Is Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
This is a first office action on the merits of application SN 18/663,078 and filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the fixed slots of the mount frame of claim 10 and the attachment of the enhancement bars to the mount frame of clam 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Publication 2009/0166356 to Tsai.
Tsai teaches
1. A storage unit for an assembled cabinet, comprising: multiple panels (10) and connectors (20) interconnected to form an inner space and an opening, wherein each of the panels includes a panel frame (11) and a panel sheet (12) that covers the panel frame, with panel corners (13) of the panel frame not being covered by the panel sheet (as best seen in figure 2, par 24 ), each of the connectors has multiple panel corners (figure 3) corresponding to panel corners, and adjacent connector slots (22,23) are oriented perpendicularly to each other, and corner braces (a panel frame located on a panel that is not included in the two panels required by the claim such as a bottom panel or in the alternative the frame 41, 42 of a door or in the alternative frames of panels from adjacent storage units as seen in figure 7), each of which is inserted into a corresponding connector located around the opening of the storage unit, wherein the corner braces are installed into available connector slots of the corresponding connectors.
2. wherein the corner brace comprises a first horizontal reinforcement rod (horizontal bar of the frame as best seen in figure 2) and a first vertical reinforcement rod (vertical bar of the frame as best seen in figure 2) intersecting at a corner of the corner brace (as best seen in figure 2 and 7), wherein when the corner brace is installed in the corresponding connector, the first horizontal reinforcement rod and the first vertical reinforcement rod at least partially in contact with one of the panels adjacent to the corresponding connector.
3. wherein the first horizontal reinforcement rod and the first vertical reinforcement rod intersecting in an L-shape (as best seen in figure 2 or 7, all the options for the corner brace described above include a loop with two horizontal and two vertical frame members), with the intersection being the corner of the corner brace.
4. wherein the corner brace further comprises a second horizontal reinforcement rod intersecting with the first vertical reinforcement rod to form a U-shape (as best seen in figure 2 or 7, all the options for the corner brace described above include a loop with two horizontal and two vertical frame members), with the intersections of the first and second horizontal reinforcement rods with the first vertical reinforcement rod forming two corners for installing into two corresponding connectors that are adjacent to each other around the opening of the storage unit.
5. wherein the corner brace further comprises a second horizontal reinforcement rod (as best seen in figure 2 or 7, all the options for the corner brace described above include a loop with two horizontal and two vertical frame members) and a second vertical reinforcement rod, wherein the first and second horizontal reinforcement rods intersect with the first and second vertical reinforcement rods to form a frame-shape with four corners (as best seen in figure 2 or 7, all the options for the corner brace described above include a loop with two horizontal and two vertical frame members), and the four corners are configured to be installed into four corresponding connectors that are adjacent to each other around the opening of the storage unit.
6. further comprising: a door (40) for covering the opening; and a door connector (20, as seen in figure 2) for connecting the door with a corresponding panel (50) and a corresponding corner brace (frame of adjacent panel) next to the opening.
7. wherein the door connector includes a first buckle slot (23) for connecting with a panel frame (11) of the corresponding panel, a second buckle slot (23 that receives the clip/hinge 30 as best seen in figure 3) for connection to a hinge (30) of the door, and a third buckle slot (23 that can receive frame of adjacent panel as best seen in figure 3 and 7) situated between the first and second buckle slots for connecting to the corresponding corner brace.
13. An assembled cabinet, comprising: multiple storage units (figure 7), wherein for a storage unit selected from the multiple storage units, the storage unit comprises multiple panels (10) and connectors (20) interconnected to form an inner space and an opening (figures 2 and 7), wherein each of the panels includes a panel frame (11) and a panel sheet (12) that covers the panel frame, with panel corners (13) of the panel frame not being covered by the panel sheet (as best seen in figure 2, par 24 ), each of the connectors has multiple panel corners (figure 3) corresponding to panel corners, and adjacent connector slots (22,23) are oriented perpendicularly to each other, and corner braces (a panel frame located on a panel that is not included in the two panels required by the claim such as a bottom panel or in the alternative the frame 41, 42 of a door or in the alternative frames of panels from adjacent storage units that are not part of the two storage units required by the claim as seen in figure 7), each of which is inserted into a corresponding connector located around the opening of the storage unit, wherein the corner braces are installed into available connector slots of the corresponding connectors (as best seen in figure 7).
14. wherein an extended opening is formed by openings of two or more storage units (as bets seen in figure 7), and a U-shaped corner brace (as best seen in figure 2 or 7, all the options for the corner brace described above include a loop with two horizontal and two vertical frame members) selected from the corner braces is inserted into two corresponding connectors of the two or more storage units.
15. wherein an extended opening is formed by openings of two or more storage units, and a frame-shaped corner brace (as best seen in figure 2 or 7, all the options for the corner brace described above include a loop with two horizontal and two vertical frame members) selected from the corner braces is inserted into four corresponding connectors of the two or more storage units.
16. wherein the multiple storage units are horizontally and vertically arranged in the assembled cabinet (as best seen in figure 7).
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 8,955,928 to Cheng.
Cheng teaches
1. A storage unit (5) for an assembled cabinet, comprising: multiple panels (10) and connectors (20) interconnected to form an inner space and an opening, wherein each of the panels includes a panel frame (12) and a panel sheet (13) that covers the panel frame, with panel corners (11) of the panel frame not being covered by the panel sheet (as best seen in figure 2), each of the connectors has multiple panel corners corresponding to panel corners, and adjacent connector slots (25,26, recess of the joining part 30 defined by the walls 31, 32, 40, 50) are oriented perpendicularly to each other, and corner braces (the frame 11, 12 of the additional/door panel shown being attached or rotated in figure 1, 4-6), each of which is inserted into a corresponding connector located around the opening of the storage unit, wherein the corner braces are installed into available connector slots of the corresponding connectors.
2. wherein the corner brace comprises a first horizontal reinforcement rod and a first vertical reinforcement rod intersecting at a corner of the corner brace (as best seen in figure 2 and 4), wherein when the corner brace is installed in the corresponding connector, the first horizontal reinforcement rod and the first vertical reinforcement rod at least partially in contact with one of the panels adjacent to the corresponding connector.
3. wherein the first horizontal reinforcement rod and the first vertical reinforcement rod intersecting in an L-shape (as best seen in figure 2 and 4), with the intersection being the corner of the corner brace.
4. wherein the corner brace further comprises a second horizontal reinforcement rod intersecting with the first vertical reinforcement rod to form a U-shape (as best seen in figure 1, the frame is a loop and therefore includes a u-shape), with the intersections of the first and second horizontal reinforcement rods with the first vertical reinforcement rod forming two corners for installing into two corresponding connectors that are adjacent to each other around the opening of the storage unit.
5. wherein the corner brace further comprises a second horizontal reinforcement rod and a second vertical reinforcement rod, wherein the first and second horizontal reinforcement rods intersect with the first and second vertical reinforcement rods to form a frame-shape with four corners (as best seen in figure 1, the frame is a loop and has four corners connected to four rods), and the four corners are configured to be installed into four corresponding connectors that are adjacent to each other around the opening of the storage unit.
13. An assembled cabinet (Col 1, lines 34-41), comprising: multiple storage units (5), wherein for a storage unit (5) selected from the multiple storage units, the storage unit comprises multiple panels (10) and connectors (20) interconnected to form an inner space and an opening (as best seen in figure 1), wherein each of the panels includes a panel frame (12) and a panel sheet (13) that covers the panel frame, with panel corners (11) of the panel frame not being covered by the panel sheet (as best seen in figure 2), each of the connectors has multiple panel corners corresponding to panel corners, and adjacent connector slots (25,26, recess of the joining part 30 defined by the walls 31, 32, 40, 50) are oriented perpendicularly to each other, and corner braces (the frame 11, 12 of the additional/door panel shown being attached or rotated in figure 1, 4-6), each of which is inserted into a corresponding connector located around the opening of the storage unit, wherein the corner braces are installed into available connector slots of the corresponding connectors.
16. wherein the multiple storage units are horizontally and vertically arranged in the assembled cabinet (the racks are considered to be horizontally or vertically arranged to create the cabinet).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 8,955,928 to Cheng in view of US Patent 9,445,666 to Chang.
Cheng discloses every element as claimed and discussed above except a mount frame with enhancement bars.
Chang teaches a storage unit (10) composed of panels (12,15) and connectors (11). Mount frames (13) have slots (132) that receive panel frames as best seen in figures 1 and 4. The divider (14) includes a frame that is considered to be the enhancement bars. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the storage unit of Cheng by adding the mounting frame and divider as taught by Chang to allow for the space to be divided and organized.
Regarding claim 10, Cheng combined with Chang teaches
10. further comprising a mount frame for installing onto a corresponding panel, wherein the mount frame has fixed slots configured to be attached to the panel frame of the corresponding panel.
Regarding claim 11, Cheng combined with Chang teaches
11. wherein the mount frame is installed onto the internal surface of the corresponding panel, and the corresponding panel is located on the top, bottom, left, right, or back of the storage unit.
Regarding claim 12, Cheng combined with Chang teaches
12. wherein the mount frame has enhancement bars attached to the mount frame.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 8,955,928 to Cheng in view of US Patent Publication 2016/0066688 to Yu.
Cheng disclose every element as claimed and discussed above except an extended opening.
Yu teaches an extended opening between rack units to allow for drawer slide channels (32) to receive a drawer (41) as best seen in figure 5. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combined two racks units of Cheng with rail channels replacing the middle panel as taught by Yu to allow for a drawer to be slid into the cabinets.
Regarding claim 14, Cheng combined with Yu teaches
14. wherein an extended opening is formed by openings of two or more storage units, and a U-shaped corner brace (a combined or larger door panel would over the extend opening and the frame of this larger panel is considered to be the corner brace) selected from the corner braces is inserted into two corresponding connectors of the two or more storage units.
Regarding claim 15, Cheng combined with Yu teaches
15. wherein an extended opening is formed by openings of two or more storage units, and a frame-shaped corner brace (a combined or larger door panel would over the extend opening and the frame of this larger panel is considered to be the corner brace) selected from the corner braces is inserted into four corresponding connectors of the two or more storage units.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY M AYRES/ Examiner, Art Unit 3637