DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/13/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant wrote “to be operate” when it would appear as though Applicant may have meant to write --to be operated--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, 11, 15-20 and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NPL document of record submitted 5/13/2024: Conti, F. et al. "MA-class linear transformer driver for z-pinch research". Physical Review 006 Accelerators and Beams 23, 090401, pp. 1-15 (2020) (“Conti”).
Conti discloses:
In regard to claim 1:
A pulsed-power driver with modular construction (Fig. 1 Items a and b & Page 2 i.e. LTD modular machines), comprising: a voltage adder assembly comprising a plurality of stages axially distributed along a longitudinal driver axis from an upstream end to a downstream end of the pulsed-power driver (Fig. 1 Items a, 2, and b & Page 2 Col. 1 i.e. multiple layers of bricks (“stages”) and modular machines); a transmission line (Fig. 1 and 4 and Page 5, column 1 i.e. transmission line) comprising an inner conductor (Fig. 1 and 4 and Page 5, column 1 i.e. transmission line inner coaxial section) and an outer conductor coaxially disposed and extending along the driver axis from the upstream end to the downstream end (Fig. 1 and 4 and Page 5, column 1 i.e. transmission line outer coaxial section), the outer conductor comprising a plurality of outer conductor segments (Fig. 1 Items a, and 2 i.e. bricks); and a plurality of stage insulators longitudinally interleaved between each pair of adjacent outer conductor segments (Fig. 1 Items a, and 2 Page 3 i.e. epoxy coated ceramic to provide insulation between bricks), wherein the outer conductor segments of the pair are mechanically connected to each other (Fig. 1 Items a, and 2 i.e. bricks shown connected axially to support frame) via an electrically insulating contact provided by a corresponding stage insulator of the plurality of stage insulators (Fig. 1 Items a, and 2 Page 3 i.e. epoxy coated ceramic to provide insulation between bricks), and wherein the outer conductor segments of the pair are electrically connected to each other in series via a corresponding stage of the plurality of stages (Fig. 1 Items a, 2, and b & Page 2 Col. 1 i.e. multiple layers of bricks (“stages”) can be connected in series).
In regard to claim 2:
The pulsed-power driver of claim 1, wherein: the corresponding stage (Fig. 1 Items a, 2, and b & Page 2 Col. 1 i.e. multiple layers of bricks (“stages”)) comprises a number of pulse-forming circuits azimuthally distributed about the driver axis and electrically connected to one another in parallel (Fig. 1 Items a, 2, and b & Page 1 Col. 2 i.e. bricks in parallel inside the housing).
In regard to claim 3:
The pulsed-power driver of claim 2, wherein: each of the pulse forming circuits (Fig. 1 Items a, 2, and b & Page 1 Col. 2 i.e. bricks inside the housing) straddle a transition plane between the corresponding pair of adjacent outer conductor segments, the transition plane passing through the corresponding stage insulator (Fig. 1 Items a, 2, and b).
In regard to claim 4:
The pulsed-power driver of claim 3, wherein: each of the pulse forming circuits (Fig. 1 Items a, 2, and b & Page 1 Col. 2 i.e. bricks inside the housing) includes a symmetrical arrangement of elements about the transition plane (Fig. 1 Items a, 2, and b & Page 1 Col. 2 i.e. bricks inside the housing as shown to be symmetrical).
In regard to claim 5:
The pulsed-power driver of claim 3, wherein: each of the pulse-forming circuits comprises, in sequence, an upstream capacitor (Fig. 1 Items a, 2, and b & Page 2 Col. 2 i.e. each brick is two capacitors connected in series by a switch), a switch (Fig. 1 Items a, 2, and b & Page 2 Col. 2 i.e. each brick is two capacitors connected in series by a switch), and a downstream capacitor, electrically connected in series (Fig. 1 Items a, 2, and b & Page 2 Col. 2 i.e. each brick is two capacitors connected in series by a switch), a terminal of the upstream capacitor is electrically connected to an upstream outer conductor segment of the pair, and a terminal of the downstream capacitor is electrically connected to a downstream outer conductor segment of the pair (Fig. 1 Items a, 2, and b & Page 2 Col. 2 i.e. each brick is two capacitors connected in series by a switch one capacitor upstream and one downstream).
In regard to claim 6:
The pulsed-power driver of claim 5, wherein: the upstream capacitor is arranged upstream the stage transition plane , the downstream capacitor is arranged downstream the stage transition plane, and the switch is arranged across the stage transition plane (Fig. 1 Items a, 2, and b & Page 2 Col. 2 i.e. as shown each brick is two capacitors connected in series by a switch one capacitor upstream and one downstream in the same arrangement as claimed).
In regard to claim 7:
The pulsed-power driver of claim 1, wherein: the electrically insulating contact is a hermetic seal (Fig. 1 Items a 1, and b & Page 2 Col. 2 i.e. the cavity is filled with oil minimizing any air bubbles and sealed with the cavity lid interpreted as hermetic sealing).
In regard to claim 10:
The pulsed-power driver of claim 1, wherein: the inner conductor comprises a plurality of inner conductor segments (Fig. 1 and 4 Item 2 and Page 5, column 1 i.e. transmission line inner coaxial section).
In regard to claim 11:
The pulsed-power driver of claim 10, wherein: inner conductor segments of each pair of adjacent inner conductor segments are connected to each other via a hermetically sealed mechanical connection (Fig. 1 and 4 Items a, 1, 2 and b i.e. . the cavity is filled with oil minimizing any air bubbles and sealed with the cavity lid interpreted as hermetic sealing as shown in figure).
In regard to claim 15:
The pulsed-power driver of claim 10, wherein: the inner conductor segments (Fig. 1 and 4 Item 2 and Page 5, column 1 i.e. transmission line) include radii that gradually decrease from the upstream-most to the downstream-most of the inner conductor segments (Figs. 1 and 4 Items a, 2, and b & Page 5 Col. 1 i.e. conical).
In regard to claim 16:
The pulsed-power driver of claim 15, wherein: each inner conductor segment (Fig. 1 and 4 Item 2 and Page 5, column 1 i.e. transmission line) of the plurality of inner conductor segments includes a cylindrical shape having a constant radius (Fig. 1 and 4 Item 2 and Page 5, column 1 i.e. for each segment as shown) .
In regard to claim 17:
The pulsed-power driver of claim 15, wherein: each inner conductor segment of the plurality of inner conductor segments (Fig. 1 and 4 Item 2 and Page 5, column 1 i.e. transmission line) includes a frustoconical shape having a varying radius (Figs. 1 and 4 Items a, 2, and b & Page 5 Col. 1 i.e. conical).
In regard to claim 18:
The pulsed-power driver of claim 1, further comprising: a cylindrical stand made from an electrically insulating material arranged at the upstream end, the inner conductor and the outer conductor connected to the cylindrical stand (Figs. 1 and 4 Items a, 1, 10, and b & Page 2).
In regard to claim 19:
The pulsed-power driver of claim 18, wherein: the pulsed-power driver is a vertical pulsed-power driver that is configured to be operate while standing on the cylindrical stand with the driver axis parallel to a gravity vector (Figs. 1 and 4 Items a, 1, 10, and b & Page 2 Col. 1).
In regard to claim 20:
The pulsed-power driver of claim 1, further comprising: a tubular enclosure surrounding the voltage adder assembly and extending along the driver axis from the upstream end to the downstream end (Figs. 1 and 4 Items a, 1, 10, and b i.e. cavity).
In regard to claim 22:
A method for manufacturing a pulsed-power driver (Fig. 1 Items a and b & Page 2), the method comprising: partitioning the pulsed-power driver into a plurality of stackable stages (Fig. 1 Items a and b & Page 2 i.e. LTD modular machines), each stage of the plurality of stackable stages comprising: one or more bricks of a voltage adder of the pulsed power driver (Fig. 1 Items a, 2, and b & Page 2 Col. 1 i.e. multiple layers of bricks (“stages”) can be connected in series); one inner conductor segment of a transmission line of the pulsed power driver (Fig. 1 and 4 and Page 5, column 1 i.e. transmission line inner coaxial section); one outer conductor segment of a transmission line of the pulsed power driver (Fig. 1 and 4 and Page 5, column 1 i.e. transmission line outer coaxial section); and one annular stage insulator (Fig. 1 Items a, and 2 Page 3 i.e. epoxy coated ceramic to provide insulation between bricks), providing a cylindrical stand made of an insulating material (Fig. 1 Items a, 4 and 2); and vertically stacking the plurality of stackable stages on the cylindrical stand by assembling an additional stage of the plurality of stackable stages on top of an already-assembled stage (Fig. 1 Items a, 2, and b & Page 2 Col. 1 i.e. multiple layers of bricks (“stages”) can be stacked in series).
In regard to claim 23:
The method according to claim 22, wherein the assembling of the additional stage (Fig. 1 Items a, 2, and b & Page 2 Col. 1 i.e. multiple layers of bricks (“stages”) can be connected in series) comprises: i) connecting the inner conductor segment of the additional stage to the inner conductor segment of an upper-most already-assembled stage using a sealed mechanical connection (Fig. 1 and 4 and Page 5, column 1 i.e. transmission line inner coaxial section must remain sealed); ii) arranging the annular stage insulator of the additional stage (Fig. 1 Items a, and 2 Page 3 i.e. epoxy coated ceramic to provide insulation between bricks) on the outer conductor segment of the upper-most already-assembled stage (Fig. 1 and 4 and Page 5, column 1 i.e. transmission line outer coaxial section); iii) connecting the outer conductor segment of the additional stage to the outer conductor segment of the upper-most already-installed stage with the annular stage insulator of the additional stage interleaved therebetween (Fig. 1 and 4 and Page 5, column 1 i.e. transmission line outer coaxial section and page 2 Col. 1 how connections are made); and iv) assembling each of the one or more bricks of the additional stage about a transition plane that passes through the annular stage insulator of step ii), thereby electrically connecting each of the one or more bricks in series between the outer conductor segment of the upper-most already-installed stage and the outer conductor segment of the additional stage (Fig. 1 Items a, 2, and b & Page 2 Col. 1 i.e. multiple layers of bricks (“stages”) can be connected in series).
In regard to claim 24:
The method according to claim 23, further comprising: disassembling of the upper-most already-assembled stage (Fig. 1 Items a and b & Page 2 i.e. LTD modular machines may be assembled and disassembled) by substantially applying above steps i) through iv) in reverse order, comprising: v) disassembling each of the one or bricks of the upper-most already-installed stage (Fig. 1 Items a, 2, and b); vi) disconnecting the outer conductor segment of the upper-most already-installed stage (Fig. 1 and 4 and Page 5, column 1 i.e. transmission line outer coaxial section); vii) removing the annular stage insulator of the upper-most already-assembled stage (Fig. 1 Items a, 4, and 2 Page 3 i.e. epoxy coated ceramic to provide insulation between bricks); and viii) disconnecting the inner conductor segment of the upper-most already-assembled stage (Fig. 1 and 4 and Page 5, column 1 i.e. transmission line inner coaxial section).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL document of record submitted 5/13/2024: Conti, F. et al. "MA-class linear transformer driver for z-pinch research". Physical Review 006 Accelerators and Beams 23, 090401, pp. 1-15 (2020) (“Conti”) in view Swalla (CA2662225A1).
In regard to claim 8:
Conti discloses the pulsed-power driver of claim 7, wherein: the outer conductor segments of the pair include flanged ends (Fig. 1 and 4 Items a, 1 and b as shown in figure), the corresponding stage insulator interleaved between the flanged ends (Fig. 1 Items a, and 2 Page 3 i.e. epoxy coated ceramic to provide insulation between bricks), and the hermetic seal (Fig. 1 Items a 1, and b & Page 2 Col. 2 i.e. the cavity is filled with oil minimizing any air bubbles and sealed with the cavity lid interpreted as hermetic sealing).
However Conti is vague in its disclosure of the use of a set of gaskets or O-rings inserted into grooves formed on both sides of the corresponding stage insulator.
Swalla teaches the use of flanges and gaskets to create a hermetic seal (Fig. 1 Items 72 and 74 i.e. gasket not shown).
it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of using gaskets to create a hermetic seal (Fig. 1 Items 72 and 74 i.e. gasket not shown) as taught by Swalla with the known pulsed-power driver of Conti as doing so would have yielded the predictable result of minimizing the leakage of insulating material.
In regard to claim 9:
Modified Conti further teaches the pulsed-power driver of claim 8, wherein: the flanged ends are mechanically fastened to the corresponding stage insulator via a plurality of azimuthally spaced bolts (Fig. 1 and 4 Items a, 1 and b i.e. azimuthally spaced bolt holes on cover flange as shown in figure).
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL document of record submitted 5/13/2024: Conti, F. et al. "MA-class linear transformer driver for z-pinch research". Physical Review 006 Accelerators and Beams 23, 090401, pp. 1-15 (2020) (“Conti”) in view Swalla (CA2662225A1).
In regard to claim 12:
Conti discloses the pulsed-power driver of claim 11, wherein: the hermetically sealed mechanical connection (Fig. 1 Items a 1, and b & Page 2 Col. 2 i.e. the cavity is filled with oil minimizing any air bubbles and sealed with the cavity lid interpreted as hermetic sealing) is provided via a plurality of azimuthally spaced bolts (Fig. 1 and 4 Items a, 1 and b i.e. azimuthally spaced bolt holes on cover flange as shown in figure).
However, Conti is vague in its disclosure of the use of at least one gaskets or O-ring.
Swalla, teaches the use of flanges and gaskets to create a hermetic seal (Fig. 1 Items 72 and 74 i.e. gasket not shown).
it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of using gaskets to create a hermetic seal (Fig. 1 Items 72 and 74 i.e. gasket not shown) as taught by Swalla with the known pulsed-power driver of Conti as doing so would have yielded the predictable result of minimizing the leakage of insulating material.
In regard to claim 13:
Modified Conti further teaches the pulsed-power driver of claim 12, wherein: the inner conductor segments of the pair include flanged ends, and the at least one gasket or O-ring is inserted in a groove formed in at least one of the flanged ends (Fig. 1 and 4 Items a, 1 and b i.e. as shown in figure).
In regard to claim 14:
Modified Conti further teaches the pulsed-power driver of claim 13, wherein: the flanged ends of the inner conductor segments are mechanically fastened to each other via a plurality of azimuthally spaced bolts (Fig. 1 and 4 Items a, 1 and b i.e. azimuthally spaced bolt holes on cover flange as shown in figure).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL document of record submitted 5/13/2024: Conti, F. et al. "MA-class linear transformer driver for z-pinch research". Physical Review 006 Accelerators and Beams 23, 090401, pp. 1-15 (2020) (“Conti”) in view of Stoltzfus et al. (US 2015/0366045).
In regard to claim 21:
Conti discloses the pulsed-power driver of claim 1, further comprising: an oil section included in a volume between the tubular enclosure and the outer conductor that includes the voltage added assembly (Fig. 1 Items a 1, and b & Page 2 Col. 2 i.e. the cavity is filled with oil minimizing any air bubbles and sealed with the cavity lid interpreted as hermetic sealing); and that air or a vacuum chamber can also be used at an inner volume of the inner conductor (Fig. 1 Items a 1, 5, and b & Page 2 Col. 1).
However, Conti does not explicitly disclose the use of a deionized water section for insulation included in a volume between the outer conductor and the inner conductor.
Stoltzfus teaches the use of deionized water as insulation between an inner and outer conductor when creating variable pulse (Fig. 1 and claim 8).
it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of using deionized water between the outer conductor and the inner conductor as taught by Stoltzfus with the known pulsed-power driver of Conti as doing so would have yielded the predictable result of a low inductance cable (Stoltzfus: Fig. 1 & Par. [0056]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NPL document of record submitted 5/13/2024: Stygar, W.A. et al. "Impedance-matched Marx generators". Physical Review Accelerators 036 and Beams 20, 040402, pp. 1-16 (2017).
Please see attached form PTO-892.
MW
2/20/2026
/Menatoallah Youssef/ SPE, Art Unit 2849