DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed May 13,2024 have been submitted for consideration by the Office. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Applicants must continue to submit prior art references throughout the patent application process. A supplemental IDS must be submitted if prior art is discovered through a foreign patent application or an International Patent Search, or a related application before a prosecution closes.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group A3, encompassing claims 1-14 in the reply filed on June 22, 2026 is acknowledged. However, no reason was given for the traversal; therefore, the requirement is still deemed proper and is made FINAL.
Specification
Specification is objected to because of the following informalities:
Specification discloses “The wire harness 1 includes a wire group 20 that includes a plurality of wires and mutually connects paired electrical connectors 10 for each of at least n−1 pairs of electrical connectors 10 set as wire connection targets (FIGS. 1 and 3). In the wire group 20, a plurality of wires are bundled together.
One of all the wire groups 20 is a main wire group 21 linearly connecting the pair of main electrical connectors 11 (the first main electrical connector 11A and the second main electrical connector 11B) in the shortest path (FIGS. 1 and 3). The rest of all the wire groups 20 are sub-wire groups 22 that linearly connect, in the shortest path, among the at least n−1 pairs of electrical connectors 10 set as wire connection targets, the remaining pairs excluding the pair of main electrical connectors 11 (the first main electrical connector 11A and the second main electrical connector 11B) (FIGS. 1 and 3 ).” Is not clear or indefinite.
Specification does not clearly disclose what is considered as a wire group with plurality of wire and what is considered as wire groups. No clear indication is given to identify clear distinction between two.
From figure it appears that a wire group 20 is plurality or all the wires; therefore, no wire groups 20 exits. 21 is a main sub-wire group of a plurality of sub-groups (21,22) of the wire group 20, plural 22 are rest of the plurality of sub-wires groups (21,22) of the wire group 20. Therefore, entire specification should be clarified. See further USC 112 rejection.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Rejection of claim 1, the limitation “a wire group including a plurality of wires, the wire group mutually connecting a pair of the electrical connectors for each of the at least n - 1 pairs of the electrical connectors set as the wire connection targets… one of all the wire groups is a main wire group linearly connecting the pair of the main electrical connectors in a shortest path, and a rest of all the wire groups is a sub-wire group linearly connecting, in a shortest path” is indefinite or unclear (see explanation in the specification).
Terms ”a shortest path” lacks antecedent basis , it should mention between a shortest path between what. and there are two a shortest path mentions; therefore, it should mention as a first shortest path and a second shortest path to have clear distinction between them.
The limitation “ a rest of all the wire groups is a sub-wire group linearly connecting, in a shortest path, among the at least n - 1 pairs of the electrical connectors set as the wire connection targets, a remaining pair excluding the pair of the main electrical connectors, and the at least n - 1 pairs of the electrical connectors set as the wire connection targets include at least one pair which is a combination of the main electrical connector and the sub-electrical connector connected by the sub-wire group” is indefinite or unclear.
It is incorrect from figures the a rest of all the wire groups is a sub-wire group linearly connecting a remaining pair excluding the pair of the main electrical connectors. It appears to be sub-wire groups (22) linearly connecting remaining pairs of the at least n - 1 pairs of the electrical connectors excluding the pair of the main electrical connectors.
Also, note that at least one pair is a part of the remaining pairs which connected to rest of sub-wire groups; therefore, intercorrelation between at least one and the remaining pairs are required. Note that if specification has same type of issue, it should be clarified.
“at least one pair” defines one, many, and all. Therefore, elected fig. 3 fails to support all pairs. This same reason applies to all dependent claims where this type of correction is needed.
Therefore, proper clarification is required.
Rejection of claim 2-14, claims 2-14 are rejected by the same reason applied to the rejection of claim 1above.
Rejection of claim 2, the limitation “at least one pair which is a combination of the sub-electrical connector on the first side and the sub-electrical connector on the second side connected by the sub-wire group” contains indefinite subject matter.
“at least one pair” defines one, many, and all. Therefore, elected fig. 3 fails to support all pairs which is a combination of the sub-electrical connector on the first side and the sub-electrical connector on the second side connected by the sub-wire group.
Therefore, proper clarification is required.
Rejection of claims 3-4, the limitations “a wire outlet, through which the wire group inside is drawn out to an outside, is formed between the pair of the exterior members for each of the electrical connectors, the wire group is connected to the electrical connector at a point where the wire group is drawn out from the wire outlet to the outside, and the wire harness further comprises a wire fixing member that fixes all the wire groups, drawn out from a common wire outlet to the outside, to the exterior member at the wire outlet’ are indefinite.
The limitation missing clarification of term inside and outside and the wire group inside is drawn out to an outside appears to be ambiguous. It is the wire group placed inside of the pair of exterior members is drawn out to an outside of the pair of exterior members.
Term “the electrical connector” defines one or each.
Furthermore, it appears from figure 3 that a common wire outlet and the wire outlet are defining same outlet; therefore, a common wire outlet … at the wire outlet is improper.
the exterior member in the last sentence of the claims refers to what.
Appropriate action is required.
Rejection of claims 7-8, the limitation requires the pair of the exterior members, each includes an insertion hole in order to the fixing member pass through.
Appropriate action is required.
Rejection of claims 11-14, in claims 11-12, the limitation appears to be the main wire routing path is formed in a groove shape linearly connecting a first pair of facing sides of a first side and a second side of the main body, the sub-wire routing path includes a first sub-wire routing path linearly connecting a second pair of facing sides of a third side and a fourth side of the main body.
Same reason applied to claims 13-14. Please clarify.
Note: rejection under USC 103 below is given to advance prosecution; however, proper amendment is required under specification and USC 112 above in order to consider rejection under USC 103 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai et al. (US2022038050, herein referred to as Arai), Sumida et al. (US20220246324, herein referred to Sumida), and Sato et al. (WO2014038259A1, herin referred to Sato).
Rejection of claim 1, Arai (figures 1-4) discloses a wire harness comprising: n (n = a natural number greater than or equal to 3) electrical connectors (see number of connectors in figures 1-4),
at least n - 1 pairs of which, obtained by combining two electrical connectors using all the n electrical connectors, are set as wire connection targets (see pairs of connectors in figures 1-4);
a wire group including a plurality of wires, the wire group mutually connecting a pair of the electrical connectors for each of the at least n - 1 pairs of the electrical connectors set as the wire connection targets (see wire group in figures);
and an exterior member accommodating all of a plurality sub-wire groups of the wire group inside the exterior member, the exterior members having a sheet-like shape and being insulating,
wherein one of the at least n - 1 pairs of the electrical connectors set as the wire connection targets is a pair of main electrical connectors arranged with a space between the main electrical connectors (see a pair of connectors 62 and 64 in straight line),
remaining electrical connectors, excluding the pair of the main electrical connectors, out of the n electrical connectors, are sub-electrical connectors arranged at intervals in an intersecting direction intersecting a straight line connecting the pair of the main electrical connectors,
one of a plurality of sub-wire groups of the wire-group is a main sub-wire group linearly connecting the pair of the main electrical connectors in a first shortest path between the pair of main electrical connectors (see the figures), and
a rest of all the sub-wire groups, each (see the figures) between two electrical connectors of the same one of remaining pairs , and
the at least n - 1 pairs of the electrical connectors set as the wire connection targets include as the remaining pairs which is a combination of the main electrical connector and the sub-electrical connector connected by the sub-wire group (see the figures).
Arai fails to disclose a pair of exterior members sandwiching and accommodating all
Sumida or Sato disclose a pair of exterior members sandwiching and accommodating all the wire groups inside the exterior members, the exterior members having a sheet-like shape and being insulating (see figure 1-4 of Sumida wherein wires 22 between flat like sheet 25 and sheet 26; or see figure 1 of Sato).
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wire harness of Arai to a pair of exterior members as taught by Sumida or Sato so that the first sheet material holds the wire-like transmission member along a route. The wire-like transmission member is protected from outside by the second sheet material.
Rejection of claims 3 , Arai in view of Sumida or Sato disclose the wire harness according to claim 1, wherein a wire outlet, through which the wire group (not sure that the wire group refers to a sub-wire group of the sub-wire groups or a wire group which includes plurality of the sub-wire groups) placed inside of the pair of the exterior members is drawn out to an outside of the pair of the exterior members, is formed between the pair of the exterior members for each of the electrical connectors, the wire group is connected to each of the electrical connectors at a point where the wire group is drawn out from the wire outlet to the outside, and the wire harness further comprises a wire fixing member that fixes all the sub-wire groups drawn out from the the pairs of the exterior members (see binding member 62 in Sato) (note that there is only one wire outlet at each connector, and the wire outlet is the common wire outlet) (see the figures of Arai, Sumida, or Sato wherein outlet at each connector is one for all wires at that connector end).
Rejection of claim 5, Arai in view of Sumida or Sato disclose the wire harness according to claim 1, wherein the pair of the exterior members has a joint portion joined in contact with each other (see the figures of Arai, Sumida, or Sato wherein se joint portion joint two exterior members).
Rejection of claim 9, Arai in view of Sumida or Sato disclose the wire harness according to claim 1, wherein a first exterior member of the pair of the exterior members includes a main body having a flat plate shape, a main wire routing path formed in a groove shape in which a part of the main body is recessed along a routing path of the main wire group, the main wire group inserted from a main wire insertion port on the main body side being routed in the main wire routing path, and a sub-wire routing path formed in a groove shape in which a part of the main body is recessed for each of the sub-wire groups along routing paths of the sub-wire groups, each of the sub-wire groups inserted from a sub-wire insertion port on the main body side being routed in the sub-wire routing path, and a second exterior member of the pair of the exterior members is formed in a flat plate shape and closes the main wire insertion port and the sub-wire insertion port with a smooth sheet surface of the second exterior member being in close contact with a sheet surface of the main body of the first exterior member (see Arai when 26 is main body in figure 2 and sheet 25 is second sheet; or see Sato figure 1 and 7-10).
Claims 2, 4, 6, and 10are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai, Sumida or Sato, and Kudo et al. (US20220375646, herein referred to as Kudo).
Rejection of claim 2, Arai in view of Sumida or Sato disclose the wire harness according to claim 1, but fails to disclose further comprising: at least one of the sub-electrical connectors disposed with a space on a first side in the intersecting direction intersecting the straight line; and at least one of the sub-electrical connectors disposed with a space on a second side in the intersecting direction intersecting the straight line, wherein the at least n - 1 pairs of the electrical connectors set as the wire connection targets include at least one pair which is a combination of the sub-electrical connector on the first side and the sub-electrical connector on the second side connected by the sub-wire group.
Kudo discloses at least one of the sub-electrical connectors disposed with a space on a first side in the intersecting direction intersecting the straight line; and at least one of the sub-electrical connectors disposed with a space on a second side in the intersecting direction intersecting the straight line, wherein the at least n - 1 pairs of the electrical connectors set as the wire connection targets include at least one pair which is a combination of the sub-electrical connector on the first side and the sub-electrical connector on the second side connected by the sub-wire group (see figure 1 of Kudo wherein connectors C across from each other connected by a straight wire crossing a main wire line 20).
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wire harness of Arai in view of Sumida or Sato to have arrangement of wires and connectors as taught by Kudo so that conveniently and electrically connect electronic devices placed across a main wire line of the wire harness in the vehicle.
Rejection of claim 4, Arai in view of (Sumida or Sato) and Kudo disclose the wire harness according to claim 2, wherein a wire outlet, through which the wire group (not sure that the wire group refers to a sub-wire group of the sub-wire groups or a wire group which includes plurality of the sub-wire groups) placed inside of the pair of the exterior members is drawn out to an outside of the pair of the exterior members, is formed between the pair of the exterior members for each of the electrical connectors, the wire group is connected to each of the electrical connectors at a point where the wire group is drawn out from the wire outlet to the outside, and the wire harness further comprises a wire fixing member that fixes all the sub-wire groups drawn out from the the pairs of the exterior members (see binding member 62 in Sato) (note that there is only one wire outlet at each connector, and the wire outlet is the common wire outlet) (see the figures of Arai, Sumida, or Sato wherein outlet at each connector is one for all wires at that connector end).
Rejection of claim 6, Arai in view of (Sumida or Sato) and Kudo disclose the wire harness according to claim 1 or 2, wherein the pair of the exterior members has a joint portion joined in contact with each other (see the figures of Arai, Sumida, or Sato wherein se joint portion joint two exterior members).
Rejection of claim 10, Arai in view of (Sumida or Sato) and Kudo disclose the wire harness according to claim 2, wherein a first exterior member of the pair of the exterior members includes a main body having a flat plate shape, a main wire routing path formed in a groove shape in which a part of the main body is recessed along a routing path of the main wire group, the main wire group inserted from a main wire insertion port on the main body side being routed in the main wire routing path, and a sub-wire routing path formed in a groove shape in which a part of the main body is recessed for each of the sub-wire groups along routing paths of the sub-wire groups, each of the sub-wire groups inserted from a sub-wire insertion port on the main body side being routed in the sub-wire routing path, and a second exterior member of the pair of the exterior members is formed in a flat plate shape and closes the main wire insertion port and the sub-wire insertion port with a smooth sheet surface of the second exterior member being in close contact with a sheet surface of the main body of the first exterior member (see Arai when 26 is main body in figure 2 and sheet 25 is second sheet; or see Sato figure 1 and 7-10).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai, Sumida or Sato, and Kudo et al. (US20220406488, herein referred to as Kudo1).
Rejection of claim 7, Arai in view of Sumida or Sato disclose the wire harness according to claim 1 , but fails to disclose further comprising: at least one harness fixing member that fixes the pair of the exterior members to a routing target, wherein the pair of the exterior members, each includes an insertion hole for each of a plurality of the harness fixing members, the insertion hole being a through-hole through which the harness fixing member is inserted, the insertion hole allowing a peripheral edge of each of the through-hole to be clamped between the harness fixing member and the routing target.
Kudo1 disclose further comprising: at least one harness fixing member that fixes the pair of the exterior members to a routing target, wherein the pair of the exterior members, each includes an insertion hole for each of a plurality of the harness fixing members, the insertion hole being a through-hole through which the harness fixing member is inserted, each of the insertion hole allowing a peripheral edge of the through-hole to be clamped between the harness fixing member and the routing target.
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wire harness of Arai in view of (Sumida or Sato) to have wire harness through-hole with fixing member as taught by Kudo1 so that, the through hole 26 used for fixing the wiring member 20 to the fixing target member 10 or positioning the wiring member 20.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai, Sumida or Sato, and Kudo et al. (US20220406488, herein referred to as Kudo1).
Rejection of claim 8, Arai in view of (Sumida or Sato) and Kudo disclose the wire harness according to claim 1 , but fails to disclose further comprising: at least one harness fixing member that fixes the pair of the exterior members to a routing target, wherein the pair of the exterior members includes an insertion hole for each of a plurality of the harness fixing members, the insertion hole being a through-hole through which the harness fixing member is inserted, the insertion hole allowing a peripheral edge of the through-hole to be clamped between the harness fixing member and the routing target.
Kudo1 disclose further comprising: at least one harness fixing member that fixes the pair of the exterior members to a routing target, wherein the pair of the exterior members includes an insertion hole for each of a plurality of the harness fixing members, the insertion hole being a through-hole through which the harness fixing member is inserted, the insertion hole allowing a peripheral edge of the through-hole to be clamped between the harness fixing member and the routing target.
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wire harness of Arai in view of (Sumida or Sato) and Kudo to have wire harness through-hole with fixing member as taught by Kudo1 so that, the through hole 26 used for fixing the wiring member 20 to the fixing target member 10 or positioning the wiring member 20.
Rejection of claims 11-12, Arai in view of Sumida or Sato (and Kudo for claim 12) disclose the wire harness according to claim 9 or 10, but fail to disclose wherein the sheet surface of the second exterior member is thermocompression-bonded to the sheet surface of the first exterior member.
It would have been obvious design choice and well known to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wire harness of Arai in view of (Sumida or Sato) to have the second exterior member is thermocompression-bonded to the first exterior member in order to securely keep them together so that elongated members provided in-between protected.
Pertinent Prior Arts
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent arts in the present case, all of which disclose various harness assemblies.
Communication
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PARESH PAGHADAL whose telephone number is (571)272-5251. The examiner can normally be reached 7:00AM-4:00PM, Monday - Thursday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Timothy Thompson can be reached on (571)272-2342. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PARESH PAGHADAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847