Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang (WO2021249458A1)
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches an optical device (Fig. 1-3, Abs, Pages 4 and 15-16, Pages 5-14 of English translation of WO2021249458A1), comprising:
a first dimmable filter (the filter corresponding to the dimming device 1 in Fig. 1-3) that includes:
a first set of one or more electrodes (the electrode(s) corresponding to the upper conductive layer 103 in Fig. 2-3);
a second set of one or more electrodes (the electrode(s) corresponding to the lower conductive layer 103 in Fig. 2-3) distinct and separate from the first set of one or more electrodes (the electrode(s) corresponding to the upper conductive layer 103 in Fig. 2-3); and
a medium (the medium corresponding to the liquid crystal dimming material and the electrochromic dimming material in dimming unit layer 10 in Fig. 10, the layers including 100, 101 and 103 in Fig. 2, or the mixed layer 104 in Fig. 3, Abs, Pages 4 and 15-16) located between the first set of one or more electrodes and the second set of one or more electrodes (Fig. 2-3), the medium including one or more electrochromic materials and liquid crystals (Fig. 1-3, Abs, Page 4, Paragraph 7, Pages 15-16).
Regarding claims 6 and 10, Zhang also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 6) the liquid crystals include ionic liquid crystals (the ionic liquid crystals corresponding to the electrolyte and liquid crystal mixed layer 101 in Fig. 2, Page 4, Paragraph 7, page 15, last paragraph).
(Claim 10) an electrical source (the source corresponding to the drive module 12 in Fig. 1-3) coupled with the first set of one or more electrodes and the second set of one or more electrodes for providing first electrical signals between the first set of one or more electrodes and the second set of one or more electrodes for activating the first dimmable filter or providing first electrical signals between the first set of one or more electrodes and the second set of one or more electrodes for deactivating the first dimmable filter (Fig. 1-3, Page 15, Paragraph 4 and 7, Page 16, Paragraph 3)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Giri (US 2019/0204703).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches that the medium including one or more electrochromic materials and liquid crystals (Page 4, Paragraph 7, Pages 15-16), Zhang does not teach the following elements.
Giri teaches the following elements (Fig. 1, [0035, 0067]):
(Claim 2) an electrochromic medium (the medium corresponding to 124 in Fig. 1, [0035, 0067]) also includes polymer stabilizers ([0067]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Giri for the system of Zhang such that in the system of Zhang,
(Claim 2) the medium also includes polymer stabilizers.
The motivation is to provide an electrochromic medium capable of reversibly attenuating transmittance of light having a wavelength within a predetermined range (Giri, [0004]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Coles (US 2012/0032994).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches that the medium including one or more electrochromic materials and liquid crystals (Page 4, Paragraph 7, Pages 15-16), Zhang does not teach the following elements.
Coles teaches the following elements ([0077-0080]):
(Claim 3) a medium ([0077-0080]) including one or more electrochromic materials and liquid crystals ([0078, 0080]) also includes one or more dopants ([0080]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Coles for the system of Zhang such that in the system of Zhang,
(Claim 3) the medium also includes one or more dopants.
The motivation is that lifetime can be improved (Coles, [0080]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Baliga (US 2007/0097478).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches that the medium including one or more electrochromic materials and liquid crystals (Page 4, Paragraph 7, Pages 15-16), Zhang does not teach the following elements.
Baliga teaches the following elements (Fig. 1, [0010-0021]):
(Claim 4) liquid crystals include liquid crystalline nanoparticles ([0015]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Baliga for the system of Zhang such that in the system of Zhang,
(Claim 4) the liquid crystals include liquid crystalline nanoparticles.
The motivation is to enhance absorption of UV light for an optical modulation system configured to selectively modulate transmission and attenuation of light (Baliga, [0015, 0010]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Ding (CN115716932A).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches that the medium including one or more electrochromic materials and liquid crystals (Page 4, Paragraph 7, Pages 15-16), Zhang does not teach the following elements.
Ding teaches the following elements (Fig. 1, Abs, Pages 2-6 of English translation of CN115716932A):
(Claim 5) a medium (the medium corresponding to the dielectric layer 3 in Fig. 1) also includes ionic liquid crystal elastomers (Fig. 1, Page 2, paragraph 8-9).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Ding for the system of Zhang such that in the system of Zhang,
(Claim 5) the medium also includes ionic liquid crystal elastomers.
The motivation is to provide a liquid crystal elastomer being an intelligent flexible material with good biocompatibility, with any elongated compression, bending and folding, fast response, high sensitivity and so characteristics (Ding, Page 2 paragraph 4, Abs)).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Taheri (US 2014/0226096).
Regarding claims 8-9, Zhang teaches that the first dimmable filter (the filter corresponding to the dimming device 1 in Fig. 1-3) also includes: a first substrate (the upper base material 11 in Fig. 1-3) positioned adjacently to the first set of one or more electrodes (the electrode(s) corresponding to the upper conductive layer 103 in Fig. 2-3); and a second substrate (the lower base material 11 in Fig. 1-3) positioned adjacently to the second set of one or more electrodes (the electrode(s) corresponding to the lower conductive layer 103 in Fig. 2-3), wherein the second substrate is distinct and separate from the first substrate (Fig. 1-3). Zhang does not teach the following elements.
Taheri teaches the following elements (Fig. 1-2 and Fig. 6A-6B, Abs, [0068-0085]):
(Claim 8) the first set of one or more electrodes (the electrode(s) corresponding to 104a in Fig. 2) encompasses a subset, less than all (Fig. 2, Fig. 6A-6B), of a surface of the first substrate (the bottom surface of 102a in Fig. 2, Fig. 6A-6B) or the second set of one or more electrodes (the electrode(s) corresponding to 104b in Fig. 2) encompasses a subset, less than all (Fig. 2, Fig. 6A-6B), of a surface of the second substrate (the top surface of 102b in Fig. 2, Fig. 6A-6B).
(Claim 9) an array of dimmable filters ([0083], Fig. 6A-6B), including the first dimmable filter ([0083], Fig. 2 and Fig. 6A-6B), wherein respective dimmable filters of the array of dimmable filters are activatable independently of any other dimmable filters of the array of dimmable filters ([0085], Fig. 6A-6B).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Taheri for the system of Zhang such that in the system of Zhang,
(Claim 8) the first set of one or more electrodes encompasses a subset, less than all, of a surface of the first substrate or the second set of one or more electrodes encompasses a subset, less than all, of a surface of the second substrate.
(Claim 9) an array of dimmable filters, including the first dimmable filter, wherein respective dimmable filters of the array of dimmable filters are activatable independently of any other dimmable filters of the array of dimmable filters.
The motivation is that Selectively modulating transmissivity and haziness of desired cells/portions can be controlled, and desired patterns and images can be displayed to provide information for a user (Taheri, [0085]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Hayashi (US 2017/0184894).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang does not teach the following elements.
Hayashi teaches the following elements (Fig. 4-5, 12-13, [0106-0112]):
(Claim 11) a wearable display device (Fig. 4-5, 12-13, [0106-0112]), comprising: a display device (the device corresponding to 101 and 102 in Fig. 12); and an optical device (the dimmer 40 in Fig. 12) positioned relative to the display device (the device corresponding to 101 and 102 in Fig. 12) so that light transmitted through the optical device is received by the display device (Fig. 12).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Hayashi for the system of Zhang such that in the system of Zhang,
(Claim 11) a wearable display device, comprising: a display device; and the optical device positioned relative to the display device so that light transmitted through the optical device is received by the display device.
The motivation is to provide head mounted displays or head-up displays able to simultaneously observe pictures and surroundings through a video display device using virtual images (Hayashi, [0005-0006]).
Claims 12 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (WO2021249458A1) in view of Li (US 2020/0409208).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches that an optical device (Fig. 1-3, Abs, Pages 4 and 15-16, Pages 5-14 of English translation of WO2021249458A1), comprising:
a first dimmable filter (the filter corresponding to the dimming device 1 in Fig. 1-3) that includes:
a first set of one or more electrodes (the electrode(s) corresponding to the upper conductive layer 103 in Fig. 2-3);
a second set of one or more electrodes (the electrode(s) corresponding to the lower conductive layer 103 in Fig. 2-3); and
a medium (the medium corresponding to the liquid crystal dimming material and the electrochromic dimming material in dimming unit layer 10 in Fig. 10, the layers including 100, 101 and 103 in Fig. 2, or the mixed layer 104 in Fig. 3, Abs, Pages 4 and 15-16) located between the first set of one or more electrodes and the second set of one or more electrodes (Fig. 2-3), the medium including one or more electro-optic materials (the material corresponding to the liquid crystal dimming material and the electrochromic dimming material in dimming unit layer 10 in Fig. 10, the layers including 100, 101 and 103 in Fig. 2, or the mixed layer 104 in Fig. 3, Abs, Pages 4 and 15-16).
Zhang does not teach that the first dimmable filter that includes: a first spacer having a first thickness; and a second spacer having a second thickness distinct from the first thickness; wherein the first set of one or more electrodes and the second set of one or more electrodes are separated by the first spacer and the second spacer.
Li teaches that (Fig. 4A-4B, Abs, [0051-0054, 0095-0098, 0106]) a first dimmable filter (Fig. 4A-4B, [0095-0098]) that includes: a first spacer (the spacer corresponding to 208 or 206 in Fig. 4A-4B, [0095-0098]) having a first thickness (the thickness of 208 or 206 in Fig. 4A); and a second spacer (the spacer corresponding to 402 in Fig. 4A-4B, [0095-0098]) having a second thickness (the thickness of 402 in Fig. 4A) distinct from (Fig. 4A-4B) the first thickness (the thickness of 208 or 206 in Fig. 4A); wherein a first set of one or more electrodes (the electrode formed on the upper substrate, [0051, 0106]) and the second set of one or more electrodes (the electrode formed on the lower substrate, [0051, 0106]) are separated (Fig. 4A-4B, [0051-0054, 0106]) by the first spacer (the spacer corresponding to 208 or 206 in Fig. 4A-4B, [0095-0098]) and the second spacer (the spacer corresponding to 402 in Fig. 4A-4B, [0095-0098]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Li for the system of Zhang such that in the system of Zhang, the first dimmable filter that includes: a first spacer having a first thickness; and a second spacer having a second thickness distinct from the first thickness; wherein the first set of one or more electrodes and the second set of one or more electrodes are separated by the first spacer and the second spacer. The motivation is to enhance the rigidity and resistance to deformation of liquid crystal cell, and the formation of liquid crystal dark spot defects can be reduced or eliminated as a result (Li, [0096]).
Regarding claims 18-19, Zhang also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 18) the one or more electro-optic materials include one or more electrochromic materials (Fig. 1-3, Abs, Page 4, Paragraph 7, Pages 15-16).
(Claim 19) the one or more electro-optic materials include one or more liquid crystals (Fig. 1-3, Abs, Page 4, Paragraph 7, Pages 15-16).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang does not teach the following elements.
Li teaches the following elements (Fig. 4A-4B, Abs, [0051-0054, 0095-0098, 0106]):
(Claim 20) at least one of the first spacer (the spacer corresponding to 208 or 206 in Fig. 4A-4B, [0095-0098]) and the second spacer (the spacer corresponding to 402 in Fig. 4A-4B, [0095-0098]) is a static spacer configured to maintain its thickness (Fig. 4A-4B, [0095-0098]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Li for the system of Zhang in view of Li such that in the system of Zhang in view of Li,
(Claim 20) at least one of the first spacer and the second spacer is a static spacer configured to maintain its thickness.
The motivation is to enhance the rigidity and resistance to deformation of liquid crystal cell, and the formation of liquid crystal dark spot defects can be reduced or eliminated as a result (Li, [0096]).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (WO2021249458A1) in view of Shimizu (US 2010/0149463).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches that an optical device (Fig. 1-3, Abs, Pages 4 and 15-16, Pages 5-14 of English translation of WO2021249458A1), comprising:
a first dimmable filter (the filter corresponding to the dimming device 1 in Fig. 1-3) that includes:
a first set of one or more electrodes (the electrode(s) corresponding to the upper conductive layer 103 in Fig. 2-3);
a second set of one or more electrodes (the electrode(s) corresponding to the lower conductive layer 103 in Fig. 2-3); and
a medium (the medium corresponding to the liquid crystal dimming material and the electrochromic dimming material in dimming unit layer 10 in Fig. 10, the layers including 100, 101 and 103 in Fig. 2, or the mixed layer 104 in Fig. 3, Abs, Pages 4 and 15-16) located between the first set of one or more electrodes and the second set of one or more electrodes (Fig. 2-3), the medium including one or more electro-optic materials (the material corresponding to the liquid crystal dimming material and the electrochromic dimming material in dimming unit layer 10 in Fig. 10, the layers including 100, 101 and 103 in Fig. 2, or the mixed layer 104 in Fig. 3, Abs, Pages 4 and 15-16).
Zhang does not teach that the first dimmable filter that includes: a first spacer having a first thickness; and a second spacer having a second thickness distinct from the first thickness; wherein the first set of one or more electrodes and the second set of one or more electrodes are separated by the first spacer and the second spacer.
Shimizu teaches that (Fig. 1-3, Fig. 15-16B, [0055, 0107, 0124, 0129-0134, 0165-0167]) a first dimmable filter (Fig. 1) that includes: a first spacer (the spacer corresponding to 61 in Fig. 2-3, [00133-0134]) having a first thickness (the thickness of 61 in Fig. 2-3); and a second spacer (the spacer corresponding to 20 or 21 in Fig. 2-3, [0129]) having a second thickness (the thickness of 20 or 21 in Fig. 2-3) distinct from (Fig. 2-3) the first thickness (the thickness of 61 in Fig. 2-3); wherein a first set of one or more electrodes (the electrode corresponding to 48 in Fig. 2-3, [0107]) and the second set of one or more electrodes (the electrode corresponding to 51 in Fig. 2-3, [0124]) are separated (Fig. 2-3) by the first and the second spacer (Fig. 2-3).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Shimizu for the system of Zhang such that in the system of Zhang, the first dimmable filter that includes: a first spacer having a first thickness; and a second spacer having a second thickness distinct from the first thickness; wherein the first set of one or more electrodes and the second set of one or more electrodes are separated by the first spacer and the second spacer. The motivation is to keep a thickness of a liquid crystal layer in a display region uniform, and to reduce display irregularity caused by a depression at an outer portion of the display region (Shimizu, [0009]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang does not teach the following elements.
Shimizu teaches the following elements (Fig. 1-3, [0107, 0124, 0129-0134]):
(Claim 13) at least one of the first spacer (the spacer corresponding to 61 in Fig. 2-3, [00133-0134]) and the second spacer (the spacer corresponding to 20 or 21 in Fig. 2-3, [0129]) is an adjustable spacer configured to change its thickness (Fig. 15A-16B, [0055, 0165-0167]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Shimizu for the system of Zhang in view of Shimizu such that in the system of Zhang in view of Shimizu,
(Claim 13) at least one of the first spacer and the second spacer is an adjustable spacer configured to change its thickness..
The motivation is to keep a thickness of a liquid crystal layer in a display region uniform, and to reduce display irregularity caused by a depression at an outer portion of the display region (Shimizu, [0009]).
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Shimizu as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Tatemori (US 2009/0147208).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang does not teach the following elements.
Tatemori teaches the following elements (Fig. 1-2, [0055]):
(Claim 14) an adjustable spacer (4/4A in Fig. 1-2, [0055])is configured to change its thickness in response to a change in a temperature ([0055]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Tatemori for the system of Zhang in view of Shimizu such that in the system of Zhang in view of Shimizu,
(Claim 14) the adjustable spacer is configured to change its thickness in response to a change in a temperature.
The motivation is to realize a highly pressure-resistant liquid crystal display device in which generation of bubbles under low-temperature environments can be effectively prevented (Tatemori, [0005, 0055]).
Regarding claims 15-17, since Zhang in view of Shimizu and Tatemori already teaches that the adjustable spacer is configured to change its thickness in response to a change in a temperature, as stated in the rejection of claim 14, Zhang in view of Shimizu and Tatemori also teaches that the adjustable spacer is configured to change its thickness in response to each of an incoming light, a change in an electrical field, and a change in a magnetic field because it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill that each of an incoming/incident light, a change in an electrical field, and a change in a magnetic field can inherently cause a change of a temperature. Therefore, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to try and recognize that in the system of Zhang in view of Shimizu and Tatemori, the adjustable spacer is configured to change its thickness in response to each of an incoming light, a change in an electrical field, and a change in a magnetic field. The motivation is to realize a highly pressure-resistant liquid crystal display device in which generation of bubbles under low-temperature environments can be effectively prevented (Tatemori, [0005, 0055]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the prior art of record discloses or suggests all the combination of an optical device as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 7, none of the prior art discloses or suggests an optical device recited in claim 1, wherein “one or more actuators coupled with the first set of one or more electrodes or the second set of one or more electrodes for moving the first set of one or more electrodes or the second set of one or more electrodes to change a distance between the first set of one or more electrodes or the second set of one or more electrodes” in combination with the other required elements of the claim.
Conclusion
/Shan Liu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871