DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers (JP2023-081351 – filed 05/17/2023) required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 05/14/2024 and 04/17/2025 have been certified and made of record.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Supply device” in claim 1 – The specification teaches the supply device as including a storage tank (element 32), an outward pipe (element 33), a bidirectional flow pipe (element 44), a liquid delivery device (element 34), a base pipe (element 36), and a supply pipe (element 38) (para. [0024]).
“Liquid delivery device” in claim 1 – The specification teaches the liquid delivery device as constituted by a bidirectional pump (element 40) (para. [0025]);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (CN105002085A) (using provided MT).
Regarding claim 1, Chang et al. teaches a culturing system (p. 4 of MT) comprising: a culturing tank (See annotated FIG. 1) configured to culture microalgae (p. 4 of MT); a supply device configured to supply a culturing solution to the culturing tank (Note: this claim element was invoked under 112(f): supply device includes storage tank (FIG. 1 – element 4), outward pipe (FIG. 1, pipe exiting the storage tank), bidirectional flow pipe (FIG. 1, pipe connected to bidirectional pump (element 14)), liquid delivery device (invoked under 112(f) – bidirectional pump (element 14)), and base pipe (Annotated FIG. 1 – base pipe connects to Storage tank (element 4) – “the end is connected to the third float valve (element 13) through the suspension storage tank 4” (p. 4)), wherein the culturing tank includes a plurality of accommodation section configured to accommodate the culturing solution (Annotated FIG. 1 – plurality of accommodation section, which accommodate the culturing solution), and the supply device includes a liquid delivery device bidirectional pump (element 14) configured to deliver the culturing solution to the plurality of accommodation sections (the pump delivers culture solution the accommodation section), and supply pipes (Annotated FIG. 1, pipes connecting from base pipe into accommodation sections and connected to float valves), where culturing solution is delivered from the liquid delivery device is delivered to the plurality of accommodation sections, respectively; and
first float valves (Annotated FIG. 1, element 9 and 10);
Chang et al. fails to teach:
First float valves configured to open and close the supply lines – specifically through the valves moving upward in the depth direction.
Regarding limitation I, although Chang et al. explicitly fails to teach that the valves are configured to open and close the supply lines – specifically through the valves moving upward in the depth direction, it has been held that a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate from the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (MPEP § 2114 II).
Therefore, the float valves employed Chang et al. would be fully capable of achieving every intended use because Chang et al. teaches that valves (element 9 and 10) are float ball valves (p. 4 of MT), and the placement of the valve at the top enables the floats (ball) to seal the valve with liquid surface of the solution rising in the accommodation sections (Annotated FIG. 1). Thus, the valve would be structurally capable of being configured to open and close the supply lines – specifically through the valves moving upward in the depth direction.
Regarding claim 3, Chang et al. teaches the culturing system according to claim 1. Chang et al. further teaches a base pipe (See claim 1 rejection) connected to the liquid delivery device (pump – element 14), and the supply pipes branch from the base pipe (See annotated FIG. 1 above) and extend toward the plurality of accommodation sections, respectively (Annotated FIG. 1 above).
Regarding claim 4, Chang et al. teaches the culturing system according to claim 3. Chang et al. further teaches that the plurality of accommodation sections are arranged from an upstream position to a downstream position a flow direction of the culturing solution in the base pipe (Annotated FIG. 1), and the supply pipes respectively connecting the base pipe and the plurality of accommodation sections branch individually from the upstream position to the downstream position in the flow direction in the base pipe (Annotated FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Chang et al. teaches the culturing system according to claim 1. Chang et al. further teaches that the volumes of the plurality of accommodation sections are substantially the same as each other (See annotated FIG. 1 above from claim 1 rejection), and each of the first floats is disposed at a same position in the depth direction of each of the plurality of accommodation sections (Annotated FIG. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (already referenced) in view of Llamas et al. (EP 2740787 B1) (referenced in 892).
Regarding claim 2, Chang et al. teaches a liquid delivery device (element 14), wherein the pump would be structurally capable of recovering the culturing solution from the plurality of accommodation sections. Chang et al. further teaches a second float valve present (element 13) and piping below accommodation units (See annotated FIG. 1 in claim 1 rejection). Chang et al. fails to teach that the accommodation units are made of a flexible material. Llamas et al. teaches a photobioreactor for culturing photoautotrophic microorganisms (para. [0001]), specifically where enclosure (element 1) is made of flexible polymeric plastic material (such as vinyl polychloride, either high density and low-density polyethylene, polystyrene, polypropylene, polyvinyl acetate and polyurethane) with low-density polyethylene being particularly suitable due to its low cost (para. [0020]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use Llamas et al.’s teaching of a flexible material in Chang et al.’s culturing system because flexible polymer materials – such as low-density polyethylene – are low cost. This method of improving Chang et al.’s culturing system was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on teachings of Llamas et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chang et al. and Llamas et al. to obtain the invention specified in claim 2.
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (already referenced) in view of Frederick et al. (US 20070062883 A1) (referenced in 892).
Regarding claim 5, Chang et al. teaches the culturing system according to claim 1. Chang et al., however, fails to teach processors in the culturing system, wherein the processors execute the instructions to cause the culturing system to stop the liquid delivery device when the one or more processors have determined that all of the plurality of accommodation sections accommodate the predetermined amounts of the culturing solution. Frederick et al. teaches a waste apparatus comprising a tank (element 12), float valve (element 32) in the tank, and control system (element 30) (para. [0022]). Frederick et al. specifically teaches that control system is responsive to the signal from the float when the level of waste W in the tank reaches a pre-determined level. Control system also stops the pump (element 24) when the level of waste reaches this level (para. [0022]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use Frederick et al.’s teaching of a controller, pump, and float valve in Chang et al.’s culturing system because using a control system in responsive to the signal of the float enables the pumping operation to be responsive and controlled relative to the tank level. This method of improving Chang et al.’s culturing system was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on teachings of Frederick et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chang et al. and Frederick et al. to obtain the invention specified in claim 5.
Regarding claim 7, modified Chang et al. teaches the system of claim 5. Furthermore, the combination of references of claim 6 would encompass a structure wherein one or more processors (Frederick et al., Control system – element 30) execute the instructions to cause the culturing system to acquire information on a supply pressure of the culturing solution in the liquid delivery device, and stop the liquid delivery device when the supply pressure increases to a pressure threshold value (para. [0022]). Therefore, the claim is prima facie obvious.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (already referenced), Frederick et al. (already referenced) as applied to claim 5, and further in view of Zha et al. (US 20100012585 A1) (referenced in 892).
Regarding claim 6, modified Chang et al. teaches the system of claim 5, but fails that the processors execute the instructions to cause the culturing system to stop the liquid delivery device when an actual elapsed time period from when the supply of the culturing solution by the liquid delivery device is started coincides with the required time period. Zha et al. teaches a membrane filtration system containing a feed containing vessel (abstract). Zha et al. specifically teaches a timer control, wherein the time “ means is operable to activate said pump for a predetermined period and said source of feed liquid comprises a feed liquid supply tank and a level detection means is provided in said tank, said level detection means detecting a predetermined level of feed liquid in said tank and said timer means is responsive to detection of said predetermined level of feed liquid to activate said pump for said predetermined period.” (para. [0014]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use Zha et al.’s teaching of a timer control in modified Chang et al.’s culturing system because the timer control enables pump to be activated for a predetermined period. This method of improving modified Chang et al.’s culturing system was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on teachings of Zha et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of modified Chang et al. and Zha et al. to obtain the invention specified in claim 6.
Conclusion
/J.F.Y./ Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/William H. Beisner/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799