DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 11-14, 16-19 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 11-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roundy et al. (US Patent 10,455,085) in view of Joshi et al. (US Pub 2022/0377171).
Regarding claim 1, Roundy discloses a method comprising:
establishing, by one or more processors of a computing device, a call between the computing device and a caller (col. 2, lines 17-33);
determining, by the one or more processors of the computing device, whether a user of the computing device configured the computing device to analyze call data from the call (col. 7, lines 8-23);
responsive to determining that the user configured the computing device to analyze the call data from the call:
while the call is ongoing, analyzing, by the one or more processors of the computing device, the call data from the call (col. 1, lines 44-54; col. 8, lines 10-25);
determining, by the one or more processors of the computing device and based at least in part on contextual information associated with the call, whether the call satisfies a scam call threshold (col. 7, lines 62-col. 8, line 4; col. 8, lines 19-35; col. 8, lines 36-46); and
responsive to determining that the call satisfies the scam call threshold, outputting, by the one or more processors, an alert indicating the call with the caller is a scam call (col. 7, 34-44; col. 2, lines 24-29); and
responsive to receiving user input to end the call, terminating, by the one or more processors, the call with the caller (col. 9, lines 21-26; see fig. 4).
Roundy does not disclose using an on-device artificial intelligence model, the call data from the call, wherein no portion of the call data is retained by the computing device or transmitted off of the computing device subsequent to the analysis.
Joshi discloses using an on-device artificial intelligence model, the call data from the call, wherein no portion of the call data is retained by the computing device or transmitted off of the computing device subsequent to the analysis (para 0152-0153 – “local model can classify the active call as fraud with a confidence, such as an 80% confidence level that the call is fraudulent (corresponding to a 20% confidence that the call is legitimate), the call may be automatically disconnected”, 0178, 0197; para 0033).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roundy with the teachings of Joshi in order to integrate the active call fraud detection engine into the operating system (OS) dialer itself to enhance the user experience and improve privacy (Joshi, para 0042).
Regarding claim 2, Roundy discloses further comprising:
prior to establishing the call between the computing device and the caller, receiving, by the one or more processors, user permission authorizing the computing device to analyze the call data of subsequent calls received by the computing device (col. 7, lines 8-23); and
responsive to receiving the user permission authorizing the computing device to analyze the call data of calls received by the computing device, configuring, by the one or more processors, the computing device to analyze the call data of the subsequent calls received by the computing device (col. 7, lines 8-23).
Regarding claim 3, Roundy discloses further comprising:
while the call is ongoing, determining, by the one or more processors of the computing device, the contextual information associated with the call based at least in part on analyzing the call data from the call (col. 7, lines 62-col. 8, line 4; col. 8, lines 19-35);
wherein the contextual information determined in association with the call includes at least one of:
spoken words detected within the call data from the call (col. 7, lines 62-col. 8, line 4);
spoken phrases detected within the call data from the call;
caller sentiment detected from sentiment analysis on the call data from the call;
callee sentiment detected from the sentiment analysis on the call data from the call (col. 8, lines 19-35);
a topic of discussion detected within the call data from the call; and
a subject matter category detected within the call data from the call.
Regarding claim 4, Joshi discloses further comprising:
executing, by the one or more processors, an on-device large language model (para 0152-0153, 0178, 0197); and
evaluating, by the one or more processors and using the on-device large language model, the call data of the call to determine the contextual information (para 0152-0153, 0178, 0197);
wherein evaluating the call data of the call to determine the contextual information comprises evaluating at least one of:
audio data exchanged between the caller and the computing device during a phone call (para 0033, 0152-0153, 0178, 0197);
the audio data, video data, image data, chat data, file attachments, or some combination thereof exchanged between the caller and the computing device during a video call; and
the audio data, the video data, the image data, the chat data, the file attachments, or some combination thereof exchanged between the caller and the computing device during a chat session.
Regarding claim 7, Joshi discloses further comprising:
executing, by the one or more processors, an on-device natural language processing model via the computing device (para 0033, 0152-0153, 0178, 0197);
increasing, by the one or more processors and using the on-device natural language processing model, a confidence value indicative of the call data from the call satisfying the scam call threshold based on one or more matching conditions detected by the on-device natural language processing model, wherein the one or more matching conditions (para 0033, 0152-0153, 0178, 0197) include one or more of:
a keyword match between one or more words of a keyword list and any human language utterances within the call data detected by the on-device natural language processing model (para 0033, 0152-0153, 0178, 0197);
a phrase match with one or more phrases of a phrase list and any of the human language utterances detected within the call data by the on-device natural language processing model;
a caller sentiment match between one or more sentiment classifications on a sentiment watch list and a sentiment assessment by the on-device natural language processing model based on the call data; and
a subject matter match between one or more subject matter categories on a subject matter watch list and a subject matter categorization assessed by the on-device natural language processing model based on the call data (para 0042).
Regarding claim 8, Joshi discloses further comprising:
executing, by the one or more processors, an on-device natural language processing model via the computing device (para 0033, 0152-0153, 0178, 0197);
determining, by the one or more processors using the on-device natural language processing model, the call data from the call satisfies the scam call threshold when the on-device natural language processing model (para 0033, 0152-0153, 0178, 0197) specifies at least one of:
the call data from the call with the caller is evaluated to include an attempt by a caller to defraud a callee (0152-0153);
the call data from the call with the caller is evaluated to include illegal statements by the caller to the callee;
the call data from the call with the caller is evaluated to include an attempt by the caller to extort money from the callee;
the call data from the call with the caller is evaluated to include an attempt by the caller to disclose authentication information from the callee;
the call data from the call with the caller is evaluated to include an attempt by the caller to impersonate a governmental entity;
the call data from the call with the caller is evaluated to include an attempt by the caller to impersonate a law enforcement entity;
the call data from the call with the caller is evaluated to include an attempt by the caller to impersonate technical support agency (para 0026);
the call data from the call with the caller is evaluated to include an attempt by the caller to impersonate a bank associated with the callee (para 0022); and
the call data from the call with the caller is evaluated to include an attempt by the caller to impersonate an e-commerce platform customer support representative.
Regarding claim 11 and 16, see rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12 and 17, see rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 13 and 18, see rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claims 14 and 19, see rejection of claim 4.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roundy et al. (US Patent 10,455,085) in view of Joshi et al. (US Pub 2022/0377171) and in further view of Vargas et al. (US Patent 11,394,831).
Regarding claim 5, Roundy discloses terminating the call with the caller (see fig. 4).
Roundy in view of Joshi does not disclose subsequent to terminating the call with the caller, requesting, by the one or more processors, user feedback about the call with the caller;
in response to requesting the user feedback about the call with the caller, obtaining, by the one or more processors, the user feedback; and
updating, by the one or more processors, an on-device AI model using the user feedback about the call with the caller.
Vargas discloses subsequent to terminating the call with the caller, requesting, by the one or more processors, user feedback about the call with the caller (col. 16, lines 34-39);
in response to requesting the user feedback about the call with the caller, obtaining, by the one or more processors, the user feedback (col. 16, lines 39-55); and
updating, by the one or more processors, an on-device AI model using the user feedback about the call with the caller. (col. 16, lines 39-55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roundy in view of Joshi with the teachings of Vargas in order to continuously improve the model based on the feedback.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 9-10, 15, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAFIZ E HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693