DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Pg. 9 of the filed specification, paragraph 45 3rd sentence should instead read “As shown in FIGS. 4 and 8, the surface of the sealing element 15 facing the e-liquid accommodation space 51 is sloped…”, as Fig. 9 does not depict this.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 3rd line should read “…the fourth end of the outer tube extends into the cavity”, as the fourth end is tied to the outer tube as introduced and not to “the outer end” which was not previously introduced.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “…is electrically connected to the first conductive electrode and the second conductive electrode”. The first and second electrode are lacking antecedent basis, such that it isn’t clear what these electrodes are referring to. The claim will be examined as if claim 11 recites “…is electrically connected to a first conductive electrode and a second conductive electrode”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (US2022/0369709A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses an atomizer (Fig. 2 provides a view of the atomizer [0020]),
Comprising an e-liquid tank (e-liquid tank “1” [0029, Figs. 3-4], a mouthpiece (“101”, as in Figs. 3-4 [0029]), and a heating core (e-liquid absorbent member “3” with the heater wrapped around it [Figs. 3-4, 0029, 0017]),
The e-liquid tank comprising an inner tube, an outer tube, and a connection wall, wherein the inner tube is integrated with the outer tube and is disposed in the outer tube, the inner tube comprises a first end and a second end, and the outer tube comprises a third end and a fourth end, the first end of the inner tube is connected to the third end of the outer tube through the connection wall (see the annotated Fig. 3 below for the identification of each of these aspects. As can be clearly seen, there is an inner and outer tube which is disposed outside of the inner tube, with a connection wall connecting the tube, with first/second and third/fourth ends defined on opposing ends of each of the inner and outer tubes),
The mouthpiece disposed on the first end of the inner tube (as in Fig.3 and more particularly Fig. 4, the mouthpiece is disposed on the outer portion of the first end),
An e-liquid accommodation space is formed between the inner tube and the outer tube (as in the annotated Fig. 3 above, the e-liquid is stored in the cavity “104” which is between the two tubes [Figs. 3-4, 0029]),
The inner tube comprises an atomization channel (an annotated Fig. 3 is additionally included below to show further information. The atomization channel is considered to be located on the radial inside of the first tube),
The mouthpiece comprises a through hole, and the atomization channel communicates with the through hole (the through hole may be considered to be the outlet of the mouthpiece, where the atomized vapor would travel upwards in Figs. 3-4 through the channel through the mouthpiece to the user),
The heating core is disposed on the second end of the inner tube (as in Fig. 3 below, the heating core “3” is clearly disposed on the second/lower end of the inner tube),
And the inner tube comprises an e-liquid inlet corresponding to the heating core in position (as in Fig. 3, the E-liquid inlet “202” travels liquid from the tank to the heating core to be vaporized [0029], is clearly located on the end of the inner tube such that it would be considered to be that the inner tube comprises the e-liquid inlet under the broadest reasonable interpretation thereof as the inlet is disposed on the bottom portion of the first tube and no specific dimensionality relationships are required, and the heating core and e-liquid inlet are clearly located substantially at the same position, see annotated Fig. 3 below).
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches the atomizer wherein the inner tube is coaxial with the outer tube (as in Figs. 3-4, the inner and outer tube clearly run parallel with each other, at least for the majority of their extent, such that the inner and outer tubes would be considered to share a common axis upon which they are both disposed), and the mouthpiece protrudes from the first end of the inner tube (as best seen in Fig. 4, the mouthpiece “101” clearly protrudes from the top of the first end of the inner tube).
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches the atomizer wherein the e-liquid accommodation space comprises an opening between the second end of the inner tube and the fourth end of the outer tube (as in Figs. 3-4, this would be the lower portion of the cavity “104” which holds the e-liquid), the atomizer further comprises a sealing element in the opening (as in Figs. 3-4, there is seal member “2” which is disposed at the bottom of the e-liquid tank and between the second/fourth ends of the tubes).
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches the atomizer wherein the sealing element comprises a first through hole communicating with the atomization channel (as in Figs. 3-4, the seal “2” comprises a channel “203” which is formed in the seal which communicates with the heating core to enable atomization [0029]. The air openings of the seal such as directly below “203” in Fig. 3 may also be considered the first through hole, for example), the atomizer further comprising a base comprising at least one air channel communicating with the atomization channel (the base of the atomizer may be considered the fixing member “5” for example and the rest of the structures located below the seal member “2” as in Figs. 3-4. “5” comprises an air inlet “502”, “503”, “504”, which allow air to enter the atomizer to be atomized [0029], such that any of these may be considered the air channel communicating with the atomization channel).
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches the atomizer wherein the heating core comprises a first e-liquid absorption piece, a second absorption piece, and an electric heating element (the electric heating element is wound around a middle of the absorbent member [0017]. And a first absorption piece may be considered a left side of “3” in Fig. 3 and a second absorption piece may be considered to be a right side of “3” in Fig. 3, for example, there being no specific requirements or limitations tied to what are considered to be these absorption pieces or for them to necessarily be made of separate materials, such that it would be reasonably be considered that the absorption piece is of portions of the absorption portion of the core), wherein the heating element is connected to the first/second electrode (The first and second electrodes are electrically connected to the heating element [0016]).
Regarding claim 12, Liu teaches the electronic cigarette using the atomizer of claim 1 and with a battery module supplying power (the atomizer as taught may be utilized in an electronic cigarette with a battery assembly to supply power to the device [0018]).
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu2 (US2022/0354174A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu2 teaches an atomizer (Fig. 3),
Comprising an e-liquid tank (e-liquid tank “1” [0035, Figs. 3-4], a mouthpiece (“101”, as in Fig. 3 [0035]), and a heating core (atomizing body “5” with heating element “502” [Fig. 3, 0035]),
The e-liquid tank comprising an inner tube, an outer tube, and a connection wall, wherein the inner tube is integrated with the outer tube and is disposed in the outer tube, the inner tube comprises a first end and a second end, and the outer tube comprises a third end and a fourth end, the first end of the inner tube is connected to the third end of the outer tube through the connection wall (see the annotated Fig. 3 below for the identification of each of these aspects. As can be clearly seen, there is an inner and outer tube which is disposed outside of the inner tube, with a connection wall connecting the tube, with first/second and third/fourth ends defined on opposing ends of each of the inner and outer tubes),
The mouthpiece disposed on the first end of the inner tube (as in Fig.3 the mouthpiece is disposed on the outer portion of the first end),
An e-liquid accommodation space is formed between the inner tube and the outer tube (as in the annotated Fig. 3 above, the e-liquid is stored in “103” which is between the two tubes [Fig. 3, 0035]),
The inner tube comprises an atomization channel (the atomization channel is considered to be on the radial inside of the inner tube near the outlet of the atomizing body “5” where the liquid is atomized),
The mouthpiece comprises a through hole, and the atomization channel communicates with the through hole (the through hole may be considered to be the outlet of the mouthpiece, where the atomized vapor would travel upwards in Figl 3 through the channel through the mouthpiece to the user, which is the top of Fig. 3),
The heating core is disposed on the second end of the inner tube (as in Fig. 3 below, the heating core “3” is clearly disposed on the second/lower end of the inner tube. It being noted that the term “on” is given its broadest reasonable interpretation),
And the inner tube comprises an e-liquid inlet corresponding to the heating core in position (as in Fig. 3, the E-liquid inlet “304” travels liquid from the tank to the heating core to be vaporized [0029], is clearly located on the end of the inner tube such that it would be considered to be that the inner tube comprises the e-liquid inlet under the broadest reasonable interpretation thereof, and the heating core and e-liquid inlet are clearly located substantially at the same position).
Regarding claim 4, Liu2 teaches the atomizer wherein the inner tube is coaxial with the outer tube (as in Fig 3, the inner and outer tube clearly run parallel with each other, at least for the majority of their extent, such that the inner and outer tubes would be considered to share a common axis upon which they are both disposed), and the mouthpiece protrudes from the first end of the inner tube (as in Fig. 3, the mouthpiece “101” clearly protrudes from the top of the first end of the inner tube).
Regarding claim 5, Liu2 teaches the atomizer wherein the e-liquid accommodation space comprises an opening between the second end of the inner tube and the fourth end of the outer tube (as in Fig. 3, this would be the lower portion of the tank “103” which holds the e-liquid), the atomizer further comprises a sealing element in the opening (as in Fig. 3, there is seal member “3” which is disposed at the bottom of the e-liquid tank and between the second/fourth ends of the tubes).
Regarding claim 6, Liu2 teaches the atomizer wherein one surface of the sealing element faces the e-liquid accommodation space is sloped with a higher outer edge and lower central part (see surface of “3” which faces the e-liquid tank “103”, which is clearly sloped with a central portion being lower than an outer portion).
Regarding claim 7, Liu2 teaches the atomizer wherein the sealing element comprises a first through hole communication with the atomizing channel (this may be considered hole “602” for example which allows air into the atomization channel around the heating element [0036, Fig. 3]), the atomizer further comprising a base with at least one air channel (the base may be considered to be the portions of the atomizer below the seal “3”, including the portions “7” for example. Air inlets “102” are on both edges of the atomizer/base leading to the atomizing chamber, and the air travels through the air channel “302”).
Regarding claim 11, Liu2 teaches the atomizer wherein the heating core comprises a first e-liquid absorption piece, a second absorption piece, and an electric heating element (the electric heating element is wound around an absorbent member [0004-0006]. The heating body may be made of porous materials which absorbs the e-liquid [0026], and as no specific requirements are required for the first/second absorption pieces, it would be reasonably be considered that the absorption piece is of portions of the porous absorption portions of “5”), wherein the heating element is connected to the first/second electrode (The first and second electrodes are electrically connected to the heating element [0004]).
Regarding claim 12, Liu2 teaches the electronic cigarette using the atomizer of claim 1 and with a battery module supplying power (the atomizer as taught may be utilized in an electronic cigarette with a battery assembly to supply power to the device [0024, 0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US2022/0369709A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu3 (US2021/0212369A1).
Regarding claim 2, Liu does not explicitly have the e-liquid tank comprising a transparent material. However, it is well-understood in the art to do so. Liu3, for example, is tied to an atomization assembly [title] comprising a smoke material tank ‘5” which contains the smoke material 0023-0027, Fig. 5]. The tank material is made to be transparent and to have graduations [0004, 00013]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the tank of Liu so as to be transparent as in Liu3. One would have been motivated so as to allow for easy observation of the consumption of the smoke material to prevent the heating element from burning out [0013, Liu3].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US2022/0369709A1) in view of Liu3 (US2021/0212369A1), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Liu4 (US2022/0061384).
Regarding claim 3, Liu does not specify the material of its e-liquid tank. Liu4 teaches an atomizer [title], wherein there is formed an e-liquid tank with inner and outer tubes which are formed of glass, ceramics, quartz, agate, jade, ceramic, or a combination thereof [0011, Fig. 3]. Case law holds that the selection of a known material based on suitability for its intended use support prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co vs. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1045)". See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to choose any type of material for the e-liquid tank, including those of glass, quartz, etc., as suggested by Liu4, and thereby provide an e-liquid tank suitable for an atomizer.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US2022/0369709A1), as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Kletzo (US2020/0288789A1).
Regarding claim 6, Liu does not explicitly show one surface of the sealing element facing the e-liquid accommodation space being sloped with a higher outer edge and lower central part. However, this structure is well-understood in the art. Kletzo, for example, is tied to a vaporizer with a heating coil [abstract, Fig. 14]. There is included a sealed fluid tank “71” to be atomized, wherein the base “64” which faces the tank has an angled floor with a higher portion towards an outer edge and a lower portion towards the center [Fig. 14]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize such an angled design as suggested by Kletzo in the atomizer of Liu. One would have been motivated so as to assist gravity in the feeding of the vaping fluid from the tank to the wick and heating coil [Kletzo, 0013]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US2022/0369709A1), as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Yang (CN114585272A, citing to English equivalent US2023/0200439A1) and/or Barbaric (US2020/0113246A1).
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses the atomizer with the sealing element in the base of the tank. Liu does not explicitly detail a puncturable sealing plug and a liquid injection hole, however such structures are known in the art. Yang teaches an atomizer “100” [0022] with a liquid storage tank “41” in the atomizer and a sealing member “20” in the base of the storage tank [Fig. 6,0039]. The sealing member includes a liquid injection port “80” and a plug “50” which is movably arranged in the liquid injection port [0039]. When injecting liquid into the tank, liquid enters through the port “80” and the plug “50” seals the liquid afterwords (such that it returns to its original state), such that under the broadest reasonable interpretation the sealing plug is a puncturable plug so as to form the injection of liquid into the tank, and the sealing plug may return to its original state after such that it blocks the liquid from escaping.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the atomizer of Liu to have the sealing plug and injection hole as taught by Yang. As Liu is silent as to its liquid refilling mechanism, one would have been motivated so as to have a manner for refilling the liquid storage chamber and ensure no leakage [0039, 0053-0054], this being a simple substitution of one known element for another with the expected results of providing structure for efficiently refilling the tank.
In the alternate or in addition to, Barbaric teaches a vaporizer such as electronic cigarettes [0053]. The structure of the vaporizer may include a reservoir R which is inside of an outer housing, wherein the fluid may be added to the reservoir via the elastomeric plug [0202]. The plug may have a resealable membrane which is configured to reseal after being pierced with a filling needle to fill the reservoir [0202]. In other words, the plug is puncturable and reseals after puncturing, and the liquid injection hole would be the hole in the plug that the liquid transfers through to the reservoir.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the vaporizer of Liu so as to have the resealable plug and injection hole as in Barbaric. As Liu is silent as to a refilling mechanism, one would have found it obvious so as to provide a refillable tank using the plug/injection hole and to have the hole reseal to prevent leakage [0073, 0202, 0207].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US2022/0369709A1) in view of Yang (CN114585272A, citing to English equivalent US2023/0200439A1) and/or Barbaric (US2020/0113246A1), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Liu5 (US2022/0378097A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Liu suggests the atomizer with the base with a bottom wall and a sidewall (may be considered the lower portion and axially outer portions of “5” as in Figs. 3-4 for example) defining a cavity (this would be considered the area between the bottom and side wall as in Figs. 3-4),
the bottom wall comprises a second through hole communicating with the first through hole of the sealing element (this may be considered air inlet “504” for example, which is formed around the bottom wall where air enters and extends through “203” to the atomizer),
the side wall comprises at least one air hole where the air channel is disposed in the bottom wall and communicates with the air hole and the second through hole on two opposite ends (the sidewalls comprise air hole 502 and 503 which are clearly disposed on opposite ends of the atomizer [Figs. 3-4], and the air channel as detailed previously would travel from these air inlets to the atomizer “3”, such that the air inlets clearly communicate with the air channel),
the at least one injection hole is disposed in the bottom wall (as detailed in Yang or Barbaric, the injection of liquid into the tank would take place through the base of the tank which would puncture the sealing element to deliver the liquid to the tank, such that the injection hole would be disposed at least partially in the bottom wall when modified by Yang/Barbaric).
Liu does not suggest that the fourth end of the outer tube extends into the cavity. However, this structure is known within the art and would have been an obvious design choice. Liu5, for example, teaches an atomizer [see Figs. 3-4] comprising an inner tube and an outer tube with respective ends in the longitudinal directions [see Figs. 3-4, substantially similar structure as the instant application]. The base “9” outer sidewall extends around the fourth (inner) end of the outer tube [see Figs. 3-4], such that the fourth end of the outer tube would clearly extend into the “cavity” which is formed by the base. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the structure of the base such that the fourth end of the outer tube extends into the cavity of the base, as in Liu5. It being noted that a mere rearrangement of parts supports a prima facie case of obviousness, that being that a particular placement of parts is held to be an obvious matter of design choice where shifting the part would not have modified the operation of the device. See MPEP2144.04 VI. C. There is no disclosure nor reasonable suggestion in the application that the disposition of the fourth end in the cavity of the base would be considered any more than a matter of design choice, particularly as this design choice is known within the art as evidenced by Liu5.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US2022/0369709A1) in view of Yang (CN114585272A, citing to English equivalent US2023/0200439A1) and/or Barbaric (US2020/0113246A1) and in view of Liu5 (US2022/0378097A1), as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Liu2 (US2022/0354174A1).
Regarding claim 10, modified Liu suggests the bottom wall protruding outward with respect to the second through hole (see Figs. 3-4 of Liu, the base clearly extends further downwards so as to protrude outwards). Liu suggests that there is a first and second conductive electrode that is embedded into the atomizer so as to be electrically connected to the heated element [0029], however Liu does not suggest the specific structure of the electrodes as claimed. However, such electrode structure is known within the art and would have been a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Liu2, for example, teaches an atomizer with an inner tube and an outer tube with the liquid tank 103 formed between, a mouthpiece and a heating element [see Fig. 3]. The base of the atomizer comprises a first conductive member 7 (considered the first conductive electrode) which clearly protrudes outwards in both a radial and longitudinal direction [see Fig. 3]. The first conductive member 7 comprises a hollow cylinder, and the second conductive member 10 (considered the second conductive electrode) is disposed inside of the cylinder [0040, Fig. 3]. The first electrode has external threads [see Fig. 3]. An insulating ring 9 is disposed in between the first and second conductive members [0040, Fig. 3]. The structure of the electrodes of Liu2 is substantially the same as what is depicted in Applicant’s Fig. 4.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the atomizer of Liu to have the conductive electrode structure as in Liu2. One would have found this to be a simple substitution of one known element for another known element to obtain predictable results. See MPEP2143. This modification would allow for the conductive member to be connected to the battery and the insulating ring insulates the heat [0020-0022]. As this arrangement of the electrodes in this manner is well-known in the art, and as Liu/Liu2 share inventors/assignees/etc. such that the inventions were clearly aware of each other, it would have been an obvious modification to utilize the electrode structure as in Liu2 in the device of Liu. And additionally, it being noted that a mere rearrangement of parts supports a prima facie case of obviousness, that being that a particular placement of parts is held to be an obvious matter of design choice where shifting the part would not have modified the operation of the device. See MPEP2144.04 VI. C.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu2 (US2022/0354174A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu3 (US2021/0212369A1).
Regarding claim 2, Liu2 does not explicitly have the e-liquid tank comprising a transparent material. However, it is well-understood in the art to do so. Liu3, for example, is tied to an atomization assembly [title] comprising a smoke material tank ‘5” which contains the smoke material 0023-0027, Fig. 5]. The tank material is made to be transparent and to have graduations [0004, 00013]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the tank of Liu2 so as to be transparent as in Liu3. One would have been motivated so as to allow for easy observation of the consumption of the smoke material to prevent the heating element from burning out [0013, Liu3].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu2 (US2022/0354174A1) in view of Liu3 (US2021/0212369A1), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Liu4 (US2022/0061384).
Regarding claim 3, Liu2 does not specify the material of its e-liquid tank. Liu4 teaches an atomizer [title], wherein there is formed an e-liquid tank with inner and outer tubes which are formed of glass, ceramics, quartz, agate, jade, ceramic, or a combination thereof [0011, Fig. 3]. Case law holds that the selection of a known material based on suitability for its intended use support prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co vs. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1045)". See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to choose any type of material for the e-liquid tank, including those of glass, quartz, etc., as suggested by Liu4, and thereby provide an e-liquid tank suitable for an atomizer.
Claim 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu2 (US2022/0354174A1), as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Yang (CN114585272A, citing to English equivalent US2023/0200439A1) and/or Barbaric (US2020/0113246A1).
Regarding claim 8, Liu2 discloses the atomizer with the sealing element in the base of the tank. Liu2 does not explicitly detail a puncturable sealing plug and a liquid injection hole, however such structures are known in the art. Yang teaches an atomizer “100” [0022] with a liquid storage tank “41” in the atomizer and a sealing member “20” in the base of the storage tank [Fig. 6,0039]. The sealing member includes a liquid injection port “80” and a plug “50” which is movably arranged in the liquid injection port [0039]. When injecting liquid into the tank, liquid enters through the port “80” and the plug “50” seals the liquid afterwords (such that it returns to its original state), such that under the broadest reasonable interpretation the sealing plug is a puncturable plug so as to form the injection of liquid into the tank, and the sealing plug may return to its original state after such that it blocks the liquid from escaping.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the atomizer of Liu2 to have the sealing plug and injection hole as taught by Yang. As Liu2 is silent as to its liquid refilling mechanism, one would have been motivated so as to have a manner for refilling the liquid storage chamber and ensure no leakage [0039, 0053-0054], this being a simple substitution of one known element for another with the expected results of providing structure for efficiently refilling the tank.
In the alternate or in addition to, Barbaric teaches a vaporizer such as electronic cigarettes [0053]. The structure of the vaporizer may include a reservoir R which is inside of an outer housing, wherein the fluid may be added to the reservoir via the elastomeric plug [0202]. The plug may have a resealable membrane which is configured to reseal after being pierced with a filling needle to fill the reservoir [0202]. In other words, the plug is puncturable and reseals after puncturing, and the liquid injection hole would be the hole in the plug that the liquid transfers through to the reservoir.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the vaporizer of Liu2 so as to have the resealable plug and injection hole as in Barbaric. As Liu2 is silent as to a refilling mechanism, one would have found it obvious so as to provide a refillable tank using the plug/injection hole and to have the hole reseal to prevent leakage [0073, 0202, 0207].
Regarding claim 9, modified Liu2 suggests the atomizer with the base with a bottom wall and a sidewall (may be considered the lower portion and axially outer portions of “7” and the surrounding bottom portions as in Fig. 3 for example) defining a cavity (this would be considered the area between the bottom and side wall as in Fig. 3, such as the area between the outer and bottom portions of “7”),
the further end of the outer tube extends into the cavity (as in Fig. 3, the lower end of the outer tube clearly is located within the outer wall of “7”),
the bottom wall comprises a second through hole communicating with the first through hole of the sealing element (this may be the through holes which lead to the hole “602” which lead to the atomizer, which is formed around the base portions),
the side wall comprises at least one air hole where the air channel is disposed in the bottom wall and communicates with the air hole and the second through hole on two opposite ends (the sidewalls comprise air holes/channels such as “102” and “302” which are disposed on both sides of the atomizer and which extend through the central portion of the base to the atomizer [see Fig. 5 showing an airflow path),
the at least one injection hole is disposed in the bottom wall (as detailed in Yang or Barbaric, the injection of liquid into the tank would take place through the base of the tank which would puncture the sealing element to deliver the liquid to the tank, such that the injection hole would be disposed at least partially in the bottom wall when modified by Yang/Barbaric).
Regarding claim 10, modified Liu2 suggests that atomizer wherein the bottom wall protrudes outward with respect to the second through hole (see Figs. 3 and 5, wherein the base portion extends downwards in the figure downwards past where the through holes are), to form a hollow tubular first conductive electrode (the first conductive member “7” comprises a hollow cylinder which is formed at this lower portion [0040]), the first electrode comprises an outer wall having an external thread (as in Figs. 3 and 5, the lower and axially outer portion of “7” clearly has external threads present, in the same manner as Applicant’s own Fig. 4), a second electrode is embedded in the first with an insulation part disposed between (the second conductive member 10 is disposed inside of the cylinder [0040, Fig. 3]. An insulating ring 9 is disposed in between the first and second conductive members [0040, Fig. 3]. The structure of the electrodes of Liu2 is substantially the same as what is depicted in Applicant’s Fig. 4).
Conclusion
/T.F.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749