DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2024-05-14 and 2025-12-10 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 has been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Status
Claims 1-13 are pending in this application and are under examination in this Office Action. No claims have been allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 1,7,9 and 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1,
the claim recites “a downlink, configured to apply a downlink radio frequency signal converted by a radio frequency input signal to a photoelectric conversion and transmission unit.” However, it is unclear how a “downlink radio frequency signal” is “converted by” a “radio frequency input signal,” and the scope of this limitation is therefore unclear. Additionally, claim 1 recites that “the multiple downlinks split optical signals are respectively provided to the one or more optical ports via one or more first optical fibers,” but claim 2 later introduces “a first optical fiber” coupled between the laser and the optical splitter. It is unclear whether the “one or more first optical fibers” of claim 1 are the same structure as the “first optical fiber” of claim 2 or a different structure. Therefore, the scope of claim 1 is unclear. Accordingly, claim 1 is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Regarding claim 7,
the claim recites “a merging unit, coupled between multiple uplink branches and uplink radio frequency links” and then later recites “an uplink radio frequency link.” Claim 7 does not provide antecedent basis for “uplink radio frequency links,” and the inconsistent plural (“uplink radio frequency links”) versus singular (“an uplink radio frequency link”) creates ambiguity as to the number and identity of the “uplink radio frequency link(s)” and how the merging unit is coupled “between” the uplink branches and the uplink radio frequency link(s). Therefore, the scope of claim 7 is unclear.
Accordingly, claim 7 is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Regarding claim 9,
the claim recites “the uplink radio frequency link” and “the uplink monitoring modulation signal of the uplink radio frequency link” without antecedent basis in claim 8. Claim 9 depends from claim 8, which does not introduce an “uplink radio frequency link.” Therefore, the scope of claim 9 is unclear.
Accordingly, claim 9 is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Regarding claim 13,
the claim recites “obtain a downlink optical power detection value, the downlink optical power detection value indicating an optical power value of the downlink optical signal output by the laser.” However, claim 13 depends from claim 5 (via claim 4 and claim 1), and claim 5/claim 4/claim 1 do not introduce a “laser.” Rather, “a laser” is first introduced in claim 2, from which claim 13 does not depend. Therefore, claim 13 lacks antecedent basis for “the laser,” and it is unclear what structure is being referenced. Accordingly, the scope of claim 13 is unclear.
Accordingly, claim 13 is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
As reiterated by the Supreme Court in KSR, and as set forth in MPEP 2141 (R-01.2024), II, the factual inquiries of Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. §103, are summarized as follows:
Determining the scope and content of the prior art;
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue;
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art; and
Considering objective evidence indicative of obviousness or non-obviousness, if present.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (CN202617121U) in view of Wu et al. (CN102752056A).
Claim 1
Gao teaches an optical module with a radio frequency unit, a photovoltaic conversion unit, and a light path part including LD laser, PLC splitter, and WDM, converting multi-standard RF into an optical signal and dividing the optical signal into multiple parts for distribution to multiple optical interfaces “one or more optical ports configured to receive an uplink optical signal or transmit a downlink optical signal “[0021] I 8 light modules has 8 optical interfaces, used to connect lower light module, the whole module adopts integrated design, the near-end light module together the proximal smaller and the installations more convenient” [Gao, ¶ [0021]].
“Control unit generates a downlink monitoring modulation signal applied to the photoelectric conversion and transmission unit” “[0032] reference shown in FIG. 3, the monitoring module C, adopting a single chip and communication chip, using half two mode index of the whole system for monitoring, searching downlink monitoring command to the communication chip 12 after modulation is 433 to MCU13processing through serial port chip 14 transmits the command. 791 MHz radio frequency signal is then sent to the far end through the path part 4 for electric light-converted light signal passes through the low-pass filter 15; the uplink subordinate of the look-up command downlink response then response result through the communication chip 12 modulation, then uplink laser entering light into light signal, transmitted to the end light module through optical fiber H) receiving the photovoltaic into electric signal, then through a power divider 5 are combined, then amplifier 6, then passes through the low-pass filter 11. the last communication receiving demodulation chip 12, the lower light module of monitoring quantity to MCU13, and finally through the MCU sending to the serial port chip 14 and makes the user know” [Gao, ¶ [0032]].
Gao further teaches a monitoring module that modulates a monitoring command (e.g., 433) and transmits it with the RF-over-fiber signal via the optical path. “Downlink applies a downlink RF signal to a photoelectric conversion and transmission unit” “[0019] reference to picture 2 shown, this utility model claims broadband intelligent radio frequency light transmission module, comprising a radio frequency unit, a photovoltaic conversion unit, the planar waveguide light splitter (PLC), wavelength division multiplexer (WDM), eight radio frequency unit. The radio frequency unit for transmitting multi-standard radio frequency signal and converting the radiofrequency signal into light signal through the photoelectric conversion unit, and then the optical signals divided into eight parts, then through eight radio frequency integrated unit for sub-precoding the light signal through the planar waveguide light splitter and wavelength division multiplexer. (In FIG. 2 the unit’s name and a description of the space corresponding to same. [0020] reference shown in FIG. 2, downlink multiple system of the radio frequency signal through the photoelectric converting unit converting the electric signal into light signal and then through planar waveguide light splitter (PLC), in this embodiment, which is divided into eight with a light splitter; the transmission inside the terminal through optical fiber broadband light module through detector (PD)receiving the light signal is converted into electric signal is downlink radio signal system, and then sent to the emitting the signal coverage of the surrounding environment by the antenna after amplifying the uplink and downlink radio frequency link; the antenna receives the mobile terminal uplink signal after passing through the low-noise amplifier of the uplink radio frequency link, transmission to a remote broadband light module through laser (LD) converts the electric signal into modulation of the light signal, then transmitting to the superordinate broadband light module detector (PD) receiving the optical signal rotating forming electric signal through optical fiber. In addition, communication monitoring unit responsible for state monitoring control of the whole terminal and communication with the superior unit. the power supply unit is to supply stable and reliable power to each unit module.” [Gao, ¶ [0019] - [0020]]. “Photoelectric conversion and transmission unit modulates the downlink RF signal and monitoring modulation signal onto a downlink optical signal, and expands/splits the optical signal to multiple split optical signals for the optical ports via fibers” “……. [0026] reference shown in FIG. 4, path portion 4, it comprises LD laser, light splitter and WDM, the downlink output third-order intermodulation is 60dBc. [0027] wherein the light splitter uses (PLC) plane light wave-guide optical fiber splitter, it is small in volume, wide working wavelength range, high reliability, light splitting is even better, full optical fib restructure, polarization and insertion loss, high reliability, high directivity and return loss. [Gao, ¶ [0019]]; [Gao, ¶ [0026] - [0027]]. “uplink converts an uplink optical signal into an RF output signal” “[0028] reference shown in FIG. 3, the uplink radio frequency signal module B, comprises orderly connected a divider 5, an amplifying tube 6, a high-pass filter 7, a radio frequency attenuator 8, signal amplifying tube 9 and matching network module 10, wherein: the lower light module sends out them Ulti-mode light signal transmitted by the optical fiber of the light signal enters the WDM H) receiving the electrical signal into multiple systems in a transmission through the 5 power synthesis converts the eight out of 8 fully electric signal combining together after amplifying tube 6. then high pass filter 7 filtering unnecessary signals, then radio frequency attenuator ATT8, and then amplifies the signal by amplifying tube 9, then through the matching network module 10 the multi-system radio frequency signal to the base station” [Gao, ¶ [0028]].
Gao does not expressly teach a multi-branch uplink detector/attenuator architecture with an FSK modulator/demodulator coordinated by a module control unit. However, within analogous RF-over-fiber multi-channel module art, Wu teaches a module control unit with an FSK communication unit, multi-branch laser/detector paths, adjustable attenuators, and a signal combining unit. “[0016] frequency shift keying communication unit includes an FSK modulator and the FSK demodulator, module control unit respectively connect the radio frequency/light signal conversion unit and light/radio frequency signal converting unit, an FSK modulator and the FSK demodulator, FSK modulator is connected with the input end of the signal shunting unit, FSK demodulator connect output end of the signal combining unit. Therefore, the detector receives two radio frequency signal RF IN input of the radio frequency signal and the radio frequency signal sent by the FSK modulator, frequency thereof is different. module control unit of the embodiment comprises a single chip of single chip, module control unit sends the monitoring data through FSK modulator for modulating, sending into light signal sent by the laser detector receives the FSK signal into the FSK demodulator for demodulating, demodulating the obtained monitoring data to the module control unit of the single chip. when system needs the optical power inquiry module, then the power value reported by single chip. the single chip analyzes the obtained monitoring data, then according to the content control circuit monitoring data, such as setting the attenuator attenuation amount, setting the size of the emitting power and the like” [Wu, ¶ [0016]].
“ [0004] The technical solution of the invention is a multi-channel radio-frequency for a partial light transmission module comprises a module control unit, a frequency shift keying communication unit, an input terminal unit and an output terminal unit; input end unit comprises an input end radio frequency signal processing unit, the signal shunting unit, adjustable attenuator, radio frequency/light signal conversion unit, radio frequency/light signal conversion unit is set with laser; the radio frequency signal input through the input end radio frequency signal processing unit for processing the input signal shunt unit, signal shunt unit, converting the radiofrequency signal into multiple lines and then respectively connected to the corresponding adjustable attenuator, the output of each adjustable attenuator are respectively connected with corresponding laser in radio frequency/light signal conversion unit. laser through optical fiber output; output end unit comprises an output end radio frequency signal processing unit, a signal combining unit, an adjustable attenuator and a light/radio-frequency signal conversion unit and light/radiofrequency signal converting unit is provided with a detector; the laser and the light/radio frequency signal in radio frequency/light signal converting unit converting the number of detector units in the same optical fiber input light/radio frequency signal in the detector unit detector are respectively connected to the corresponding adjustable attenuator, the output of each adjustable attenuator intone radio frequency signal through the signal combining unit. by the radio frequency signal output end of radio frequency signal processing unit and then output it; frequency shift keying communication unit includes an FSK modulator and the FSK demodulator, module control unit respectively connect the radio frequency/light signal conversion unit and light/radiofrequency signal converting unit, an FSK modulator and the FSK demodulator, FSK modulator is connected with the input end of the signal shunting unit, FSK demodulator connect output end of the signal combining unit” [Wu, ¶ [0004]].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to combine Gao’s broadband RF-over-fiber optical distribution module with Wu’s multi-channel control/FSK monitoring and multi-branch attenuation architecture because both references address the same objective problem: distributing RF services over optical fiber while preserving link quality and enabling monitoring/management. Gao provides an integrated PLC+WDM optical fan-out with multiple optical interfaces, reducing fiber runs and simplifying installation; Wu provides a practical near-end module control architecture that supports branch equalization and robust monitoring telemetry using an FSK modem path integrated with the RF signal chain.A person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) would be motivated to implement Gao’s monitoring/control and uplink management using Wu’s control unit and FSK mod/demod because doing so yields predictable results: (i) standardized bidirectional monitoring command/response transport over the same fiber; (ii) branch-by-branch level control via adjustable attenuators to prevent saturation and compensate for path loss differences; and (iii) reduced cost and complexity compared to duplicating full near-end modules per branch. Under KSR, this is a combination of known elements (RFoF fan-out + multi-branch ALC/FSK monitoring) according to their established functions with no technical incompatibility.
Claim 2
With respect to claim 2, all limitations of claim 1 are taught by Gao and Wu, except wherein claim 2 additionally requires that the photoelectric conversion and transmission unit comprises a laser, a first optical fiber coupled between the laser and an optical splitter, and the optical splitter expands the downlink optical signal into multiple downlinks split optical signals provided via second optical fibers to the optical ports. Added “a first optical fiber… coupled between the laser and the optical splitter… the optical splitter… expand… and one or more second optical fibers…”. However, within analogous art, Gao expressly teaches the light path part comprising LD laser, a PLC light splitter, and WDM, where the optical signal is divided into eight parts and transmitted via optical fiber.
“Laser generates the downlink optical signal” “[0026] reference shown in FIG. 4, path portion 4, it comprises LD laser, light splitter and WDM, the downlink output third-order intermodulation is 60dBc.” [Gao, ¶ [0026]].
“First optical fiber transmits downlink optical signal to an optical splitter (coupled between laser and splitter)” “………. [0027] wherein the light splitter uses (PLC) plane light wave-guide optical fiber splitter, it is small in volume, wide working wavelength range, high reliability, light splitting is even better, full optical fib restructure, polarization and insertion loss, high reliability, high directivity and return loss” [Gao, ¶ [0026]-[0027]].
“Optical splitter expands downlink optical signal into multiple downlinks split optical signals” “[0019] reference to picture 2 shown, this utility model claims broadband intelligent radio frequency light transmission module, comprising a radio frequency unit, a photovoltaic conversion unit, the planar waveguide light splitter (PLC), wavelength division multiplexer (WDM), eight radio frequency unit. The radio frequency unit for transmitting multi-standard radio frequency signal and converting the radiofrequency signal into light signal through the photoelectric conversion unit, and then the optical signals divided into eight parts, then through eight radio frequency integrated unit for sub-precoding the lights signal through the planar waveguide light splitter and wavelength division multiplexer. (In FIG. 2 the unit’s name and a description of the space corresponding to same) ……….” [Gao, ¶ [0019]]; ¶ [0027]];
“Second optical fibers transmit split optical signals to optical ports (one end coupled to splitter)” 0021] I 8 light modules has 8 optical interfaces, used to connect lower light module, the whole module adopts integrated design, the near-end light module together the proximal smaller and the installations more convenient…….” [Gao, ¶ [0021]]; ¶ [0027]].
Therefore, Gao teaches the additional laser/splitter/fiber structure of claim 2.
A person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) would have been motivated to implement the specific fiber-coupled LD→splitter→multi-fiber fanout arrangement because it is the standard physical realization of an RF-over-fiber distribution module: the LD produces the optical carrier, a short fiber pigtail couples into a PLC splitter, and multiple output fibers fan out to the WDM/ports. This arrangement minimizes optical insertion loss, improves manufacturing repeatability, and enables modular testing of the LD and splitter subassemblies.Further, using fiber pigtails between the LD and splitter and from splitter to the ports is an obvious, well-established packaging technique in optical modules for strain relief, isolation from vibration, and compatibility with WDM blocks. This produces predictable improvements in reliability and reduces installation complexity while preserving the same functional operation described by Gao.
Claim 3
With respect to claim 3, all limitations of claim 2 are taught by Gao and Wu, except wherein claim 3 additionally requires one or more WDM multiplexers coupled to the optical ports via third optical fibers. Added “one or more wavelength division multiplexers… coupled … via one or more third optical fibers …”. However, within analogous art, Gao expressly teaches WDM within the light path part and teaches that the light signal passes through WDM for wavelength division multiplexing and optical fiber transmission to the next module.
“one or more WDM multiplexers coupled to optical ports via third optical fibers; second optical fibers coupled to corresponding WDMs” “[0010] Preferably, the light path part comprises orderly connected LD laser, light splitter and a wavelength division multiplexer (WDM)……. [0019] reference to picture 2 shown, this utility model claims broadband intelligent radio frequency light transmission module, comprising a radio frequency unit, a photovoltaic conversion unit, the planar waveguide light splitter (PLC), wavelength division multiplexer (WDM), eight radio frequency unit. The radio frequency unit for transmitting multi-standard radio frequency signal and converting the radiofrequency signal into light signal through the photoelectric conversion unit, and then the optical signals divided into eight parts, then through eight radio frequency integrated unit for sub-precoding the light signal through the planar waveguide light splitter and wavelength division multiplexer. (In FIG. 2 the unit’s name and a description of the space corresponding to same)” [Gao, ¶ [0010]]; ¶ [0019]].
“third optical fibers coupled between the WDM multiplexers and the optical ports”
“[0010] Preferably, the light path part comprises orderly connected LD laser, light splitter and awavelength division multiplexer (WDM)……... [0021] I 8 light modules has 8 optical interfaces, used to connect lower light module, the whole module adopts integrated design, the near-end light module together the proximal smaller and the installations more convenient” [Gao, p.2, ¶ [0010]], ¶ [0021]].
Therefore, Gao teaches the added WDM/third-fiber coupling limitation.
A POSITA would have been motivated to include WDM blocks between splitter outputs and optical ports because WDM is the conventional mechanism for combining/splitting service wavelengths and monitoring wavelengths on shared fibers. In RF-over-fiber distribution, WDM improves scalability (multiple wavelengths/services) and reduces the number of physical fibers per port.Additionally, placing WDM at/near the port with dedicated pigtails (third fibers) is an obvious packaging layout that simplifies connectorization and maintenance: each port is a modular wavelength interface, allowing replacement or reconfiguration without changing the internal splitter/LD subassembly.
Claim 4
With respect to claim 4, all limitations of claim 1 are taught by Gao and Wu, except wherein claim 4 additionally requires that the uplink includes a plurality of uplink branches, each having a detector that demodulates the uplink optical signal into an uplink RF signal and an uplink monitoring modulation signal, and a first attenuator coupled to adjust detector output. Added “a plurality of uplink branches… detector… demodulate… uplink RF and uplink monitoring modulation… and a first attenuator…”. However, within analogous art, Wu expressly teaches an output terminal unit in which a light/radio-frequency signal conversion unit is provided with a detector, and detector outputs are connected through adjustable attenuators and combined. “Uplink includes a plurality of uplink branches each including a detector configured to demodulate uplink optical signal into uplink RF and uplink monitoring modulation signals” “ [0004] The technical solution of the invention is a multi-channel radio-frequency fora partial light transmission module comprises a module control unit, a frequency shift keying communication unit, an input terminal unit and an output terminal unit; input end unit comprises an input end radio frequency signal processing unit, the signal shunting unit, adjustable attenuator, radio frequency/light signal conversion unit, radio frequency/light signal conversion unit is set with laser; the radio frequency signal input through the input end radio frequency signal processing unit for processing the input signal shunt unit, signal shunt unit, converting the radiofrequency signal into multiple lines and then respectively connected to the corresponding adjustable attenuator, the output of each adjustable attenuator are respectively connected with corresponding laser in radio frequency/light signal conversion unit. laser through optical fiber output; output end unit comprises an output end radio frequency signal processing unit, a signal combining unit, an adjustable attenuator and a light/radio-frequency signal conversion unit and light/radiofrequency signal converting unit is provided with a detector; the laser and the light/radio frequency signal in radio frequency/light signal converting unit converting the number of detector units in the same optical fiber input light/radio frequency signal in the detector unit detector are respectively connected to the corresponding adjustable attenuator, the output of each adjustable attenuator intone radio frequency signal through the signal combining unit. by the radio frequency signal output end of radio frequency signal processing unit and then output it; frequency shift keying communication unit includes an FSK modulator and the FSK demodulator, module control unit respectively connect the radio frequency/light signal conversion unit and light/radiofrequency signal converting unit, an FSK modulator and the FSK demodulator, FSK modulator is connected with the input end of the signal shunting unit, FSK demodulator connect output end of the signal combining unit” [Wu, ¶ [0004]].
“[0016] frequency shift keying communication unit includes an FSK modulator and the FSK demodulator, module control unit respectively connect the radio frequency/light signal conversion unit and light/radio frequency signal converting unit, an FSK modulator and the FSK demodulator, FSK modulator is connected with the input end of the signal shunting unit, FSK demodulator connect output end of the signal combining unit. Therefore, the detector receives two radio frequency signal RF IN input of the radio frequency signal and the radio frequency signal sent by the FSK modulator, frequency thereof is different. module control unit of the embodiment comprises a single chip of single chip, module control unit sends the monitoring data through FSK modulator for modulating, sending into light signal sent by the laser detector receives the FSK signal into the FSK demodulator for demodulating, demodulating the obtained monitoring data to the module control unit of the single chip. when system needs the optical power inquiry module, then the power value reported by single chip. the single chip analyzes the obtained monitoring data, then according to the content control circuit monitoring data, such as setting the attenuator attenuation amount, setting the size of the emitting power and the like” [Wu, ¶ [0016]].
Wu further teaches that the detector receives both RF and an FSK monitoring signal and that the FSK demodulator demodulates monitoring data. “Each uplink branch includes a first attenuator coupled to the detector to adjust detector output” “………... [0007] Furthermore, in input terminal unit and an input terminal unit respectively comprises 4adjustable attenuator; radio frequency/light signal conversion unit is set with 4 laser, signal shunt unit, converting the radiofrequency signal into 4 paths. there are 4 detector light/radio-frequency signal conversion unit, the signal combining unit 4 detector respectively through an adjustable attenuator output to synthesis the final radio frequency signal.” [Wu, [0004], ¶ [0007]].
A POSITA would have been motivated to implement Gao’s uplink as multiple parallel branches with detectors and adjustable attenuators because multi-branch reception is a standard approach to improve dynamic range and to equalize path gains in distributed antenna systems and RF-over-fiber repeaters. Wu’s architecture teaches a practical way to demodulate both the main RF and the monitoring signal, enabling remote supervision while maintaining RF fidelity.Further, per-branch adjustable attenuation is an obvious engineering control mechanism: it allows each branch to be independently leveled before combining, preventing the strongest branch from dominating and reducing intermodulation distortion. Combining Gao’s multi-port optical distribution with Wu’s per-branch detector/attenuation yields predictable performance improvements with no incompatibility.
Claim 7
With respect to claim 7, all limitations of claim 1 are taught by Gao and Wu, except wherein claim 7 additionally requires (i) a merging unit coupled between multiple uplink branches and an uplink radio frequency link for merging multiple radio frequency signals converted through multiple uplink optical signals into one uplink radio frequency signal, and (ii) an uplink radio frequency link configured to convert the uplink radio frequency signal into the radio frequency output signal. Added “The optical module according to claim 1, wherein the uplink further comprises: a merging unit, coupled between multiple uplink branches and uplink radio frequency links, for merging multiple radio frequency signals converted through multiple uplink optical signals into one uplink radio frequency signal; an uplink radio frequency link, configured to convert the uplink radio frequency signal into the radio frequency output signal.” However, within analogous multi-branch RF-over-fiber combining art, Gao expressly teaches combining multiple system signals by power synthesis to form a multi-system radio frequency signal output “[0028] reference shown in FIG. 3, the uplink radio frequency signal module B, comprises orderly connected a divider 5, an amplifying tube 6, a high-pass filter 7, a radio frequency attenuator 8, signal amplifying tube 9 and matching network module 10, wherein: the lower light module sends out them Ulti-mode light signal transmitted by the optical fiber of the light signal enters the WDM H) receiving the electrical signal into multiple systems in a transmission through the 5 power synthesis converts the eight out of 8 fully electric signal combining together after amplifying tube 6. then high pass filter 7 filtering unnecessary signals, then radio frequency attenuator ATT8, and then amplifies the signal by amplifying tube 9, then through the matching network module 10 the multi-system radio frequency signal to the base station” [Gao, ¶ [0028]].
Additionally, Wu expressly teaches that the output end unit includes a signal combining unit that combines the outputs of multiple detector/attenuator branches into one radio frequency signal, which is then processed by an output end radio frequency signal processing unit and output “[0004] The technical solution of the invention is a multi-channel radio-frequency for a partial light transmission module comprises a module control unit, a frequency shift keying communication unit, an input terminal unit and an output terminal unit; input end unit comprises an input end radio frequency signal processing unit, the signal shunting unit, adjustable attenuator, radio frequency/light signal conversion unit, radio frequency/light signal conversion unit is set with laser; the radio frequency signal input through the input end radio frequency signal processing unit for processing the input signal shunt unit, signal shunt unit, converting the radiofrequency signal into multiple lines and then respectively connected to the corresponding adjustable attenuator, the output of each adjustable attenuator are respectively connected with corresponding laser in radio frequency/light signal conversion unit. laser through optical fiber output; output end unit comprises an output end radio frequency signal processing unit, a signal combining unit, an adjustable attenuator and a light/radio-frequency signal conversion unit and light/radiofrequency signal converting unit is provided with a detector; the laser and the light/radio frequency signal in radio frequency/light signal converting unit converting the number of detector units in the same optical fiber input light/radio frequency signal in the detector unit detector are respectively connected to the corresponding adjustable attenuator, the output of each adjustable attenuator intone radio frequency signal through the signal combining unit. by the radio frequency signal output end of radio frequency signal processing unit and then output it; frequency shift keying communication unit includes an FSK modulator and the FSK demodulator, module control unit respectively connect the radio frequency/light signal conversion unit and light/radiofrequency signal converting unit, an FSK modulator and the FSK demodulator, FSK modulator is connected with the input end of the signal shunting unit, FSK demodulator connect output end of the signal combining unit” [Wu,¶ [0004]].
A POSITA would have been motivated to implement the merging unit and uplink radio frequency link of claim 7 because, in a practical RF-over-fiber distribution system, multiple received optical channels/branches are routinely combined into a single composite uplink RF path to (i) reduce the number of required uplink RF chains, (ii) simplify the interface to the base station or upstream radio equipment, and (iii) improve system robustness by allowing branch-level equalization before combining. Wu provides a predictable and compatible implementation of this architecture by teaching a signal combining unit that aggregates multiple branch outputs after detector/attenuator stages, and then passes the combined signal through an output-end RF processing chain prior to output. Gao similarly teaches power synthesis combining of multiple received signals before filtering/amplification and delivery to the base station.Combining Gao with Wu would have been a straightforward engineering choice because both references address the same RF-over-fiber objective: maintaining signal integrity while transporting and distributing multiple wireless systems over fiber. The claimed merging function is not a new principle of operation; it is the expected result of using a combiner (e.g., power combiner/divider) after branch conditioning. Under KSR, selecting a known combining topology to merge multiple branch signals into one uplink RF output is a combination of known elements performing their established functions, yielding predictable results.
Claims 5, 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. in view of Wu et al. and Yang et al. (CN101895337A).
Claim 5
With respect to claim 5, all limitations of claim 4 are taught by Gao and Wu, except wherein claim 5 additionally requires a first optical power detection unit coupled to each detector, with the control unit receiving the detection signal and adjusting each corresponding first attenuator based on detected uplink optical power. Added “a first optical power detection unit… detect an optical power value … control unit … adjust the first attenuator … based on the detection signal…”. However, within analogous art, Wu expressly teaches input-end and output-end light power collecting units connected to the module control unit, “First optical power detection unit coupled to each uplink-branch detector and detecting optical power value per uplink branch” “ [0008] Moreover, radio frequency/light signal conversion unit is provided with an input end light power sampling unit and a light power control unit, output end of each laser connected with the one input end light power collecting unit; the single chip of each input end light power collecting unit connected with the module control unit; each branch laser upper connect a light power control unit; the single chip of each light power control unit is connected with the module control unit; light/radio frequency signal converting unit sets the output end light power collecting unit, output end of each detector connect one output end light power collecting unit; the single chip of each output end light power collecting unit is connected with the module control unit……….[0017] In the embodiment, the input end radio frequency signal processing unit comprises orderly connected input matching circuit, radio frequency attenuator and amplifying circuit, a radio frequency signal input through an input matching circuit, radio frequency attenuator and an amplifying circuit for processing; The obtained processing result input signal shunt unit is composed of an amplifying circuit, an output end radio frequency signal processing unit comprises orderly connected high pass filter, an amplifying circuit, a digital control attenuator and an output matching circuit, a signal combining unit outputs the signal through a high pass filter, amplifying circuit, numerical control attenuator, an output matching circuit for processing, the processing result output by the output matching circuit. In a specific implementation, can be the output end radio frequency signal processing unit of the digital control attenuator and output matching circuit between a second-level amplifying circuit, signal combining unit output signals are processed by a high-pass filter, a first-stage amplifying circuit, a digital control attenuator, a second-stage amplifying circuit, an output matching circuit for processing” [Wu, ¶ [0008], ¶ [0017].
Additionally, Yang teaches that when optical power inquiry is needed, the power value is reported and the single chip analyzes monitoring data to set the attenuator attenuation amount. “Control unit receives the detection signal and adjusts each corresponding first attenuator based on the detection signal (optical power value)” “[0005] the detector and optical power collecting module connect, the receiving power collection module connected with the control unit” [Yang, ¶ [0005]].
A POSITA would have been motivated to incorporate optical power detection feedback into the attenuator control loop because optical path loss and detector responsivity vary between branches and over time. Closed-loop optical power monitoring allows the control unit to maintain stable RF output levels and avoid saturation or underdrive, especially in multi-branch combining systems.Using per-branch optical power collection (Wu) in combination with Gao’s multi-port optical distribution provides predictable and well-understood benefits: consistent link gain across ports, improved intermodulation performance, and better fault diagnosis. Under KSR, this is the predictable use of optical power monitoring for automatic level control (ALC) in RF-over-fiber modules.
Claim 8
With respect to claim 8, all limitations of claim 5 are taught by Gao, Wu and Yang except wherein claim 8 additionally requires that the first high-pass filter is configured to allow the downlink RF signal to pass and suppress the downlink monitoring modulation signal. Added “The optical module according to claim 5, wherein the downlink comprises: a downlink radio frequency link, configured to convert the radio frequency input signal into the downlink radio frequency signal applied to the photoelectric conversion and transmission unit, the downlink radio frequency link at least includes: a first high-pass filter, configured to allow the downlink radio frequency signal to pass and to suppress passage of the downlink monitoring modulation signal.” However, within analogous output-end processing art, Gao expressly teaches that the monitoring command is modulated to a low-frequency (e.g., 433) monitoring signal and passed through a low-pass filter, establishing a monitoring component that a high-pass filter would suppress “ [0032] reference shown in FIG. 3, the monitoring module C, adopting a single chip and communication chip, using half two mode index of the whole system for monitoring, searching downlink monitoring command to the communication chip 12 after modulation is 433 to MCU13processing through serial port chip 14 transmits the command. 791 MHz radio frequency signal is then sent to the far end through the path part 4 for electric light-converted light signal passes through the low-pass filter 15; the uplink subordinate of the look-up command downlink response then response result through the communication chip 12 modulation, then uplink laser entering light into light signal, transmitted to the end light module through optical fiber H) receiving the photovoltaic into electric signal, then through a power divider 5 are combined, then amplifier 6, then passes through the low-pass filter 11. the last communication receiving demodulation chip 12, the lower light module of monitoring quantity to MCU13, and finally through the MCU sending to the serial port chip 14 and makes the user know. [Gao, ¶ [0032]].
Additionally, Wu expressly teaches that the output end radio frequency signal processing unit comprises a high-pass filter and associated amplification/attenuation/matching stages “ [0017] In the embodiment, the input end radio frequency signal processing unit comprises orderly connected input matching circuit, radio frequency attenuator and amplifying circuit, a radio frequency signal input through an input matching circuit, radio frequency attenuator and an amplifying circuit for processing; The obtained processing result input signal shunt unit is composed of an amplifying circuit, an output end radio frequency signal processing unit comprises orderly connected high pass filter, an amplifying circuit, a digital control attenuator and an output matching circuit, a signal combining unit outputs the signal through a high pass filter, amplifying circuit, numerical control attenuator, an output matching circuit for processing, the processing result output by the output matching circuit. In a specific implementation, can be the output end radio frequency signal processing unit of the digital control attenuator and output matching circuit between a second-level amplifying circuit, signal combining unit output signals are processed by a high-pass filter, a first-stage amplifying circuit, a digital control attenuator, a second-stage amplifying circuit, an output matching circuit for processing.” [Wu, ¶ [0017]]
A POSITA would have been motivated to use a high-pass filter to suppress the monitoring modulation component because combining a low-frequency monitoring channel with the broadband RF payload can introduce interference unless the monitoring component is confined to its intended path. Gao explicitly teaches a 433-monitoring modulation processed through a low-pass filter, and Wu explicitly teaches a high-pass filter in the RF output processing chain. Configuring the high-pass filter cutoff such that it passes the desired downlink RF payload while attenuating the low-frequency monitoring component is a predictable design choice that improves signal integrity, reduces spurious emissions, and prevents monitoring energy from degrading RF linearity. This filtering approach is routine in RF systems that carry multiple spectral components. Thus, claim 8 is rendered obvious because it applies well-known frequency-selective filtering to separate a low-frequency monitoring channel from the main RF channel, consistent with the teachings of Gao and Wu.
Claim 13
With respect to claim 13, all limitations of claim 5 are taught by Gao, Wu, and Yang, except wherein claim 13 additionally requires that the control unit compares each uplink optical power detection value with a downlink optical power detection value and outputs an adjustment signal to one of the first attenuators based on a comparison result. Added “The optical module according to claim 5, wherein the control unit is configured to: obtain uplink optical power detection values, the uplink optical power detection values respectively indicating optical power values of uplink optical signals in the uplink branches; obtain a downlink optical power detection value, the downlink optical power detection value indicating an optical power value of the downlink optical signal output by the laser; compare the uplink optical power detection values and the downlink optical power detection value, to generate an adjustment signal based on a comparison result; and to output the adjustment signal to one of the first attenuators.”
However, within analogous control-loop RF-over-fiber art, Gao expressly teaches that the optical path part includes an LD laser (a downlink light source) and that the optical signal is distributed through the splitter/WDM structure, providing a downlink optical power reference point (laser output) “…. [0026] reference shown in FIG. 4, path portion 4, it comprises LD laser, light splitter and WDM, the downlink output third-order intermodulation is 60dBc……” [Gao, ¶ [0026]].
In analogous art, Wu expressly teaches an optical power inquiry module, reporting a power value, the single chip analyzing monitoring data, and setting the attenuator attenuation amount and emitting power based on the monitoring data. This inherently requires comparing measured power values to desired/reference values to determine the proper attenuation setting “ [0017] In the embodiment, the input end radio frequency signal processing unit comprises orderly connected input matching circuit, radio frequency attenuator and amplifying circuit, a radio frequency signal input through an input matching circuit, radio frequency attenuator and an amplifying circuit for processing; The obtained processing result input signal shunt unit is composed of an amplifying circuit, an output end radio frequency signal processing unit comprises orderly connected high pass filter, an amplifying circuit, a digital control attenuator and an output matching circuit, a signal combining unit outputs the signal through a high pass filter, amplifying circuit, numerical control attenuator, an output matching circuit for processing, the processing result output by the output matching circuit. In a specific implementation, can be the output end radio frequency signal processing unit of the digital control attenuator and output matching circuit between a second-level amplifying circuit, signal combining unit output signals are processed by a high-pass filter, a first-stage amplifying circuit, a digital control attenuator, a second-stage amplifying circuit, an output matching circuit for processing” [Wu, ¶ [0017]]
A POSITA would have been motivated to implement claim 13’s compare-and-adjust control because maintaining stable link balance and preventing saturation or underdrive in a bidirectional RF-over-fiber system requires monitoring optical power conditions and adjusting branch attenuation accordingly. Wu expressly teaches an optical power inquiry capability where a controller analyzes reported monitoring/power data and sets attenuator attenuation amount, which is the same type of feedback control required by claim 13. Gao provides the corresponding downlink optical launch path (LD laser and optical distribution), supplying a downlink optical power value that would naturally be used as a reference for link management.Further, it would have been obvious for a POSITA to generate an adjustment signal based on a comparison of uplink branch optical power values to a downlink optical power value because comparing measured values to a reference value is a routine control technique in RF and optical communications systems (e.g., automatic gain control and automatic power control). The claimed step of outputting the adjustment signal to one of the first attenuators is a predictable application of branch-by-branch attenuation setting, allowing the system to equalize branch levels and meet link budgets while continuing to transport both payload RF and monitoring information over the same module.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. in view of Wu et al. and Yang et al. and further in view of Lu (CN201533311U).
Claim 9
With respect to claim 9, all limitations of claim 8 are taught by Gao, Wu and Yang, except wherein claim 9 additionally requires an FSK unit comprising a modem, a first low-pass filter, an RF switch between first and second low-pass filters, and a second low-pass filter configured to pass an uplink monitoring modulation signal and suppress the uplink RF signal. Added “The optical module according to claim 8, further comprising: a frequency shift keying unit, including: a modem, configured to modulate the downlink monitoring modulation signal; a first low-pass filter, coupled to an input end of the photoelectric conversion and transmission unit, configured to allow the downlink monitoring modulation signal applied to the photoelectric conversion and transmission unit to pass, and to suppress passage of the downlink radio frequency signal; a radio frequency switch, coupled between the first low-pass filter and the second low-pass filter, and configured to switch between transmission and reception of the monitoring modulation signal; and the second low-pass filter, configured to allow that the uplink monitoring modulation signal of the uplink radio frequency link be provided to the radio frequency switch, and to suppress passage of the uplink radio frequency signal of the uplink radio frequency link.” However, within analogous multi-channel RF-over-fiber monitoring art, Wu expressly teaches an FSK modulator connected to the input end of the signal shunting unit and an FSK demodulator connected to the output end of the signal combining unit, thereby providing the claimed modem/modulator/demodulator functionality “ [0016] frequency shift keying communication unit includes an FSK modulator and the FSK demodulator, module control unit respectively connect the radio frequency/light signal conversion unit and light/radio frequency signal converting unit, an FSK modulator and the FSK demodulator, FSK modulator is connected with the input end of the signal shunting unit, FSK demodulator connect output end of the signal combining unit. Therefore, the detector receives two radio frequency signal RF IN input of the radio frequency signal and the radio frequency signal sent by the FSK modulator, frequency thereof are different. module control unit of the embodiment comprises a single chip of single chip, module control unit sends the monitoring data through FSK modulator for modulating, sending into light signal sent by the laser detector receives the FSK signal into the FSK demodulator for demodulating, demodulating the obtained monitoring data to the module control unit of the single chip. when system needs the optical power inquiry module, then the power value reported by single chip. the single chip analyzes the obtained monitoring data, then according to the content control circuit monitoring data, such as setting the attenuator attenuation amount, setting the size of the emitting power and the like” [Wu, ¶ [0016]].
Additionally, within analogous RF switching and monitoring separation art, Yang teaches radio frequency switches coupled between detectors and combiners under control of a control unit, supporting the claimed RF switch functionality in the monitoring path “ [0004] To achieve the above object, the present invention designed with an intelligent light module double-optical fiber hot backup radio frequency, comprising a radio frequency RF input, laser, light splitter, a wavelength division multiplexer, a control unit and a radio frequency RF output, the radiofrequency RF input, laser, light splitter, wavelength division multiplexer and radio frequency RF output are connected, the control unit connected with the laser, the light splitter and the first and second wavelength division multiplexer is connected, first and second wavelength division multiplexer respectively connected with main, standby detector connect the main and spare detectors are respectively connected with a radio frequency switch, two RF switch respectively connected with radiofrequency combiner and a control unit.” [Yang, ¶ [0004]].
Further, within analogous frequency-separation art, Lu expressly teaches frequency-selecting filtering separating an FSK chip signal and a main radio frequency signal (i.e., low-pass/high-pass type separation), supporting the claimed low-pass filtering used to isolate monitoring modulation “[0062] The sending terminal 20 may include a matching circuit 21 and a combiner 22, an APC (Automatic Power Control) module block 24 and a semiconductor laser 23 (Laser Diode, LD), and so on. electric signal to the matching circuit 21 for the external radio-frequency signal collecting, the combiner 22 can be respectively connected with the matching circuit 21 and the FSK chip, respectively receive the matching circuit 21and the FSK chip sent by the frequency-selecting filtering; electric signal modulation of the semiconductor laser 23 the combiner 22 after selecting frequency filtering is laser signal emitted to external light interface 30. Therefore, the FSK chip repeater monitoring plate communicates with the optical fiber to realize the data transmission” [Lu, ¶ [0062]]”
A POSITA would have been motivated to implement claim 9’s explicit FSK modem, RF switching, and low-pass filtering because monitoring/control data is typically low-rate and carried on a distinct narrowband channel (FSK) that must be isolated from the wideband RF payload to avoid mutual interference. Wu provides the core architecture for injecting and extracting FSK signals at the shunting and combining nodes, while Yang demonstrates that RF switch elements are standard components for routing signals under controller direction in RF-over-fiber modules. Lu further teaches the need for frequency-selective filtering to separate FSK monitoring signals from the main RF path. Combining these teachings yields a predictable and robust bidirectional monitoring subsystem: low-pass filters confine the monitoring energy, the RF switch selects transmit vs receive paths or isolates stages, and the modem performs modulation/demodulation. This improves maintainability, enabling command/response communication without affecting the RF payload, and is a conventional and well-motivated design in remote RF distribution systems. Therefore, claim 9 is rendered obvious by the cited combination with strong motivation grounded in RF signal separation and monitoring system design.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. in view of Wu et al. and Yang et al. and further in view of AD8307 Data Sheet.
Claim 6
With respect to claim 6, all limitations of claim 5 are taught by Gao, Wu, and Yang, except wherein claim 6 additionally requires that the optical power detection unit comprises a photoelectric diode and a logarithmic amplifier configured to convert the photodetector output into a voltage output with a predetermined slope and intercept. Added “The optical module according to claim 5, wherein the first optical power detection unit further comprises: a logarithmic amplifier, to convert an output signal of a photodetector into an output signal with a predetermined slope.” However, within analogous log-detector art, the AD8307 expressly teaches a logarithmic amplifier with a specified slope and intercept (e.g., 25 mV/dB slope and -84 dBm intercept) suitable for converting detector signals into a predictable voltage for control “…….Complete Multistage Logarithmic Amplifier 92 dB Dynamic Range: –75 dBm to +17 dBm to –90 dBm Using Matching Network Single Supply of 2.7 V Min at 7.5 mA Typical DC-500 MHz Operation, _1 dB Linearity Slope of 25 mV/dB, Intercept of –84 dBm Highly Stable Scaling Over Temperature Fully Differential DC-Coupled Signal Path 100 ns Power-Up Time, 150 _A Sleep Current APPLICATIONS Conversion of Signal Level to Decibel Form Transmitter Antenna Power Measurement Receiver Signal Strength Indication (RSSI) Low Cost Radar and Sonar Signal Processing Network and Spectrum Analyzers (to 120 dB) Signal Level Determination Down to 20 Hz True Decibel AC Mode for Multimeters……….” [AD8307, p.1, features].
A POSITA would have been motivated to use a logarithmic amplifier such as AD8307 in the optical power detection chain because optical power levels and resulting detector currents can vary over a wide dynamic range across branches and operating conditions. A log amplifier provides a predictable linear-in-dB output (specified slope/intercept), which is ideal for stable control loops and for comparing measured power across branches without saturating ADC ranges. Implementing the AD8307 as the logarithmic amplifier is a predictable substitution because it is a known, commercially available log amplifier intended for RF/power detection. Combining this with Wu’s optical power inquiry and attenuator setting logic yields predictable results: improved measurement fidelity over large ranges, more stable and accurate attenuation control, and reduced sensitivity to absolute calibration drift. Thus, claim 6 is obvious because it represents a standard, well-motivated implementation detail for robust power measurement in automatic attenuation control systems.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. in view of Wu et al. and IPC-2221A and further in view of IPC-A-610 and Ignasiak et al. (US4750889).
Claim 10
With respect to claim 10, all limitations of claim 2 are taught by Gao and Wu, except wherein claim 10 additionally requires (i) a laser pin length less than or equal to a predetermined length threshold, and (ii) the pin is soldered to both a front side and a back side of a printed circuit board via pads. Added “The optical module according to claim 2, wherein the laser is configured such that a length of a pin of the laser is less than or equal to a predetermined length threshold, and the pin of the laser is soldered to front and back sides of a printed circuit board.” However, within analogous assembly/design standards for through-hole and metal power packages (TO-can/radial lead style), IPC-2221A expressly teaches lead extension/length requirements (lead diameter/thickness and not less than 0.8 mm) before bend radius, reflecting explicit pin/lead length selection “……… Flat pack component normally have flatribbonleadsthatexitfromthecomponentbodyon1.27 mm lead centers (seeFigure8-27). Forming of the leads maybe required to prevent stressing the lead exit at the component body, especially for through-hole mounted applications (seeFigure8-28). An off-board clearance of 0.25 mm [0.00984 in] minimum is required for cleaning purposes. The body of the component shall not be in contact with any via sunless theviasarecoatedper8.1.10. Leads shall extend from the body of the part a minimum of one lead diameter or thickness but not lessthan0.8mm[0.0315in] from the body or weld before the start of the bend radius (seeFigure8-9andJ-STD-001) …………. When the design includes metal power packages, they shall not be mounted free standing. Stiffeners, heat sinks, frames and spacers may be utilized to provide needed support. Metal power packages with leads that are neither tempered nor greater than1.25 mm [0.0492 in] (compliant leads) may be terminated in plated-through holes or with through the-board terminations. With through-the-board terminations the leads shall be provided with stress relief (see Figure 8-29) With plated-through hole terminations the packages hall be mounted off the board and spacers used to provide stress relief for the leads (seeFigure8-30). Side mounting may also be employed. Metal power packages with noncompliant leads may also be mounted with the leads terminated in plated-through holes or with through hole termination…….” [IPC-2221A, p.80, lead extension min].
Within analogous solder acceptability standards, IPC-A-610 explicitly defines primary and secondary sides (solder destination/source) and acceptance of soldering/wetting on both sides for through-hole solder joints, supporting “double-sided solder fillets.” “……Primary Side 1.5.1.2 *Secondary Side 1.5.1.3 Solder Source Side 1.5.1.4 Solder Destination Side 1.5.2 *Cold Solder Connection 1.5.3 Electrical Clearance 1.5.4 High Voltage 1.5.5 Intrusive……” [IPC-A-610, p.2, primary/secondary]
Further, Ignasiak teaches through-board solder tails inserted into plated-through holes and wave soldered, with access from both sides after soldering, reinforcing the practical implementation of soldering on both sides of the board “…………..In a typical process for manufacture circuitry employing a printed circuit board with components mounted on the board and wave soldered, the leads or solder tails (hereinafter simply referred to as solder tails) of electrical components are positioned in respective holes, preferably plated-through holes, in the printed circuit board. The plating in the holes is electrically connected to respective conductive paths or the like, printed on or otherwise formed with respect to the printed circuit board. The printed circuit board is passed through a molten solder wave that wipes against surface of the printed circuit board to solder the connections between the solder tails and plated-through holes or other conductive paths or the like on the board. Usually, some of the solder flows into the plated through holes. Ordinarily, any space left between a lead and a plated-through hole would be expected to be filled with solder…………... According to the present invention, an electrical component is provided with features that enable solder tails or the like to be attached to plated-through holes of a printed circuit board while those holes are occupied both by solder tails and by a mask that prevents molten solder from completely filling the hole. During wave soldering, adequate solder is provided to effect soldering of the solder tails to the conductive material (plating) in the holes and/or on the top or bottom of holes, while the mask prevents the hole from filling with molten solder. Preferably, the mask is frangible attached toa major body portion of the component so that the mask subsequently can be removed…….” [Ignasiak, col.1-2].
A POSITA would have been motivated to select a pin/lead length threshold and ensure solder fillets on both PCB sides because high-frequency RF-over-fiber modules and laser subassemblies are highly sensitive to parasitic inductance and mechanical reliability. IPC-2221A explicitly treats lead length as a controlled design variable to ensure proper bend radius, strain relief, and assembly clearance, demonstrating that lead/pin length selection is a routine and standardized engineering step. IPC-A-610 similarly establishes acceptability criteria distinguishing primary and secondary sides, reflecting the industry’s explicit recognition that solder quality on both sides is important for through-hole reliability. Applying these standards to Gao/Wu’s laser mounting is a predictable implementation detail to improve mechanical robustness, maintain electrical continuity under vibration/thermal cycling, and reduce impedance discontinuities. Ignasiak further confirms that through-hole solder tails are wave soldered in plated-through holes, and that the joint structure supports access and engagement from both sides. Thus, claim 10 is rendered obvious because it applies explicit industry-standard lead-length and solder-joint acceptability requirements to the known laser/PCB assembly context in RF-over-fiber modules.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. in view of Wu et al. and Lee et al. (EP3297105A1) and further in view of LDD M Series (Wavelength Electronics).
Claim 11
With respect to claim 11, all limitations of claim 2 are taught by Gao and Wu, except wherein claim 11 additionally requires that a positive electrode of the laser power supply pin is electrically connected to ground, and a negative electrode is electrically connected to a negative voltage. Added “The optical module according to claim 2, wherein the laser is configured such that a positive electrode of a power supply pin of the laser is connected to the ground, and a negative electrode of the power supply pin is connected to a negative voltage”. However, within analogous laser driver art, Lee expressly teaches a driver circuit including a positive supply rail connected to the anode of the laser diode and a negative supply rail connected to the cathode of the laser diode, consistent with supplying the laser between ground-referenced positive and negative rails “………[0008] According to a first aspect, there is provided a driver circuit for a laser diode configured to pass a current, said circuit comprising: a first transistor connected in series with the laser diode, and configured to regulate the current; and a voltage regulator configured to provide an input to the gate of the first transistor so as to regulate the current in dependence upon a regulator input and a feedback input at the voltage regulator………………[0022] In one embodiment, the driver circuit further comprises: a positive supply rail connected to the anode of the laser diode; and a negative supply rail connected to the cathode of the laser diode, wherein the positive supply rail and negative supply terminal are configured to provide the current……………” [Lee, ¶ [0008], ¶ [0022]].
Additionally, within analogous practical laser driver implementations, LDD M Series expressly teaches grounding the laser diode anode while using a negative supply (V -) for the laser diode cathode, as shown in the “Grounding the Laser Diode Anode with the LDD200-1M or LDD200-3M” connection diagram (GND and V - rails). [LDD M Series, p.6].
“………...Attach the Laser Diode to pins 5 & 6. Attach the Photodiode as indicated in the connection diagram for your laser diode / photodiode configuration. Before attaching the power supply to the LDD, preset the supply voltage between +5 and +12V. With the power supply unplugged from AC, attach the power supply output to pins 8 & 4. Either ground pin 3, leave it floating, or use a switch as shown in the diagram. Turn the output current trim pot fully counter clockwise. Do not slowly increase the voltage from the power supply; this may damage the Laser Diode and Driver. Apply power to the unit. In constant power mode, the photodiode current remains at the initial setpoint while the laser diode current is changed continually to maintain this power setting. Laser diodes become less efficient as their temperature increases. To maintain power as temperature increases, more laser diode current is required. The laser diode can be damaged by excessive current from the drive circuit as the temperature of the laser diode increases. Choose one of the following two methods to setup the LDD M laser diode driver for constant power operation: Set the power via Photodiode Current (IPD), Monitor the current through the photodiode at pin Determine the photodiode current associated with the desired power from data provided by the laser diode manufacturer. Calculate the corresponding voltage at pin 2 from the transfer functions listed below. When the laser current reaches threshold, the photodiode current will change abruptly then rise quickly. Adjust the output current trimpot slowly until the voltage at pin 2 corresponds to the desired photodiode current (IPD). The trimpot rotates through 12 turns between 15 mA and 2500 mA for the 1M units and 12 turns between 5 mA and 125 mA for the 3M units. The transfer function for photodiode current is: 1M Þ 1000 mA/Volt, 3M Þ 50 mA/Volt. You can measure the laser diode current at pin 1 (Current Monitor) after setting the photodiode current. Set the power via Laser Diode Current (ILD) Monitor the current through the laser diode at pin 1. Determine the laser diode current associated with the desired power from data provided by the laser diode manufacturer. Using the 80 mA/V transfer function of pin 1, calculate the corresponding voltage. Adjust the output current trim pot slowly while monitoring pin 1 because abrupt changes happen when the laser diode current reaches the threshold current level. Measure the photodiode current at pin 2 after setting the laser diode current. The laser diode current will vary to maintain this power setting ………...” [LDD M Series, p.6, negative supply + anode ground].
A POSITA would have been motivated to implement the laser supply pin polarity of claim 11 because laser driver topologies commonly use a ground-referenced node for noise control and measurement, and employ a negative rail (or negative compliance) to satisfy driver headroom, protect sensitive RF circuits, and reduce common-mode noise injection. Lee confirms the fundamental architecture of using positive and negative rails across the laser diode (anode/cathode). Wavelength’s LDD M Series provides explicit practical guidance for operating from a negative supply and ground and grounding the laser anode. Applying this to Gao/Wu’s laser-driven RF-over-fiber module yields predictable benefits: simplified grounding strategy, reduced EMI coupling, and stable biasing for the laser under varying operating conditions. This configuration is a known and routine design choice in analog laser driver systems, especially where the module shares ground reference with RF amplifiers and monitoring electronics. Therefore, claim 11 is rendered obvious by the combination with a strong motivation grounded in well-known laser driver biasing practice and explicit teachings of Lee and LDD M Series documentation.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. in view of Wu et al. and HUBER+SUHNER (RFoF1-6GHz) and further in view of ECC DEC (15) 01 and ETSI TS 36.143.
Claim 12
With respect to claim 12, all limitations of claim 2 are taught by Gao and Wu, except wherein claim 12 additionally requires that the downlink RF signal has a frequency range from 690 MHz to 3800 MHz and that the monitoring modulation signal is 433 MHz or 315 MHz. Added “The optical module according to claim 2, wherein the downlink and the uplink support a frequency range of 690MHz to 3800MHz, and the downlink monitoring modulation signal is modulated to 433/315MHz.” However, within analogous art, Gao expressly teaches a monitoring command modulated to 433 (i.e., 433 MHz class monitoring modulation) and a multi-standard RF-over-fiber architecture with RF amplification bands “[0019] reference to picture 2 shown, this utility model claims broadband intelligent radio frequency light transmission module, comprising a radio frequency unit, a photovoltaic conversion unit, the planar waveguide light splitter (PLC), wavelength division multiplexer (WDM), eight radio frequency unit. The radio frequency unit for transmitting multi-standard radio frequency signal and converting the radiofrequency signal into light signal through the photoelectric conversion unit, and then the optical signals divided into eight parts, then through eight radio frequency integrated unit for sub-precoding the light signal through the planar waveguide light splitter and wavelength division multiplexer. (In FIG. 2 theunit name and a description of the space corresponding to same) …………... [0032] reference shown in FIG. 3, the monitoring module C, adopting a single chip and communication chip, using half two mode index of the whole system for monitoring, searching downlink monitoring command to the communication chip 12 after modulation is 433 to MCU13processing through serial port chip 14 transmits the command. 791 MHz radio frequency signal is then sent to the far end through the path part 4 for electric light-converted light signal passes through the low-pass filter 15; the uplink subordinate of the look-up command downlink response then response result through the communication chip 12 modulation, then uplink laser entering light into light signal, transmitted to the end light module through optical fiber H) receiving the photovoltaic into electric signal, then through a power divider 5 are combined, then amplifier 6, then passes through the low-pass filter 11. the last communication receiving demodulation chip 12, the lower light module of monitoring quantity to MCU13, and finally through the MCU sending to the serial port chip 14 and makes the user know” [Gao, ¶ [0019], ¶ [0032]]
Additionally, within analogous RF-over-fiber hardware datasheet art, HUBER+SUHNER expressly teaches RF-over-fiber conversion with a wide frequency range up to 6 GHz, which encompasses 690–3800 MHz, “……The RF-over-Fiber Module (RFoF1 – 6GHz) converts analog RF signals into Fiber signals; and also converts Fiber signals to RF signals. The module offers a wide frequency range up to 6 GHz, with excellent stability, frequency jitter and phase noise performance. Rapidly growing use in within communications systems, defense systems, test environments and other high-tech niches” [HUBER+SUHNER, p.1]
Additionally, within analogous spectrum/band definition art, ECC DEC (15) 01 identifies the 694–790 MHz band (covering the ~690 MHz lower endpoint region), and ETSI TS 36.143 includes standardized LTE band tables reaching into the 3400–3800 MHz region, supporting the obvious selection of the claimed endpoints “Harmonized technical conditions for mobile/fixed communications networks (MFCN) in the band 694-790 MHz including a paired frequency arrangement (Frequency Division Duplex 2x30 MHz) and an optional unpaired frequency arrangement (Supplemental Downlink)” [ECC DEC (15) 01, p.1].
“……...LTE; Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access (E-UTRA); FDD repeater conformance testing (3GPP TS 36.143 version 12.1.0 Release 12) ,,,,,,,,,” [ETSI TS 36.143, p.1, band tables]
A POSITA would have been motivated to design the RF-over-fiber module to cover 690–3800 MHzz because cellular and wireless infrastructure systems routinely require support across low-band spectrum (~700 MHz class) and mid-band spectrum (including 3400–3800 MHz class), and RF-over-fiber modules are commonly specified to span wide bandwidths to support multiple operator bands and evolving allocations. Gao already teaches multi-standard RF distribution and explicitly uses a 433 MHz monitoring command; extending the payload RF path to include the full 690–3800 MHzz span is a predictable engineering choice when selecting amplifier/filter components and matching networks, especially given that HUBER+SUHNER explicitly teaches RF-over-fiber conversion up to 6 GHz. ECC and ETSI band definitions further establish that the endpoint frequencies are standard and well-known. Using 433 MHz (explicitly taught by Gao) satisfies the “433/315 MHz” alternative; selecting 315 MHz instead would be an obvious substitution within the same ISM monitoring class for regional compatibility. Therefore, claim 12 is rendered obvious with strong motivation based on known spectrum requirements, predictable component selection, and explicit wideband RF-over-fiber hard.
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED ABDELRAHEEM/Examiner, Art Unit 2635
/DAVID C PAYNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2635