DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 05/13/2024 claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 9, and 16 are independent.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “CHARGING SYSTEM AND METHOD TO DIRECT POWER TO A USB-PD OUTPUT OR TO A MAGNETIC WIRELESS CHARGING UNIT BASED ON CONNECTION STATE”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (Korean Patent KR-20170077587-A).
With respect to independent claim 16, Park teaches a charging system (Fig. 1a; a wire and wireless integration battery charger 100) comprising an output port configured as a Universal Serial Bus Power Delivery (USB-PD) port (Fig. 1a; a connection terminal 114. ¶[79]; the connection terminal is a USB charger terminal apparatus), a voltage regulator circuit (Fig. 1a; power divider 110), a wireless charging unit configured according to a wireless charging protocol (Fig. 1a; a wireless power transmitter 118. ¶[51]; comprising a transmission coil that conforms to wireless charging protocols), the wireless charging unit comprising an inverter connected to the voltage regulator circuit (Fig. 1a; DC-AC converter 116 is connected to the power divider 110 via the second switch 115); and a magnetic charging interface (¶[51]; the wireless power transmitter 118 comprising a transmission coil), and
a charging integrated circuit (IC) controller (Fig. 1a; control unit 140) configured to control the voltage regulator circuit to generate a charging signal at the output port based on a connection state of the output port (¶[66-67]; the control unit 140 is configured to control the power divider 110 to supply DC power to the control terminal 114 based on a connection state of the control terminal 114), and control the inverter to generate a magnetic charging signal at the magnetic charging interface based on a connection state of the magnetic charging interface (¶[71-72]; ¶[89-97]; the control unit 140 connects the DC-AC converter 116 to deliver power to the transmission coil based on a connection state of the wireless power transmitter 118).
With respect to claim 17, Park teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 16. Further, Park teaches the wireless charging unit comprises a visual indicator (Fig. 4; an electricity transmission state 440. ¶[128]; the states may be displayed in a display screen).
Park teaches the charging IC controller is configured to control the visual indicator in a first state responsive to the connection state of the magnetic charging interface being a disconnected state (Fig. 4; ¶[138]; a first state in which a device is connected to the wireless power transmitter 118 thus understood that inversely it is disconnected when not connected in the first state).
Park teaches control the visual indicator in a second state responsive to the magnetic charging signal being generated in a full power mode (Fig. 4; ¶[140]; a third state (i.e., a second state) wherein the charging signal is in a high voltage state thus a full power mode).
Park teaches control the visual indicator in a third state responsive to the magnetic charging signal being generated in a reduced power mode (Fig. 4; ¶[139]; a second state (i.e., a third state) wherein the charging signal is in a low voltage state thus in a reduced power mode).
With respect to claim 18, Park teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 16. Further, Park teaches wherein the charging IC controller is configured to establish a first contract with one of a first device connected to the output port or a second device connected to the magnetic charging interface and establish a second contract with the other of the first device or the second device based on power remaining after satisfying the first contract (Figs. 6-7; teach simultaneous wired and wireless charging with adaptive power allocation, where charging speeds are adjusted based on available power, connected devices, and charging completion status. Fig. 6 illustrates the wired connection triggers power allocation and Fig. 7 illustrates the wireless connection triggers the power allocation. See ¶[186-192] for Fig. 6 and ¶[193-203] for Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (Korean Patent KR-20170077587-A).
With respect to independent claims 1 and 9, Park teaches a charging system and method (Fig. 1a; a wire and wireless integration battery charger 100), comprising an output port configured to operate as a Universal Serial Bus Power Delivery (USB-PD) port (Fig. 1a; a connection terminal 114. ¶[79]; the connection terminal is a USB charger terminal apparatus), a wireless charging unit comprising a magnetic charging interface that conforms to a wireless charging protocol (Fig. 1a; a wireless power transmitter 118. ¶[51]; comprising a transmission coil that conforms to wireless charging protocols), a voltage regulator circuit (Fig. 1a; power divider 110), switches configurable to connect the voltage regulator circuit to the output port or the wireless charging unit (Fig. 1a; switch 112 and switch 115 are configured to connect the power divider 110 to the connection terminal 114 or to the wireless power transmitter 118) and a charging integrated circuit (IC) controller (Fig. 1a; control unit 140) configured to control the switch to connect the voltage regulator circuit to the wireless charging unit and control the voltage regulator circuit to generate a magnetic charging signal at the magnetic charging interface based on a connection state of the magnetic charging interface (¶[71-72]; ¶[89-97]; a device is detected when placed on the wireless power transmitter 118 causing a detection signal to be delivered to the control unit 140 therein controls switch 115 to connect the power divider 110 to the wireless power transmitter 118 to deliver power based on the connection state of the coil); and control the switch to connect the voltage regulator circuit to the output port and control the voltage regulator circuit to generate a charging signal at the output port based on a connection state of the output port (¶[66-67]; a detection signal is delivered to the control unit 140 when a device is connected to the connection terminal 114 wherein the control unit 140 controls the first switch 112 in order to supply DC power from the power divider 110).
Choosing one switch instead of two provides a cleaner layout, lower power usage, and simpler installation. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to design Park considering a single pole, double-throw style switch by integrating the functions of two separate switches thereby advantageously lessening installation complexity and power consumption when operating the system.
With respect to dependent claims 2 and 10, Park teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 9, respectively. Further, Park teaches the wireless charging unit comprises an inverter connected to the switch (Fig. 1a; DC-AC converter 116 is connected to the second switch 115) and the charging IC controller is configured to control the switch to connect the voltage regulator circuit to the inverter and control the inverter to generate the magnetic charging signal (As cited above, furthermore the DC-AC converter 116 is in the path between the wireless power transmitter 118 and the power divider 110 in which it is understood the DC-AC converter 116 generates the magnetic charging signal when the second switch 115 is closed).
With respect to dependent claims 3 and 11, Park teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 9, respectively. Further, Park teaches the wireless charging unit comprises a visual indicator (Fig. 4; an electricity transmission state 440. ¶[128]; the states may be displayed in a display screen).
Park teaches the charging IC controller is configured to control the visual indicator in a first state responsive to the voltage regulator circuit being connected to the port (Fig. 4; ¶[138]; a first state in which a device is connected to the wireless power transmitter 118 thus as cited above understood that the power divider 110 is connected via second switch 115).
Park teaches control the visual indicator in a second state responsive to the magnetic charging signal being generated in a full power mode (Fig. 4; ¶[140]; a third state (i.e., a second state) wherein the charging signal is in a high voltage state thus a full power mode).
Park teaches control the visual indicator in a third state responsive to the magnetic charging signal being generated in a reduced power mode (Fig. 4; ¶[139]; a second state (i.e., a third state) wherein the charging signal is in a low voltage state thus in a reduced power mode).
However, Park fails to explicitly teach the first state indicative of a connection to the output port.
Given the available components, displaying a successful connection to the output port would have been a logical next step. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include a state which displays a connection to the output port. The benefit being a user can quickly determine the success of their device being connected to the output port by visual feedback.
With respect to dependents claims 4 and 12, Park teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 9, respectively. Further, Park teaches establish a first contract with one of a first device connected to the output port or a second device connected to the magnetic charging interface and establish a second contract with the other of the first device or the second device based on power remaining after satisfying the first contract (Figs. 6-7; teach simultaneous wired and wireless charging with adaptive power allocation, where charging speeds are adjusted based on available power, connected devices, and charging completion status. Fig. 6 illustrates the wired connection triggers power allocation and Fig. 7 illustrates the wireless connection triggers the power allocation. See ¶[186-192] for Fig. 6 and ¶[193-203] for Fig. 7).
With respect to claim 5, Park teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Integrating a voltage regulator directly into a charging controller combines power conversion and regulation into a single unit to optimize battery health and system efficiency. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to design Park by integrating the functions of the voltage regulator into the charging controller thus improving circuit complexity and reducing power consumption when operating the system.
With respect to dependent claims 6 and 13, Park teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 9, respectively. Further Park teaches the wireless charging unit comprises a visual indicator (Fig. 4; an electricity transmission state 440. ¶[128]; the states may be displayed in a display screen).
Park teaches the charging IC controller is configured to control the visual indicator in a first state based on the connection state of the magnetic charging interface (Fig. 4; ¶[138]; a first state in which a device is connected to the wireless power transmitter 118).
Given the available components, displaying a successful connection to the output port would have been a logical next step. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include a second state which displays a connection state of the output port. The benefit being a user can quickly determine the success of their device being connected to the output port by visual feedback.
With respect to dependent claims 7 and 14, Park teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 9, respectively. Further, Park teaches the charging IC controller is configured to control the switch to connect the voltage regulator circuit to the wireless charging unit responsive to the connection state of the magnetic charging interface being a connected state and the connection state of the output port being a disconnected state (As cited above, Figs. 6-7 consider the connection states of the wireless power transmitter 118 and the connection terminal 114 in cases where both are connected or in a case where only one is connected and the other is not in this case the wireless power transmitter 118 is connected and the connection terminal 114 is not connected).
With respect to dependent claims 8 and 15, Park teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 9, respectively. Further, Park teaches the charging IC controller is configured to control the switch to connect the voltage regulator circuit to a one of the output port or the wireless charging unit having a connection state transitioning from a disconnected state to a connected state (As cited above, Figs. 6-7 consider the connection states of the wireless power transmitter 118 and the connection terminal 114 in cases where both are connected or in a case where only one is connected and the other is not in this case the wireless power transmitter 118 is not connected and the connection terminal 114 is connected).
With respect to claim 19, Park teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 16. Further, Park teaches switches connected to the voltage regulator circuit, the inverter, and the output port (Fig. 1a; switch 112 and switch 115 connect the power divider 110, the DC-AC converter 116, and the connection terminal 114).
Park teaches the charging IC controller is configured to control the switch to connect the voltage regulator circuit to the output port responsive to the connection state of the output port being a connected state and the connection state of the magnetic charging interface being a disconnected state, control the switch to connect the voltage regulator circuit to the inverter responsive to the connection state of the output port being a disconnected state and the connection state of the magnetic charging interface being a connected state, and control the switch to connect the voltage regulator circuit to the output port and to connect the voltage regulator circuit to the inverter responsive to the connection state of the output port being a connected state and the connection state of the magnetic charging interface being a connected state (Figs. 6-7; considering ¶[66-67], ¶[71-72, and ¶[89-97] and Fig. 1a regarding the control of the switch 112 and the switch 115 in response to a connection state of a device or a plurality of devices to connection terminal 114 and wireless power transmitter 118 the control unit 140, Figs. 6-7 teach simultaneous wired and wireless charging with adaptive power allocation, where charging speeds are adjusted based on available power, connected devices, and charging completion status with one device either connected to the connection terminal 114 or the wireless power transmitter 118 or two devices connected simultaneously (i.e., one connected to the connection terminal 114 and one connected to the wireless power transmitter 118).
However, Park fails to explicitly teach one switch.
Choosing one switch instead of two provides a cleaner layout, lower power usage, and simpler installation. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to design Park considering a single pole, double-throw style switch by integrating the functions of two separate switches thereby advantageously lessening installation complexity and power consumption when operating the system.
With respect to claim 20, Park teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 19. Further, Park teaches the wireless charging unit comprises a visual indicator (Fig. 4; an electricity transmission state 440. ¶[128]; the states may be displayed in a display screen).
Park teaches the charging IC controller is configured to control a state of the visual indicator based on a state of the switch (Fig. 4; the states 441-443 inherently are displayed based on the state of the switches 112 and 115).
Relevant Prior Art
The additional prior art identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) were considered by the examiner, however, for examination purposes were not relied upon for citation purposes.
Conclusion
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2859