.” [0041]).
Claims 1-9, 11-12 and 23 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chhibber et al (US20070064985A1) in view of Kollias et al (US20050195316A1) and Fright et al (WO2007043899A1 with which the US equivalent US20090213213A1 is cited below).
Regarding claim 1, Chhibber teaches a portable imaging system for visualizing bacteria of a wound in situ, external to the imaging system, in situ (see re-produced figs 1-2 and the associated pars.), the portable imaging system comprising:
a camera (e.g., digital camera 200) configured to detect in situ fluorescence of the wound (“acquiring the first UV image, the embodiments of the present invention is able to combine the knowledge of autofluorescence of the skin and image processing technologies to provide automated detection and analysis of subsurface skin condition” [0051]; “the skin pixel is likely one of a group of contiguous pixels that have captured fluorescence coming from an inflamed pore upon illumination by a UV flash” [0064]);
an excitation light source configured to emit excitation light having at least one predefined wavelength to illuminate the wound in situ (“light sources 120 are configured to illuminate the subject 101 with white light, and another portion of the light sources 120 are configured to emit ultraviolet (UV) light.” [0039]) and cause at least one biomarker associated with the wound target to fluoresce in situ (“flash of UV light should include a band of UV wavelengths the can causes the skin associated with the subject 101 to fluoresce” [0050]);
a power source for the excitation light source (“conventional, off-the-shelf digital camera, such as the one shown in FIG. 2C” [0041] which are known to have batteries); and
a portable frame (“digital camera 200, including, for example, two flash light sources 120 on two sides of the camera, a flash light source 120 on top of the camera, and optionally another flash light source 120 at the bottom of the camera” [0039]; notice those flashes light sources being added on to the portable frame of the off-the-shelf digital camera),
wherein the camera configured to detect in situ fluorescence of the wound (“the skin pixel is likely one of a group of contiguous pixels that have captured fluorescence coming from an inflamed pore upon illumination by a UV flash” [0064]) and the excitation light source configured to emit the excitation light having the at least one predefined wavelength to cause the at least one biomarker associated with the wound to fluoresce in situ are mounted on and external to the portable frame (“digital camera 200, including, for example, two flash light sources 120 on two sides of the camera, a flash light source 120 on top of the camera, and optionally another flash light source 120 at the bottom of the camera” [0039]) for hands-free operation of the imaging system and the portable frame is movable relative to the wound to adjust a field of view of the camera (off-the-shelf digital camera, such as the one shown in FIG. 2C” [0041] with portable frame is movable relative to the wound to adjust a field of view of the camera, as shown in figs 1-2 and the associated pars.), and
wherein the camera is configured to detect, in real time, one or more signals emitted by the at least one biomarker while the at least one biomarker is in situ in or on the wound (“the skin pixel is likely one of a group of contiguous pixels that have captured fluorescence coming from an inflamed pore upon illumination by a UV flash” [0064]).
Although, Chhibber’s convention off the shelf digital camera known to have power source for the excitation light source; hands-free operation of the imaging system; portable frame and in real time of detection which are apparent features of digital camera as also shown above, if one argues that these features are not explicitly taught (which the office does not concede), Kollias reference is brought in for the explicit teachings for these features and to expedite the prosecution under the compact prosecution initiatives.
In the same field of endeavor, Kollias teaches a self-contained, portable apparatus and corresponding method for capturing, displaying and analyzing images of a person includes a housing for containing a digital camera, a light source capable of providing at least two different wavelengths of light, a touch-screen display and a computer for controlling the camera, the light source and the display (abst). Kollias further teaches power source for the excitation light source (“power packs 92, 92, 93, 93, 91, and 91” [0070]); hands-free operation of the imaging system (“the person whose image is to be captured is positioned relative to the camera and a plurality of images is automatically captured with the camera” [0009]); portable frame (“The apparatus has a housing, a camera mounted in the housing for capturing the images of the person a and means for illuminating mounted in the housing for providing light for capturing the images of the person” [0008]) and in real time of detection (“The real time image is therefore, in some respects, like a mirror. To initiate an imaging session, a computer program may be used to inform the user, either through visually displayed instructions or auditory instructions, to position their face such that it substantially fills the display frame and is centered therein” [0087]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with known features of an off the shelf digital camera to have a power source for the excitation light source; hands-free operation of the imaging system; portable frame and in real time of detection as taught by Kollias because improved means of viewing their skin with digital camera, in order to provide them additional insight into the condition of their skin. Such insight allows them to make more informed decisions regarding the purchase of skin care products ([0007] of Kollias).
If one still argues that the features of the excitation light source are each mounted directly on and external to the portable frame are not explicitly taught (which the office does not concede), Fright reference is brought in for the explicit teachings for these features and to expedite the prosecution under the compact prosecution initiatives.
The above noted combination does not point out the specifics of the excitation light source directly on and external to the portable frame.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fright teaches various techniques have been used to monitor wounds, ulcers, sores, lesions, tumour etc [0002]. The apparatus shown in FIG. 8 includes a pair of lasers 35 and 36 which project crossing fan beams 37 and 38 onto surface 39 [0077]. Assembly of lasers 35 and 36 and camera 40 with respect to the surface 42 so as to place beams 37 and 38 just outside the boundary 41 of a wound [0078]. FIG. 10 shows an apparatus sensors are provided. The apparatus 50 includes a PDA 51, with housing 52 containing a camera 53, laser generator 54 provided in a separate module, within the PDA 51 or in a plugin card. When external to the PDA, the positioning module may be connected to the PDA via any suitable wired or wireless connection [0083]. the lasers and camera could be combined so that they can be housed in a detachable unit from the PDA [0092]. Lasers could be movable with respect to the PDA [0093].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with light source are each mounted directly on and external to the portable frame as taught by Fright because it is an object of the invention to provide an apparatus that is simple, portable, inexpensive and easy to use or which at least provides the public with a useful choice ([0008] of Fright).
Regarding claim 2, Chhibber teaches further comprising a filter configured to block the excitation light (“UV bandpass filter as compared with transmission spectra of other white-light filters.” [0019]; also see [0041]).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Chhibber teaches wherein the camera is a video camera (as it is widely known in the imaging and image processing, the video is made up of series of images show to make a video. Chhibber clearly teaches “The images captured by the sensor 114 and the images used by the computing device 130”. Further, it is also widely known that off the shelf conventional digital cameras have video features).
Further, Kollias teaches a real time moving image captured by the camera 211 in video mode which permits the user to interactively view and position their face in front of the camera for centering and focusing and optimally capturing their facial image [0095]. FIGS. 6 and 7 show the basic process shown in FIG. 5, in greater detail, namely, the step of positioning and preparing 306 to capture images includes powering 318 the fluorescent lights, powering 320 the flash charger and displaying 322 the camera video output on the monitor 270 so that the subject S may ascertain their position relative to the camera 322 [0102].
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Chhibber teaches of the wavelengths of 400 nm to 450 nm (“The flash of white light preferably has wavelengths that span across a full spectrum of visible light (i.e., wavelength from about 380 to about 700 nm)” [0051]).
Further, Kollias teaches a photograph that is taken of the subject using visible light (e.g., light having a wavelength from about 400 to about 700 nm).
Regarding claim 5, Chhibber teaches wherein the power source is a rechargeable battery pack (off the shelf conventional digital cameras are known to have rechargeable battery pack).
Further, Kollias teaches capture images includes powering 318 the fluorescent lights, powering 320 the flash charger and displaying 322 the camera video output [0094].
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Chhibber teaches wherein the at least one biomarker is selected from the group consisting of bacteria, fungi, yeast, spores, virus, microbes, parasites, connective tissues, tissue components, exudates, pH, blood vessels, reduced nicotinamide adenine dinucleotide (NADH), flavin adenine dinucleotide (FAD), microorganisms, vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF), endothelial growth factor (EGF), epithelial growth factor, epithelial cell membrane antigen (ECMA), hypoxia inducible factor (HIF-1), carbonic anhydrase IX (CAIX), laminin, fibrin, fibronectin, fibroblast growth factor, transforming growth factors (TGF), fibroblast activation protein (FAP), tissue inhibitors of metalloproteinases (TIMPs), nitric oxide synthase (NOS), inducible and endothelial NOS, lysosomes in cells, macrophages, neutrophils, lymphocytes, hepatocyte growth factor (HGF), anti-neuropeptides, neutral endopeptidase (NEP), granulocyte-macrophage colony stimulating factor (GM-CSF), neutrophil elastases, cathepsins, arginases, fibroblasts, endothelial cells and keratinocytes, keratinocyte growth factor (KGF), macrophage inflammatory protein-2 (MIP-2), macrophage inflammatory protein-2 (MIP-2), and macrophage chemoattractant protein-1 (MCP-1), polymorphonuclear neutrophils (PMN), myofibroblasts, interleukin-1 (IL-1), tumour necrosis factor (TNF), nitric oxide (NO), c- myc, beta-catenin, endothelial progenitor cells (EPCs), matrix metalloproteinases (MMPs) and MMP inhibitors (“captured fluorescence coming from an inflamed pore upon illumination by a UV flash. To confirm, surrounding skin pixels are also examined to see if some of them are also white in color and have intensity values over 130. If none or few of the pixels satisfy this criteria, the first skin pixel is not associated with an inflamed pore. Otherwise, an inflamed pore is identified, and in step 1330, the number of skin pixels associated with the inflamed pore is determined” [0064]).
Further, Kollias teaches visually enhance the appearance of pigmentation, the bacteria p. acnes, and horns [0006]. This type of photography produces bright images of the distribution of coproporphyrin produced by the bacteria P. acnes and of horns. What is meant by a “horn” is a mixture of sebaceous lipids, keratinocytes, and possibly sebocytes impacted in open comedones and blackheads on the skin. By using substantially only blue light that is within the Soret absorption band of porphyrins, the fluorescence emission of coproporphyrin is maximized. Excitation in this range also yields bright emission images of the distribution of “horns” because the fluorescence yield of horns is higher when excited in the blue region of the spectrum [0044].
Regarding claim 7, Chhibber teaches wherein the excitation light source is configured to emit excitation light having at least one wavelength to cause one or more bacterial strains to fluoresce (“living organisms fluoresce upon excitation through the absorption of light, a phenomenon known as autofluorescence… autofluorescence of the skin and image processing technologies to provide automated detection and analysis of subsurface skin condition” [0051]; “fluorescence coming from an inflamed pore upon illumination by a UV flash” [0064]).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Chhibber teaches wherein the one or more bacterial strains is at least one strain selected from the group consisting of: bacteria of the Staphylococcus genus, bacteria of the Staphylococcus aureus species, Pseudomonas aeruginosa, Listeria monocytogenes, Enterobacter sakazakii, Campylobacter species bacteria, coliform bacteria, Escherichia coli bacteria, Propionibacterium acnes, and Salmonella (“fluorescence coming from an inflamed pore (Propionibacterium acnes) upon illumination by a UV flash” [0064]).
Further, Kollias teaches (“bright images of the distribution of coproporphyrin produced by the bacteria P. acnes and of horns.” [0044]; “fluorescence emission of porphyrins from p. acnes” [0045]).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Chhibber teaches wherein the excitation light source is configured to emit blue excitation light or violet excitation light (“acquiring a white-light image and an ultraviolet (UV) image of a portion of a body surface, such as a person's face, each of the white-light and UV images” abst).
Further, Kollias teaches taking a blue fluorescence photograph of the subject [0041]. Camera 11 to acquire a blue fluorescence photograph, a standard photograph, a polarized photograph, and an ultraviolet A photograph [0066].
Regarding claim 11, Chhibber teaches a white light source for white light imaging of the wound in situ (“acquiring a white-light image and an ultraviolet (UV) image of a portion of a body surface” abst; also see fig. 1 and the associated pars.).
Regarding claims 12 and 21, Chhibber teaches wherein the system includes a fluorescence imaging mode and a white light imaging mode (“acquiring a white-light image and an ultraviolet (UV) image of a portion of a body surface” abst), and wherein the system is configured to switch operating modes between the fluorescence imaging mode and the white light imaging mode (“a portion of the light sources 120 are configured to illuminate the subject 101 with white light, and another portion of the light sources 120 are configured to emit ultraviolet (UV) light” [0039]).
Further, Kollias teaches control button 228 a controls the fluorescent lighting 217 a, 217 b (on/off and/or dim down/brighten), which illuminates the subject S in a darkened room and allows the subject S to position his or her face before the camera (as shown in thumbnail 224 a). (In order to control the wavelengths of light in which images are taken, it is preferable to have reduced ambient illumination, e.g., due to room lighting) [0089]. Once positioned, the subject is instructed to turn off the fluorescent lights and/or to close their eyes to prevent the flashes from being seen. Once the subject S indicates a ready state, e.g., by pressing a button, e.g., 228 c for taking pictures or by the system sensing that the subject S has turned off the fluorescent lights, the image set can be captured 308 by sequentially taking pictures utilizing different flashes and filters [0093].
Regarding claim 23, the above noted combination teaches all the claims as shown above. Yet, if one still argues that the features of each of camera and an excitation light source mounted on and external to the portable frame are not explicitly taught (which the office does not concede), Fright reference is brought in for the explicit teachings for these features and to expedite the prosecution under the compact prosecution initiatives.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fright teaches various techniques have been used to monitor wounds, ulcers, sores, lesions, tumour etc [0002]. Apparatus for performing the method may take a variety of forms ranging from a stationary system (having a stationary camera or a handheld camera connected wirelessly or by a cable) to a fully portable unit. Portable units in the form of PDAs, cell phones, notebooks, ultramobile PCs etc. including an integrated or plug-in camera allow great flexibility, especially for medical services outside of hospitals [0070]. FIG. 10 shows an apparatus sensors are provided. The apparatus 50 includes a PDA 51, with housing 52 containing a camera 53, laser generator 54 provided in a separate module, within the PDA 51 or in a plugin card. When external to the PDA, the positioning module may be connected to the PDA via any suitable wired or wireless connection [0083].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with as taught by Fright because it is an object of the invention to provide an apparatus that is simple, portable, inexpensive and easy to use or which at least provides the public with a useful choice ([0008] of Fright).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claim 13, the applicant argues that following;
With regard to amended claim 13, the claim recites, inter alia, "an emission filter movable relative to an image sensor of the camera and selectively positionable between the image sensor of the camera and the wound," which no cited reference teaches. For example, Chhibber in paragraph [0041] teaches that "[e]ach of the UV light sources 120 can be one converted from light source 300 by changing a low-pass filter 310 in front of the light source 300 into a UV filter 310" (emphasis added), but no cited reference mentions "an emission filter movable relative to an image sensor of the camera and selectively positionable between the image sensor of the camera and the wound," as claimed (emphasis added).
However, Chhibber specifically teaches “The white light sources can be conventional off-the-shelf flash light sources, such as the flash light source 300 shown in FIG. 3. Each of the UV light sources 120 can be one converted from light source 300 by changing a low-pass filter 310 in front of the light source 300 into a UV filter 310. In one embodiment, as shown in FIG. 3B, the UV filter is a bandpass filter that provides a transmission spectrum 320 having a width of about 50 nm and a peak wavelength of about 365 nm. In comparison, the low-pass filter 310 would provide a transmission spectrum, such as one of spectra 330 shown in FIG. 3B, that drop sharply to near zero in the UV wavelength range and stay relatively flat in the visible wavelength range. In addition to the white-light and UV filters, some or all of the light sources 120 may also have infrared absorbing filters 315 installed.”
Therefore, the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SERKAN AKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797