DETAILED ACTION
Notice as to Grounds of Rejection and Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an icon display unit” in claims 1, 7, 10 and 11, “a processing executing unit” in claims 1 and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 7, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim limitations in claim 1 “an icon display unit configured to cause a display…”, “a processing executing unit configured to execute processing… “,
Claim limitations in claim 4 “the processing executing unit executes start processing ...”,
Claim limitations in claim 7 “the icon display unit causes the display to display …”,
Claim limitations in claim 10 “the icon display unit starts to display …” and
Claim limitations in claim 11 “the icon display unit moves ….”.
invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed functions. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform the claimed functions. Examiner has looked fig 2 items 51 and 52 and associated paragraphs of the specification. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-3, 5-6, 8-9 are rejected as incorporating the deficiencies of claims 1 upon which it depends.
Claim 12 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1, because it incorporates all limitations of claim 1.
Claims 1, 4, 7, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed functions. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 2-3, 5-6, 8-9 are rejected as incorporating the deficiencies of claims 1 upon which it depends.
Claim 12 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1, because it incorporates all limitations of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wheeler et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0246967 A1 hereinafter Wheeler)
With regard to claims 1, 12-14, Wheeler teaches a user interface providing apparatus, a user interface providing system, a method for providing a user interface, a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium comprising:
an icon display unit <para 0028> configured to cause a display, included in a head-mounted device, to display an icon, and to move the icon in accordance with a motion of a head detected by a sensor included in the head-mounted device <HMD with sensor to detect movement data and to display menu/icons para 0017-0018>; and
a processing executing unit <para 0023> configured to execute processing in accordance with the icon when the icon is kept displayed in a set region over a set time period <icon can be displayed over a region for a predetermined time para 0075-0076>.
With regard to claim 2, this claim depends upon claim 1, which is rejected above. In addition, Wheeler teaches wherein the processing is display processing for causing the display to display an effect indicating that the icon has been selected <selected item can be displayed larger para 0078>.
With regard to claim 4, this claim depends upon claim 2, which is rejected above. In addition, Wheeler teaches wherein the set time period is a first set time period, and when the icon is kept displayed in the set region over a second set time period longer than the first set time period, the processing executing unit executes start processing for starting an application associated with the icon <additional predetermined movement such as holding the cursor can be applied for selecting and executing the application para 0075-0076, fig 7D> .
With regard to claim 5, this claim depends upon claim 1, which is rejected above. In addition, Wheeler teaches wherein the processing is start processing for starting an application associated with the icon <an application selected from the menu can be started para 0064>.
With regard to claim 6, this claim depends upon claim 1, which is rejected above. In addition, Wheeler teaches wherein the display has a display region that displays a video image <video image can be displayed para 0016>, and the set region is set in a center of the display region <set region can be in the center of the display para 0081>.
With regard to claim 7, this claim depends upon claim 1, which is rejected above. In addition, Wheeler teaches wherein the icon display unit causes the display to display a plurality of icons including the icon, and moves the plurality of icons in a same direction for a same distance in accordance with the motion <objects can be moved in the same direction having a speed (distance) corresponding to the movement of the wearable device para 0098>.
With regard to claim 11, this claim depends upon claim 1, which is rejected above. In addition, Wheeler teaches wherein icon display unit moves the icon in a direction opposite to a move of a viewpoint following the motion <movement can be in opposite direction of the head movement para 0073>.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wheeler in view of Day et al (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0235729 A1 hereinafter Day).
With regard to claim 3, this claim depends upon claim 2, which is rejected above.
In the same field of endeavor, Day teaches wherein the effect is an animation of a line running along an outer periphery of the icon <selected object can be shown in an animation para 0007>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wheeler, Day before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Wheeler to include the teachings of Day, in order to obtain animation effect as taught by Day. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides a visual presentation of the selection of an object.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wheeler in view of Wheeler et al (US Patent 8643951 B1 hereinafter Wheeler951).
With regard to claim 8, this claim depends upon claim 7, which is rejected above. Wheeler does not appear to explicitly disclose limitations of this claim.
In the same field of endeavor, Wheeler951 teaches wherein the plurality of icons is arranged in a horizontal direction in a row, and the motion involves moving a viewpoint in the horizontal direction <icons (menus) are arranged and move in a horizontal direction para 0084>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wheeler, Wheeler951 before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Wheeler to include the teachings of Wheeler951, in order to obtain limitations as taught by Wheeler951. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides an organization of objects on a display that are easier to see and select and Examiner notes that it is well known in the art.
With regard to claim 9, this claim depends upon claim 7, which is rejected above. Wheeler does not appear to explicitly disclose limitations of this claim.
In the same field of endeavor, Wheeler951 teaches wherein the plurality of icons is arranged in a matrix in vertical and horizontal directions <see fig 3C icons arranged in a matrix>, and the motion is a motion in the vertical and horizontal directions <movement can be in the upward (vertical), “right” direction (horizontal) col 4 lines 5-17>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wheeler, Wheeler951 before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Wheeler to include the teachings of Wheeler951, in order to obtain limitations as taught by Wheeler951. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides an organization of objects on a display that are easier to select and Examiner notes that it is well known in the art.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wheeler in view of HONG et al (US Patent 2017/0041455 A1 hereinafter Hong).
With regard to claim 10, this claim depends upon claim 7, which is rejected above. Wheeler does not appear to explicitly disclose limitations of this claim.
In the same field of endeavor, Hong teaches wherein the plurality of icons includes a previous execution icon associated with an application executed previously, and the icon display unit starts to display the plurality of icons while the previous execution icon is displayed in the set region <frequently used applications/icons can be displayed in the display region para 0269, fig 23>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wheeler, Hong before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Wheeler to include the teachings of Hong, in order to obtain limitations as taught by Hong. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides icons that are pertinent to a user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kurata (US 2021/0144359 A1) – head-mounted display with icon selection para 0041.
/ANIL K BHARGAVA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172