DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 13-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in claim 13, line 19, “a first clamp voltage” has already been recited on line 17.
in claim 13, line 20, “a second clamp voltage” has already been recited on line 18.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
While Examiner does not agree with Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/23/2026, with respect to claim(s) 1, the arguments have been considered and are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner has introduced new grounds of rejection under the reference Ochiai (JP H11235027A) which explicitly states the second clamp voltage ZD2 is greater than the first clamp voltage ZD1. Furthermore, by Kirchoff’s Voltage Law, it is clear the voltage of the winding (Fig. 1 voltage at e or f) when the zener diode starts clamping is the voltage of the zener diode (Fig. 1 ZD1 or ZD2) clamp voltage (VZ1 or VZ2) plus the voltage drop of the rectifier (Fig. 1 voltage across D1-R1 or D2-R2) minus the voltage base-emitter of the transistor (Fig. 1 Q1 or Q2). The new grounds of rejection are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Ochiai (JP H11235027A).
With respect to claim 1, Ochiai discloses a power supply, comprising: a first auxiliary winding (Fig. 1 N3 between d-f), with a first end (Fig. 1 d) electrically connected to a ground terminal (Fig. 1 G); a second auxiliary winding (Fig. 1 N3 between f-e), with a first end electrically (Fig. 1 f) connected to a second end of the first auxiliary winding; a first supply circuit (Fig. 1 D1,R1,Q1,ZD1), electrically connected between a second end (Fig. 1 e) of the second auxiliary winding and a primary side controller (Fig. 1 controller of M1,M2), wherein the first supply circuit comprises a first rectifier circuit (Fig. 1 D1,R1) and a first voltage regulator circuit (Fig. 1 Q1,ZD1), and the first voltage regulator circuit comprises a first regulator switch (Fig. 1 Q1) and a first regulator diode (Fig. 1 ZD1) having a first clamp voltage (VZ1); and a second supply circuit (Fig. 1 D2,R2,Q2,ZD2), electrically connected between the second end (Fig. 1 f) of the first auxiliary winding and the primary side controller, wherein the second supply circuit comprises a second rectifier circuit (Fig. 1 D2,R2) and a second voltage regulator circuit (Fig. 1 Q2,ZD2), and the second voltage regulator circuit comprises a second regulator switch (Fig. 1 Q2) and a second regulator diode (Fig. 1 ZD2) having a second clamp voltage (VZ2); wherein the second clamp voltage is greater (VZ2 > VZ1) than the first clamp voltage; wherein: when a first input voltage (Fig. 1 voltage e-d) generated by the first auxiliary winding and the second auxiliary winding by inductive coupling exceeds a sum of a first clamp voltage (VZ1), a negative of a first threshold voltage (Fig. 1 base-emitter voltage threshold of Q1) and a voltage drop (Fig. 1 voltage d-e) across the first rectifier circuit, the first voltage regulator circuit is configured to clamp the first input voltage to a first voltage (Fig. 3 voltage a at time t1, ie the lower voltage at a); and when a second input voltage generated by the first auxiliary winding by inductive coupling exceeds a sum of a second clamp voltage (VZ2), a negative of a second threshold voltage (Fig. 1 base-emitter threshold voltage of Q2) and a voltage drop (Fig. 1 voltage h-f) across the second rectifier circuit, the second voltage regulator circuit is configured to clamp the second input voltage to a second voltage (Fig. 3 voltage a goes higher after t1, ie the higher voltage at a).
With respect to claim 2, Ochiai discloses the power supply of claim 1, wherein the first voltage regulator circuit is electrically connected between the second end (Fig. 1 e) of the second auxiliary winding and the primary side controller (Fig. 1 controller of M1,M2).
With respect to claim 3, Ochiai discloses the power supply of claim 2, wherein the second voltage regulator circuit is electrically connected between the second end of the first auxiliary winding (Fig. 1 f) and the primary side controller (Fig. 1 controller of M1,M2).
With respect to claim 4, Ochiai discloses the power supply of claim 3, wherein the second voltage is greater (Fig. 3 voltage a goes higher from the lower first voltage to the higher second voltage) than the first voltage.
With respect to claim 13, Ochiai discloses a power supply, comprising: a first auxiliary winding (Fig. 1 N3 between d-f), with a first end (Fig. 1 d) electrically connected to a ground terminal (Fig. 1 G); a second auxiliary winding (Fig. 1 N3 between f-e), with a first end electrically (Fig. 1 f) connected to a second end of the first auxiliary winding; a first rectifier circuit (Fig. 1 D1,R1); a first voltage regulator circuit (Fig. 1 Q1,ZD1) comprising a first regulator switch (Fig. 1 Q1) and a first regulator diode (Fig. 1 ZD1) electrically connected between a control end (Fig. 1 base of Q1) of the first regulator switch and the ground terminal (Fig. 1 G), and wherein the first rectifier circuit and the first regulator switch are electrically connected in series between a second end of the second auxiliary winding (Fig. 1 e) and a primary side controller (Fig. 1 controller controlling M1 and M2) a second rectifier circuit (Fig. 1 D2,R2) comprising a second regulator switch and second regulator diode electrically connected between a control end (Fig. 1 base of Q2) of the second regulator switch and the ground terminal (Fig. 1 G), wherein the second rectifier circuit and the second regulator switch are electrically connected (Fig. 1 f) between the second end of the first auxiliary winding and the primary side controller (Fig. 1 controller controlling M1 and M2), wherein a first clamp voltage (VZ1) of the first regulator diode is less than a second clamp voltage (VZ2) of the second regulator diode; wherein the first regulator diode has a first clamp voltage (VZ1), the second regulator diode has a second clamp voltage (VZ2), and the second clamp voltage is greater (VZ2 > VZ1) than the first clamp voltage; when a first input voltage (Fig. 1 voltage e-d) generated by the first auxiliary winding and the second auxiliary winding by inductive coupling exceeds a sum of a first clamp voltage (VZ1), a negative of a first threshold voltage (Fig. 1 base-emitter voltage threshold of Q1) and a voltage drop (Fig. 1 voltage d-e) across the first rectifier circuit, the first voltage regulator circuit is configured to clamp the first input voltage to a first voltage (Fig. 3 voltage a at time t1, ie the lower voltage at a); and when a second input voltage generated by the first auxiliary winding by inductive coupling exceeds a sum of a second clamp voltage (VZ2), a negative of a second threshold voltage (Fig. 1 base-emitter threshold voltage of Q2) and a voltage drop (Fig. 1 voltage h-f) across the second rectifier circuit, the second voltage regulator circuit is configured to clamp the second input voltage to a second voltage (Fig. 3 voltage a goes higher after t1, ie the higher voltage at a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 6-12 and 14-15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ochiai (JP H11235027A) in view of Zhang (US 2014/0239829).
With respect to claim 6, Ochiai discloses the power supply of claim 1, wherein the first rectifier circuit comprises: a first diode (Fig. 1 D1), with a first end electrically coupled (Fig. 1 anode of D1 coupled to e through R1) to the second end (Fig. 1 e) of the second auxiliary winding, and wherein the power supply further comprises: a first smoothing capacitor (Fig. 1 C1), with a first end (Fig. 1 g) electrically connected to a second end of the first diode, with a second end (Fig. 1 G) electrically connected to the ground terminal. Ochiai discloses a damping resistor R1 between D1 and the second auxiliary winding, and does not require the first end of the first diode is connected to the second auxiliary winding.
Zhang discloses in Figures 3-5 wherein the first rectifier circuit (Fig. 4 24) comprises: a first diode (as in Fig. 5 D31), with a first end electrically connected to the second end of the second auxiliary winding (Fig. 4 W23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the first rectifier circuit comprises: a first diode, with a first end electrically connected to the second end of the second auxiliary winding, in order to remove the damping resistor in order to eliminate the power loss of the damping resistor.
With respect to claim 7, Ochiai in view of Zhang make obvious the power supply of claim 6, wherein a first end (Fig. 1 Q1 collector) of the first voltage regulator switch is electrically connected (Fig. 1 g) to the second end (Fig. 1 g) of the first diode, a second end (Fig. 1 emitter Q1) of the first regulator switch is electrically connected (Fig. 1 a) to the primary side controller; and the first regulator diode (Fig.1 ZD1) is electrically connected between a control end (Fig. 1 base Q1) of the first regulator switch and the ground terminal (Fig. 1 G).
With respect to claim 8, Ochiai in view of Zhang make obvious the power supply of claim 6, wherein the second rectifier circuit comprises: a second diode (Fig.1 D2), with a first end (Fig. 1 anode D2) electrically coupled to the second end (Fig. 1 f) of the first auxiliary winding, and wherein the power supply further comprises: a second smoothing capacitor (Fig. 1 C2), with a first end electrically connected (Fig.1 h) to a second end of the second diode, with a second end electrically connected to the ground terminal (Fig. 1 G). Ochiai discloses a damping resistor R2 between D2 and the first auxiliary winding, and does not require the first end of the second diode is connected to the first auxiliary winding.
Zhang discloses wherein the second rectifier circuit (Fig. 4 25) comprises: a second diode (as in Fig. 5 32), with a first end electrically connected to the second end of the first auxiliary winding (Fig. 4 W24). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the second rectifier circuit comprises: a second diode, with a first end electrically connected to the second end of the first auxiliary winding, in order to remove the damping resistor in order to eliminate the power loss in the damping resistor.
With respect to claim 9, Ochiai in view of Zhang make obvious the power supply of claim 8, wherein a first end (Fig. 1 collector Q2) of the second regulator switch is electrically connected (Fig. 1 h) to the second end of the second diode, a second end (Fig. 1 emitter Q2) of the second regulator switch is electrically connected (Fig. 1 a) to the primary side controller; and the second regulator diode (Fig. 1 ZD2) is electrically connected between a control end (Fig. 1 base Q2) of the second regulator switch and the ground terminal (Fig. 1 G).
With respect to claim 10, Ochiai in view of Zhang make obvious the power supply of claim 8, wherein: when a voltage output by the first supply circuit (Fig. 1 voltage from Q1) is greater than a voltage output by the second supply circuit, the second supply circuit is turned off (Fig. 1 Q2 base-emitter voltage is negative turning Q2 off); and when the voltage output by the first supply circuit is less than the voltage output by the second supply circuit (Fig. 1 Q2 sources current to a), the first supply circuit is turned off (Fig. 1 Q1 is clamped to a lower voltage (by ZD1) than Q2, so base-emitter voltage of Q1 is negative turning Q1 off).
With respect to claim 11, Ochiai discloses the power supply of claim 1 as set forth above, and remains silent as to the number of turns of the auxiliary windings.
Zhang does not explicitly state the number of turns of the auxiliary windings but discloses wherein the input voltage ranges from 90 Vac to 305 Vac, and wherein the first auxiliary winding supplies power during high line conditions and the second auxiliary winding provides power during low line conditions. Since the second auxiliary winding must supply power to Vcc at 90 Vac input, while the first auxiliary winding must supply power to Vcc at 305 Vac input, and since the voltage Vcc is stepped down from the Vac input, the second auxiliary winding must provide (305-90)/305 percent of Vcc while the first auxiliary winding only provides 90/305 percent of Vcc, so the second auxiliary winding should have (315-90)/90 = 215/90 more windings than the first auxiliary winding. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the number of turns of the second auxiliary winding is more than the number of turns of the first auxiliary winding, in order for the power supply voltage to the controller to be able to handle the voltage range from the expected low input voltage to the expected high output voltage range.
With respect to claim 12, Ochiai discloses the power supply of claim 1 as set forth above, and remains silent as to the number of turns of the auxiliary windings.
. Zhang does not explicitly state the number of turns of the auxiliary windings but discloses wherein the input voltage ranges from 90 Vac to 305 Vac, wherein the first auxiliary winding supplies power during high line conditions and the second auxiliary winding provides power during low line conditions. Since the second auxiliary winding must supply power to Vcc at 90 Vac input, while the first auxiliary winding must supply power to Vcc at 305 Vac input, and since the voltage Vcc is stepped down from the Vac input, the second auxiliary winding must provide (305-90)/305 percent of Vcc while the first auxiliary winding only provides 90/305 percent of Vcc, so the second auxiliary winding should have approximately 215/90 more windings than the first auxiliary winding, which agrees with 9/4 for a low integer ratio. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the number of turns of the second auxiliary winding is 9, and wherein the number of turns of the first auxiliary winding is 4, in order to provide the operating power supply to the controller throughout the expected variation of the input voltage range.
With respect to claims 14-15, Ochiai in view of Zhang make obvious the power supply as set forth above. See claims 11-12, respectively, for additional details.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lin (US 2024/0186905), Liu (US 2020/0127575), and Li (US 2018/0294668) disclose powering a controller.
/HARRY R BEHM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838