DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 12/29/2025 has been entered. Claims 2-21 are pending. Claims 2, 10, and 18 have been amended. No claim is added or cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In that remark, the applicant argued in substance:
That: the cited references, either alone or in combination, have not been shown to teach “in response to detecting the CRUDing, triggering a network device configuration propagation process, wherein the network device configuration propagation process includes: incorporating network device configuration data into a Domain Name System (DNS) record; providing the DNS record to a DNS service; propagating policy agnostic network device configuration within DNS zones.”
In response to the applicant’s argument Zhang teaches in response to detecting the CRUDing, triggering a network device configuration propagation process (i.e. The device and service configuration component creates commands to configure the devices to create, read, update, or delete different devices and services. Task scheduler schedules different tasks (such as configuration commands) that are required to be performed in order to create, read, update, or delete different devices or services as well as registering for event notifications, [0081]).
Therefore, Zhang clearly teaches in response to a command that to create, read, update, or delete different devices (which corresponds to the detecting the CRUDing), a task scheduler schedules different tasks such as configuration tasks (which corresponds to the configuration propagation process).
Regarding the “disclose wherein the network device configuration propagation process includes: incorporating network device configuration data into a Domain Name System (DNS) record; providing the DNS record to a DNS service” limitations,
Suresh teaches wherein the network device configuration propagation process includes: (i.e. periodically retrieving configuration information for devices, the rule-based DNS resolution system may communicate with a hosting system for the devices to obtain notifications on changes to the configuration of those device (referred to herein as “configuration events” or simply “events”). Illustratively, as changes to the configuration of devices within a hosting system occur, the hosting system may notify the rule-based DNS resolution system of those events. The rule-based DNS resolution system may then determine any changes appropriate to the DNS records based on the event, based on rules corresponding to the device whose configuration has changed, Col. 6, lines 1-12) incorporating network device configuration data into a Domain Name System (DNS) record (i.e. the rule-based DNS resolution system uses the retrieved configuration information to refresh DNS records. The rule-based DNS resolution system may identify, from the configuration information, all servers associated with the specified service image, and generate DNS records associating network addresses of the servers, col. 14, lines 11-34 and modification of DNS records may include generation of new DNS records, addition of network address information of a server to DNS records, removal of network address information of a server to DNS records, or deletion of DNS records, col. 17, lines 3-7); providing the DNS record to a DNS service (i.e. DNS resolvers configured to receive requests (e.g., from client devices 102) for DNS records corresponding to an identifier (e.g., domain name, URI, etc.) and return relevant records to a requesting device. These records may be stored within a DNS record data store 136, and may generally include a mapping of a domain name or other identifier to one or more corresponding network addresses or other identifying information of a network endpoint corresponding to the domain name, col. 8, lines 58-67).
Therefore, Suresh clearly teaches after periodically retrieving configuration information for devices to identify changes to the configuration of those devices, the rule-based DNS resolution system uses the retrieved configuration information to refresh DNS records. The rule-based DNS resolution system may identify, from the configuration information, all devices associated with the specified service image, and generate DNS records associating network addresses of the devices and provides relevant DNS records.
Regarding the “propagating policy, in response to providing the DNS record to the DNS service, agnostic network device configuration within DNS zones” limitation,
Byrnes in [0029], teaches information that enables decision making about traffic originating from and or destined to a specific location in the network can be propagated as Multi-Host A (address mapping) records in private DNS Zones, a DNS zone database is made up of a collection of resource records. Each resource record specifies information about a particular object, in [0030], uploading current configuration and having the lists such as a White list is a list of IP addresses and domains of trusted e-mail addresses and domains that are always allowed to send email, no matter what the content is, in [0031], the information is used to determine the lists of domain names to block and or allow without implementing the policy on each individual network device, [0031]).
Therefore, Byrnes clearly teaches decision making information that is used for a traffic to be blocked and/or allowed without implementing the policy (which corresponds to policy agnostic network device configuration) can be propagated as Multi-Host A (address mapping) records in private DNS Zones based on an uploaded current configuration having the lists that has a resource record specifies information for example, a list of IP addresses and domains.
Therefore, the combination of Zhang, Suresh and Byrnes clearly teaches the argued limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not describe that “propagate, in response to providing the DNS record to the DNS service, policy agnostic network device configuration within DNS zones.”, the specification says “providing the DNS record to the DNS service and propagate, policy agnostic network device configuration within DNS zones” in different locations of the specification, however, “providing the DNS record to the DNS service” is not used as a condition to propagate the policy agnostic network device configuration. In addition, the applicant did not provide any specific location (paragraph) in the specification where the added limitation is located.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20170093754) hereinafter Zhang in view of Suresh et al (US 10243919) hereinafter Suresh and further in view of Byrnes (US 20080052758) hereinafter Byrnes.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches a method comprising: performing one or more of creating, reading, updating, and deleting ("CRUDing") a network device configuration of a network device (i.e. a set of APIs for creating, reading, updating, and deleting for network devices configuration, [0060]); detecting the CRUDing (i.e. identifying the requested actions for each device and service (e.g., create, read, update, delete actions collectively referred herein as device and service configuration). The command handler sends the required device and service configurations 1074 to the device and service configuration component, [0079]); in response to detecting the CRUDing, triggering a network device configuration propagation process (i.e. The device and service configuration component creates commands to configure the devices to create, read, update, or delete different devices and services. Task scheduler schedules different tasks (such as configuration commands) that are required to be performed in order to create, read, update, or delete different devices or services as well as registering for event notifications, [0081]).
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the network device configuration propagation process includes: incorporating network device configuration data into a Domain Name System (DNS) record; providing the DNS record to a DNS service.
However, Suresh teaches wherein the network device configuration propagation process includes (i.e. periodically retrieving configuration information for devices, the rule-based DNS resolution system may communicate with a hosting system for the devices to obtain notifications on changes to the configuration of those device (referred to herein as “configuration events” or simply “events”). Illustratively, as changes to the configuration of devices within a hosting system occur, the hosting system may notify the rule-based DNS resolution system of those events. The rule-based DNS resolution system may then determine any changes appropriate to the DNS records based on the event, based on rules corresponding to the device whose configuration has changed, Col. 6, lines 1-12): incorporating network device configuration data into a Domain Name System (DNS) record (i.e. the rule-based DNS resolution system uses the retrieved configuration information to refresh DNS records. The rule-based DNS resolution system may identify, from the configuration information, all servers associated with the specified service image, and generate DNS records associating network addresses of the servers, col. 14, lines 11-34 and modification of DNS records may include generation of new DNS records, addition of network address information of a server to DNS records, removal of network address information of a server to DNS records, or deletion of DNS records, col. 17, lines 3-7); providing the DNS record to a DNS service (i.e. DNS resolvers configured to receive requests (e.g., from client devices 102) for DNS records corresponding to an identifier (e.g., domain name, URI, etc.) and return relevant records to a requesting device. These records may be stored within a DNS record data store 136, and may generally include a mapping of a domain name or other identifier to one or more corresponding network addresses or other identifying information of a network endpoint corresponding to the domain name, col. 8, lines 58-67).
Based on Zhang in view of Suresh, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Suresh to the system of Zhang in order to facilitate communications between computing devices.
However, Zhang in view of Suresh do not explicitly disclose propagating, in response to providing the DNS record to the DNS service, policy agnostic network device configuration within DNS zones.
However, Byrnes teaches propagating, in response to providing the DNS record to the DNS service, policy agnostic network device configuration within DNS zones (i.e. information that enables decision making about traffic originating from and or destined to a specific location in the network can be propagated as Multi-Host A (address mapping) records in private DNS Zones, a DNS zone database is made up of a collection of resource records. Each resource record specifies information about a particular object. For example, address mapping A (Multi-Host A) records maps a host name to an IP address, [0029], uploading current configuration and having the lists such as a White list is a list of IP addresses and domains of trusted e-mail addresses and domains that are always allowed to send email, no matter what the content is, [0030], and the information is used to determine the lists of domain names to block and or allow without implementing the policy on each individual network device, [0031]).
Based on Zhang in view of Suresh and further in view of Byrnes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Byrnes to the system of Zhang and Suresh in order to improve the effectiveness of security solutions such as firewalls and intrusion detection systems, (Byrnes, [0005]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches the network device is configured by a system operator or an automated process (i.e. A network administrator uses a network controller in the cluster 205 to create, configure, update, delete, or monitor different logical device in the hosts and devices 211-215, [0040]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang does not explicitly disclose the system operator or automated process is associated with a customer of the DNS service.
However, Suresh teaches the system operator or automated process is associated with a customer of the DNS service (i.e. the rule-based DNS resolution system 130 described herein can enable client devices 102, associated with servers 112 on the hosting system 110, to specify rules by which DNS records can be automatically created, maintained, or destroyed, based on a configuration of the servers 112. Specifically, the rule-based DNS resolution system 130 can include a user interface 136 through which users of the DNS service may specify rules for managing DNS records of servers, Col. 9, lines 41-19) and current DNS records and the new set of DNS records do not match, the rule-based DNS system 130 may take corrective action, such as notifying an administrator (e.g., a client device 102) of the error, or replacing current DNS records with the new set of DNS records, col. 18, lines 2-7). Therefore, the limitations of claim 4 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang does not explicitly disclose the performing the CRUDing results in no net delta.
However, Suresh teaches the performing the CRUDing results in no net delta (i.e. deletion of a rule, the rule-based DNS resolution system may also delete and DNS records tagged only with an identifier of the deleted rule, and remove the identifier of the deleted rule from the tags of all DNS records, in order to remove all deprecated records associated with the deleted rule, Col. 5, lines 46-51 and The event handler 140 may further determine whether the change in configuration indicates that a server 112 no longer satisfies an established rule, and delete or modify existing DNS records to remove network address information of the server 112 that was included in accordance with the established rule, Col. 16, lines 3-9), the method comprising triggering one or more additional processes (i.e. the rule-based DNS resolution system 130 may validate the rule prior to storage, such as to ensure that the client device 102A has submitted appropriate credentials (e.g., credentials to modify DNS records on the rule-based DNS resolution system 130, credentials for the hosting system 110, Col. 13, lines 16-20). Therefore, the limitations of claim 5 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang does not explicitly disclose the one or more additional processes include a security process.
However, Suresh teaches the one or more additional processes include a security process (i.e. the rule-based DNS resolution system 130 may validate the rule prior to storage, such as to ensure that the client device 102A has submitted appropriate credentials (e.g., credentials to modify DNS records on the rule-based DNS resolution system 130, credentials for the hosting system 110, Col. 13, lines 16-20). Therefore, the limitations of claim 6 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches the detecting the CRUDing is one or more of implementation-specific and configuration-specific (i.e. The command handler also sends the requested device and services configurations to the device and service configuration component to create commands to configure the devices and services specified by the network controller cluster, [0044]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches the detecting the CRUDing is based on one or more of detecting an instruction for performing the CRUDing (i.e. The control interfaces are uses to send commands from the virtual controller cluster 205 to the agent 490 on each host to create, read, update, and delete different logical device and logical services according to each device or service schema, [0059]), detecting a datastore access, and identifying a delta in a current datastore relative to a prior datastore. Since the claim says one or more of the lists, only one limitation is considered.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of Suresh do not explicitly disclose the DNS zones are provided by the DNS service.
However, Byrnes teaches the DNS zones are provided by the DNS service (i.e. in DNS Zones the DNS data is divided into manageable sets of data called zones where the zones contain name and IP address information about one or more parts of a DNS domain. A DNS zone database is made up of a collection of resource records. Each resource record specifies information about a particular object. For example, address mapping A (Multi-Host A) records maps a host name to an IP address, [0029]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 9 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claims 10-21, the limitations of claims 10-21 are similar to the limitations of
claims 1-9. Zhang Further teaches a system comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions (i.e. Electronic system 1400 includes a bus 1405, processing unit(s) 1410, a system memory 1420, a read-only memory (ROM) 1430, a permanent storage device 1435, input devices 1440, and output devices 1445, [0104]); a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions (i.e. A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program, claim 9). Therefore, the limitations of claims 10-21 are rejected in the analysis of claims 1-9 above, and the claims are rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
/AW/
AYELE F. WOLDEMARIAM
Examiner
Art Unit 2447
1/23/2026
/SURAJ M JOSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447