DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description: reference character 32 in figure 8B. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al., US 2016/0363294 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Yu).
As to claim 1, Yu teaches (Figs. 3 and 4) a manufacturing method of a wavelength conversion assembly (“optical converter colour wheel,” para [0054], Figs. 3 and 4), comprising steps of:
arranging a first element (302, “front plate (or cover hub) 302,” para [0054], Fig. 4) on a first portion (302, 401, the cover hub 302 including the outer rim 401, para [0055], Fig. 4) of a substrate (304, “the base (or supporting substrate) 304,” para [0054], Figs. 3 and 4);
forming a first welding structure between the first portion of the substrate and the first element (302, 304, “the cover plate may be attached to the base by welding,” para [0018], Fig. 4), wherein the first welding structure partially connects the first portion and the first element as a whole (the cover plate 302 is welded to the base 304 from the step structure to the outer rim 401 as shown in Fig. 4); and
arranging a wavelength conversion layer (303, “solid optical converter (for example, a phosphor-ceramic based optical converter ring) 303,” para [0054], Figs. 3 and 4) on a second portion (the portion between the outer rim 401 and the outside edge of the color wheel, Fig. 4) of the substrate (304, “the base (or supporting substrate) 304,” para [0054], Figs. 3 and 4), wherein the second portion of the substrate surrounds the first portion of the substrate (303, 302, the cover hub 302 only presses the optical converter 303 along the inner rim, thus the second portion surrounds the first portions as shown in Figs. 3 and 4, para [0054]).
As to claim 2, Yu teaches the manufacturing method of the wavelength conversion assembly according to claim 1, wherein the step of forming the first welding structure further comprises:
melting the substrate and the first element to form the first welding structure (302, 304, “the cover plate may be attached to the base by welding,” para [0018], Fig. 4), wherein a projection of the first welding structure on the substrate is located within a range of a projection of the first element on the substrate (302, 304, “the cover plate may be attached to the base by welding,” thus the first welding structure is between the cover plate 302 and the substrate 304, para [0018], Fig. 4).
As to claim 3, Yu teaches the manufacturing method of the wavelength conversion assembly according to claim 2, wherein a method of melting the substrate and the first element comprises laser welding, arc welding, resistance welding, electron beam welding, soldering and brazing welding, friction welding, or ultrasonic welding (302, 304, “the cover plate may be attached to the base by welding (e.g. laser spot welding) or soldering,” para [0018], Fig. 4).
As to claim 4, Yu teaches the manufacturing method of the wavelength conversion assembly according to claim 2, wherein the first element and the substrate are both made of metal or polymer materials (302, 304, “the base and front plate 302 and 304 may be formed of the material of 6061 Aluminum alloy,” para [0054], Figs. 3 and 4).
As to claim 6, Yu teaches the manufacturing method of the wavelength conversion assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first welding structure comprises a plurality of dot patterns or at least one ring pattern (302, 304, “the cover plate may be attached to the base by welding,” as shown in Fig. 3 the cover plate 302 and base 304 are ring structures, thus the welding structure is a ring pattern, para [0018], Fig. 4).
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al., US 2019/0121119 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Chen).
As to claim 1, Chen teaches (Figs. 2B, 4, and 5) a manufacturing method of a wavelength conversion assembly (102, “wavelength conversion device 102,” para [0026], Fig. 4), comprising steps of:
arranging a first element (S7(1028), “an annular 1028,” para [0032], Figs. 2B and 4) on a first portion (the portion between the axis center A to the area Z, Fig. 4) of a substrate (1021, “a substrate 1021,” para [0026], Fig. 4);
forming a first welding structure between the first portion of the substrate and the first element (1029, “a connection layer 1029,” para [0032], Fig. 4), wherein the first welding structure partially connects the first portion and the first element as a whole (1029, “the annular 1028 is connected to the first surface S1 of the substrate 1021… using the connection layer 1029,” para [0032], Fig. 4); and
arranging a wavelength conversion layer (1024, ”the wavelength conversion structure 1024,” para [0027], Fig. 5) on a second portion (Z, “the area Z,” para [0026], Figs. 4 and 5) of the substrate (1021, Figs. 4 and 5), wherein the second portion of the substrate surrounds the first portion of the substrate (the second portion Z of the substrate 1021 surrounds the first portion (the portion between A and Z) of the substrate 1021 as shown in Fig. 4).
As to claim 6, Chen teaches the manufacturing method of the wavelength conversion assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first welding structure comprises a plurality of dot patterns or at least one ring pattern (1029, the connection layer 1029 has a ring pattern as shown in Fig. 2B).
As to claim 7, Chen teaches the manufacturing method of the wavelength conversion assembly according to claim 1, wherein an area occupied by the first welding structure on the first portion is less than half of an area of the first portion (1029, the area occupied by 1029 is less than half of the area of the first portion of the substrate 1021 between axis center A and area Z and shown in Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., US 2019/0121119 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Chen), and further in view of Yu et al., US 2016/0363294 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Yu).
As to claim 2, Chen teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1.
Chen does not teach the manufacturing method of the wavelength conversion assembly according to claim 1, wherein the step of forming the first welding structure further comprises: melting the substrate and the first element to form the first welding structure, wherein a projection of the first welding structure on the substrate is located within a range of a projection of the first element on the substrate.
Chen and Yu are related as manufacturing wavelength conversion assemblies.
However, Yu teaches (Figs. 3 and 4) a manufacturing method of a wavelength conversion assembly (“optical converter colour wheel,” para [0054], Figs. 3 and 4), wherein the step of forming the first welding structure further comprises: melting the substrate and the first element to form the first welding structure (302, 304, “the cover plate may be attached to the base by welding,” para [0018], Fig. 4), wherein a projection of the first welding structure on the substrate is located within a range of a projection of the first element on the substrate (302, 304, “the cover plate may be attached to the base by welding,” thus the first welding structure is between the cover plate 302 and the substrate 304, para [0018], Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wavelength conversion assembly of Chen with the first element welded onto the substrate of Yu, because the expensive optical converter will not be damaged by using this method of fastening (para [0063]).
As to claim 3, Chen in view of Yu teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim.
Chen does not teach the manufacturing method of the wavelength conversion assembly according to claim 2, wherein a method of melting the substrate and the first element comprises laser welding, arc welding, resistance welding, electron beam welding, soldering and brazing welding, friction welding, or ultrasonic welding.
Chen and Yu are related as manufacturing wavelength conversion assemblies.
However, Yu teaches (Figs. 3 and 4) a manufacturing method of a wavelength conversion assembly (“optical converter colour wheel,” para [0054], Figs. 3 and 4), wherein a method of melting the substrate and the first element comprises laser welding, arc welding, resistance welding, electron beam welding, soldering and brazing welding, friction welding, or ultrasonic welding (302, 304, “the cover plate may be attached to the base by welding (e.g. laser spot welding) or soldering,” para [0018], Fig. 4).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wavelength conversion assembly of Chen with the first element welded onto the substrate using laser welding or soldering of Yu, because the expensive optical converter will not be damaged by using this method of fastening (para [0063]).
As to claim 4, Chen in view of Yu teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 2.
Chen does not teach the manufacturing method of the wavelength conversion assembly according to claim 2, wherein the first element and the substrate are both made of metal or polymer materials.
Chen and Yu are related as manufacturing wavelength conversion assemblies.
However, Yu teaches (Figs. 3 and 4) a manufacturing method of a wavelength conversion assembly (“optical converter colour wheel,” para [0054], Figs. 3 and 4), wherein the first element and the substrate are both made of metal or polymer materials (302, 304, “the base and front plate 302 and 304 may be formed of the material of 6061 Aluminum alloy,” para [0054], Figs. 3 and 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wavelength conversion assembly of Chen with the first element and the substrate are both made of metal of Yu, because the expensive optical converter will not be damaged by using this method of fastening (para [0063]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al., US 2016/0363294 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Yu), and further in view of Hsu et al., US 2018/0188638 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Hsu), as evidenced by Bai et al., US 2021/0231944 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Bai).
As to claim 5, Yu teaches the manufacturing method of the wavelength conversion assembly according to claim 1, wherein the step of forming the first welding structure further comprises:
arranging an element to be melted to the substrate and the first element (302, 304, “the cover plate may be attached to the base by welding,” para [0018], Fig. 4); and melting the element to be melted to form the first welding structure (302, 304, “the cover plate may be attached to the base by welding (e.g. laser spot welding) or soldering,” thus the first welding structure is formed vis melting, para [0018], Fig. 4).
Yu does not teach arranging an element to be melted to the substrate and an edge of the first element; and wherein a material of the first welding structure is different from a material of the substrate and a material of the first element, and a projection of the first welding structure on the substrate is located outside a range of a projection of the first element on the substrate.
Yu, Hsu, and Bai are related as manufacturing wavelength conversion assemblies.
However, Hsu teaches (Figs. 2-4) a manufacturing method of the wavelength conversion assembly (1, “wavelength conversion device 1,” para [0030], Figs. 2-4) comprising: arranging an element to be melted (14, “second glue substance 14,” para [0030], Fig. 4) to the substrate (11, “the substrate 11,” para [0029], Figs. 3 and 4) and an edge of the first element (132, 122, “the second glue substance 14 simultaneously surrounds the first lateral surface 132 of the wavelength conversion structure 13 and the third lateral surface 122 of the first glue substance 12,” para [0030], Fig. 4); and wherein a material of the first welding structure (14, “the second glue substance 14… includes a second adhesive and a second reflective material… such as TiO2 or Al2O3, para [0031], Fig. 4) is different from a material of the substrate (11, “the substrate 11 is a disk-shaped metal substrate,” para [0029], Fig. 4) and a material of the first element (12, 13, “the wavelength conversion structure 13 is a phosphor powder sheet,” para [0029], “the first glue substance 12 includes a first adhesive and a first reflective material,” para [0031], Fig. 4), and a projection of the first welding structure on the substrate is located outside a range of a projection of the first element on the substrate (14, the second glue substance 4 is connected to the lateral surfaces 122 and 132, thus the projection of the second glue substance 14 on the substrate 11 is located outside the range of a projection of the first element 12,13 on the substrate 11, Fig. 4).
However, Bai demonstrates that when manufacturing the wavelength conversion assembly (“a phosphor wheel,” para [0016], Figs. 1-3), different methods of bonding, such as bonding the assembly 32 and central ring 60 to the disk 10, include adhesion, welding, or the like (para [0034], Figs. 3 and 6). Thus, using welding as an alternative method to an adhesive is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in manufacturing wavelength conversion assemblies in order to facilitate modular manufacturing (para [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wavelength conversion assembly of Yu with the configuration wherein the first welding structure is a different material form and located on the edge of the first element of Hsu, because the structure strength and the reliability of the wavelength conversion device can be significantly improved (para [0012]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al., US 2016/0363294 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Yu), and further in view of Chen et al., US 2019/0121119 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Chen).
As to claim 7, Yu teaches the teaches the manufacturing method of the wavelength conversion assembly according to claim 1.
Yu does not teach the manufacturing method of the wavelength conversion assembly according to claim 1, wherein an area occupied by the first welding structure on the first portion is less than half of an area of the first portion.
Yu and Chen are related as manufacturing wavelength conversion assemblies.
However, Chen teaches (Figs. 2B, 4, and 5) a manufacturing method of a wavelength conversion assembly (102, “wavelength conversion device 102,” para [0026], Fig. 4), wherein an area occupied by the first welding structure on the first portion is less than half of an area of the first portion (1029, the area occupied by 1029 is less than half of the area of the first portion of the substrate 1021 between axis center A and area Z and shown in Fig. 4).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wavelength conversion assembly of Yu with the area occupied by the first welding structure on the first portion being less than half of an area of the first portion of Chen, because doing so provides a wavelength conversion device which can conduct thermal energy rapidly which solves the problem of brightness decay caused by high temperature (paras [0006]-[0007]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., US 2019/0121119 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Chen), and further in view of Hu et al., US 2020/0271301 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Hu).
As to claim 8, Chen teaches the manufacturing method of the wavelength conversion assembly according to claim 1, wherein the substrate comprises a first surface (S2, “the substrate 1021 has a… second surface S2,” para [0026], Fig. 4) and a second surface (S1, “the substrate 1021 has a first surface S1,” para [0026], Fig. 4) opposite to each other (S1, S2, “The first surface S1 is opposite to the second surface S2,” para [0025], Fig. 4), the wavelength conversion layer is disposed on the second surface of the substrate (1024, the wavelength conversion structure 1024 is disposed on the first surface S1, Fig. 5).
Chen does not teach the manufacturing method further comprises: arranging a heat dissipation structure on the second portion of the substrate and on the first surface; and forming a second welding structure between an entire bottom surface of the heat dissipation structure and the substrate to connect the heat dissipation structure and the substrate.
Chen and Hu are related as manufacturing wavelength conversion assemblies.
However, Hu teaches (Figs. 1-4B) a manufacturing method of the wavelength conversion assembly (24, “a color wheel module 24,” para [0044], Fig. 3) comprising: arranging a heat dissipation structure (241, 242, a heat dissipation plate 241 and a plurality of fan blades 242, para [0048], Fig. 3) on the second portion (242, the heat dissipation structure 242 is arranged on the outer annular portion, Fig. 4B) of the substrate (244, “a substrate 244,” para [0050], Fig. 3) and on the first surface (244, “an end face,” para [0050], Fig. 3); and forming a second welding structure between an entire bottom surface of the heat dissipation structure and the substrate to connect the heat dissipation structure and the substrate (241, 244, the end face of the substrate 244 is welded to the heat dissipation plate 241, para [0050], Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wavelength conversion assembly of Chen with the configuration wherein a heat dissipation structure is connected to the second portion of the substrate of Hu, for the purpose of improving the heat exchange efficiency inside the color wheel cavity, improving the heat dissipation effect, further reducing the temperature of the wavelength conversion layer, improving the reliability of the color wheel module, and extending the service life (para [0051]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al., US 2016/0363294 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Yu), and further in view of Hu et al., US 2020/0271301 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Hu).
As to claim 8, Yu teaches the manufacturing method of the wavelength conversion assembly according to claim 1, wherein the substrate comprises a first surface (304, the first surface is the bottom surface of the substrate 304, Fig. 4) and a second surface (304, the second surface is the top surface of the substrate 304, para [0055], Fig. 4) opposite to each other (304, the top and bottom surfaces of the substrate 304 are opposite to each other, Fig. 4), the wavelength conversion layer is disposed on the second surface of the substrate (303, the optical converter 303 is disposed on the second (top) surface of the substrate 304, para [0055], Fig. 4).
Yu does not teach the manufacturing method further comprises: arranging a heat dissipation structure on the second portion of the substrate and on the first surface; and forming a second welding structure between an entire bottom surface of the heat dissipation structure and the substrate to connect the heat dissipation structure and the substrate.
Yu and Hu are related as manufacturing wavelength conversion assemblies.
However, Hu teaches (Figs. 1-4B) a manufacturing method of the wavelength conversion assembly (24, “a color wheel module 24,” para [0044], Fig. 3) comprising: arranging a heat dissipation structure (241, 242, a heat dissipation plate 241 and a plurality of fan blades 242, para [0048], Fig. 3) on the second portion (242, the heat dissipation structure 242 is arranged on the outer annular portion, Fig. 4B) of the substrate (244, “a substrate 244,” para [0050], Fig. 3) and on the first surface (244, “an end face,” para [0050], Fig. 3); and forming a second welding structure between an entire bottom surface of the heat dissipation structure and the substrate to connect the heat dissipation structure and the substrate (241, 244, the end face of the substrate 244 is welded to the heat dissipation plate 241, para [0050], Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wavelength conversion assembly of Yu with the configuration wherein a heat dissipation structure is connected to the second portion of the substrate of Hu, for the purpose of improving the heat exchange efficiency inside the color wheel cavity, improving the heat dissipation effect, further reducing the temperature of the wavelength conversion layer, improving the reliability of the color wheel module, and extending the service life (para [0051]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., US 2019/0121119 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Chen), in view of Hu et al., US 2020/0271301 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Hu), and further in view of Pereira, US 2007/0036670 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Pereira).
As to claim 9, Chen in view of Hu teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 8. Chen in view of Hu teaches the manufacturing method of the wavelength conversion assembly according to claim 8, wherein the step of forming the second welding structure further comprises: melting the substrate and the heat dissipation structure to form the second welding structure (241, 244, the end face of the substrate 244 is welded to the heat dissipation plate 241, para [0050], Fig. 3).
Chen in view of Hu does not teach the manufacturing method of the wavelength conversion assembly according to claim 8, wherein a method of melting the substrate and the heat dissipation structure comprises arc welding or resistance welding.
Chen and Pereira are related as bonding desired materials together.
However, Pereira teaches (Fig. 6) a manufacturing method wherein a method of melting the substrate and a structure comprises arc welding or resistance welding (11, 13, multilayer article 24 is formed by bonding the first solder 13 to the substrate 11 via resistance welding, para [0079], Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wavelength conversion assembly of Chen with the configuration wherein the heat dissipation structure is welded onto the substrate via resistance welding of Pereira, for the purpose bonding desired layers of material together (para [0079]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al., US 2016/0363294 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Yu), in view of Hu et al., US 2020/0271301 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Hu), and further in view of Pereira, US 2007/0036670 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Pereira).
As to claim 9, Yu in view of Hu teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 8. Yu in view of Hu teaches the manufacturing method of the wavelength conversion assembly according to claim 8, wherein the step of forming the second welding structure further comprises: melting the substrate and the heat dissipation structure to form the second welding structure (241, 244, the end face of the substrate 244 is welded to the heat dissipation plate 241, para [0050], Fig. 3).
Yu in view of Hu does not teach the manufacturing method of the wavelength conversion assembly according to claim 8, wherein a method of melting the substrate and the heat dissipation structure comprises arc welding or resistance welding.
Yu and Pereira are related as bonding materials together.
However, Pereira teaches (Fig. 6) a manufacturing method wherein a method of melting the substrate and a structure comprises arc welding or resistance welding (11, 13, multilayer article 24 is formed by bonding the first solder 13 to the substrate 11 via resistance welding, para [0079], Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wavelength conversion assembly of Yu with the configuration wherein the heat dissipation structure is welded onto the substrate via resistance welding of Pereira, for the purpose bonding desired layers of material together (para [0079]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takahashi et al., US 2022/0055343 A1, Structure Body, Structure Body Manufacturing Method, and Electronic Apparatus, relevant to claims 1-9.
/J.A.J./JENNIFER A JONES
Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
06/09/2026