Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takayama et al. US publication no.: US Publication no.: US 2021/0111655.
Regarding claim 1, Takayama et al. teach, A motor device comprising: an electric motor (motor 12, figure 1) configured to be driven by an AC drive electric power; an inverter (inverter 11, figure 1) configured to supply the drive electric power to the electric motor; and a controller (control unit 25, figure 1) configured to: acquire a first command signal ((see vdc, figure 1) and a second command signal indicating a target of the drive electric power (carrier generation unit 33, figure 1 and 4)); set a first carrier frequency (see carrier speed in the low-speed region corresponding to the first carrier frequency; paragraphs 96-98) and a second carrier frequency of a carrier signal based on the second command signal (see carrier speed in the high-speed region corresponding to the first carrier frequency; paragraphs 96-98), wherein the carrier signal is set to the first carrier frequency in a first section corresponding to a first phase range in a period of the second command signal (see figure 5, where plurality of sections are disclosed), and to the second carrier frequency in a second section corresponding to a second phase range other than the first phase range, wherein the first carrier frequency is less than the second carrier frequency (as explained in paragraphs 96-100 that the low speed carrier frequency is lower than the high speed range); and generate a pulse signal (drive signal generation unit 32, figure 1) to control the drive electric power, based on the first command signal and the carrier signal (see figure 1 where the signal is based on the voltage and the carrier generation unit 33).
Regarding claim 11, Takayama et al. teach, the motor device according to claim 1, wherein the first command signal is a voltage of the target of the drive electric power, and wherein the second command signal is a current of the target of the drive electric power (see figure 1) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7, 12-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takayama et al. US publication no.: US Publication no.: US 2021/0111655 in view of Hellstroem et al. US publication no.: US 20190253019 A1.
Regarding claim 2, The motor device according to claim 1, wherein the carrier signal includes a first-phase carrier wave associated with a first phase of the drive electric power, and a second-phase carrier wave associated with a second phase of the drive electric power, wherein the first-phase carrier wave includes a low-frequency section corresponding to the first section that is set to the first carrier frequency and a high-frequency section corresponding to the second section that is set to the second carrier frequency, and wherein the second-phase carrier wave includes a low-frequency section that is set to the first carrier frequency and a high-frequency section that is set to the second carrier frequency.
Takayama et al. teach the low-speed region and the high-speed region as seen in the rejection of claim 1 above but how is silent on specifically teaching the separate control for the first-phase and the second-phase.
However, Hellstroem et al. is in the same field of art and teach a three-phase motor control as seen in figures 1 and 4 and further explain in paragraph 91 that various controls of the carrier frequency signal are provided.
Therefore, in view of Hellstroem et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Takayama et al. to include; wherein the carrier signal includes a first-phase carrier wave associated with a first phase of the drive electric power, and a second-phase carrier wave associated with a second phase of the drive electric power, wherein the first-phase carrier wave includes a low-frequency section corresponding to the first section that is set to the first carrier frequency and a high-frequency section corresponding to the second section that is set to the second carrier frequency, and wherein the second-phase carrier wave includes a low-frequency section that is set to the first carrier frequency and a high-frequency section that is set to the second carrier frequency, for the purpose of improving switching control.
Regarding claim 3, Hellstroem et al. teach, the motor device according to claim 2, wherein the command signal includes a first-phase command signal associated with the first-phase carrier wave, and a second-phase command signal associated with the second-phase carrier wave, that has a phase that is offset from the first-phase command signal, wherein the low-frequency section of the first-phase carrier wave at least partially overlaps the high-frequency section of the second-phase carrier wave, and wherein the low-frequency section of the second-phase carrier wave at least partially overlaps the high-frequency section of the first-phase carrier wave (see paragraphs 23-30 where different time windows are utilized) .
Regarding claim 4, Takayama et al. is silent on specifically teaching: the motor device according to claim 1, wherein the first section associated with the first carrier frequency has a different length from the second section associated with the second carrier frequency.
Hellstroem et al. teach: wherein the first section associated with the first carrier frequency has a different length from the second section associated with the second carrier frequency (see paragraph 91 and figure 4).
Therefore, in view of Hellstroem et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Takayama et al. to include; wherein the first section associated with the first carrier frequency has a different length from the second section associated with the second carrier frequency, for the purpose of improving switching control.
Regarding claim 5, Takayama et al. teach in figure 6 and figure 19 that a PWM control is provided with sinusoidal waveforms which include peaks and zero-crossing but Is silent on specifically teaching: The motor device according to claim 1, wherein the first section is set to include a peak point corresponding to a maximum absolute value of the second command signal within the period, and wherein the second section is set to include a zero cross point at which the second command signal has an absolute value of zero.
However, configuring the “Zero crossing” in a certain region and the “peak’ in another region could’ve easily been configured through routine test and experiments with the teachings of Takayama et al. as seen in figure 6 and 18.
Therefore, in view of Takayama et al.’ teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include ; wherein the first section is set to include a peak point corresponding to a maximum absolute value of the second command signal within the period, and wherein the second section is set to include a zero cross point at which the second command signal has an absolute value of zero, for the purpose of improving switching control.
Regarding claim 6, Takayama et al. is silent on specifically teaching: The motor device according to claim 5, wherein the carrier signal is set to alternate between the first carrier frequency and the second carrier frequency within the period, wherein the carrier signal is set to the first carrier frequency in a third section corresponding to a third phase range in a period of the second command signal, wherein the third phase range excludes the first phase range and the second phase range, wherein the third section is set to include another peak point corresponding to the maximum absolute value of the second command signal within the period, and wherein the second section associated with the second carrier frequency extends from the first section to the third section.
Hellstroem et al. teach: wherein the carrier signal is set to alternate between the first carrier frequency and the second carrier frequency within the period, wherein the carrier signal is set to the first carrier frequency in a third section corresponding to a third phase range in a period of the second command signal, wherein the third phase range excludes the first phase range and the second phase range, wherein the third section is set to include another peak point corresponding to the maximum absolute value of the second command signal within the period, and wherein the second section associated with the second carrier frequency extends from the first section to the third section (see paragraphs 23-30 and figures 1-4, where the flexibility of selecting the time window is provided).
Therefore, in view of Hellstroem et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Takayama et al. to include; wherein the carrier signal is set to alternate between the first carrier frequency and the second carrier frequency within the period, wherein the carrier signal is set to the first carrier frequency in a third section corresponding to a third phase range in a period of the second command signal, wherein the third phase range excludes the first phase range and the second phase range, wherein the third section is set to include another peak point corresponding to the maximum absolute value of the second command signal within the period, and wherein the second section associated with the second carrier frequency extends from the first section to the third section, for the purpose of improving switching control.
Regarding claim 7, Takayama et al. teach in figure 6 and figure 19 that a PWM control is provided with sinusoidal waveforms which include peaks but is silent on specifically teaching: wherein the second section is set to include a peak point corresponding to a maximum of an absolute value of the second command signal within the period.
However, configuring the “peak’ in a region could’ve easily been configured through routine test and experiments with the teachings of Takayama et al. as seen in figure 6 and 18.
Therefore, in view of Takayama et al.’ teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include ; wherein the first section is set to include a peak point corresponding to a maximum absolute value of the second command signal within the period, and wherein the second section is set to include a zero cross point at which the second command signal has an absolute value of zero, for the purpose of improving switching control.
Regarding claim 12, Takayama et al. teach, A controller for a motor device, comprising circuitry configured to: acquire a command signal indicating a target of a drive electric power to be supplied to an electric motor (see vdc and carrier generation unit 33, figure 1 and 4, figure 1), generate a carrier signal including a first-phase carrier wave associated with the first-phase command signal (see carrier speed in the low-speed region corresponding to the first carrier frequency; paragraphs 96-98); and generate a pulse signal (drive signal generation unit 32, figure 1) to control the drive electric power, based on the command signal and the carrier signal, wherein a low-frequency section of the first-phase carrier wave is set to a first carrier frequency, and a high-frequency section of the first-phase carrier wave is set to a second carrier frequency, the first carrier frequency being less than the second carrier frequency, wherein a low-frequency section of the second-phase carrier wave is set to a third carrier frequency (as explained in paragraphs 96-100 that the low speed carrier frequency is lower than the high speed range), and a high-frequency section of the second-phase carrier wave is set to a fourth carrier frequency, the third carrier frequency being less than the fourth carrier frequency(as explained in paragraphs 96-100 that the low speed carrier frequency is lower than the high speed range).
Takayama et al. is silent on specifically teaching: wherein the command signal includes a first-phase command signal associated with a first phase of the drive electric power, and a second-phase command signal associated with a second phase of the drive electric power; and a second-phase carrier wave associated with the second-phase command signal; wherein the low-frequency section of the first-phase carrier wave at least partially overlaps the high-frequency section of the second-phase carrier wave, and wherein the high-frequency section of the first-phase carrier wave at least partially overlaps the low-frequency section of the second-phase carrier.
However, Hellstroem et al. is in the same field of art and teach: wherein the command signal includes a first-phase command signal associated with a first phase of the drive electric power, and a second-phase command signal associated with a second phase of the drive electric power; and a second-phase carrier wave associated with the second-phase command signal (see plurality of phases of the motor as seen in figure 1) ; wherein the low-frequency section of the first-phase carrier wave at least partially overlaps the high-frequency section of the second-phase carrier wave, and wherein the high-frequency section of the first-phase carrier wave at least partially overlaps the low-frequency section of the second-phase carrier (see paragraphs 23-30 where different time windows are utilized).
Therefore, in view of Hellstroem et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Takayama et al. to include; wherein the command signal includes a first-phase command signal associated with a first phase of the drive electric power, and a second-phase command signal associated with a second phase of the drive electric power; and a second-phase carrier wave associated with the second-phase command signal; wherein the low-frequency section of the first-phase carrier wave at least partially overlaps the high-frequency section of the second-phase carrier wave, and wherein the high-frequency section of the first-phase carrier wave at least partially overlaps the low-frequency section of the second-phase carrier, for the purpose of improving switching control.
Regarding claim 13, Hellstroem et al. teach, The controller according to claim 12, wherein the first carrier frequency of the first-phase carrier wave is equal to the third carrier frequency of the second-phase carrier wave, and wherein the second carrier frequency of the first-phase carrier wave is equal to the fourth carrier frequency of the second-phase carrier wave(see paragraphs 23-30 and figures 1-4, where the flexibility of selecting the time window is provided).
Regarding claim 20, Takayama et al. teach, the controller according to claim 12, wherein the command signal includes a current and a voltage of the target of the drive electric power to be supplied to the motor, wherein the carrier signal is generated based on the current of the command signal, and wherein the pulse signal is generated based on the voltage of the command signal (see figure 1) .
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takayama et al. US publication no.: US Publication no.: US 2021/0111655 in view of Shin et al. US publication no.: US 2017/0373629 A1.
Regarding claim 8, The motor device according to claim 1, further comprising: a motor loss measurement device configured to output a motor loss signal indicating a loss occurring in the electric motor; and an inverter loss measurement device configured to output an inverter loss signal indicating a loss occurring in the inverter, wherein the controller is further configured to set the first phase range based on the motor loss signal and the inverter loss signal to minimize a total loss in the electric motor and in the inverter.
However, Shin et al. is in the same field of art and teach: a motor loss measurement device configured to output a motor loss signal indicating a loss occurring in the electric motor; and an inverter loss measurement device configured to output an inverter loss signal indicating a loss occurring in the inverter, wherein the controller is further configured to set the first phase range based on the motor loss signal and the inverter loss signal to minimize a total loss in the electric motor and in the inverter (see paragraphs 14 and 30).
Therefore, in view of Shin et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Takayama et al. to include; a motor loss measurement device configured to output a motor loss signal indicating a loss occurring in the electric motor; and an inverter loss measurement device configured to output an inverter loss signal indicating a loss occurring in the inverter, wherein the controller is further configured to set the first phase range based on the motor loss signal and the inverter loss signal to minimize a total loss in the electric motor and in the inverter, for the purpose of improving switching control.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takayama et al. US publication no.: US Publication no.: US 2021/0111655 in view of Hellstroem et al. US publication no.: US 20190253019 A1 and further in view of Shin et al. US publication no.: US 2017/0373629 A1.
Regarding claim 17, Takayama et al. as modified is silent on specifically teaching, the controller according to claim 12, further configured to acquire a motor loss signal indicating a loss occurring in the electric motor, and an inverter loss signal indicating a loss occurring in an inverter connected between the controller and the electric motor, wherein the low-frequency section of the first-phase carrier wave corresponds to a first phase range in a period of the first-phase command signal and the high-frequency section of the first-phase carrier wave corresponds to a second phase range excluding the first phase range, in the period of the first-phase command signal, and wherein the first phase range and the second phase range are set based on the motor loss signal and the inverter loss signal, to minimize a total loss of the electric motor and the inverter.
However, Shin et al. is in the same field of art and teach: further configured to acquire a motor loss signal indicating a loss occurring in the electric motor, and an inverter loss signal indicating a loss occurring in an inverter connected between the controller and the electric motor, wherein the low-frequency section of the first-phase carrier wave corresponds to a first phase range in a period of the first-phase command signal and the high-frequency section of the first-phase carrier wave corresponds to a second phase range excluding the first phase range, in the period of the first-phase command signal, and wherein the first phase range and the second phase range are set based on the motor loss signal and the inverter loss signal, to minimize a total loss of the electric motor and the inverter (see paragraphs 14 and 30).
Examiner notes* that the teaching of Shin et al. with compensation from the inverter+ moss would be applied to the system of Takayama et al. as modified from claim 12 rejection above.
Therefore, in view of Shin et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Takayama et al. as modified to include; further configured to acquire a motor loss signal indicating a loss occurring in the electric motor, and an inverter loss signal indicating a loss occurring in an inverter connected between the controller and the electric motor, wherein the low-frequency section of the first-phase carrier wave corresponds to a first phase range in a period of the first-phase command signal and the high-frequency section of the first-phase carrier wave corresponds to a second phase range excluding the first phase range, in the period of the first-phase command signal, and wherein the first phase range and the second phase range are set based on the motor loss signal and the inverter loss signal, for the purpose of improving switching control.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10, 14-16, 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZOHEB S IMTIAZ/Primary Examiner , Art Unit 2837